Stats: 3,325,720 members, 8,423,387 topics. Date: Tuesday, 09 June 2026 at 05:04 PM

Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture - Sports - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumEntertainmentSportsOkocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture (36554 Views)

1 2 3 Reply (Go Down)

Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by Omooba77(op): 5:27pm On Jul 27, 2025
Former Super Eagles captain, Austin Okocha, has denied a viral claim that he was carrying eight-year-old Esther Okoronkwo on his shoulders at the Reebok Stadium in 2005.

The 28-year-old Okoronkwo inspired Nigeria’s 10th WAFCON title triumph in Morocco on Saturday.

After going 2-0 down in the first half against the hosts, Okoronkwo scored a penalty to half the deficit and also assisted Folashade Ijamilusi’s equaliser before setting up Jeniffer Echegini’s winning goal.

The AFC Toronto forward was named Player of the Match, and her exploits soon sparked claims on social media.

One of the posts with this claim was made by X user with the name, #BobMfonmma, who posted a picture of Okocha during his active days, carrying a child on his shoulders with the caption, “Jay Jay Okocha with 8-year-old Esther Okoronkwo at the Reebok Stadium in 2005. Anointed from childhood!”

PUNCH Online contacted Okocha to fact-check this narrative that is spreading across social media, but he denied the claim and rubbished the narrative.

That’s nonsense. This is my son,” the ex-Bolton midfielder told our correspondent.

Since the WAFCON tournament, Okoronkwo has won the hearts of many Nigerians, after scoring two goals plus six assists.

She was a super sub in Nigeria’s first two games, coming on as a second-half substitute and providing assists (two) before being named in the starting lineup from the third game against Algeria till the final.

Nigeria’s thrilling win against Morocco on Saturday marked the 10th triumph of the Super Falcons on the continental stage after their previous triumphs in 1998, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2010, 2014, 2016 and 2018.
https://punchng.com/okocha-denies-carrying-super-falcons-okoronkwo-in-viral-2005-picture/

Re: Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by naptu2: 6:17pm On Jul 27, 2025
The guy that started the rumour has admitted that he was just "catching cruise" and he was shocked that the story has gone so far.

Bob @BobMfonmma

That picture of Okocha and Esther Okoronkwo that I posted yesterday for cruise purposes is a trending search on Google as we speak and some blogs have carried it.

Just to be clear, Esther is not related to Jay Jay Okocha or Isaac Okoronkwo, former Super Eagle international.

🤲
https://x.com/BobMfonmma/status/1949509469915709760?t=vZiQS0SOyF62592_wucuPA&s=19

Fyi,chimgozirim @UtdCitypriest

I dey fight for my life for my own CS😭😂
https://x.com/UtdCitypriest/status/1949511522633359626?t=TLENjBMge456b-cnoDagjg&s=19

Bob @BobMfonmma

I responded to some so they know it was cruise. I muted the conversation. It’s going to over 1m impressions now. Did a google search and it came out. I say Omo make I come clear air o.

This particular agenda, everybody chop am😂😭
https://x.com/BobMfonmma/status/1949511917287973146?t=9T6L2bBDDq_gAaJveOYl-Q&s=19
Re: Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by naptu2: 6:21pm On Jul 27, 2025
Veteran journalist Colin Udoh also spoke to Esther Okoronkwo who said that Isaac Okoronkwo is not her father.

Colin NOT Collins @ColinUdoh

Just to be clear, I just had it confirmed with her, Esther Okoronkwo is not the daughter of former Super Eagles defender Isaac Okoronkwo
https://x.com/ColinUdoh/status/1949425942905937979?t=26Yw3_xZb6reTi3_SZxO2w&s=19
Re: Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by columbus007(m): 6:51pm On Jul 27, 2025
Finally social media is going out of context, misuse to many, that was why late baba buhari was against it😕.
Re: Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by Majesty7: 7:51pm On Jul 27, 2025
Omooba77:
https://punchng.com/okocha-denies-carrying-super-falcons-okoronkwo-in-viral-2005-picture/
What gives people confidence to post lies? Is it a form of mental illness or what?
Re: Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by Mariangeles(f):
I said it!
That baby wasn't fine enough to have been young Esther Okoronkwo.
Re: Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by GanagiBitrus: 7:52pm On Jul 27, 2025
Lol!
Reminds me of Messi bathing Lamine Yamal. smiley

Though I don't know if Messi denied it.

Re: Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by ZombieDredd: 7:53pm On Jul 27, 2025
naptu2:
The guy that started the rumour has admitted that he was just "catching cruise" and he was shocked that the story has gone so far.

