Stats: 3,326,423 members, 8,426,458 topics. Date: Sunday, 14 June 2026 at 10:09 AM

This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off - Properties (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPropertiesThis Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off (27948 Views)

1 2 3 Reply (Go Down)

Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by ogaemma: 3:37pm On Jul 28, 2025
Blame the government who have failed NIGERIANS.
What ever Nigerians are suffering now, is because those extorting them have taken advantage of the failed government institution.
How many housing unit does the government build annually?
Gadafi built millions of housing unit annually for Libyans. Housing was free for Libyans.
China built millions of housing unit annually to meet their huge population to overcome homeless Crisis.
What about Nigeria?
When was the last time the government at all levels built housing unit for it's citizens?
Dr. Ogbemudia of Bendel state, built the then Bendel estate both in Benin City, Warri, Asaba and Agbor.
The wicked Landlord's and agent's have taken advantage of our failed and useless government.
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by adebayo201: 3:39pm On Jul 28, 2025
Two people that you should be weary of when it comes to getting an apartment especially in cities.

1. Developer.
2. House agent.

You see that number 2, they're people who live in a small room but feast on your ignorance.
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by fesman15: 3:47pm On Jul 28, 2025
Imagine a bed sitter for 600k not even 33line, Asb is ruined
Sabadon:
Asaba is worse I wish the government can do something about it
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by flexyrule(m): 3:54pm On Jul 28, 2025
One Abuja house agent once told me that "Why would I be driving a car of 15m, and be looking for a house of N1.5m?"

I simply asked him to take me to where he lives.

The chairman shut up.
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by stuffs2002: 3:55pm On Jul 28, 2025
ogaemma:
What ever Nigerians are suffering now, is because those extorting them have taken advantage of the failed government institution.
Gadafi built millions of housing unit annually for Libyans. Housing was free for Libyans.
China built millions of housing unit annually to meet their huge population to overcome homeless Crisis.
What about Nigeria?
When was the last time the government at all levels built housing unit for it's citizens?
Dr. Ogbemudia of Bendel state, built the then Bendel estate both in Benin City, Warri, Asaba and Agbor.
The wicked Landlord's and agent's have taken advantage of our failed and useless government.
* If your friend dupes you you will blame the government
* If it doesn't rain, you will blame the government
* If your girlfriend sleeps with your friend, you will blame the government
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by BodePolScience: 3:56pm On Jul 28, 2025
spiSeyi:
If you like no pay you go end up under the bridge grin real estate is one of the cool biz out there cool. I build websites and app so I can get you a real estate app
Stop supporting evil and an unproductive sector. The evil you support may come back to hunt you, your app building business, your family and your loved ones. You should be smart enough to know that there is a big difference between being productive or rendering genuine services vs just being opportunistic and manipulative.
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by Nobody:
Rapmoney:
Believe it or not, most of these greedy house agents who have made under trees and roadside their offices, live in terrible apartments like the one in the photo. These greedy folks cannot afford to pay for same apartments they are trying to rip you off with.

They will tell you:
Agent fee is N150,000
Caution fee is N100,000
Management fee is N100,000
Agreement fee is N100,000
Inspection fee is N10,000
House rent is N300,000

Now, imagine a prospective tenant paying you N150,000 just for taking him/her to see a house that neither belong to you nor your papa. You expect the prospective tenant to pay unnecessary fees which when put together, is even greater that the actual rent for the house.

The way these guys extort people searching for accommodation is something else...follow them to their apartments, you will throw up!
That's a criminal. The agent fees and agreement is always 10% of the initial house rent in this case it should not exceed 30k. Scrap out inspection fees, na for hungry ijiots.

And wth is management fee lol and for a 300k a year property caution fee should not exceed 50k. That agent na thief.
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by Tohsynetita1(m): 3:57pm On Jul 28, 2025
ogaemma:
What about Nigeria?
Even if they didn’t build it, they can regulate the fees now.
We aren’t after them to build it but to regulate it.
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by GeneralOuki: 4:01pm On Jul 28, 2025
Rapmoney:
Believe it or not, most of these greedy house agents who have made under trees and roadside their offices, live in terrible apartments like the one in the photo. These greedy folks cannot afford to pay for same apartments they are trying to rip you off with.

They will tell you:
Agent fee is N150,000
Caution fee is N100,000
House rent is N300,000

Now, imagine a prospective tenant paying you N150,000 just for taking him/her to see a house that neither belong to you nor your papa. You expect the prospective tenant to pay unnecessary fees which when put together, is even greater that the actual rent for the house.

