Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman - Celebrities (7) - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Entertainment › Celebrities › Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman (24791 Views)
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Reply (Go Down)
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by Lincton: 4:09pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
How's is Lagos holding the country back? Recently, mention states that have massive project and development initiative like Lagos. During Fasola regime, most of the Governors in Nigeria was imitating the program and projects of Lagos, is that the way Lagos is holding them back? |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by 2mch(m): 4:11pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
Gerrard59:You mentioned tribalism. What was the association between tribalism and Onne officials sabotaging the ports? You are trying to imply somehow Lagos is responsible for the Onne port not working. Even if the claim by Udom is true, if Onne port is free clear and attractive, Akwa Ibom will not have an issue or even need a port. They will only need barges. By the way, we all know that why Lagos is attractive is because the market is there. You don’t need to pay transport to move Goods to a place where half will rot because not enough people can buy it. But let’s keep deceiving ourselves and blaming a particular tribe. When people start to look inward and hold themselves accountable, Nigeria will move forward. Even the Whites ran away from Calabar to come an situate the capital in Lagos. If they truly built the port in Lagos, they would have built one in Calabar too isn’t it? Even they saw that Lagos even then had the population and the port already making business easy for them. We were trading with the Portuguese in the 1400’s. Even old Lagos families will tell you that before slavery we used to travel by boat abroad for trading. My great grand parents used to trade several items. I wonder where they used to trade and ship these things if Lagos had no ports. |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by Gerrard59(m): 4:11pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
aylipple:Thank you for your post. Onne port is geared towards exports, especially from the north east and oil products. Ibom Port in Akwa Ibom is yet to be approved by the federal government even after Udom Emmanuel persisted to ensure it happened. Meanwhile, the Ibom Port area has a natural deep-sea bed. It does not need dredging. On the other hand, Calabar Port cannot work unless it is completely dredged. Fourthly, saying Nigeria needs at least 18 international airports is the height of ignorance and yet, Lagos is to be blame. Pray tell, aside from Lagos and Abuja (and probably Kano and Port Harcourt international airports), which other airports are economically viable? Do they’ve the commerce, population, conducive environment or even economy to support international flights? For someone who has traveled within and outside the country by air, I’m actually surprised VDM could make such an ignorantly bold assertion. Even the states that have airports for domestic flights, how viable have they been? Remember how the only airline at the time (Air Peace) was flying to Kaduna consistently but had to stop after Bandits almost succeeded in hijacking or attacking one of their aircrafts? If states don’t tackle the issues of insecurity head on and citizens of such states actively and tacitly support those threatening security, how’s that Lagos’ fault? Or you think international airlines don’t receive security briefings about active flash points of violence? The decision to fly from any particular airport anywhere in the world is solely the responsibility of the airline and I don’t see how or why Lagos has to be the scape goat as if they put a gun to the heads of the owners of the international carriers to fly into and out of Lagos or risk getting shot dead!I do agree he has a sinister agenda, but we have divergent reasons for thinking so. Surprisingly, he never mentioned that Port Harcourt and Kano airports received international flights. He is being dishonest. The Nigerian economy cannot even support more than the current international airports. |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by JagaLove: 4:13pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
1mansolder:na you dey control the resources before? |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by professorPABX: 4:14pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
waternogatenemy:Thanks for the summary. You cannot just jump into conclusion without executive summary and analysis. Moreover, what I wrote is just a little part of the preamble - the spiritual part of it. I live in Abuja during Abacha era and very close to the seat of power. Late Abdulkarim Adisa said he was not Minister of Lagos Affairs. They said Lagos would die. They said they will move NPA to Lokoja. They ordered Banks to relocate their Head Office out of Lagos. Obasanjo came he said Lagos is a jungle. |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by Lifestone(m): 4:15pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
