Stats: 3,328,280 members, 8,434,990 topics. Date: Saturday, 27 June 2026 at 05:34 PM

James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 - Literature (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumEntertainmentLiterature James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 (23272 Views)

1 2 3 4 5 Reply (Go Down)

Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by BlackViper: 8:55pm On May 28, 2025
I hope JJ was a female o, because the Mwihaki wey I remember na babe she be😂

fergie001:
Weep not child,
Weep not my darling
With these kisses let me remove your tears
The ravening clouds shall not be long victorious
They shall not long possess the sky.

Remember back in the JSS and our plays during Lit classes.... Me as Njoroge and my bestie, JJ as Mwihaki

Rest on, Prof
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by thesicilian: 8:55pm On May 28, 2025
Do we still have authors like these in Africa?
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by geoworldedu: 8:57pm On May 28, 2025
RIP baba
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by Oloniyan(m): 8:59pm On May 28, 2025
A library is burnt!

Rest in power
6 Likes 2 Shares
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by highchief1: 9:00pm On May 28, 2025
Starboytwo:
I've definitely heard the name..

Whats his famous work??
Gen z spotted
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by highchief1: 9:01pm On May 28, 2025
fergie001:
SOURCE
eya.he made our jss days memorable.What kids of this generation know is portable and speed darlington.crazy uneducated generation
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by Angelfrost(m): 9:04pm On May 28, 2025
The greatest authors from this continent are more or less gone...!
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by blackboy(m): 9:04pm On May 28, 2025
I had to read his book in Lady back then. Good author. May his soul rest in peace
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by SSpeter(m): 9:04pm On May 28, 2025
fergie001:
Weep not child,
Weep not my darling

Remember back in the JSS and our plays during Lit classes.... Me as Njoroge and my bestie, JJ as Mwihaki

Rest on, Prof
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by SSpeter(m): 9:05pm On May 28, 2025
fergie001:
Weep not child,
Weep not my darling

Rest on, Prof
the poem you wrote is from Walt Whitman
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by tishbite41(m): 9:06pm On May 28, 2025
R.I.P, great man
African Writers Series
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by Ishilove: 9:09pm On May 28, 2025
Rest, Baba.

The end of an era. You were among the last of a dying breed...
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by atiku4President(m): 9:10pm On May 28, 2025
RIP my best African writer. I read his classic, Weep Not Child, at least 20 times.
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by Ishilove: 9:10pm On May 28, 2025
Angelfrost:
The greatest authors from this continent are more or less gone...!
Very few are remaining, most prominent among them being Wole Soyinka
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by ambassador9: 9:12pm On May 28, 2025
The trial of Didan Kimati comes to mind

He is a legend. May his soul rest in peace

Kenya and indeed Africa has lost a literary icon

RIP
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by Jahwinaboy(m): 9:13pm On May 28, 2025
Weep not Child♥
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by atiku4President(m): 9:14pm On May 28, 2025
fergie001:
Weep not child,
Weep not my darling

Rest on, Prof
Nyakobi called him.
That's the way the novel started. Later found out 'him' was Ngeroge, the little boy whose life mirrors the challenges and pains of survival in a locality under the siege of brutal Western influence.
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by billyG(m): 9:14pm On May 28, 2025
Rest well prof ngugi wa thiongo....that name always comes out of my mouth.
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by stagger: 9:18pm On May 28, 2025
I read A Grain of Wheat way back in the late 80s. Intriguing novel which kind of mirrored Things Fall Apart by detailing the events in colonial-era Kenya.
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by bfn1: 9:19pm On May 28, 2025
Walai:
Weep not child
Ngugi Wa Thiongo
Zambia shall be free
Kenneth Kaunda
Long Walk to freedom
Nelson Mandela
Books that made me
This generation don't read again, the knowledge gap keeps widening. So sad

Rest in peace Sir
After reading the bolded, I muttered "walahi" only for me to look up & see the coincidence with your moniker. Lols.
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by ambassador9: 9:19pm On May 28, 2025
The trial of Didan Kimati comes to mind

He is a legend. May his soul rest in peace

Kenya and indeed Africa has lost a literary icon

RIP
[color=#770077][/color]
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by funshint(m): 9:22pm On May 28, 2025
Oh! Just about to finish reading his book "A Grain of Wheat"
Rest on legend🕊️
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by Angelfrost(m): 9:22pm On May 28, 2025
Ishilove:
Very few are remaining, most prominent among them being Wole Soyinka
Yeah... Soyinka is among the last of the old guard of brilliant and gifted writers.

I fear this generation might never live up to their golden standard.

To make matters worse, the reading culture is fast fizzling out.
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by favour32(m): 9:22pm On May 28, 2025
Rest in peace Ngugi!

Weep not child!

This generation won't understand.
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by fergie001(op): 9:25pm On May 28, 2025
BlackViper:
I hope JJ was a female o, because the Mwihaki wey I remember na babe she be😂
Jennifer ... one sweet Edo babe grin
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by CaptainJune: 9:27pm On May 28, 2025
Legendary writer, the blade who
Sharpened my desire for writing,
The height of whose literary skill dwarfed the mount Everest.
The border and landmark of literary genius.
When I read your books it feels like
Cuffs on my wrists I can't shake away.
I bid you my farewells as you return,
To the soil a seed from which you
Spring eternal.
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by bluefilm: 9:28pm On May 28, 2025
Wow!

I remember back in the days when I used to enjoy his books in the African Writers Series

I particularly liked his name

May his soul rest in Valhalla
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by Kingosytex(m): 9:30pm On May 28, 2025
A grain of Wheat by this legend is a pure masterpiece. Rest in peace great man, you've done your part.
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by bfn1: 9:30pm On May 28, 2025
Creamypie:
Eyaaaaaa. Rest well sir. On a second note, if you haven't read forest of a thousand daemons by DD fagunwa and translated or edited by wole Soyinka,more than 40 years ago, pls do so now. Soyinka no be just human being
I've read some great D.O Fagunwa's novels & still have some of them (passed down from my mum):
- Ògbójú Ọdẹ Nínú Igbó Irúnmọlẹ̀
- Ìrèké Oníbùdó
- Igbó Olódùmarè
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by AngelahFlo(m): 9:33pm On May 28, 2025
fergie001:
Weep not child,
Weep not my darling

Rest on, Prof
Will always remember for that moving novel of his "Weep not Child"
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by Krismas(m): 9:35pm On May 28, 2025
fergie001:
SOURCE
RIP Prof. Ngugi Wa Thiong'o
Weep not Child is unforgettable.
You inspired so many minds positively.
Re: James Ngugi Wa Thiong'o Dies At 87 by AngelahFlo(m): 9:39pm On May 28, 2025
bfn1:
I've read some great D.O Fagunwa's novels & still have some of them (passed down from my mum):
- Ògbójú Ọdẹ Nínú Igbó Irúnmọlẹ̀
- Ìrèké Oníbùdó
- Igbó Olódùmarè
That Ogboju Ode ninu igbo irunmole was one of my Yoruba textbook along with Alawiye. It featured the story of a day old baby god by the name of Ajantala. I didn't read it much because the yoruba grammar it was written in was too much for me.
1 2 3 4 5 Reply

Giant Of African Literature Ngũgĩ Wa Thiong'o Dies Aged 87Professor Ama Ata Aidoo Dies At 83Petals Of Blood By Ngugi Wa Thiong'o - Plot Summary And Analysis234

Story, Love Happens By LauraThe Bodyguard - An Action/romance ThrillerWriters' Checkmate