Stats: 3,330,658 members, 8,446,484 topics. Date: Thursday, 16 July 2026 at 03:56 PM

Military Retires 542 Personnel - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsMilitary Retires 542 Personnel (12854 Views)

1 2 Reply (Go Down)

Military Retires 542 Personnel by Morbeta11(op): 10:29pm On Jun 19, 2025
Military retires 542 personnel

Five hundred and forty-two senior Non-Commissioned Officers, today, bowed out of the Nigerian Armed Forces after 35 years of service.

The disengagement ceremony comprised 362 soldiers from the Nigerian Army, 134 from the Nigerian Navy, and 46 from the Nigerian Air Force. , held at the Nigerian Armed Forces Resettlement Centre NAFRC in Oshodi, Lagos.

Speaking at the event, the Chief of Army Staff, Lieutenant General Oluyede, commended the retirees for their commitment to national service.

The COAS, who is represented by the Commander, Training and Doctrine Command, TRADOC, Major General Aligbe Obhiozele, said, “Today we celebrate your courage, discipline and selfless service to our great nation,
“Your 35-year journey embodies the finest military traditions of resilience and patriotism. As you transition to civilian life, we urge you to uphold these values and become pillars in your communities.”

The COAS reminded the retirees that society would expect nothing less than exemplary conduct from them as products of a disciplined system, while warning against post-service pitfalls like financial mismanagement and health neglect.

NAFRC Commandant, Air Vice Marshal Bashir Mamman, revealed that the centre had trained over 53,000 personnel since its inception, including members of paramilitary and allied forces.

He expressed gratitude to President Bola Tinubu for approving critical upgrades, including Increased starter packs for retirees, digitalisation of NAFRC records, website and e-learning infrastructure upgrades and modern workshop equipment installation

“These interventions have significantly enhanced our capacity to prepare servicemen for civilian life,” Mamman noted.

The retirees who were trained at the centre on different skills received their discharge certificates amid cheers from family members.

Some of them had mixed feelings about leaving military life but expressed optimism about new beginnings.
https://www.vanguardngr.com/2025/06/military-retires-542-personnel/

Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by EmperorIsaac(m): 10:57pm On Jun 19, 2025
Thank God they survived Nigeria. It's not easy serving an institution under high sabotage!
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by thesicilian: 11:03pm On Jun 19, 2025
EmperorIsaac:
Thank God they survived Nigeria. It's not easy serving an institution under high sabotage!
Who said they've survived Nigeria? Let them go and process their pension first and see, it's then they'll see the true Nigeria
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by valentineuwakwe(m): 11:07pm On Jun 19, 2025
When will the Nigerian police do its own ceremony for its retirees especially the IGP who has pass the age of retirement as claim by sowore
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by IBB007(m): 6:05am On Jun 20, 2025
lol…dem don turn bloody civilians too…na these non commissioned officers dey wicked pass
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by Ironfaceman(m): 6:06am On Jun 20, 2025
Wow. Not easy to stay 35yrs in NA. They need to thank God for life.
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by geoworldedu: 6:06am On Jun 20, 2025
Abi the people resigned as they are risking their lives for nothing. Just joking anyways. But they really tried sha, serving a very bad country for such a long period of time is true patriotism o. shocked
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by Celestialsword:
thesicilian:
Who said they've survived Nigeria? Let them go and process their pension first and see, it's then they'll see the true Nigeria
This country is so frustrating left, right and center
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by ICANLecturer(m): 6:16am On Jun 20, 2025
Congratulations to them
They served and they survived
Three hearty cheers to them

Old soldiers never die
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by Northernblood8(m): 6:26am On Jun 20, 2025
They are quietly removing anyone that will stand on their expansion way. Islamization is rral
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by MaziObinnaokija: 6:27am On Jun 20, 2025
Open opportunity for my IGBO brothers, people to enlist into the Military now rather than cry later that we are marginalised...All these IPOBIDIENTS disturbing our PEACE in S/E should enlist/ve drag into the Military.
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by Edoreborn: 6:37am On Jun 20, 2025
Ironfaceman:
Wow. Not easy to stay 35yrs in NA. They need to thank God for life.
its very easy if u know ur way...some no even fit carry gun except dem wan go for promex..and that one na simple question dem dey ask..
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by Quaddafi29: 6:56am On Jun 20, 2025
May we know their names please. Nigerians are eager to know.
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by Bittersweetnig(m): 6:58am On Jun 20, 2025
They should show us Thier face, they're the ones obeying nonsense orders from generals wey Thier head nor correct and from useless politicians
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by peculiar3(m): 7:30am On Jun 20, 2025
We thank them for their service and wish them well as they blend as civilians again ....

