Stats: 3,327,354 members, 8,430,601 topics. Date: Saturday, 20 June 2026 at 06:47 PM

Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu - Food (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralFoodFrustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu (18342 Views)

1 2 3 4 5 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by Father4all: 4:40pm On Jul 25, 2025
What do you expect from an illiterate woman
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by twilliamx(m): 4:48pm On Jul 25, 2025
CoronaVirusPro:
What respect are you talking about? That I cannot walk into a restaurant with a bottle of water at hand?

What standard is that for a bottle of water?

So of if I was coming from my office and had a bottle water on my table, I am not allowed to go eat or walk into some places? I have to buy another one?

We talking about a bottle of water here and not beer or liquor
Go and eat else where
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by Deepspirituals: 4:51pm On Jul 25, 2025
I'm Spiritualist D'Light .Stop Eating Outside , Especially where you see Lots of People Rushing ...

Believe it or not , I'm a Spiritualist, Tell your Wife to Cook and Put it in the Cooler , If Not Buy Snacks to Hold Your Belle , When U gets Home Tell her to cook for U.

Water from Private Parts , Water from Dead Body are Added to some Public food Seller food to Boost Sales .. Once You eat , You are Hooked Spiritually . The Jinn , Esoteric Powers Invoke upon those Weird Liquids won't ever make you stop Going there .

Feel free to Doubt it , It's non of My Business..
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by Judolisco(m): 4:51pm On Jul 25, 2025
Moraklaw:
Today, I went to a restaurant around Shomolu, specifically at the back of Guaranty Trust Bank (GTBank) in Shomolu, where they sell amala. I had my own bottle of water, but the owner wouldn't allow me to bring it inside because they sell water. When I explained that I might need a specific type of water, or that I had purchased water in bulk, she responded arrogantly. When she told me that I couldn't bring my water in, I asked, "Do you want me to leave?" because of the way she spoke to me, and she responded, "Yes, I want you to leave." This experience left me feeling that the restaurant was not customer-centric and that the owner was unwilling to engage politely.

It’s disappointing to encounter such behavior, especially from someone who deals with perishable goods. I will not be recommending this place to others.

Editor: Google Picture used for illustration
Next time pls ask for the reason... So we'll learn...
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by ibtommy(m): 5:01pm On Jul 25, 2025
Moraklaw:
Today, I went to a restaurant around Shomolu, specifically at the back of Guaranty Trust Bank (GTBank) in Shomolu, where they sell amala. I had my own bottle of water, but the owner wouldn't allow me to bring it inside because they sell water. When I explained that I might need a specific type of water, or that I had purchased water in bulk, she responded arrogantly. When she told me that I couldn't bring my water in, I asked, "Do you want me to leave?" because of the way she spoke to me, and she responded, "Yes, I want you to leave." This experience left me feeling that the restaurant was not customer-centric and that the owner was unwilling to engage politely.

It’s disappointing to encounter such behavior, especially from someone who deals with perishable goods. I will not be recommending this place to others.

Na jazz most of those guys dey use to attract customers. Next time, just cook something nice and put am for your food flask.
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by nedekid: 5:01pm On Jul 25, 2025
Op, aside the normal "we sell our water" , it goes beyond open eyes.
If you are an experienced amala eater from days back you will understand jazz is involved. Some of them believe you will spoil their jazz if you bring items into their restaurants, it way be part of the rules of the juju.
What is the juju done for, it is to attract customers to the joint. Back in the day juju was not hidden in amala joints, once you enter you lookup by the roof of the entrance door the juju will be clearly displayed. Infact we then will like to see the juju as it means the amala will be sweet, the only thing is the owner should not make it too potent that it will turn belle lol.
Over time people got wise and started getting scared of the juju, so those joint stated covering them with wood so you will not see, but an experience person will know when you see a wooded structure with key above the entrance. In recent days you no longer see the juju, it is well masked.
Why do you think that lady will refuse to sell food to you that will have cost over 4k just because of 150-300 bottle water? Mama no want make you spoil her jazz which will cost her more in sales and to rectify it.
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by Sakobaba(m): 5:04pm On Jul 25, 2025
Bigcowhorn:
It's like you are new in Lagos. Lol

If you can find a serious amala joint that is not operated by very arrogant and wicked people I will give you 5K after you drop the address for me to check out

All of them are that way except the sellers that are still struggling for customers
I know two places. But can’t disclose location for security reasons .
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by Omonigeriarere: 5:05pm On Jul 25, 2025
CoronaVirusPro:
What respect are you talking about? That I cannot walk into a restaurant with a bottle of water at hand?

