Stats: 3,325,535 members, 8,422,474 topics. Date: Monday, 08 June 2026 at 11:18 AM

Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death - Celebrities - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumEntertainmentCelebritiesSeun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death (18591 Views)

1 2 3 Reply (Go Down)

Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death by nlparrot(op): 5:18pm On Jul 16, 2025

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LTmheV8HAwA?si=g9XKY8KWLxvgYFSY

Afrobeats singer Seun Kuti has reacted to the recent death of former Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari, offering sharp criticism and deeper reflection on the state of leadership in the country.

In a viral video, Seun questioned why many Nigerians celebrated Buhari’s passing, describing such reactions as misguided. He argued that real justice would have involved holding the former leader accountable while he was alive not merely rejoicing over his death.

The outspoken son of music legend Fela Kuti also revealed what he described as a shocking misuse of public funds. According to Seun, the Nigerian government allegedly spent a massive sum monthly on Buhari’s medical care in the United Kingdom while millions of Nigerians suffered from a broken healthcare system.

He condemned the priorities of a country that allowed a former president to live in foreign luxury while average citizens struggled for basic care. Seun expressed frustration that taxpayer money supported elite medical treatment abroad, yet failed to improve the system at home.
“Buhari should have answered for his leadership while alive,” he said. “Now, we clap because he’s dead, but nothing really changes. His family still holds their wealth, and the system remains the same.”
Seun’s comments added another layer to the public discourse, which has remained sharply divided since the announcement of Buhari’s death. While some citizens expressed relief, others urged restraint and respect.

By calling attention to injustice, inequality, and systemic failure, Seun Kuti continues the activist legacy of his father, using his platform to demand accountability in both life and leadership.

Source: Instablog9ja @IG

Re: Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death by Birst4: 7:55pm On Jul 16, 2025
In a viral video, Seun questioned why many Nigerians celebrated Buhari’s passing,
Re: Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death by Dialpad: 7:55pm On Jul 16, 2025
Rejoicing over the death of another human makes absolutely no sense.

May the soul of the departed rest in peace
Re: Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death by Ayomax(m): 7:58pm On Jul 16, 2025
Dialpad:

People rejoice to good news, you are free to celebrate with them.
Re: Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death by donleo92(m): 7:58pm On Jul 16, 2025
There is no need to slam anyone.

People with their own choice. I really feel buhari really created division in the country than ever before. That's why I have my own grudge with him.

Notwithstanding rip to him
Re: Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death by Sccarrr:
I don't even understand people talking about karma...man died at over 80, fulfilled his dream of becoming a president , probably stole enough for his next 20th generation...

what Karma abeg?😹
Re: Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death by kolente: 7:59pm On Jul 16, 2025
Seun don lick small poli before e make the statement.

Seun too like Arizona & loud !
Re: Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death by richiemcgold: 8:00pm On Jul 16, 2025
Bad leaders should rather account for their deeds while still alive, not when they die and people start rejoicing, singing and dancing. For what? That's abnormal!
Re: Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death by Judolisco(m): 8:02pm On Jul 16, 2025
Exactly... U couldn't face him when he was alive...... D man is old already and died at a ripe...
Re: Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death by Fekumzi123: 8:02pm On Jul 16, 2025
RIP to Buhari.

What ever his shortcomings, I forgive him. We are all corrupt and part of the system just that we haven't gotten the opportunity.
Most people will do worst, human government is not easy.
And, just so you know, many people under him benefits more than him as the president. E.g Emefiele.
Imagine how many people under him contested for the presidency, they're all looters
Re: Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death by AmuEbule: 8:02pm On Jul 16, 2025
Everyone dey look for relevance these days.

