Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund - Politics (2) - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Nairaland General › Politics › Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund (6228 Views)
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by ALTERNATEID: 12:18pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
Kukutente23:Is water not a natural resources? |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by seunmsg(m): 12:25pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
Kukutente23:If Niger cannot get derivation from a river within its footsteps, why should another state be getting derivation from oil extracted about 200 nautical miles away? Is that fair to you? In fact, Nigeria is the only country that gives derivation to a littoral federating unit for resources extracted beyond 3 nautical miles. So, let’s just be fair to all. |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by Greenback: 12:39pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
seunmsg:If Nigeria divides today or if there was no Nigeria,who own that 200 NMs offshore resource you are talking about? |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by Akpan107(m): 1:33pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
Celestialsword:Kogi State is a oil producing state... |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by Kukutente23: 1:41pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
seunmsg:What you're ranting about is totally unrelated to the issue at hand The issue is whether Niger have the right to 13% derivation of funds due to presence of dams. As far as legality is concerned, the answer will be a straight No. There are also those who will ask why Akwa Ibom should have to take only 13% of its natural resources while the rest are given to states it has no cultural or historical ties with. Besides, I'm surprised you're supporting a Northern state to the detriment of a southern state. I thought you guys loved the SS so much you gave them SP and FCT minister. Are you saying you want to give them this positions to rob them of their God given resources? |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by Kukutente23: 1:41pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
ALTERNATEID:It is |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by Afrojuju2017(m): 2:46pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
helinues:They have a legitimate claim. Water is a natural resource and electricity generated from the dams is sold as a commodity by the FG to foreign nations. The real solution is the FG need to allow LGAs benefit the majority of yields from their lands. The FG can act as a gatekeeper to ensure that state governors and LGA chairpersons don't sign business agreements that's risk the sovereignty of the nation. |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by Afrojuju2017(m): 2:49pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
Urgent1Million:The 13% revenue guarantees that the state from where the resource controlled by the FG is generated gets 13% of the proceeds of that resource, be it oil, water, and in the case of Nasarawa lithium. The FG need to have a very strong determined mines and solid minerals minister because the nation is loosing billions to theft and also suffering the insecurity |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by Afrojuju2017(m): 2:51pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
fabolouz1:The 13% s for hosting the extraction of mineral resources. Be it oil, water, lithium, gold. This would hopefully force the FG into implementing resource control or find a mid-point |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by Afrojuju2017(m): 2:52pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
TheStranger:Water is a resource, if you ask UN clean water is the greatest resource for humanity. Nations who suffer drought and floods know this to be very true |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by Afrojuju2017(m): 2:57pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
Qc1:A dam is a structure built on a suitable water body. By putting that dam within their state they essentially turn the region into a flood plain. So they suffer the consequences of that inconvenience |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by Afrojuju2017(m): 2:57pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
Qc1:What is the resource in Lagos State? |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by Afrojuju2017(m): 3:01pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
Godfullsam:The flood plain would have been expanded due to the presence of the dams, and I suspect other disturbances due to the high voltage power generation causing electromagnetic issues rendering hundreds of acres around the facilities inaccessible, I don't doubt the claim. |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by Afrojuju2017(m): 3:04pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
Armaggedon:A dam is a depreciating resource, it's only ever a matter of time before it breaks and caused destruction. |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by Afrojuju2017(m): 3:06pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
gabbasin:The ports are not a natural resource. Lagos should rather seek a special status as the now first lady then Senator Rémi Tinubu in her bill, that would allow them to support the ports. That couor also be a percent of revenue from the ports. |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by Afrojuju2017(m): 3:08pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
Urgent1Million:Evidently you don't know what a dam is or how a dam operates. I for one wouldn't own a home anywhere near a dam definitely not downhill of a dam. Everything from erosion, flooding, soil instability just name it. Dams impacts their immediate environment very greatly. All fishing and water activity that would have previously happened along the water body that is dam'ed would either cease or reduce significantly |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by Armaggedon: 3:09pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