Afonja007:who stopped them, nobody. But come to see, who will into Enugu with UGM and other violent crimes. Same thing happened in the Northern part of Nigeria at the height of insurgency |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by Gerrard59(m): 4:18pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
2mch:I agree with the population angle. Nonetheless, the port activities attract companies and more people. So, it is a cycle > more people attract more companies which further attracts more people. Anyway, I don't blame Lagos' elites, but those in Rivers and surrounding states. If they were smart enough, they would collaborate much better. To date, Rivers State does not have a sitting governor. So, it is not Lagos' fault. However, the country needs a diversified economy for growth to happen and for the unemployment rate to drop. The reality is that not every ambitious Nigerian can live in Lagos. Nigeria's economy ought to be more like the US, where at least three geographically diverse states are major economic drivers. |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by Tito24: 4:20pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
PHIPEX:it's not too late to start using your money to develop your state Get to work |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by Gerrard59(m): 4:26pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
VDM has a sinister motive with his video, but it is widely known that it is expensive to clear goods from Onne port compared to Lagos ports. Onne to me only makes sense if it is for export, rather than for imports. That said, the two major reasons Lagos ports get patronage are: - Population. - Two of Nigeria's major non-oil exports cocoa and cashews are mostly grown in the south west. So both imports and exports will have to go through Lagos ports. Non-oil products from the north west will as well go through Lagos ports. If ports in the Eastern region (including a proposed Gelelege Port in Edo) are to thrive, political elites from the region, north central and north east have to ensure success. Nigeria needs functioning ports to thrive across the country for the nation's economy to be diversified. |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by waternogatenemy: 4:28pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
professorPABX:MUCH BETTER SUMMARY. TRUTH IS VDM ACTUALLY WANT NIGERIA TO DEVELOP, FOR SO LONG WE HAVE BEEN HELD HOSTAGE IN OUR OWN COUNTRY. WE HAVE OIL BUT REFINERY WERE NEVER ALLOWED TO WORK. WE HAVE SEA BUT WERE NEVER ALLOWED DEEPSEAPORT ASIDE LAGOS./ WE HAVE MASSIVE LANDMASS BUT HAVE TO TRAVEL VIA LAGOS MMA. TRADERS WILL COME T LAGOS TO CARRY THEIR GOODS TO KANO AND CROSS RIVER BORNO. AND BENUE. |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by 2mch(m): 4:31pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
waternogatenemy:You have perpetual victim complex and are a commpppulsive storyteller. Is this not the airport? You want everything Lagos has now, but don’t want to work for it or demand airlines use the airport. A foreigner reading your post will think it’s wheelbarrow they use from Enugu Airport to Lagos. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0nrq5KqinjQ?si=clixdNvH0L9UioNq |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by waternogatenemy: 4:31pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
AND WE STILL HAVE THE FEDERAL ITEMISED LIST OF AREAS STATE MUST NEVER DEVELOP. I MEAN SOMEBODY JUST SAT DOWN AND BLOCKED NIGERIA PROGRESS WITH PEN AND PAPER. |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by chidiokay: 4:37pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
legitnow1:How are they Foisting Lagos on you ... no be you as importer go choose port of destination Have you tried Rivers port or benine republic port and Sanwo olu hold your hand, go elsewhere 1st |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by waternogatenemy: 4:38pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
2mch:STOP POSTING LOCAL TERMINAL. THE AVIATION MINISTER HERE FROM 20:00 CONFIRMS ENUGU INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT HAD BEEN ABANDONED SINCE 2015 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UfDI4TeVE7Y |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by aylipple: 4:38pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
Gerrard59:Your response provides further insight into the status of the Eastern Ports. However, a check on the official website of the IDSP indicates FG approval has been granted with the project currently at Full Business Case & procurement stage, albeit it's taking time; hopefully, it doesn't drag on or remain at that stage for too long. See here >> https://www.idsp.ak.gov.ng/ibom-deep-sea-port-project-status.php As for Calabar Ports, I think there's a court case (or even multiple cases) due to contract issues that has stalled progress on its dredging or functionality. Gerrard59:Exactly! MAKIA for instance receives high volume of air travelers & cargoes especially to and from Arab nations yet, it's still not deemed viable. |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by Fearurcreeator: 4:41pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