What standard is that for a bottle of water?

So of if I was coming from my office and had a bottle water on my table, I am not allowed to go eat or walk into some places? I have to buy another one?

We talking about a bottle of water here and not beer or liquor
Come to Yakoyo behind Zenith Bank in VI and try it. She has a standard and you are free to leave if you can abide by it.
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by Reloadedisraelp: 5:09pm On Jul 25, 2025
columbus007:
According to a very good source, those people selling amala, some of them uses jazz to sell, to spot them ehn they are those ones who are mostly very arrogant. Or you see people washing their plates by themselves before they could eat, Run as fast as you can. undecided
word ...
U are not far from the truth...it's better he leaves...he shouldn't be move by the number of customer going there to eat...
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by damoobaba: 5:09pm On Jul 25, 2025
Moraklaw:

Not a matter of customer-centric things. Its just to prevent unnecessary headache of allowing people to come and dictate for you in your space.

If that's their policy there, pls go somewhere else and stop trying to bring down their business.

There are SEVERAL EATERIES and EVENT CENTRES where you're not allowed to come in woth your foodstuffs and you guys don't have a problem with it.
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by GloriousGbola: 5:09pm On Jul 25, 2025
Moraklaw:

No eatery of any grade will allow patrons to bring in their own food. If you don't want to buy their drinks at their price , package the food and eat it outside.
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by GloriousGbola: 5:11pm On Jul 25, 2025
damoobaba:
Not a matter of customer-centric things. Its just to prevent unnecessary headache of allowing people to come and dictate for you in your space.

If that's their policy there, pls go somewhere else and stop trying to bring down their business.

There are SEVERAL EATERIES and EVENT CENTRES where you're not allowed to come in woth your foodstuffs and you guys don't have a problem with it.
I have NEVER seen an eatery where people bring in their own food.
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by Nobody: 5:18pm On Jul 25, 2025
twilliamx:
Go and eat else where
Definitely will be doing that! What’s so special about any Amala joint that will make water a contraband.

Even in 5 start hotels, I am allowed to have a bottle of water at hand.

We not talking about a carton a water here. We talking about a bottle of water. Normal bottle that people take a stroll with.

Never knew it was a cocaine.
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by Nobody:
Omonigeriarere:
Come to Yakoyo behind Zenith Bank in VI and try it. She has a standard and you are free to leave if you can abide by it.
Please stop calling it standard. You are abusing the word.

What standard is it that, whenever you have a bottle of water at hand, you can not walk into a restaurant.

Are we all sane here? A bottle of water in hand is a turn off for a restaurant owner?

That’s the highest level of illiteracy, ignorance and wickedness.

I don’t think anyone would buy water because he is going to eat. It definitely would be a something out of thought.

So having a bottle of water at hand is now a crime if you must venture to eat?

Damn! You lots support ills.
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by harsysky(m): 5:29pm On Jul 25, 2025
Firebox123:
i was born in shomolu

The op is lieing and spoiling the woman handwork

They will soon sue seun

Your write-ups are mostly immature. You should learn to be serious when important issues are written or discussed about.
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by YeyeGbami: 5:36pm On Jul 25, 2025
Carry your water enter go enter eatery if dem go allow you, if you can’t follow her rules go elsewhere abi na must for you to eat there?

