Stats: 3,329,066 members, 8,438,642 topics. Date: Friday, 03 July 2026 at 05:55 PM

27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo - Investment - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralInvestment27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo (19298 Views)

1 2 3 4 Reply (Go Down)

27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by Islie(op): 8:55am On Apr 16, 2025
By Adebayo Waheed

No fewer than 27 persons have reportedly been hospitalised following the crash of a digital digital asset trading platform, known as CBEX in Oyo State.

Nigerians who subscribed to what is now regarded as a Ponzi scheme took to their various social media platforms to lament their losses after CBEX allegedly swept over N1.3 trillion from investors’ accounts on Monday.

This comes as CBEX, operating without legal approval from the Nigeria Securities Commission, crashed on Monday with the money in their investors’ wallets vanished.

The digital platform also locked its Telegram channels and postponed withdrawals while offering investors the option of $200 for $2,000 verification and $100 for deposits below $1,000.

The development had sparked condemnations from Nigerians on X with some landing in hospitals.

A victim, Sherif Latifu, who resides in Ibadan said that many who lost money to the crash of the digital platform have now been hospitalised at various hospitals in the town, calling on Governor Seyi Makinde to help them to subsidise the hospital bills.

Many hospitals in Ibadan are now admitting victims of CBEX fraud. Over 27 people that I know have been admitted. This is a major crisis in Ibadan and the governor should come to our rescue by subsidising the hospital bills for many,” he said.

Explaining the CBEX crash, a cryptocurrency expert and security analyst, Taiwo Owolabi said the total volume of stolen investors’ funds so far in USDT was $847 million and likely to increase.

Owolabi questioned why Nigerians would invest their money in a digital platform that was unregistered by the SEC with the promise of a 100 percent return on investment.

“They designed the weak website to convince people in the future that it was a security breach that affected them.

“Apparently, when you make payments, you pay them into a TRX account, and then, immediately, they move it from that TRX wallet, gather it, convert it to USDT, and then to ETH. So, when you are logging into your account, there is literally no money on your profile.

“What you see are just numbers. All the daily activities you do to ‘trade’ increase your money. All the AI trading is fake. When it’s time for withdrawal, they will send you another person’s money,” Owolabi explained on an X space.

The development comes after the SEC recently warned Nigerians to stay clear of unregistered trading platforms.

The SEC particularly pointed out that, in accordance with the ISA 2025 recently signed by President Bola Tinubu, it is now an offense for any entity to operate an online forex trading platform or provide related services without prior registration with the commission.

“By virtue of this act, it is an offense in Nigeria for any entity that is not registered by the commission to carry out the business of online foreign exchange trading platforms or related services.

“Any business entity planning to set up a business in any of these areas is advised to visit the HOD DRM Department of the commission for further direction on how to register with the commission to avoid sanctions,” it added.

Meanwhile, some residents of Ibadan, Oyo State have stormed the office of CBEX located at Oke Ado area of Ibadan in protest.

It was gathered that the residents stormed the office following the report of the crash of the platform, which scores of residents of Ibadan have invested in the online platform.
https://leadership.ng/27-investors-hospitalised-over-cbex-trading-platform-crash-in-oyo/

Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by TooMuchStuff:
Hope Investor Sabinus is not among sha... cos na only Investor Sabinus we know as Investor .

All the rest na Ojukokoros Investors wey wan cash out in USDT without sweat 😓
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by GREATPIN77(f): 8:59am On Apr 16, 2025
It is well
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by Kobicove(m): 8:59am On Apr 16, 2025
It appears this CBEX Ponzi was very popular in Ibadan

Most of the victims are just plain daft angry
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by Samirana360(m): 8:59am On Apr 16, 2025
Nigeria is finished.... All these Ponzi schemes thrives well because of bad economy., people are really suffering...
Bring up another one tomorrow millionof people will still subscribe...
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by Blitzking:
GOVT SHOULDNT SUBSIDISE ANYTHING...GREED CAUSED ALL THESE
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by Emeskhalifa(m): 8:59am On Apr 16, 2025
Una carry 822 million dollars (about 1.4 trillion Naira) dash scammers in the name of investing.

But sef why isn't EFCC going after the founders of such ponzi schemes? Abi na for only yahoo boys body dem dey get power
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by Treasure17(m): 9:00am On Apr 16, 2025
Oblee money is gone. Trade with sense next time.
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by ednut1(m): 9:00am On Apr 16, 2025
Mugus
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by Oddsman(m):
I blame the victims of ponzi schemes. First, the greed and next, the fact that you chose to try with money that you cannot afford to lose.
I am a bettor. I play over 1.5 daily with a 90% chance of win. Even as I play, I know that my predictions can be marred by one var goal cancellation, one red card, one unfair penalty, one injury, etc. So I play with only cash I can afford to lose.
The only way to double your money or grow your money with 50% or 100% n a week is small odds safe betting. And even as you do, know it's a risk. You can message me on Telegram @baddabing99for rollover tips.
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by Tjra: 9:00am On Apr 16, 2025
Eh yah

Get well soon 27 investors
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by malali: 9:00am On Apr 16, 2025
Any individual or organization promising returns above 5% monthly should immediately raise suspicion. In normal, legitimate markets,such yields are unsustainable and statistically improbable without extreme risk or hidden agendas.

