Stats: 3,329,216 members, 8,439,333 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 July 2026 at 02:28 AM

Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsMost Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria (4030 Views)

1 2 3 Reply (Go Down)

Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by Smartjob1(op): 5:00pm On Jun 10, 2025
The dataset is from UNICEF, MIC. A multi lateral data.

Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by obama30: 5:23pm On Jun 10, 2025
Smartjob1:
While it's difficult to definitively name a single "most educated tribe" in Nigeria due to the complexities of education and data collection, the Igbo and Yoruba tribes are consistently cited as having high educational attainment. These groups, along with the Edo, have a strong emphasis on education and are known for their high youth literacy rates. Other tribes like the Ibibio and Tiv also have strong educational legacies.
Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by obama30: 5:23pm On Jun 10, 2025
Smartjob1:
While it's d
Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by muyico(m): 5:26pm On Jun 10, 2025
I knew Igbo will top d chart b4 clicking
Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by happney65: 5:26pm On Jun 10, 2025
obama30:
While it's difficult to definitively name a single "most educated tribe" in Nigeria due to the complexities of education and data collection, the Igbo and Yoruba tribes are consistently cited as having high educational attainment. These groups, along with the Edo, have a strong emphasis on education and are known for their high youth literacy rates. Other tribes like the Ibibio and Tiv also have strong educational legacies.
And that is why the igbo and yoruba "fight" online. Too much of boôk na him dey worry both of them . grin

Wetin concern Almajiri with book cheesy
Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by columbus007(m): 5:38pm On Jun 10, 2025
I think he's correct, the binis.. Some of them are good scholars. cool
Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by Racoon(m): 5:44pm On Jun 10, 2025
Those who do their thing well have taken their rightful place. This is why the Igbo man dominated the politico-military landscape of this nation during the colonial era when merit matters a lot with the white man.

Literacy level o, primary/secondary school completion rate, quest for academic excellence o, entrepreneurship o, any where you take it to, the Igbo man is always in the forefront. Ndigbo na gucha and enwere ezigbo brain. Proudly onye dot.
Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by Ruke1990: 6:27pm On Jun 10, 2025
Apart from the Igbos, the minority tribes somehow beats the Yoruba and Hausa hands down when it comes to education. If you live in ekiti, ondo, osun, Ibadan and Ogun you will understand the quality of education in the west has fallen with majority struggling to sustain conversation in English, poor political permutations, poverty and poor basic amenities. Many in the south west so not know the geopolitical zones were states in Nigeria can be found. They don't know anything outside Yoruba land or Yoruba language.
Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by Dalohad: 6:40pm On Jun 10, 2025
This thread go cause fight.. grin cheesy
Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by Warrior99: 6:43pm On Jun 10, 2025
FAKE STAT.

No be today...
Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by gennny: 6:57pm On Jun 10, 2025
Warrior99:
FAKE STAT.

No be today...
Prove it as fake, or be calm.
Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by Dalohad: 6:58pm On Jun 10, 2025
Warrior99:
FAKE STAT.

No be today...
Na IPO..B get UNICEF abi?. grin
Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by Smartjob1(op): 7:15pm On Jun 10, 2025
Dalohad:
Na IPO..B get UNICEF abi?. grin
Maybe, Nnamdi Kanu bribed them.
Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by ShobayoEmma(m): 7:15pm On Jun 10, 2025
God help the online warriors on this matter; fighting for the irrelevant.

Tinubu, a bad man with good intentions.
Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by Celestialsword: 7:21pm On Jun 10, 2025
Ruke1990:
Apart from the Igbos, the minority tribes somehow beats the Yoruba and Hausa hands down when it comes to education. If you live in ekiti, ondo, osun, Ibadan and Ogun you will understand the quality of education in the west has fallen with majority struggling to sustain conversation in English, poor political permutations, poverty and poor basic amenities. Many in the south west so not know the geopolitical zones were states in Nigeria can be found. They don't know anything outside Yoruba land or Yoruba language.
You are correct,The legacy Awolowo left in the south west could not be sustained by their greedy and self serving leaders.

The south west is now behind in education in Nigeria
Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by ibechris(m):
Igbos are sure to top the chart.

If u watch when Alex Otti met those children hawking,do u know what he ask them,he said hope u are in school?
He further ask,hope it is free education u are enjoying and they all said yes.

My point is not about the free education, but the part that ask hope u are in school.

Now,imagine if it was a governor in the north that met those children,he would have given them money because begging is the major thing over there.

And if it were in the west,it would have been "ko si owo onje" possibly the fate of the people.

Igbos,are schooling in virtually every state,federal and privates universities all over Nigeria,hence the reason for this authentication.
Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by Dalohad: 7:29pm On Jun 10, 2025
Smartjob1:
Maybe, Nnamdi Kanu bribed them.
Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by Dalohad: 7:30pm On Jun 10, 2025
ShobayoEmma:
God help the online warriors on this matter; fighting for the irrelevant.