The way these guys extort people searching for accommodation is something else...follow them to their apartments, you will throw up!
No agent will charge you 150k for a rent if 300k. Agent fees are 10% of the rent amount.
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by GeneralOuki: 4:04pm On Jul 28, 2025
Rapmoney:
You are charging N150,000 as agent fee for a one room apartment. Doesn't the client have family to feed? Or should he or she used all their resources for accommodation?

E be like say you be house agent ooo.
Agent fee 150k for a rent to 300k? That's impossible!! No agent will ever charge you that amount, it's usually 10% of the rent fee.
And those other changes are not going into the pocket of the Agent, that's for the landlord .

Blame landlord for exorbitant fees, it has nothing to do with Agent fee which is always fixed on the 10 percent.

E be like say most of Una never rent house before
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by GeneralOuki: 4:06pm On Jul 28, 2025
AntiChristian:
This one na hell fire he come from!

Why is the house rent cheaper than the extra fees?

You pay 450k extra to rent N300k house?

Another definition of Gbese?

Government should regulate this a little bit!
The Agent has nothing to do with those additional fees. That's all on the landlord. You people are blaming the wrong person here.
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by unscripted(m): 4:08pm On Jul 28, 2025
Firebox123:
wont they survive brr

They have family at home like you also
so they should extort me to survive ?
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by InvertedHammer: 4:10pm On Jul 28, 2025
/
Blame the government that keeps the profession unregulated.
There is no standardized pricing---landlords and agents set whatever price that tickles their fancy.
There is no reason agency fee should be more than 5%. The tenant should not be responsible for legal fees used to
prepare legal documents for rent. But we are talking about Nigeria--a country filled with educated ignoramuses.
/
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by TruthHurts100: 4:18pm On Jul 28, 2025
Firebox123:
wont they survive brr

Then they should get a job. A real job.
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by Rapmoney(op): 4:24pm On Jul 28, 2025
GeneralOuki:
Agent fee 150k for a rent to 300k? That's impossible!! No agent will ever charge you that amount, it's usually 10% of the rent fee.
And those other changes are not going into the pocket of the Agent, that's for the landlord .

Blame landlord for exorbitant fees, it has nothing to do with Agent fee which is always fixed on the 10 percent.

E be like say most of Una never rent house before
Don't just sit in that location you are and type things you know nothing about. Oga, travel make you see. Just because agents in your location charge 10% fee does not mean it is like that in major cities across the country. Again, travel and see.

For your information, I have been in the business of property management before, and I have been paying for accommodation since 2007. Don't think you are talking to a kid.
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by PotatoSalad(m): 4:38pm On Jul 28, 2025
Agents need to be regulated.
I fit wake up tomorrow begin call myself agent.
But the government doesn't care.
If strict measures were put on housing in Nigeria, these things won't be happening. And until it's checked, it's only going to get worse. Few years ago, agents charged 50k. Now, some charge as high as 300k.
The housing inflation bubble is going to burst one day and it won't be funny.

But you see am now, same people doing this will sit down and blame Tinubu for everything.
Charity begins at home.
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by oyeb15: 4:42pm On Jul 28, 2025
They live fat on other peoples property. Best is to be ur own agent.
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by Emmanuel30a: 5:03pm On Jul 28, 2025
Rapmoney:

They will tell you:
Agent fee is N150,000
Caution fee is N100,000
House rent is N300,000

Why are we still having tenants... Should we blame the tenants...or ask them why they choose/decide to be tenants... By the way, why is everybody not landlord or house owner... Is it because everybody don't know how to build house... Then, let everybody go and learn how to build house...so that people won't be talking about tenants and house agents again...
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by Love800(m): 5:07pm On Jul 28, 2025
What do you mean by housing unit buit by government pls?

And, are the houses for free?

Its an honest question pls. Thank you.
ogaemma:
What about Nigeria?
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by Dhon11: 5:07pm On Jul 28, 2025
Agent of the devil. Their life is always as bittered as the way you do your face when they bill you. I usually see some around where I stay, it's their office, uncomplicated building. And they will be abusing someone that they want to extort .

I read it on here last week or so when a tenants mentally met with landlord and discovered his rent is #300k and not 800k that agent has been collecting. He has been there for 5yrs or so.

That's why they don't move forward
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by Love800(m): 5:09pm On Jul 28, 2025
What do you mean by 33line?

