Stats: 3,328,530 members, 8,436,167 topics. Date: Monday, 29 June 2026 at 08:33 PM

Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsRivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand (12127 Views)

1 2 3 4 Reply (Go Down)

Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by ijustdey(op): 6:14pm On Mar 20, 2025
STATEHOUSE PRESS STATEMENT

PRESIDENT TINUBU SALUTES NATIONAL ASSEMBLY FOR PATRIOTIC STAND ON RIVERS STATE EMERGENCY PROCLAMATION

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu on Thursday lauded the National Assembly for its decisive and patriotic ratification of the State of Emergency proclamation in Rivers State, a critical step to restoring stability after a protracted political crisis that paralysed governance in the state and endangered national economic security for over 15 months.

The President specifically commended the National Assembly's leadership—Senate President Godswill Akpabio, House of Representatives Speaker Tajudeen Abbas, other principal officers and members—for prioritising the security and welfare of Rivers State people above partisan interests and other considerations.

He further acknowledged the lawmakers' diligent review of classified security briefings, underscoring the urgent need for intervention to prevent further escalation.

"The crisis in Rivers State was at a perilous tipping point, threatening the security of vital oil and gas installations and undermining the national economy and the significant progress we have made in the reforms initiated since our administration commenced in May 2023," President Tinubu remarked.

"As I detailed in my address to the nation on 18 March, the near-total collapse of governance, threats to federal economic assets, and the risk of widespread violence left no room for hesitation. This emergency measure is a lifeline to safeguard livelihoods, secure critical infrastructure, and restore democratic accountability."

The President affirmed that the six-month emergency will empower the newly-appointed Sole Administrator to stabilise Rivers State, address systemic breakdowns, and facilitate dialogue among conflicting parties.

President Tinubu also reaffirmed his administration's commitment to deepening collaboration with the National Assembly to advance peace, economic resilience, and equitable development across Nigeria.

"Today's decision exemplifies what our nation can achieve when unity of purpose and patriotism guide the action of leaders. We remain steadfast in pursuing a safer, more prosperous Nigeria—one where every citizen's potential is safeguarded and nurtured," he said.

The President thanked all Nigerians for their understanding and urged all stakeholders to support the restoration of peace in Rivers State.

Bayo Onanuga

Special Adviser to the President

(Information & Strategy)

March 20, 2025
PREVIOUS THREADS:
https://www.nairaland.com/8374971/senate-approves-tinubus-state-emergency

https://www.nairaland.com/8374828/house-reps-approves-tinubus-emergency

Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by Obiedun(m): 6:15pm On Mar 20, 2025
They did well
"I Voted In Support Of Emergency Rule In Rivers; I Counseled Fubara To Show Humility, He Didn't Listen"
Hon Ugochinyere
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by SalamRushdie: 6:16pm On Mar 20, 2025
Especially after they have been sorted
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by helinues: 6:16pm On Mar 20, 2025
Na so
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by helinues: 6:17pm On Mar 20, 2025
SalamRushdie:
Abi, including Pdp and LP members
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by SalamRushdie: 6:21pm On Mar 20, 2025
helinues:
Abi, including Pdp and LP members
Yes everyone dey collect , when it comes to sorting there is no division there
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by Racoon(m): 6:22pm On Mar 20, 2025
A NASS that is an appendage of the executive is not and will never be a patriotic one but rubber-stamp stooges.
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by plumcomm: 6:23pm On Mar 20, 2025
Not like the people that want to burn down the country,they forgot that petrol is now 850🤣,they tought it was 97 naira
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by helinues: 6:23pm On Mar 20, 2025
SalamRushdie:
Yes everyone dey collect , when it comes to sorting there is no division there
So as how they would be sorted in 2027
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by Salewa97: 6:24pm On Mar 20, 2025
Tinubu is a president that knows what he is doing.

The national assembly should be commended for their swift action in ratifying the state of emergency.
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by Xisnin(m): 6:26pm On Mar 20, 2025
Obiedun:
They did well
"I Voted In Support Of Emergency Rule In Rivers; I Counseled Fubara To Show Humility, He Didn't Listen"
Hon Ugochinyere
Do you have a credible source for this?
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by Obiedun(m): 6:29pm On Mar 20, 2025
Racoon:
A NASS that is an appendage of the executive is not and will never be a patriotic one but rubber-stamp stooges.
Fir a country to move forward there must be synergy among the three arms of government. Tell me which country that grow with division among its arms. So stop telling us pathetic and unrealistic sermon here. You are probably in pain.
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by Obiedun(m): 6:30pm On Mar 20, 2025
Xisnin:
Do you have a credible source for this?
Let me get the link first but you should know I didn't concoct it.
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by SalamRushdie: 6:31pm On Mar 20, 2025
helinues:
So as how they would be sorted in 2027
As it stands Asiwaju will easily take 2027
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by Timinho23: 6:32pm On Mar 20, 2025
What an ironical statement! However Fubara has been humbled and knows the difference between power and social media encouragement
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by Agbegbaorogboye: 6:35pm On Mar 20, 2025
The unity of looters is in the idea that there is enough meat on the table to go round

So everyone must maintain table manners for the meat to get to you
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by TimeManager(m): 6:38pm On Mar 20, 2025
SalamRushdie:
Stop repeating this defeatist line to console yourself. I asked you to show receipt, you couldn't.

