Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries - Politics - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Nairaland General › Politics › Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries (5756 Views)
| Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by Editorialtimes(op): 8:12am On Jul 22, 2025 |
By Andrew Haruna | Port Harcourt In a major crackdown on oil theft and economic sabotage, troops of the Nigerian Army's 6 Division have arrested 62 suspects, dismantled 14 illegal refining sites, and seized over 350,000 litres of stolen petroleum products across parts of the Niger Delta between July 14 and 20, 2025, The Bureau Newspaper reports.Source: https://thebureau.com.ng/news-updates-in-nigeria-today/crime/nigerian-forces-seizes-350000-litres-of-stolen-fuel-shut-down-14-illegal-refineries/
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by Emmacolinho(m): 8:35am On Jul 22, 2025 |
Allow people to refine their fuel and tax them. This way, the price of pms will crash and the economy will get better IGR |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by ggood: 8:37am On Jul 22, 2025 |
If it's was the North that has this oil , I doubt the Nigeria army will have the guy to near the site where the illegal oil is refine |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by Urgent1Million: 8:37am On Jul 22, 2025 |
Emmacolinho:The products would be substandard and would cause damage to car engines and the environment. |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by Wealthoptulent(m): 8:39am On Jul 22, 2025 |
with what is left ofthat NATION, some people are still planning to take CRUMBLES LEFT |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by Kasdat5(m): 8:40am On Jul 22, 2025 |
Illegal refineries working , Government own is decayed . What am irony . |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by IgOga(m): 8:40am On Jul 22, 2025 |
Emmacolinho:You mean allow criminals to steal fuel, produce substandard products, put human lives at risk......contaminate pms in Nigeria ...seriously...the way some people think though |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by lonecatt(m): 8:41am On Jul 22, 2025 |
ggood:just like we hardly hear them arresting illegal gold miners or other resources in the north. |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by GloriousGbola: 8:41am On Jul 22, 2025 |
Emmacolinho:Only diesel and kerosene can be refined in this manner More Importantly it cannot be done in an environmentally friendly manner. The land is polluted and so is the air In a few years there will be endemic breathing disorders in Rivers state because this was allowed to go on for so long |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by FreeSpirited: 8:43am On Jul 22, 2025 |
What of the one being stolen by NNPC What of the one being loaded on ship by nnpc bosses Oga. Make we rest from selected crackdown Until we here probe of NNPC officials, all these ones are mere media posturing |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by FreeStuffsNG: 8:45am On Jul 22, 2025 |
Emmacolinho:Same way you don't see anything wrong with people producing unwholesome fake drugs that kill people. |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by Coldspice: 8:46am On Jul 22, 2025 |
Emmacolinho:Just like they are allowing people produce their own Hennessey and medicines in Onitsha market. |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by samskuks: 8:46am On Jul 22, 2025 |
Niger Delta & Oil na 5&6 can you imagine this country? |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by lailo: 8:48am On Jul 22, 2025 |
These activities were more prevalent and unchallenged during PDP era and people will say PDP is better. Nigerians have short memories and are ungrateful. Economic stealing and sabotage were a normal thing during that time. Asari Dokubo, Tompolo, Atemi, Loafboy etc all became overnight billionaires by PDP negligence. But now oil Subsidy fraud gone, Forex fraud gone, Oil bunkery fraud fading away gradually. I dont expect over night miracle on all nigerian's problems. There is light at the end of the tunnel. Ride on Asiwaju and Ribadu. |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by Stephen0mozzy: 8:50am On Jul 22, 2025 |
Ghen.... Meanwhile, read some Food for Thought: https://www.nairaland.com/8393513/random-musings-thought-provoking-nuggets |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by san4P(m): 8:52am On Jul 22, 2025 |