Meanwhile, let's wait for Portable, Bobrisky and others grin grin
Re: Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death by Tjra: 8:03pm On Jul 16, 2025
Birst4:
In a viral video, Seun questioned why many Nigerians celebrated Buhari’s passing,
We all know those celebrating the death of Buhari. His only offence according to them is he caged Nnamdi Kanu.
Re: Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death by Softmirror: 8:04pm On Jul 16, 2025
Na marijuana dem take bury dis one father lol. Plenty Marijuana!!!
Re: Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death by nickae: 8:08pm On Jul 16, 2025
In the face of a man’s death, a Christian never rejoices, but reflects on the serious responsibilities of each person before God and before men, and hopes and works so that every event may be the occasion for the further growth of peace and not of hatred.
Re: Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death by Harddiskng(m): 8:12pm On Jul 16, 2025
Dialpad:

It is a disgusting and cowardly act.

Baba Bu has enjoyed his life to the fullest, they didn’t challenge him in life. Now you rejoice that he is dead like he would give a sigh.

E no concern am, the struggle is for the living. Baba has his found rest. The pain or joy of the people wey remain na for their pocket.
Re: Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death by GodisStriking: 8:14pm On Jul 16, 2025
I liked Pres. Buhari he was a warrior, statesman and a good leader. RIP.
Re: Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death by Brushstrokes20: 8:14pm On Jul 16, 2025
Almost condemned his assertion until I read the whole stuff. .....spot on ✅️✅️
But people who rejoiced ain't wrong though 😎😎😎
Re: Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death by YesDaddyTill203: 8:15pm On Jul 16, 2025
It's the usual suspects but they will expect others to show them love after hating on others.
They will continue to collect from others what they dish out. No more liberalism from the SW.
Re: Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death by Mrchippychappy(m): 8:15pm On Jul 16, 2025
Man stole, murdered people and died of old age and una dey celebrate? He lived life to the FULLEST!!!
Re: Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death by Bubu4Sea: 8:16pm On Jul 16, 2025
Let's call a spade a spade, nobody liked Buhari but his children.
Re: Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death by CheedyJ(m):
kolente:
Seun don lick small poli before e make the statement.

Seun too like Arizona & loud !
But he made sense unless you didn't understand his statement..rejoicing over his death won't and hasn't changed anything and probably wouldn't,as a matter of fact,people jubilated as if Naija had won the world cup when Abacha died in 1998 but guess what, nothing has changed still..
Re: Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death by Ishilove: 8:16pm On Jul 16, 2025
As my dad mused:

"It seems like UK is their hospital, Nigeria is their cemetery."
Re: Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death by Ezmans: 8:17pm On Jul 16, 2025
Tjra:
We all know those celebrating the death of Buhari. His only offence according to them is he caged Nnamdi Kanu.
Did u hear or see any youth from east or south south celebrating buhari death people from that regions have pass that level. The only areas I saw celebration are from his own northern region please go and buy brain
Re: Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death by rainluv: 8:17pm On Jul 16, 2025
Tjra:
People like portable I guess 😂😂

Oya seun complete the rest
Re: Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death by YesDaddyTill203: 8:17pm On Jul 16, 2025
Bubu4Sea:
Let's call a spade a spade, nobody liked Buhari but his children.
Wrong again as usual. Wrong wrong wrong he's loved by millions of Nigerians.
You people are always reading the mood of the people wrongly, assuming everyone his sentimental like you.
If Buhari should run for office again, at the very least he will still win the North. Fact
Re: Seun Kuti Slams Public Celebration Of Buhari’s Death by Allsmilez999: 8:18pm On Jul 16, 2025
Celebrating the death of someone that lived well into old age😂
1 2 3 Reply

Portable Reacts To Buhari’s Death With Controversial StatementMotunrayo Anikulapo Kuti Slams Man Who Said Davido Is A Better Singer Than FelaASUU Strike: Seun Kuti Slams Parents Attending Political Rallies234

Banky W Allegedly Cheats On Adesua Etomi, Impregnates Niyola (details)Skales Meets Lamine Yamal After Viral 'Shake Body' DanceSumbo Ajaba To Marry Pastor Adeoye (pics)