... serving naija no be easy task coz an average Nigerian is ungrateful and entitled...
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by ogaemma: 8:07am On Jun 20, 2025
542 is no small number.
I hope they have prepared for their retirement?
If they hope for their gratuity and Pension, they will be disappointed.
A minute after retirement, neither the Army or federal government will never reason them.
I met a woman in Nasarawa some time ago, her husband was fighting in North East.
The husband stepped on a land mine and died.
3 years after the death, his benefits have not been paid to the family. I advised the family to litigate the case, the Army threaten her that if she ever take them to court, she will never get the benefit.
Nigeria do not send you.
Happy Retirement.
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by bolaayenimo: 8:08am On Jun 20, 2025
Let the president also retire some ministers especially the minister of power
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by seunlayi(m): 8:55am On Jun 20, 2025
I wish them all the ability to receive the fruits of their past labours either good or bad based on their past deeds in full. Amen
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by Ironfaceman(m): 9:19am On Jun 20, 2025
Not by power guy. Na grace. Some where killed by Bokoharam. They can not plan their death now.

Edoreborn:
its very easy if u know ur way...some no even fit carry gun except dem wan go for promex..and that one na simple question dem dey ask..
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by crossbreedwears(m): 9:42am On Jun 20, 2025
When it comes to gratuities and pension, they will get it on time due to what Buhari did. In fact, some lf them will go home with nothing less than 25m upward
thesicilian:
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by crossbreedwears(m): 9:43am On Jun 20, 2025
Only the president has the power to extend and retire service chiefs.
valentineuwakwe:
When will the Nigerian police do its own ceremony for its retirees especially the IGP who has pass the age of retirement as claim by sowore
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by crossbreedwears(m): 9:45am On Jun 20, 2025
Just shut up. If you date back 35 years ago, it was during military regime andmthe training back then was ridiculous and only few survived it. These men will strip and assemble riffle without fear. You are not in the system so you won't understand
Edoreborn:
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by thesicilian: 9:56am On Jun 20, 2025
crossbreedwears:
When it comes to gratuities and pension, they will get it on time due to what Buhari did. In fact, some lf them will go home with nothing less than 25m upward
If this is through then it's a very welcome development. What did Buhari do exactly? Any links? I wasn't aware.
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by laziz2024: 10:05am On Jun 20, 2025
valentineuwakwe:
Nigeria is still here oooh.
Until we change our name, otherwise, forget it.
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by helinues: 10:07am On Jun 20, 2025
If the reasonable number of the saboteurs in the military are not amongst, this might not make much changes
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by crossbreedwears(m): 4:58pm On Jun 20, 2025
This story is very true bro. My coursemate who discharged from the army as Lance corporal about 4 years ago, his gratutity was about 12m during Buhari's tenure. Now imgaine how much a warrant officer earned same period. In as much as Buhari failed in governance, he was perfect in terms of infrastructure and pension to FG workers.
thesicilian:
If this is through then it's a very welcome development. What did Buhari do exactly? Any links? I wasn't aware.
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by ayo2008: 5:27pm On Jun 20, 2025
Morbeta11:
https://www.vanguardngr.com/2025/06/military-retires-542-personnel/
Civilian Generals
Is unfortunately Generals in Nigeria are promoted like civil servants....no wonder we have retinue of them now retired with no service to render to the country after retirement. No wonder insecurity in Nigeria is rearing his ugly head

So sad
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by Ikaeniyan0: 5:32pm On Jun 20, 2025
We have a lot of officers o. God bless the Nigerian military
Re: Military Retires 542 Personnel by Ikaeniyan0: 5:33pm On Jun 20, 2025
ayo2008:
Civilian Generals
Is unfortunately Generals in Nigeria are promoted like civil servants....no wonder we have retinue of them now retired with no service to render to the country after retirement. No wonder insecurity in Nigeria is rearing his ugly head

So sad
Please can you explain how they are suppose to be promote? I've not seen a difference between how Nigerian military personnel and how their counterparts in other countries like the UK are promoted
1 2 Reply

Military Retires 656 Senior OfficersAIG Dabal Paul Yakadi Retires 72 Hours To Edo Governorship ElectionCovid-19: 42 New Case Of Coronavirus In Nigeria Total 542/234

Nigeria Condemns Military Coup In Guinea-BissauThe 3 Words That Sunk Atiku's PresidencyCOVID-19: Ifeanyi Agujiobi Says Onyeama And His PA Did Not Test Positive