Editorialtimes:Although the Nigerian Military deserves commendation for this act of patriotic zeal... But it's time we do not use our hands to quench the enterprising spirit in the hearts of other patriots... I am aware that apart from crude oil ben extracted... other natural minerals around the country are been exploited without documentation... For us to grow and flourish we need these small and medium businesses... whether those extracting natural resources, or manufacturing, or trading, or any other good venture... We need to encourage them... It is needful for Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC) to sensitize entrepreneurs on how to be incorporated in Nigeria... because taxes from these businesses are needful for our national development... I request that our gallant military release these persons... and instruct them to properly register their businesses... Remember... Nigeria: Good people, Great nation... |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by diverseconcepts: 9:00am On Jul 22, 2025 |
Good Job. This will make the forum more interesting for everyone. |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by nairalanda1(m): 9:06am On Jul 22, 2025 |
Emmacolinho:You want your car engine to end up on the scrap heap? It is easy to refine fuel. Quality fuel is much harder. |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by nairalanda1(m): 9:09am On Jul 22, 2025 |
san4P:NO, you should get government to issue licences to people who will build mini refineries, not to people like these guys who have one large metal barrel being heated over fire. The chap that would build a proper mini refinery would get qualified people to build it and to refine fuel to international standard. These guys? They will make the kind of fuel that would work...while slowly making your engine become like a stage 4 cancer victim. |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by bobbiiee: 9:10am On Jul 22, 2025 |
You said my mind. Such fuel is hardly well-refined. Urgent1Million: |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by ceejay80s(m): 9:16am On Jul 22, 2025 |
What's illegal, let them work and license them so there can be competition, Because it doesn't belong to dangote or otedola or a zillionaires, they don't matter |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by PRINCESSFCFANSs(f): 9:21am On Jul 22, 2025 |
OK How come ? and fuel is so expensive ,. this are part of the people who does not want the good of Nigerians , we know that nothing might be done to them. Evil doers Princess Faith Chukwu |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by Ebeano49(m): 9:22am On Jul 22, 2025 |
Why can't the government empower these people and legalize their operations and set minimum quality standards? This will create jobs, improve security, reduce criminality, and give these people a sense of ownership over their God given resource. If NW folks can mine their gold, why shouldn't SS folks refine their oil?? [b]NB: [/b]During the civil war, easterners were able to refine crude throughout the war. That's why there was no fuel scarcity in the east during the war. It shows local people in the area can safely engage in small scale crude refining. Why cant this be supported? |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by ifeco4(m): 9:26am On Jul 22, 2025 |
Urgent1Million:Then the government should get them registered and empower them with the necessary training and monitor their activities as well. The positive impact will be huge on the economy. |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by Kalulu44: 9:27am On Jul 22, 2025 |
I have problem with where they said a Sienna vehicle was caught with 1,200 litres of AGO which is diesel or gas. I put it to them that except the Sienna is a new type of truck vehicle that I don't know of. No Sienna can carry such amount of litres of anything crude. . And secondly all this ones are caught bcus they're not paying dues to the right channel. This has been going on for decades and the army and govt knows about them. If you dey settle well no probs, but if you become stingy yawa for you. |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by GeneralPula: 9:27am On Jul 22, 2025 |
ggood:And how did you know northerners are not among the owners of those illegal refineries? |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by BreakingNews21: 9:38am On Jul 22, 2025 |
Seems Sahara Reporters didn't have any Reporters in place to deliver this news. 😉 |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by nairalanda1(m): 9:45am On Jul 22, 2025 |
lailo:Tompolo and asari that now back tinubu? Okay o. Na so e go be |
| Re: Nigerian Forces Seizes 350,000L Of Stolen Fuel, Closes 14 Illegal Refineries by free2ryhme: 9:56am On Jul 22, 2025 |
Editorialtimes:Illegal refineries and bunkering destroys the economy |
72 Illegal Refineries Uncovered In One Week – NNPC • Military Destroys 23 Illegal Refineries, Arrests 60 Oil Thieves • Soot, Fire Outbreaks: RSG Seeks Citizens Synergy To End Illegal Refineries • 2 • 3 • 4
N300m Bridge Collapses In Enugu • 3 Of The 5 Bank Chiefs Arrested • I Met The Treasury Empty And I , Left It Empty Says, Gej.