Bob @BobMfonmma

https://x.com/BobMfonmma/status/1949509469915709760?t=vZiQS0SOyF62592_wucuPA&s=19

Fyi,chimgozirim @UtdCitypriest

https://x.com/UtdCitypriest/status/1949511522633359626?t=TLENjBMge456b-cnoDagjg&s=19

Bob @BobMfonmma

https://x.com/BobMfonmma/status/1949511917287973146?t=9T6L2bBDDq_gAaJveOYl-Q&s=19[/quote]Na that cruise go put am for trouble soon.

He is acting suprised on top lie that he put as fact
Re: Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by excellencyabia1:
People will be carrying news both verified and unverified
Until someone die from your so cruise, people will not stop April fool
Re: Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by Realdeals(m): 7:53pm On Jul 27, 2025
Same way they are catching cruise with sensitive matters.
Re: Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by ZombieDredd: 7:54pm On Jul 27, 2025
Majesty7:
What gives people confidence to post lies? Is it a form of mental illness or what?
I believe so.

He called the lies cruise.
That the new name for it
Re: Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by oluwatomiwa(m): 7:54pm On Jul 27, 2025
Some people will just sit behind the keyboard typing rubbish without fast check the facts.
Re: Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by Kobicove(m): 7:55pm On Jul 27, 2025
Someone will just sit down in his house and concoct one lie! angry
Re: Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by OT2024: 7:55pm On Jul 27, 2025
People should be careful about what they post.

Catching cruise should be done responsibly.
Re: Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by Tinubumustgo(m): 7:55pm On Jul 27, 2025
2006 was when I stopped believing newspaper after I read about okocha to play 2006 world Cup from newspaper.
Re: Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by Psalmistproject: 7:55pm On Jul 27, 2025
The guy knows what he was doing. Now he's pretending he didn't know it will go viral?

Oga you be genius abeg enjoy the attention and press on it until all the good oil enter your mouth finish.
Re: Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by opamoses1: 7:55pm On Jul 27, 2025
We know it is agenda. Even the baby Kanu was also carrying in the picture was his son and not Esther Okoronkwo.
Re: Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by MrIcredible: 7:56pm On Jul 27, 2025
Who cares
Who cares

All na propaganda

Yeye yeye yeye
Re: Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by MaziObinnaokija: 7:56pm On Jul 27, 2025
cool Legend Austin Jay Jay OKOCHA cool cool.

Dribble master
Re: Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by ceejay80s(m): 7:57pm On Jul 27, 2025
I said it,
The two babies from okocha and Kanu completely different
Re: Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by Mariangeles(f): 7:57pm On Jul 27, 2025
ZombieDredd:
I believe so.

He called the lies cruise.
That the new name for it
Honestly, they can get away with anything nowadays, as long as they call it "cruise".
Re: Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by Neutra11:
Please spell words correctly when you post, and try to use perfect grammar

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H0w_Cg8Rdrg?si=qtWTclnfFYQFmWGS
Re: Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by Federalofficia(m): 7:58pm On Jul 27, 2025
Social media and cybar law is on it way, Shay be them want regulate social media because of things like this nigerian say na dictatorship government want they do meanwhile other western countries like china US russiaa they regulate their own
Omooba77:
Re: Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by mannobi(m): 7:59pm On Jul 27, 2025
Some jobless people will just wake up and start spreading nonsense.
Re: Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by CaptainFM1: 7:59pm On Jul 27, 2025
There should be a penalty for Bob for peddling false rumour.
Re: Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by nairalanda1(m): 7:59pm On Jul 27, 2025
GanagiBitrus:
Lol!
Reminds me of Messi bathing Lamine Yamal. smiley

Though I don't know if Messi denied it.
Photo is of messi bathing yamal.

It was for a charity calendar. Messi at the time was 20 years old.

Photo has been proven to be the truth
Re: Okocha Denies Carrying Esther Okoronkwo In Viral 2005 Picture by PlayerMeji: 8:00pm On Jul 27, 2025
He was not catching any cruise.... This pattern is common with some people who will just pick any information and pass it up without verification and claim it is the honest truth until they are outed.

Like one said, he was just a social media content creator not long ago....
1 2 3 Reply

Christmas: Esther Okoronkwo Gives Away ₦2 Million On The Streets Of AbiaEsther Okoronkwo Scores A Brace As Oshoala Scores On DebutMichelle Alozie And Esther Okoronkwo Holiday In Lagos (Photos & Videos)234

UCL: Ancelotti Becomes Most Successful Manager Ahead Of Guardiola, MourinhoThe Premier League Golden Boot Race Is Coming Down To The WireJose Mourinho Slams Crates Of Water Bottles During UCL Victory, Mocks Critics