Obiedun:
They did well
Hon Ugochinyere
Look at this statement from Ugochinyere, who would have believed this?.

-Kiss the truth!
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by PandoraObi: 6:40pm On Mar 20, 2025
Elrufai son too
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by Obiedun(m): 6:41pm On Mar 20, 2025
TimeManager:
Stop repeating this defeatist line to console yourself. I asked you to show receipt, you couldn't.

-Kiss the truth!
You are pained? Kilikikikikikik! I am happy to see you sobbing
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by tundegan: 6:42pm On Mar 20, 2025
God bless President Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

God bless the National Assembly.
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by TimeManager(m): 6:45pm On Mar 20, 2025
Obiedun:
You are pained? Kilikikikikikik! I am to see you sobbing
Dude, you have no faintest idea about me. Ugochinyere pushed Fubara into an abyss, one of the foremost paid jobber for Fubara. His volte face is shocking.

-Kiss the truth!
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by badoh(m): 7:00pm On Mar 20, 2025
Had those guys not bombed the pipelines, things could have still been under control but those boys called for war. If the president did not arrest the situation on time and the lawmakers move to impeach Fubara, thing would go out of hand.
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by Obiedun(m): 7:17pm On Mar 20, 2025
TimeManager:

-Kiss the truth!
There were Senators and Representatives from the PDP, Labour Party, and NNPP. None of them walked out. None of these opposition Legislators complained that the process of securing a two-thirds majority was not transparent, free and fair. None of them challenged the result of the voice vote. So, if you think the National Assembly got it wrong, then you should name the Senators and Representatives whose voices were not heard.

If you can't do that, then rant your piece and grant us our peace.
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by spencekat(m): 7:19pm On Mar 20, 2025
TimeManager:

-Kiss the truth!
Fake
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by Yibo(m):
All the Rivers state people love your decision except some thugs with some little Ibo bloods in them

Meanwhile someone should tell this vegetable to go and rest

Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by Ikaeniyan0: 7:31pm On Mar 20, 2025
Obiedun:
You are pained? Kilikikikikikik! I am happy to see you sobbing
Calm down Boss, TimeManager is pro Tinubu.
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by VnAhunnaPl: 7:32pm On Mar 20, 2025
Mr. President, e good make you go thank them personally.
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by Ikaeniyan0: 7:32pm On Mar 20, 2025
badoh:
Had those guys not bombed the pipelines, things could have still been under control but those boys called for war. If the president did not arrest the situation on time and the lawmakers move to impeach Fubara, thing would go out of hand.
Something has to be done to quench the fire because it won't stop in Rivers. For peace sake, the national assembly had to support it even though they could have crush it
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by Stolen: 7:38pm On Mar 20, 2025
WHERE IS THE EMERGENCY?

INSIDE TINUBU SICK HEAD
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by Obiedun(m): 7:45pm On Mar 20, 2025
Ikaeniyan0:
Calm down Boss, TimeManager is pro Tinubu.
While el-Rufai was giving a press conference inciting Nigerians against their lawfully constituted government and condemning the Rivers Emergency Declaration, his own son was at the House of Representatives and did not challenge the declaration. He cannot get his son to do his dirty work, so it is you here on social media that he has come to incite, because your life and future do not mean as much to him as his son's life and future.
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by Ikaeniyan0: 7:47pm On Mar 20, 2025
Obiedun:
While el-Rufai was giving a press conference inciting Nigerians against their lawfully constituted government and condemning the Rivers Emergency Declaration, his own son was at the House of Representatives and did not challenge the declaration. He cannot get his son to do his dirty work, so it is you here on social media that he has come to incite, because your life and future do not mean as much to him as his son's life and future.
Alright
Re: Rivers State of Emergency: Tinubu thanks NASS, Nigerians for patriotic stand by Obiedun(m): 8:40pm On Mar 20, 2025
TimeManager:
Dude, you have no faintest idea about me. Ugochinyere pushed Fubara into an abyss, one of the foremost paid jobber for Fubara. His volte face is shocking.

-Kiss the truth!
Check this
https://www.facebook.com/100012625215685/posts/pfbid021ytAtPjaqm1rEB7h2bQpkNPuK4hfX24LuT8tYnJxzALqZEw4rKZuV9nUM9abC3SNl/?app=fbl
1 2 3 4 Reply

President Tinubu Thanks Timi Dakolo For His Performance For The Super FalconsWe Have Shared Responsibility: Tinubu Thanks Fubara For Pursuing PeaceGovernor Peter Mbah Visits Tinubu, Thanks Him Over The Appointment Of Ogalla234

Good Governance: I Need Your Prayers- Buhari Tells Religious LeadersImo, Abia, Largest Gas Reserve In Nigeria - Lies BurstedBuhari And His Dream Of A One Party State - Dele Momodu