Stats: 3,326,518 members, 8,426,920 topics. Date: Monday, 15 June 2026 at 07:14 AM

Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead - Celebrities - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumEntertainmentCelebritiesVeteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead (4256 Views)

1 2 (Go Down)

Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by Newsgeek24(op): 6:38pm On Jul 19, 2025
Nollywood has been thrown into mourning following the death of veteran actor Tom Njemanze, who passed away after a prolonged battle with prostate cancer, News360 Nigeria reports.

The news of his demise was made public by filmmaker Stanley Ajemba Chibueze, popularly known as Stanley Ontop, on Saturday, July 19. According to him, Njemanze’s family confirmed that the actor died on Friday, July 18.

Sharing the heartbreaking update alongside a photo of the ailing actor, Stanley wrote, “Good afternoon everyone, it’s another sad period as we just received news from Tom Njemanze’s family that he has succumbed to his ailment and passed on yesterday. May his soul RIP. It’s well. We tried to save him but God knows best. Nollywood loses another legend.”

Before his passing, Tom Njemanze had publicly appealed for assistance after being diagnosed with prostate cancer.

Videos shared by Stanley Ontop showed the actor bedridden, frail, and attached to oxygen and intravenous lines, reflecting the severity of his health crisis.

Stanley had previously made efforts to rally support for the veteran by publicising his condition and sharing his account details for financial aid. He is known for consistently advocating for sick and struggling actors within the industry.

Tom Njemanze was a household name in Nollywood, remembered for his roles in classic movies such as Died Wretched, Issakaba, Magic Cap, Osuofia in London, Twin Brothers, Full Moon, Last Kobo, My School Mother, and Stronghold.

His death marks another painful loss for the Nigerian film industry.
https://news360ng.com/breaking-veteran-nollywood-actor-tom-njemanze-is-dead/

Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by immortalcrown(m): 6:40pm On Jul 19, 2025
May his soul rest in peace.

19 more characters needed
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by eniah: 7:10pm On Jul 19, 2025
The man was known for his elderly roles on movie set

Rest in peace sir
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by elpochas: 7:15pm On Jul 19, 2025
To be Born is a Privilege,But to Die is a Right Earned By all Mortals.Everyone Will Die is just a Difference of Time.I met him once in his House at Njemanze in Owerri,I even Bought Bread from Him back then.Very Humble Man.RIP Sir.
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by Rexymania(m): 7:58pm On Jul 19, 2025
elpochas:
To be Born is a Privilege,But to Die is a Right Earned By all Mortals.Everyone Will Die is just a Difference of Time.I met him once in his House at Njemanze in Owerri,I even Bought Bread from Him back then.Very Humble Man.RIP Sir.
Rip to him

Was he selling bread?
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by elpochas: 8:54pm On Jul 19, 2025
Rexymania:
Rip to him

Was he selling bread?
Yes,his wife had a store na.So he was the one that attended to me back then in 2006.
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by CJStarz: 9:08pm On Jul 19, 2025
The man in the picture is not Tom Njemanze
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by yomi531(m): 9:11pm On Jul 19, 2025
Who remember this movie. 'Died Wretched' .
Buried in 3.2 Million Naira Casket
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by Myrepublic(m): 9:35pm On Jul 19, 2025
yomi531:
Old meat grin
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by ZombieDredd: 9:42pm On Jul 19, 2025
Oh dear.
Saw him some years ago at njemanze street

His watch is over.
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by Ebenezer2021(m): 9:43pm On Jul 19, 2025
yomi531:
you took this comment from me.
I recall him, Tony Umeh and the late Rachael in that movie
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by Ezmans: 10:06pm On Jul 19, 2025
immortalcrown:
May his soul rest in peace.

