Stats: 3,326,970 members, 8,428,855 topics. Date: Thursday, 18 June 2026 at 06:24 AM

Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today - Agriculture (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralAgricultureLook At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today (32510 Views)

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by kay29000(op): 4:08pm On Jun 06, 2025
TechBaron:
They say "You deserve it when you die with your eyes open"...

tongue tongue tongue tongue tongue tongue embarassed tongue tongue
Jadakiss cheesy

Nice one.
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by kay29000(op): 4:09pm On Jun 06, 2025
IPDGP:
Animals even human open eyes when they died, depending on how they are killed, this cat na normal cat, Abi cat dey chop chicken
It's an African Wildcat. Yeah, cats generally eat birds of all kinds.
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by Obycus(m): 4:14pm On Jun 06, 2025
Enough meat my guy. Enjoy ok
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by Jamie248: 4:22pm On Jun 06, 2025
kay29000:
I raise local chickens on a small poultry farm in my compound.

For months, two cats (mother and son) have been disturbing me on my mini poultry farm. There was a particular night they killed 7 small chickens at a go. They don't even kill one and go, they break their necks one by one, and then come back to drag the dead bodies to their den.

We tried a big trap that hunters use for bush rat. It almost closed one of the cats in on the first night, but the cat, struggled out before the stuff shut. The cats never went near the trap again, even though we always use their best food as bait, fried fish.

After a while, we decided to start using poison at different points of the compound. I had given up hope till this morning. I was looking for something in our gen house and I saw one of the cats their (the son), laying there, breathing heavily. I couldn't believe my eyes. At a point, it had felt like we were never going to win with them, sort of like how Michael Douglas and Val Kilmer felt in the movie, The Ghost and the Darkness, where lions were terrorizing a community in Kenya in the movie.

Anyway, within an hour, it took its last breath. Too bad I can't give the OPC guys at my junction who tried to catch it with a cage. They would have eaten it, but with it dying of poison, they can't eat it.

Attached are some pics of the cat. The chickens gathered around, making loud noises as they watched the lifeless body of the cat that ate their children and siblings and tormented their life for many months.
I heard that cat meat is the sweetest 🐈

Never tried it tho, but that's what one elderly man told me😁
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by Tenshades(m): 4:22pm On Jun 06, 2025
kay29000:
Barbecue cat cheesy

We don't plan on eating it o. We just decided to burn it for easy disposal.
I for use am jo ogun.
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by kay29000(op): 4:23pm On Jun 06, 2025
Promise47:
What about the mother of the cat 😺😺 if this is her son where is the mother
The mother is still alive somewhere.
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by blackslayer: 4:24pm On Jun 06, 2025
That's not a domestic cat, it's a wild cat. Those front canines.
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by kay29000(op):
adamkkk:
thats someone's cat... and it very sad
That's not someone's cat. It's an African Wildcat that lives in my neighbor's ceiling. I've chased the cat on many occasions, and it runs into the space between my neighbor's bungalows ceiling.
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by Jamie248: 4:25pm On Jun 06, 2025
kay29000:
The mother is still alive somewhere.
Better brace up cos mama-cat is gonna come back hard on you and your chickens cheesy
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by kaywhy09(m): 4:26pm On Jun 06, 2025
Innocent cat
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by kay29000(op): 4:28pm On Jun 06, 2025
Vulcan24:
Bro, this is not a domestic cat ! The teeth is very feline
It's an African wildcat.
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by safarifarms(m): 4:28pm On Jun 06, 2025
Makaveli217:
They are useful in the ecosystem to control rats, snakes, lizards and other small animals.
These ones were busy controlling someone's chickens
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by kay29000(op): 4:29pm On Jun 06, 2025
Englishisamust:
Your story telling is top notch grin grin
Thanks. Lol. I'm actually a romance novelist.
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by Eagleways: 4:29pm On Jun 06, 2025
Rexymania:
This thing looks like a a lion 😆😆
no. A dinosaur .

Yimu
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by Zayttoven: 4:31pm On Jun 06, 2025
Nice
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by Jamie248: 4:32pm On Jun 06, 2025
nams77:
So you are amongst those who hate this beautiful creature.
It's usually witches who hate cats because they're suspicious/scared it may be another (potentially more powerful) witch's familiar
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by Moikiitos: 4:38pm On Jun 06, 2025
This is a wild cat called Lynx

kay29000:

For months, two cats (mother and son) have been disturbing me on my mini poultry farm. There was a particular night they killed 7 small chickens at a go. They don't even kill one and go, they break their necks one by one, and then come back to drag the dead bodies to their den.

We tried a big trap that hunters use for bush rat. It almost closed one of the cats in on the first night, but the cat, struggled out before the stuff shut. The cats never went near the trap again, even though we always use their best food as bait, fried fish.