Afrojuju2017:a dam is a resource? |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by Afrojuju2017(m): 3:10pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
Kukutente23:Water is a natural resource, their water has been dam'ed. They don catch FG for this one really |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by Afrojuju2017(m): 3:12pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
Armaggedon:You don't know it is ! , when you dam the water you create a resource from which you generate water or irrigate farmland, however dams are built to last for decades not hold forever. One day it would fail the intention is always to either extend that day or decommission the dam before then. And a old unused dam is eve worse than a working dam. Or maybe I should have used the term depreciating asset. |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by Kukutente23: 3:28pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
Afrojuju2017:Aargh But you saw the word directly there Haba!! English o |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by Armaggedon: 3:28pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
Afrojuju2017:you are confusing yourself. water is a resource whether dammed or not. Dam is not a resource; it is a federal government infrastructure. A hydroelectric dam is non depreciating, that's why it's called renewable energy. Aside this, water bodies upon which dams are built traverse several states. While a dam may be build in a particular state, the consequences affect other states where the water body traverse. That's why dam is majorly federal project. Asking for derivation on federal government infrastructure is the height of idleness and greed. Learn! |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by seunmsg(m): 3:53pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
Greenback:Well, Nigeria is still existing and those deep offshore should belong to all Nigerians since there is absolutely no impact of its extraction on the nearest state. |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by seunmsg(m): 4:49pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
Kukutente23:We are having a discussion on legality, international law and best practices and you’re already trying to blackmail me with political issues. You Peter Obi supporters always find a way to bring tribalism into every issue for political gain. |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by Celestialsword: 4:59pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
Akpan107:No it's not an oil,producing state. Kogi is one of the poorest state in Nigeria No northern states is among the oil producing states, they should be contented with the minerals they have |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by Kukutente23: 5:06pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
seunmsg:It is you who is polluting this thread with inanities You've not raised any legal reason why Niger state should get 13% derivation for hosting dams. Instead you jumped to Akwa Ibom that's totally unrelated and started talking about shores and nautical miles in a typically ignorant manner. Can you point out any international law and best practices that says a state should share revenue accruing from a federal investment it is hosting? I'm sure you can't point to any |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by Goke7: 5:08pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
That's why the north needs to support restructuring and resource control. |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by Celestialsword: 5:11pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
seunmsg:Doesn't the oil belongs to all Nigerians. Is it not the oil money that is propelling the nation. Is it not the oil money they use to share every month among all the states in the country including many barren states expecially in the north. How else do you want it explained,if the oil was there be in the north, would this country not be shared long time ago. The oil is the one Nigeria we have today |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by WizardOfNG: 5:15pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
KillahPriest:I kinda agree with you. Let's inspect the arguments, for and against, objectively. The concept of fairness should always be revisable as times and circumstances change. It cannot be rigid and inflexible. |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by gawu1: 5:23pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
davodyguy:It seems you have an "ipobpigian" mentality. Just because an airport was named after Tinubu, does that mean the state shouldn't request what they believe is their due from the Federal Government? By the way, is Tinubu the same as the Federal Government? |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by Afrojuju2017(m): 6:54pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
Armaggedon:You already fell on your sword. An hydroelectric dam is a depreciating structure because it can't last forever, everyday it's in operation wear and yeartwoild set in, the turbines themselves have a lifetime. The fact it's is renewable energy doesn't mean that the Dam infrastructure is thereby self replenishing, it only applies to the water that services the dam. I believe the states that have a dam deserve to receive a special funding because of the impact of the dam on the dwellers there. Since the government can't provide them large tax breaks as the nation doesn't have a tax system like that, there should be a federal grant or something significant because when dams releases cause flooding in their state I don't suffer for it as they do. |
| Re: Niger State Drags FG To Court Over Of 13% Derivation Fund by Ikpongiton: 7:51pm On Aug 01, 2025 |
The best to do is to re visit resource control, so that no body will use fund source from other states to sponsor terrorism. |
N180bn For Delta, Akwa Ibom Got N130bn — N544bn Derivation Fund Was Shared • How Oil Derivation Fund Is Shared - Statisense • How State Govts Cheat Oil-Producing Communities In Use Of 13% Derivation Fund • 2 • 3 • 4
Here is why we need Electoral College in Nigeria • Senate To Screen Service Chiefs Behind Closed Doors Today • Why Is Tinubu Standing Alone At The G20 Summit ? Nobody Interacting With Him