Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference - Autos (3) - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Nairaland General › Autos › Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference (31962 Views)
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by 9jawazobia: 6:27pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
kingbee90:It is the exchange rate and custom paid and also high inflation rate caused by subsidy removal |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by Asuun(m): 6:27pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
atobs4real:Exactly! |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by Nnamdipapa(m): 6:29pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
I am actually at this crossroad. I was hoping to clme in and buy SUV in Nigeria and just send it from here. I was thinking it might be more stressful shipping and doing the clearing in Nigeria. |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by calculusx(m): 6:32pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
Interesting thread. I'm happy many people who are not importers or dealers are enlightened enough to correct the OP. OP, as an FYI. did you know Port has been shut for more than 2weeks now because Custom is about to increase tarrif again. Cost of clearing some cars is almost the cost of purchasing the Car itself. You forgot to tell us how long it took the Car to get to Nigeria which is about 2 to 3 months. And you expect the dealer to add #1m profit on it... The risk involved in importation business is still there. By the time this administration is through with Nigerians, we will learn. For now, let's enjoy the Renewed Hope |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by Felaincarnated: 6:32pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
Lookin @ dat no3, na air crash go kpai dat baba Brendaniel: |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by Dokitto001: 6:35pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
Let me help you here as someone who has bought used cars abroad. Used cars have no fixed price. Factors like milage, history of the car (including service history) can sharply differentiate the cost of the cars even if they are same model and year. For example 2017 Nissan Qashqai at milage of 40k miles May cost around 15k to 18k USD. but same car at 90k miles may be around 8k USD. And guess what? Nigerians don't even consider milage when purchasing vehicles. If the dealer just tell you "AC is chilling" e don finish |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by sweetrace(f): 6:39pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
A profit of 17 million on one car!!!!! The car dealers are thieves. |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by MrGerald(m): 6:41pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
bcomputer101:So you don't know that subsidy removal effect almost price of other commodities since it centered around oil sector the backbone of the economy, transportation, SMEs, goods and services etc, or you think it's only pipe pump price? |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by CaptainFM1: 6:42pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
Chilipepper:Don't mind them. Dem no fit take just 50k as profit! |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by Skj13777: 6:42pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
That's the reason many purchase accidented vehicle. The car he bought N43million himself was probably not accidented . The similar car been sold for N60million am very sure has some minor or even major accidents related issues other than " minor dents and scratches". I've sold cars when Nigeria was good and I can tell you factually that it's usually accidental or stolen or flooded cars dealers prefer to sell so as to make maximum gain. Don't be surprised that N60million car falls into some devastating category. You could get clean titled cars more in Cotonou compared to Nigeria. Nigerians are super greedy. |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by ufotunang: 6:47pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
Chilipepper:..the car dealé be will incur some expenses,..import duty, rentage of the place and tax he will.pay at the place he is selling his car and other costs and expenses..so he will have to add this to the cost of the SUV car and also make profit..to operate businesses in this Tinubu administration it's not easy |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by MrDoGood(m): 6:49pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
Brendaniel:No be BAT term him for buy? The profit is too much. And most buy accident vehicles. I don't want to talk about mine. I did everything myself |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by MrGerald(m): 6:51pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
bcomputer101:So you don't know that subsidy removal effect almost price of other commodities since it centered around oil sector the backbone of the economy, transportation, SMEs, goods and services, tarriff etc are effected or you think it's only pipe pump price? |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by Skj13777: 6:54pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