After a while, we decided to start using poison at different points of the compound. I had given up hope till this morning. I was looking for something in our gen house and I saw one of the cats their (the son), laying there, breathing heavily. I couldn't believe my eyes. At a point, it had felt like we were never going to win with them, sort of like how Michael Douglas and Val Kilmer felt in the movie, The Ghost and the Darkness, where lions were terrorizing a community in Kenya in the movie.

Anyway, within an hour, it took its last breath. Too bad I can't give the OPC guys at my junction who tried to catch it with a cage. They would have eaten it, but with it dying of poison, they can't eat it.

Attached are some pics of the cat. The chickens gathered around, making loud noises as they watched the lifeless body of the cat that ate their children and siblings and tormented their life for many months.
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by kay29000(op): 4:38pm On Jun 06, 2025
lightwind:
Dude! you really need to start writing stories.
Lol. Thanks. I'm actually a fiction writer.
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by Moikiitos: 4:41pm On Jun 06, 2025
This is a wild cat looks like a Lynx

kay29000:

Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by sharpwriter(m): 4:42pm On Jun 06, 2025
kay29000:
I don't know the name, but I used to buy it from where I buy my poultry feed. It's like trebbor, and it's grey in color. The woman no longer sells it sha, cos it's very powerful. I've searched other places and can't find it. I was lucky to still have a roll left that I used during this last phase of my attempt at killing the cats.

It's usually in a cylindrical container. You crush it to powder and mix with spciy food.
Is that not phostoxin? Heard it's powerful... Used to store agricultural products, but must be handled with care, if not na death en masse go kill people shocked
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by kay29000(op): 4:43pm On Jun 06, 2025
haggai247:
That is a baby African civet but people are determined to be right than being rich

Here's how the bigger ones look.

https://www.nairaland.com/8271772/civet-see-animal-brother-killed

https://www.nairaland.com/3656117/civet-killed-cousins-compound

https://www.nairaland.com/3991638/civet-bought-n7000-way-work

Sometimes opportunity comes knocking in the form of a cat but most people consider it food and the dumb guys burn it to sanders.

A fool they say is someone that does not know and will not agree that he does not know.

Someone somewhere will gladly pay good money for just the head.

If it's alive it's even worth more.

No need given advice to a fool because they'll beat you with their experience.
Silence is the best answer for a fool, but for the sake of others that your comment might mislead, I decided to respond.

Below are pics of an African Wildcat. That's what I killed, not no damn civet.

Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by SarkinYarki: 4:46pm On Jun 06, 2025
kay29000:
Barbecue cat cheesy

We don't plan on eating it o. We just decided to burn it for easy disposal.
Y'all eat cats ?
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by Mariangeles(f): 4:48pm On Jun 06, 2025
Jamie248:
It's usually witches who hate cats because they're suspicious/scared it may be another (potentially more powerful) witch's familiar
Only a witch/warlock would know this.
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by kay29000(op): 4:49pm On Jun 06, 2025
GenFunction:
I'm sure the loud noise of the chickens meant..."see am o,see who dey worry us "
LMAO grin
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by Patented: 4:51pm On Jun 06, 2025
kay29000:
Nope. It's a stray cat.
It may be an "African Wild Cat" it's similar to a domestic or stray in appearance. Look it up
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by easytig(m): 4:51pm On Jun 06, 2025
Where is your location bro , maybe I should come cat hunting someday
kay29000:
Lol. Thanks. I'm actually a fiction writer.
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by kay29000(op): 4:52pm On Jun 06, 2025
sharpwriter:
Is that not phostoxin? Heard it's powerful... Used to store agricultural products, but must be handled with care, if not na death en masse go kill people shocked
It might be it.
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by Mariangeles(f): 4:52pm On Jun 06, 2025
nams77:
So you are amongst those who hate this beautiful creature.
There's nothing beautiful about a wicked creature that kills helpless chickens.

Dogs would hardly do that.
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by kay29000(op): 4:53pm On Jun 06, 2025
SarkinYarki:
Y'all eat cats ?
No o.
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by kay29000(op): 4:53pm On Jun 06, 2025
Patented:
It may be an "African Wild Cat" it's similar to a domestic or stray in appearance. Look it up
Yeah, that's what it is.
Re: Look At The Cat I Killed In My Poultry Today by Patented: 4:54pm On Jun 06, 2025
haggai247:
You just lost money that's a hybrid of civet cat.

that cat could have been worth more than all your chickens.
It's not a hybrid of anything. It's an African Wild Cat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Reply

My Poultry Journey...My Poultry Farming Experience!This Is The Snake Killing My Chickens & Tampering With Their Eggs In My Poultry234

What Type Of Snake Is This Killed On My Farm This Morning?Advice On Ogbono BizParrot Destroys Man's Maize Farm (Photos)