AfonjaPriest:Make them do the port for your backyard. Stop talking like you dey nur1, talk like a reasonable adult |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by 2mch(m): 4:44pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
waternogatenemy:That’s because your Governors are not doing anything but getting allocation from FG. If they come together, clean up their region and create trust between the airlines and the states, those airlines will come to Enugu. By the way, if you watch that video, it is very clear that there is a lot of activity and Air Peace and Ethiopian Air use the airport to many destinations around the world. The summary of this is, all the things you are fighting Lagos for, it’s your Governor you should be fighting. |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by waternogatenemy: 4:45pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
2mch:DUDE, GET OFF MY MENTION ALREADY. |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by professorPABX: 4:47pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
Gerrard59:I didn't read your post but just observed you talk about Seaport like majority of people on this topic do out of ignorance, bitterness and for propaganda. Country cannot force Ships to deliver cargoes to ports that are not on their routes. Maersk is at Onne Port. Ships move cargoes to and from Onne Port. Some people asked questions why DANGOTE use Lome Port during Refinery project when Lagos doesn't have the capacity to receive the 150,000 containers, they said why not Warri others mentioned Portharcourt (Abonema or Onne). I don't want to delve into technicalities. Intel Logistics and other private investors are driving Badagry Deep Seaport. Tolaram group and others private investors created Lekki Deep Seaport. DANGOTE has announced his intention to establish a deep seaport in Ogun State. AkwaIbom governor should let us know the Private investors that are driving the IBOM Deep Seaport. Before 2023 election battle, ATIKU was always talking about the progress being made at Badagry Seaport because of Intel Logistics. Politics came and nothing heard again. We need to know those investors driving IBOM Deep Seaport. Calabar is very close to ECCAS - Economic Community of Central Africa States countries. ECOWAS with Lagos as the economic hub is close to Cotonou ports, Lome Port, Tema and Takoradi ports in Ghana, Cote D'Ivoire port, Senegal port. |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by 2mch(m): 4:52pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
Gerrard59:The truth is Nigerians all like to specialize in one business. Imagine the East now, 80% are importers. So, who in the East will patronize their business? They have to find outsiders to buy their goods, hence moving money and commerce out of their region. Most countries limit this by granting licenses to make the barrier for entry high, so people can find other things to do. There is no structure, so everything is abnormal. If Nigerian hear one business is moving, 1m people will rush to do that business and crash the opportunity for people with the knowledge and the capacity. The country can’t grow with the way we are moving till the Governors come together with sincerity and craft plans for their region. |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by 2mch(m): 4:57pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
professorPABX:If I want to ship something to and from Nigeria, I can choose the route and the port I want it delivered to. That is what a lot of importers are doing. If I am an importer, I am shipping to the port with the most people. It’s business, not sentiments. Guaranteed my goods will move and sell faster. That way, Ships will also consider if it is worth it allocating a whole ship to deliver 5-10 containers. Wasting salary, fuel and resources. They will cancel that route and only provide a route where 10,000 containers are going. It is just business for them as well. So, you see, it is business people making these decisions, not government. If you like build 1000 ports, if the market is In Lagos, things will remain the same. |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by Gerrard59(m): 5:03pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
aylipple:Thank you for the correction. |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by AdUlAM(m): 5:20pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
chido20:I don't just understand the educated illiterates running their mouth above. |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by professorPABX: 5:21pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
waternogatenemy:He doesn't want Nigeria to develop. It is societal decay that created Social Media entertainers as later day activists. It is just like some nairaland moderators bias and uncoordinated control of intelligent topics. All these things you wrote above doesn't make any meaning. In US and other developed countries there are Seaports with Ships that don't come to Lagos. You have to move your cargoes to Seaport that have Shipping Lines that come to Lagos, alternatively, you go to Tema or Lome or Cotonou ports to clear your goods and bring to Nigeria. In developed countries, there are international flights that are not even available in some Airports, you have to get those Airports. If your Social media later day activists wanted to talk about refineries not working and land mass for Agriculture what concerns a Coastal City , the ECOWAS economic hub carrying much burden with that? Will the Emirates in UAE putting blame on Dubai for not allowing them thrive economically. Bye |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by abysirius(m): 5:23pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
