Stats: 3,328,117 members, 8,434,161 topics. Date: Friday, 26 June 2026 at 10:50 AM

Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA - Satellite TV Technology (2163) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumEntertainmentTV/MoviesSatellite TV TechnologySolar Energy, A Complement To FTA (3435005 Views)

1 2 3 ... 2160 2161 2162 2163 2164 2165 2166 ... 2401 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by GloriousGbola: 7:35pm On Sep 20, 2025
BigDickProblems:
What could have made a Felicity 30amps MPPT comtroller to stop charging?

What could have damaged in it? And how much would it cost to repair? Where can I repair it other than Arena at Oshodi. At Arena Oshodi, there are just about 2 technicians that works on Charge Controllers which was surprising. The rest are just inverters, but just 2 are specifically into Charge controllers on the C2-line. They were calling outrageous amount of money because there are not many technicians there I believe.

One was telling me to fix it for 40k or I should sell it to him for 20k. I just hid my disappointment with him and asked him to couple it back, and I went back home jejely since WPM is still working fine. But I still need to get it repaired in case of any problems.
Felicity have an office at ago palace way and they do repairs there. That may work out better for you.
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by bassdow: 7:40pm On Sep 20, 2025
Obnoxious2001:
Not small ones.

We have some industrial setups that Runs on 120v so using lead batteries is very advantageous for setup like that.
bought one that uses 20pcs of 12v 9A batteries, owner already sold the batteries, unKnown to him, me was after the machine, not the batteries.

Since 20pcs of 12v batteries in series gives 240vDC, I just replaced that with Solar panels. I mainly used them during the day time till someone bought it from me.
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by bassdow: 7:41pm On Sep 20, 2025
GloriousGbola:
Felicity have an office at ago palace way and they do repairs there. That may work out better for you.
oh yea. Around Apple junction I guess
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Nobody: 7:52pm On Sep 20, 2025
GloriousGbola:
Oh, this is closer. I’ll check it out. Thanks
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by samnaija: 9:20pm On Sep 20, 2025
BigDickProblems:
What could have made a Felicity 30amps MPPT comtroller to stop charging?

What could have damaged in it? And how much would it cost to repair? Where can I repair it other than Arena at Oshodi. At Arena Oshodi, there are just about 2 technicians that works on Charge Controllers which was surprising. The rest are just inverters, but just 2 are specifically into Charge controllers on the C2-line. They were calling outrageous amount of money because there are not many technicians there I believe.

One was telling me to fix it for 40k or I should sell it to him for 20k. I just hid my disappointment with him and asked him to couple it back, and I went back home jejely since WPM is still working fine. But I still need to get it repaired in case of any problems.
Did the damage to your controller, occur after a heavy downfall,,
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by JoeSef0(m): 9:54pm On Sep 20, 2025
Na you bring suggestion naw. I was expecting you to answer the question

bassdow:
This one you THANKing me, was expecting you show concern regarding @HeavenlyBang 's comment
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Nobody: 12:03am On Sep 21, 2025
samnaija:
Did the damage to your controller, occur after a heavy downfall,,
I don’t think so. Although I can’t recall if it was raining that day, but all I knew was that it just stopped charging and I felt it’s the usual issues with Felicity controller(that controller has really frustrated me lots of times even b4 that day), and so I switched to using my WPM that day. The next day and many other days of trying to use it, it never worked again.

Today at Arena, I noticed that those two technicians I met could easily see the damage on the controller by just opening it, lols, and I have a feeling that it may be the diode. and that was why I tried my luck here to know what component could have spoilt.

But nevertheless, I am still open to suggestions. And someone here already proffered Ago palace, so I guess that’s my best bet yet.
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by mctfopt: 5:05am On Sep 21, 2025
adrusa:
To illustrate the point about batteries connected in parallel.

4 batteries. Felicity 200AH with ANT BMS. Tactel 300AH with JK-BMS. CATL (DIY) 280AH with JK-BMS. Valto 173AH with JBD BMS. Felicity and Valto are fully charged, 100% SOC while Tactel and CATL are still actively charging. Each of the batteries are doing their separate thing based on their SOC.
Awesome. How did you have all this data nicely in one location?
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by bassdow: 8:57am On Sep 21, 2025
BigDickProblems:
I don’t think so. Although I can’t recall if it was raining that day, but all I knew was that it just stopped charging and I felt it’s the usual issues with Felicity controller(that controller has really frustrated me lots of times even b4 that day), and so I switched to using my WPM that day. The next day and many other days of trying to use it, it never worked again.

Today at Arena, I noticed that those two technicians I met could easily see the damage on the controller by just opening it, lols, and I have a feeling that it may be the diode. and that was why I tried my luck here to know what component could have spoilt.

But nevertheless, I am still open to suggestions. And someone here already proffered Ago palace, so I guess that’s my best bet yet.
SINCE Apple junction which is very close to Ago Palace way is close to you, you just might try them first.

ELSE

since you suspect issue might be minimal, look for a good electrician that repairs radios and televisions, especially the elderly ones, tell them it's not working and ask they help you have a look at it.

So long they know their work, should be able to look into it. Just tell him to ensure whatever they tend to remove/replace, they can put it back should in case it doesn't work so you could take it to their company which is far (yea tell them that even if it's your backYard)

Reason is, between such electrician (locally called Radionic), and those at Ojo Alaba, those at Alaba would bill you based on context and the fact it's "SOLAR" related and they know the cost of a new one hence their pricing tend to be relative to cost of a brand new one.