Tinubu, a bad man with good intentions.
Buhari, a good man with bad intentions..
Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by RichBoy247: 7:32pm On Jun 10, 2025
These people deceiving themselves. It’s not bad anyway, it helps to reduce depression. Imagine saying that Igbos and Edos are more educated than Omoluabis. Today’s education level of Igbos and Edos is still less than education level of Omoluabis as at Nigeria’s independence
Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by Sheuns(m): 7:47pm On Jun 10, 2025
This is done by UNICEF.
Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by Smartjob1(op): 8:28pm On Jun 10, 2025
RichBoy247:
These people deceiving themselves. It’s not bad anyway, it helps to reduce depression. Imagine saying that Igbos and Edos are more educated than Omoluabis. Today’s education level of Igbos and Edos is still less than education level of Omoluabis as at Nigeria’s independence
Oya rest small. You sef don try.

Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by MoneyMan5:
Take that hold body
Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by Ofunaofu: 8:36pm On Jun 10, 2025
sad
Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by olawaleatanda(m): 8:39pm On Jun 10, 2025
Smartjob1:
nlfpmod
Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by olawaleatanda(m): 8:41pm On Jun 10, 2025
Smartjob1:
igbo people are educated but ordinary illiterate called Buhari first them to governance the country
Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by MoneyMan5: 8:48pm On Jun 10, 2025
Celestialsword:
You are correct,The legacy Awolowo left in the south west could not be sustained by their greedy and self serving leaders.

The south west is now behind in education in Nigeria
The Legacy Awolowo left behind is still standing strong, which sector in Nigeria can you even compete with Yoruba? Industry, Banking and finance, ICT, IT, Entertainment, even Sports, I checked the last National sports festival and no south east states in top 10 and Yoruba have four state in top 10 and Ogun was even second, highest number of Forbes billionaires in Africa, highest Grammy awards, we have Pulitzer and even Nobel Laureate.

As of today no tribe is as successful as Yoruba In Nigeria with 4 Yoruba on Forbes list that achievements alone pummel anything from any tribe, to put it in perspective most countries in Africa can't even get a single billionaire but Yoruba have four that's the highest in Africa and if you want to use nepotism excuse two of them made their money in UK and US.
Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by Buharidgeneral: 8:49pm On Jun 10, 2025
I see vawulence everywhere
Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by MoneyMan5: 8:57pm On Jun 10, 2025
Ruke1990:
If you go to America most Americans barely know anything about Africa, Asia, Europe etc in fact most only know about America and don't care about anywhere else yet America is still the most successful country on earth.

We can't speak English in Yoruba land and we are proud of it, you that can speak English how many Billionaires do you have on Forbes? How many Grammy awards have you won? How many of the university in your region is even rated in the top 10 university in Nigeria? Can you even match Yoruba industrial capacity apart from importing and 4 by 4 shops what else can you do?

Do you have more professionals than Yoruba in Nigeria?

How many Igbo can even speak good English? What want to eradicate your language is actually pidgin, something that will even sound like a barbarian speaking to the real English people.
Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by rinzaugustine: 9:08pm On Jun 10, 2025
If Nigeria is based on merit, competence, capability, free and fair like it was before 1966 .Igbos will hold 98% of the positions in Nigeria and Nigeria would have been one of the best countries today; that’s why the British and not Gowon and his FG fought to displace Igbos. Don’t quote me go and read it yourself in Ademola Ademoyega book “why we struck ‘ and watch Ahmadu Bello 1965 video on YouTube complaining that Igbos had taken over the entire positions in the country based on merit , That is the result today and why Nigeria moved from a country building hydro power plants , white people schooling in Nigeria, very high GDP , President John Kennedy red carpets for state visits….down into an abyss of global Shame and failure of a country nobody wants to visit

Re: Most Educated Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by whyteteeth: 10:43pm On Jun 10, 2025
Ibibios have really tried. Despite lacking in so many privileges others have enjoyed yet we still managed to be at top four in a country filled with over 250 ethnic groups. What an incredible feat! Of a truth, if not for many decades of marginalization for being minority and lack of access to opportunities like Igbos, we the Ibibios of Akwa Ibom State would top the chart. I am hopeful, someday we will.
1 2 3 Reply

Fulanis Are The Most Educated People In Nigeria, We Don’t Carry AK-47s – EmirCheck Out The Largest West African Ethnic Groups In The USA According To CensusTop 10 Africa's Most Populous Ethnic Groups. Yoruba is number 3234

Obasanjo Came To My House requested for Pounded Yam And Then Sack Me - AuduGovernor Of Plateau State Named His Son As Special AdviserFunny:Ghanaians Don Suffered,see What Nigerians Are Saying About Them On Twitter