Naso una go carry bad omen enter person bizness.
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by CorperKola: 5:36pm On Jul 25, 2025
I was so annoyed the day someone hagard woman security guard pulled that same shii
After buying food of over 5k, you dey complain of 300 cole bottle wey i carry enter.
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by Pootle: 5:44pm On Jul 25, 2025
those kind of people dont sell or attract customers with clear eyes
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by rapheal5(m): 5:45pm On Jul 25, 2025
Bigcowhorn:
It's like you are new in Lagos. Lol

If you can find a serious amala joint that is not operated by very arrogant and wicked people I will give you 5K after you drop the address for me to check out

All of them are that way except the sellers that are still struggling for customers
You lied I know one Iya Akeem alamala inside ile epo oja market in Lagos, try and confirm.
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by gabbasin(m): 5:50pm On Jul 25, 2025
Moraklaw:

The amala restaurant might be having an exclusive contract with a bottled water brand which you aren't aware of, there are some restaurants that certain brands give rewards and other benefits based on agreement that the restaurant will not allow other competing brands in their outlet. And if this is the case, they should have informed you in a polite way. I am in the food and beverage industry and this is called brand exclusivity agreement/contract
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by columbus007(m): 6:09pm On Jul 25, 2025
Reloadedisraelp:
word ...
U are not far from the truth...it's better he leaves...he shouldn't be move by the number of customer going there to eat...
exactly my thoughts.
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by wunmi590(m): 6:10pm On Jul 25, 2025
Moraklaw:

When dishing out informations like this, it is best to state the specific amala spot, so that people can avoid her, once she discovered that she has lost customers, she will come back to her senses
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by yemmit90: 6:11pm On Jul 25, 2025
Moraklaw:

Don't be sad about your experience, that is how some traders behaved( educated or illiterates), they are all the same. The moment they start getting unrestricted customers, they care less of anyone again. I can't count the number of places I have withness such attitudes. Mayb you don't go out often to buy things, otherwise this their attitudes would not be new to you.
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by frugal(m): 6:22pm On Jul 25, 2025
Robnectar:
Nah unah no dey respect unah self
,.. buying food wey Dem go don wash yansh put,.. her jazz strong gan,.. for u to open thread on top this matter,... U don chop yansh soups tire grin
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by femi4: 6:27pm On Jul 25, 2025
Moraklaw:

Her business, her rules..respect het
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by Factcheck0001: 6:27pm On Jul 25, 2025
Deepspirituals:
I'm Spiritualist D'Light .Stop Eating Outside , Especially where you see Lots of People Rushing ...

Believe it or not , I'm a Spiritualist, Tell your Wife to Cook and Put it in the Cooler , If Not Buy Snacks to Hold Your Belle , When U gets Home Tell her to cook for U.

Water from Private Parts , Water from Dead Body are Added to some Public food Seller food to Boost Sales .. Once You eat , You are Hooked Spiritually . The Jinn , Esoteric Powers Invoke upon those Weird Liquids won't ever make you stop Going there .

Feel free to Doubt it , It's non of My Business..
what if the person goes broke?

Will he b going there to eat on credit?
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by EleventhWeirdo: 6:39pm On Jul 25, 2025
columbus007:
According to a very good source, those people selling amala, some of them uses jazz to sell, to spot them ehn they are those ones who are mostly very arrogant. Or you see people washing their plates by themselves before they could eat, Run as fast as you can. undecided
BS!!! When will Africa rise above these ridiculous thoughts and backward sentiments
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by Nazgul: 6:43pm On Jul 25, 2025
omooba969:
C'mmon Nazgul, haba! undecided

I don't expect such unreasonable submission from a notable Man United fan like you.

C'mmon na!! 🤨
Bro don't get it twisted. Juju is real. Like very real.
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by Harddiskng(m): 6:58pm On Jul 25, 2025
omoredia:
U wan try woman wey dey sell amala with jazz. GOD spared ur life and u are complaining
Lool i was thinking same thing.

Na so God dey save person
Re: Frustrating Experience At Amala Joint At Shomolu by Kingisibor: 6:58pm On Jul 25, 2025
That's why I like igbo restaurants.... water to drink after eating is 💯 free
1 2 3 4 5 Reply

Nigerians Troop To Amala Joint In Enugu After Unsolicited PublicityGuests Dragging Hot Amala At An Event Abroad (Photos)Accredited Amala Joints In Nigeria (2018 List)234

Kogi Confluence Rice Hits The Market (Photos)Roasted Chicken Sold Openly In Lagos: Where Are Our Standards?Contemporary Step-by-step Guide To Food Export Business