If someone offers returns above 10% and they’re not the federal government issuing official bonds or treasuries, you’re likely dealing with a fraudster or a Ponzi-scheme operator.

It is the duty of the Nigerian government to:
Flag and investigate unauthorized investment entities
Issue clear, consistent public warnings
Educate citizens on realistic return expectations
Crack down on predators weaponizing economic desperation

This is not just a “mistake” or “bad luck.” People have lost entire life savings.
Retirees. Students. Single mothers. Breadwinners.
Lives have been shattered because of unchecked financial predators.
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by Debroslink: 9:01am On Apr 16, 2025
Government should not subsidise anything. Nigerians are just too greedy and I don't feel sorry for people who want to become billionaires overnight. He that sows to the wind will reap the storm.

In 2 months from now, another ponzi scheme will start and greedy Nigerians will fall for it again thinking they're smart.
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by MORIERA: 9:01am On Apr 16, 2025

This is really sad.. Many of my friends that are into this stuff just dey on low key now

I pray god heals them and even give them strength to pass this phase

Abeg make person help me with breakfast..
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by OZ511: 9:01am On Apr 16, 2025
People go continue to dey fall for all this scam
Be like na to open my own grin
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by blingxx(m): 9:01am On Apr 16, 2025
Some purrrrr grin grin grin
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by Gboom: 9:01am On Apr 16, 2025
Who are the promoters of this CBEX scam
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by Yamleg: 9:01am On Apr 16, 2025
Ah olorun nibo ni kinti bere
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by Urgent1Million: 9:01am On Apr 16, 2025
You mean 27 foolish fellows?
I hope they left some money for their funeral, if not, their families should just throw their corpses to the vultures without a drop of tears!
I hate rubbish!!
And they are even calling on GSM to subsidize their bills?
More foolishness.
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by diverseconcepts: 9:01am On Apr 16, 2025
27 Only? grin grin
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by cenaman(m): 9:02am On Apr 16, 2025
Greed! Greed!! Greed!! And Greed
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by SultanOfPuna: 9:02am On Apr 16, 2025
Who go come pay the hospital bill??

Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by Fiscus105(m):
If you like die, you people can never ever learn from history.

We tend to learn from our own errors rather than wise counselling in Nigeria.....more reason political elites keep raping followers repeatedly, since they know they can never learn from history.

I give them a space of 6 months, another ponzi scheme would crop up, and they would start rushing it gragra again.
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by johngwain: 9:03am On Apr 16, 2025
May be the owner was even at Obi Cubana birthday flexing,. Lol ,This is well calculated organized scam.
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by Wealthoptulent(m): 9:03am On Apr 16, 2025
Eya Sorry oo
dem go need JUSTICE?

Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by nairalanda1(m): 9:04am On Apr 16, 2025
Samirana360:
Nigeria is finished.... All these Ponzi schemes thrives well because of bad economy., people are really suffering...
Bring up another one tomorrow millionof people will still subscribe...
Even in developed countries, Ponzi schemes thrive well well (US police once broke up one very sophisticated one in the same US, targetting Americans run by one pastor and motivational speaker self recently).

And many of the people on CBEX are guys who were able to invest millions . They don't look like people who were suffering

All in all, people , even those who are comfortable, want to make more money. Not out of greed, but for a variety of valid and good reasons. That's what can make Ponzi attractive.
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by Mopolchi: 9:04am On Apr 16, 2025
We have very wicked Nigerians who are out to dupe their fellow Nigerians of their hardearned money.
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by Dunamai86(m): 9:04am On Apr 16, 2025
Interesting! People should be prudent with their resources in times like this. Most Nigerians are incorrigible, some are still waiting for the next ponzi scheme to roll into town in the hope of quick gains. They will learn
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by ASHIWAJU2023: 9:04am On Apr 16, 2025
ok
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by tiswell(m): 9:05am On Apr 16, 2025
And most of them are yoluba youths sad
Re: 27 Investors ‘hospitalised’ Over CBEX Trading Platform Crash In Oyo by fuckingAyaya(m): 9:05am On Apr 16, 2025
From cybex to sick bed
1 2 3 4 Reply

EFCC Admits Wrongly Declaring Elie Bitar Wanted Over CBEX ScandalIs Cbex Trading In Conjunction To Smart Treasure Platform Another MMM Or Genie?Thunder shall strike the owners of cbex234

What To Do To Retrieve My Share Back After I Lost Share CertificateHow Profitable Is Farming Business In NigeriaPennywise Wealth Management