If you buy a clean titled car in USA you may not be able to sell it for a profit in Nigeria because the cost of buying the clean car in USA may be equal to the average selling price of the car in Nigeria. This usually happens to Toyota. That's why it's best to buy accidented in an Auction sale , fix in Nigeria ( buy the spare parts in USA) then use the accidental status of the car to perform a sever short payment at the ports with customs ( something difficult to do with clean cars). At the end of the day after fixing and spraying the accidented car it will look good enough to be sold N60million while everything spent on it inclusive spares and repairs in Nigeria will be maximum N30million. So if dealer can sell the car N60million his profit will be above N25million. Personally I can't buy anything not manufactured in Nigeria here in Nigeria because it's usually X2 or X3 landing cost. |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by Skj13777: 6:59pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
This year I imported a 2016 mack truck head with a milage of 700,000km non accidented super clean single cabin with a/c and computers all working for less than N17million clearing inclusive . That truck was advertised here in Nigeria to me for N80million naira . The truck was even 2014 with mileage over 1,000,000km . Please I will advise anyone to always import your whatever not manufactured in Nigeria yourself. That's the cheapest way. |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by emeshot: 6:59pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
Chilipepper:WE HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING STORIES LIKE THIS RIGHT FROM TIME.LET YOUR FRIEND MAKE AVAILABLE THE NAME AND MODEL OF THE SAID VEHICLE,DETAILS OF PURCHASE,SHIPMENT,AND ALSO DUTY HE PAID ON THAT VEHICLE WITH RECEIPTS THEN WE CAN TALK BUT FOR NOW THIS IS JUST ONE OF THE STORIES FUNNY PEOPLE TELL. |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by Raskimonojendor: 7:03pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
Satazaa:Labour is the most expensive. That's why in the abroad, we DIY everything. A toilet material may cost $100 at the home improvement store, but the plumber can charge you $500 to install it. As per profit margin. You will only realise that those car dealers sell at ongoing price other dealers are selling the same car. Anyone not satisfied can always buy themselves and take up all the risk involved in importing and selling cars. |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by Kaybaba5(m): 7:07pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
Creamypie:Why are you you wasting your energy replying his post. As you can see it doesn't have anything to say |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by ALISMILE(m): 7:09pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
Chilipepper:Nigerian auto dealers are making it big I am a close friend of one of them, dude told me the secrets they make as much as 3million for a 2008 vehicle I’m planning on going into the biz myself |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by papyjaypaul: 7:20pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
This Twitter post is too brief to make a sensible comment about this topic. Anyone can write anything on Twitter leaving more questions than answers. |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by AutoTechDoyz(m): 7:21pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
heybeebugatty:All right. Thanks. |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by sreamsense: 7:23pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
Brendaniel: |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by Brendaniel: 7:24pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
AmazingELixir:You read my article and still can't comprehend basic economics... |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by Brendaniel: 7:26pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
[quote author=sreamsense post=136332190][/quote]truckload of crap, OBJ paid subsidy, cleared debt and did not still borrow, what is Tinubu's excuse ? |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by nedekid: 7:29pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
The importer that will tie down 45m to bring a car in will expect at least 15-20% gain on his investment, the car dealer he gives to sell will expect atleast 10% for his gain and to cover his running cost. So you as the buyer should expect to pay 20-30% ontop the landing cost, which should make a 45m car cost 60m+. |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by Brendaniel: 7:31pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
Dianna344:no, If you notice I chose only selected presidents with some amount of time gap |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by Subsea101: 7:31pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
What has exchange rate got to do with this?? In both scenarios, they buy, ship and clear in same currency... so why the huge markup? Abi car dealers dey exchange their USD at N2,500/USD ![]() Brendaniel: |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by Brendaniel: 7:32pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
nurudeen181:The question you should be asking is why some certain set of people support nonsense leaders back to back |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by shegoon: 7:39pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
Don't mind him,you think it's easy to tie down 48M for months expecting a buyer excluding shipping period. Maybe he expect the dealer to sell at 50M.Af Firebox123: |
| Re: Nigerian Man Questions Auto Dealers Over Shocking SUV Price Difference by shegoon: 7:45pm On Aug 03, 2025 |
Oga you be real business man! So you intend to invest 48M and expect 1M ROI after 4-6months Satazaa: |
Hot Sale 2021 Model Mercedes Benz Gle450 4matic Coupe Suv Price:- Ngn45million • ✅✅✅✅✅✅✅✅clean Tokunbo 2020 Lamborghini Urus Sport.... (SUV)..PRICE 280M • Cars, Auto Dealers & $ Dollar - Naira Exchange Rate: How Are You Coping? • 2 • 3 • 4
AC Compressors For Toyota Camry/Solara/Highlander and Honda Accord • How To Earn Regular Daily Income As A Driver With Roosca! ~ • Car Keyless Entry: remote control Issues