19 more characters needed
This postarate cancer have destroyed many Nigerian men
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by cr7lomo: 10:40pm On Jul 19, 2025
Died wretched...buried in 3.5 million naira casket.... only OGs will understand this.... hope he's in a better place now
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by dollytino4real(f): 12:11am On Jul 20, 2025
Died wretched buried in 2.5 million casket. Dat film dat year!! Rip to him
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by Rexymania(m): 12:20am On Jul 20, 2025
elpochas:
Yes,his wife had a store na.So he was the one that attended to me back then in 2006.
Wow 😲😲
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by Adewale1603(m): 12:50am On Jul 20, 2025
A lot people are just dieing in this month of July.
After buhari death on Sunday. Two people had already died in our church, yesterday and today afternoon

This is a death month
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by Omoawoke(m): 2:04am On Jul 20, 2025
Rip legend

Thank you for entertaining us and making our childhood memories
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by Borgia1: 2:24am On Jul 20, 2025
May his soul rest in perfect peace.
It's sad to watch all these guys go. Then again, it is a subtle reminder about how much time we have also used up in our individual lives. We are not so young anymore.
We should use our time wisely as it is not infinite.

God rest his soul.
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by yomi531(m): 5:59am On Jul 20, 2025
Ebenezer2021:
😊
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by yomi531(m): 5:59am On Jul 20, 2025
Myrepublic:
Old meat grin
😅
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by yomi531(m): 6:12am On Jul 20, 2025
Ebenezer2021:
Yeah. Good old days.
Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by dominique(mod): 6:28am On Jul 20, 2025
cr7lomo:
Died wretched...buried in 3.5 million naira casket.... only OGs will understand this.... hope he's in a better place now
So he was the poor uncle Tony Umez refused to assist despite giving him funds to go angry to further his education which eventually made him rich. Eucharia Anunobi and late Racheal Oniga were also awesome in the movie. May his soul rest in peace sad
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by mii4u(f): 6:52am On Jul 20, 2025
CJStarz:
The man in the picture is not Tom Njemanze
Go and put on ur glasses
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by mii4u(f): 6:53am On Jul 20, 2025
[quote author=CJStarz post=136158629]The man in the picture is not Tom Njemanze.
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by CJStarz: 7:13am On Jul 20, 2025
mii4u:
Go and put on ur glasses
Ok.
Bia, who is there, bring my glasses for me😂
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by blesdman(m): 7:33am On Jul 20, 2025
Adewale1603:
A lot people are just dieing in this month of July.
After buhari death on Sunday. Two people had already died in our church, yesterday and today afternoon

This is a death month
No be small thing. A top engineer in the telecoms power industry just died last Friday, another earlier this month. Alot of persons are dying
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by cr7lomo: 8:19am On Jul 20, 2025
dominique:
So he was the poor uncle Tony Umez refused to assist despite giving him funds to go angry to further his education which eventually made him rich. Eucharia Anunobi and late Racheal Oniga were also awesome in the movie. May his soul rest in peace sad
U be OG
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by mii4u(f): 1:18pm On Jul 20, 2025
CJStarz:
Ok.
Bia, who is there, bring my glasses for me😂
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by Btruth: 1:20pm On Jul 20, 2025
RIP to him....read he was killed by cancer. Rest his soul dear Lord.
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by Bunnatex(m): 1:21pm On Jul 20, 2025
How many times will this news come to the frontpage? Or did he ressurect to die again?
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by orohbiro(f): 1:21pm On Jul 20, 2025
This man wey they always dey die for every film he act that year
Re: Veteran Nollywood Actor Tom Njemanze Is Dead by Dialpad: 1:21pm On Jul 20, 2025
May his soul rest in peace. Men are really dying of this prostrate cancer.

There should be more awareness on how men can prevent or fight this early enough

1 2

Tom Njemanze Dies Of Prostate CancerTom Njemanze Battles Prostate Cancer, Solicits Financial HelpAnne Njemanze New Looks (Photos)234

[ghananian Actress] Yvonne Nelson And Mzbel, Stab’s Each Other Over Ice PrinceNew Photo Of Charly Boy And His WifeWatch And Download After Earth Via 9aijahouse Entertainment