I didn't know VDM also chase clout until now. |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by professorPABX: 5:30pm On Sep 10, 2025*. Modified: 5:51pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
2mch:Thanks. My friends have gone to Lome Port severally to clear goods some years ago. They have gone to Cotonou, they have even gone as as far as Tema port in Ghana to clear goods some years ago. Also in US, they want to move items from a particular place to Nigeria, the port at that location doesn't have Shipping Lines to Nigeria except the goods are moved to another port with Shipping Lines to Cote D'Ivoire, Tema, Lome up to Lagos. If Federal Government close all the Seaport in Lagos for VDM to develop his town, the Shipping Lines or Agencies will discharge about 80% of Nigeria Cargoes in Togo or Cotonou |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by patrickmuf(m): 5:31pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
Gerrard59:Akpabio is the current Senate president, so no excuses. GEJ was president yet nothing changed. PMB was president and nothing changed. The truth is simple, those pushing the narrative that development is concentrated in Lagos are doing so to knock the government of the day but I do not buy into that narrative. When the state government are serious, they'll get the FG to support what they want. |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by codemaniacs: 5:53pm On Sep 10, 2025*. Modified: 6:10pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
Gerrard59: Gerrard59:A country's economy has different participants or players but the major ones are: Public sector ( also known as Federal government, state government, local government and other government agencies ). Private Sector ( the sector where private individuals, private companies and other private agencies are ) Non-governmental organizations ( NGO ) which are organisations not part of the government but can get funding from either public sector or private sector.. A country's economy is also the same thing as a Tribe's economy. Lagos elites also includes Yoruba elites from other Yoruba states and outside both the Yoruba region and Nigeria. It is Yoruba elites and Yoruba people that will diversify the economy of the Yoruba region and not the federal government so it is the duty of Tribes to diversify their own Tribes economy either through partnership within themselves or other Tribes or state government or FG or foreigners.. You said it yourself "Two of Nigeria's major non-oil exports cocoa and cashews are mostly grown in the south west" which means Yoruba people have already created an economy that sustains them. That said, the two major reasons Lagos and the Yoruba region is progressive and gets patronage are: 1. the huge Yoruba population have the finances that other tribes don't have due to Cashew and Cocoa exportation from Yoruba region.. 2. the huge Yoruba population outside Nigeria that sends finances back to the Yorubas in Nigeria also helps boosts purchasing power of Yorubas in Lagos state. e.t.c. It is not Lagos fault that the rest of Nigeria is not developing and Lagos is not holding any state back.... it is those states that don't have the skillset and mindset to boost the finances and wellbeing of their Tribes. |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by fxexperts: 6:16pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
PulaPower:Keep deceiving yourself, you hear. Most of you just like to talk what suits you all. |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by Dennisochampa: 6:22pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
legitnow1:Lagos can go where?? I am from Edo state... Vdm is from Edo state too... Now answer my questions... Na lagos state people tell Edo state people say make we dey focus on trivial things while other people are developing?? Edo received almost 140b.....weein the government use am do?? Make we go delta state.... Delta received close to 400b in 6 months as allocation... Na lagos tell them make them no use am develop the state?? Abi na South East you wan talk?? Abeg make una leave lagos alone |
| Re: Lagos Is Holding Nigeria Back — Verydarkman by nairalanda1(m): 6:31pm On Sep 10, 2025 |
Similar things are happening in South Korea and to some extent Japan. |
VeryDarkMan Meets Davido & Cubana Chief Priest • Charles Okocha Parks His Car On The Road, Strips Unclad, Holding Female Pants • See Why Big Brother Naija 4th Edition Is Holding Nigeria • 2 • 3 • 4
Davido's 4-Year-Old Daughter: "Why Take Paternity Test When You Never Met Her?" • Oge Okoye Celebrates Her Son's 10th Birthday • New Pictures Of Chidimma And Chidiebere Aneke