Is 33line the same thing with band-A?
fesman15:
Imagine a bed sitter for 600k not even 33line, Asb is ruined
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by Dhon11: 5:11pm On Jul 28, 2025
They are actually not the same. I met one, many yrs ago when I was transfered to IBADAN. He was kind enough to collect only the house rent from me, maybe because he saw that my wife was heavy. And I gained allot from him. After a year, It was easier for me to buy few plots of land and I've developed two of it. He's just God sent. I don't know if he's a demon to others .
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by Reloadedisraelp: 5:11pm On Jul 28, 2025
Creamypie:
For asaba. House is 1.2 million. "Total package" to landlord 1.9million. Here in asaba, its an unwritten rule that your primary aim of residing is just to raise sufficient money to pay rent to the landlord and renew, who think he's god, doing u a favour. For house wey them nack toilet put,cracked walls wey them come paint.You hardly know agents house.if u by mistake go there, their house costs less than 30k yearly. Pigsty like the one in kung fu hustle.
this guy don crack me up with at Kung Fu hustle pics grin grin
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by Love800(m): 5:13pm On Jul 28, 2025
How do you calculate these... Can you outline it on a table for us to see it clearly. Which of dem should one pay, or how much is the original amount for those fees?
dkidd:
That's a criminal. The agent fees and agreement is always 10% of the initial house rent in this case it should not exceed 30k. Scrap out inspection fees, na for hungry ijiots.

And wth is management fee lol and for a 300k a month property caution fee should not exceed 50k. That agent na thief.
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by greatness77: 5:14pm On Jul 28, 2025
Rapmoney:

They will tell you:
Agent fee is N150,000
Caution fee is N100,000
House rent is N300,000

here in asaba house rent 1.2million total package 2.6million
The case dey court now because landlord say him House na 500k and not 1.2million and they still get mind do am 2.6million
Which means out of 2.6million na only 500k landlord get
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by shaqhead: 5:15pm On Jul 28, 2025
kingthreat:
This is crap. Agency and Agreement fees are usually 10% of the actual rent.
Caution fee has been scrapped. Yes inspection fee dey but as a sharp guy, you can avoid it.
As a house seeker, you owe yourself not to be cheated.
It's not so easy as you write it here especially for so many that find themselves in a desperate search for a decent accommodation that is fair price!
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by OblorOblor: 5:15pm On Jul 28, 2025
I once encountered such a greedy agent who calls himself Prophet, or is it Apostle. He happened to be a tenant in the same compound where there was vacancy, and has hijacked the agency role. This fellow invented numerous fees, making the total package to gross almost one million naira in a neighbourhood where the priciest rent was N500,000. Needless to say that the property remained unrented for upward of six months before the landlord realized where the problem was. The landlord not only revoked his appointment as agent, he also gave him quit notice for causing him huge financial loss.
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by Love800(m): 5:19pm On Jul 28, 2025
I want to ask.
Cant someone get a house without going through an agent?

Am just curious. I want to know if its possible?
PotatoSalad:
Agents need to be regulated.
I fit wake up tomorrow begin call myself agent.
But the government doesn't care.
If strict measures were put on housing in Nigeria, these things won't be happening. And until it's checked, it's only going to get worse. Few years ago, agents charged 50k. Now, some charge as high as 300k.
The housing inflation bubble is going to burst one day and it won't be funny.

But you see am now, same people doing this will sit down and blame Tinubu for everything.
Charity begins at home.
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by Reloadedisraelp: 5:20pm On Jul 28, 2025
I hate it when people call government for everything in their life..... government no create house agent,so y'all should leave the government out of this .... Find solutions to the issue y'all created...
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by kingthreat(m): 5:21pm On Jul 28, 2025
shaqhead:
It's not so easy as you write it here especially for so many that find themselves in a desperate search for a decent accommodation that is fair price!
True, these landlords and agents feed on desperation. One thing I have learnt during house search is taking one's time. Gather your money, take your time. Don't be too desperate. It's well.
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by Reloadedisraelp: 5:24pm On Jul 28, 2025
greatness77:
here in asaba house rent 1.2million total package 2.6million
The case dey court now because landlord say him House na 500k and not 1.2million and they still get mind do am 2.6million
Which means out of 2.6million na only 500k landlord get
whoever they scam like dis needs to be flog 50stroke of koboko
Re: This Could Be That House Agent That Is Trying To Rip You Off by silibaba: 5:26pm On Jul 28, 2025
Firebox123:
wont they survive brr

You get time to answer am. He should enter street and search for house himself. Abi na force dem force you?.

In nigeria, everybody dey do e own business the way e favour am.
1 2 3 Reply

Don't Be In Haste To Move Out Of That HouseBefore You Rent That House!Where Is The Craziest Place A House Agent Has Ever Taken You To?234

Christmas Tragedy: Landslide Kills 3 In Abuja, Injures 3 OthersI Finally Moved Out Of Face Me I Face YouSearch and rescue continue At Lekki Collapsed Building,6 Dead,16 Injured