I don talk am here before, FELICITY products no dey follow products wey I dey recommend or buy for clients when budget is well enough. Naturally, me and popular items no dey too tag along because there's often a reason why it's popular, and many times, it ain't for REASONs cool with me.
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Nobody: 11:25am On Sep 21, 2025
bassdow:
SINCE Apple junction which is very close to Ago Palace way is close to you, you just might try them first.

ELSE

since you suspect issue might be minimal, look for a good electrician that repairs radios and televisions, especially the elderly ones, tell them it's not working and ask they help you have a look at it.

So long they know their work, should be able to look into it. Just tell him to ensure whatever they tend to remove/replace, they can put it back should in case it doesn't work so you could take it to their company which is far (yea tell them that even if it's your backYard)

Reason is, between such electrician (locally called Radionic), and those at Ojo Alaba, those at Alaba would bill you based on context and the fact it's "SOLAR" related and they know the cost of a new one hence their pricing tend to be relative to cost of a brand new one.

I don talk am here before, FELICITY products no dey follow products wey I dey recommend or buy for clients when budget is well enough. Naturally, me and popular items no dey too tag along because there's often a reason why it's popular, and many times, it ain't for REASONs cool with me.
Lols, I will never buy anything Felicity controller again cos my experience with it was so horrible. Let me not even talk about how my WPM charges my battery quicker than the useless Felicity MPPT; though the WPM has a demerit of not having to float my battery well once it’s full.

But once bitten twice shy, I won’t near anything Felicity controller again.
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by senator282: 2:23pm On Sep 21, 2025
Why does it take fouani Nigeria too much time to restock products mostly znshine solar panels
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by bassdow:
senator282:
Why does it take fouani Nigeria too much time to restock products mostly znshine solar panels
mayBe the delay is from Container clearance at the wharf abi wetin you wan make I talk. Well we're waiting for upDate.
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Trippledots(m): 9:28pm On Sep 21, 2025
Obnoxious2001:
Not small ones.

We have some industrial setups that Runs on 120v so using lead batteries is very advantageous for setup like that.
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by justcallmenuel(m): 12:07pm On Sep 22, 2025
All sizes of felicity lithium batteries, inverters, charge controllers available.

Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Tdoctor(m): 1:43pm On Sep 22, 2025
finebois:
please what size of DC cable did you use for this setup. I also planning to change my rubbish panels to better ones. Also how can I get solar panels from techland
I think its 6mm - four panels in series, three times.
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Tdoctor(m): 3:07pm On Sep 22, 2025
Also, you can get Techland number on Jinko website for authorized Nigerian dealers
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by olatade(m): 6:26pm On Sep 22, 2025
Hello everyone, please I need some guidance.

I’m using a Felicity IVPS 3.5kVA 3524 inverter together with a Felicity MPPT SCCM6048 (60A) charge controller. I want to know the correct way to pair both so they work together properly to charge the lithium battery. Are there specific settings I need to adjust on either the inverter or the charge controller? I have the communication cable.

Recommended settings would really help. Thanks in advance.
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by saxwizard(m): 6:35pm On Sep 22, 2025
olatade:
Hello everyone, please I need some guidance.

I’m using a Felicity IVPS 3.5kVA 3524 inverter together with a Felicity MPPT SCCM6048 (60A) charge controller. I want to know the correct way to pair both so they work together properly to charge the lithium battery. Are there specific settings I need to adjust on either the inverter or the charge controller? I have the communication cable.

Recommended settings would really help. Thanks in advance.
On the inveter change the battery settings to LIB

Same for the controller. Make sure your communication cable is connected Rs48 or so otherwise you will get error 80.
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by bassdow: 7:34pm On Sep 22, 2025
JoeSef0:
Na you bring suggestion naw. I was expecting you to answer the question
Kindly don't forget to upDate us on what finally worked
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by lilachiever(m): 8:41pm On Sep 22, 2025
ask4bk:
If you want to go for 48v which is mostly advised, just overkill it will a 10kwh battery backup and 5kva inverter of your choice, then panels to charge.

If you want to go cheaper, you can go for 24v system and have 7-8kwh backup, 3-3.5kva inverter and panels. But this isn't advised coz tomorrow you may want to add load and you'll stay at home more and you won't have option than to move to 48v to reduce current.
Hi boss.

Could you suggest reliable brands of inverter, battery and PV for a 5KVA and 10KWh Lithium battery setup for a total installation budget of 3.5M?

Will appreciate.
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by genius43(m): 8:46pm On Sep 22, 2025
Perfect Choice Sultana
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by fuckboys: 6:52am On Sep 23, 2025
Please what can be the cause of this, standby consumption when pv breaker is on vs when it's off. No load.

My inverter standby consumption is 27w

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1FfRq604bRaFqA4MeQNrQVgECzP4jr5hb/view?usp=drivesdk
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by ask4bk(m): 8:18am On Sep 23, 2025
lilachiever:
Hi boss.

Could you suggest reliable brands of inverter, battery and PV for a 5KVA and 10KWh Lithium battery setup for a total installation budget of 3.5M?

Will appreciate.
8 x ZN 605W Bifacial N-Type Solar Panel (fouani or any other 555-590w) - 8 x 110,000 = 880,000
Growatt 6kW inverter - 600k
10kwh from brands that have confirm 10kwh is around 2.1m like Firman. But you add 200k you'll get 16kwh of confirm quality batteries from Valto 2.3m. Or you get 15kwh same quality from Mrreed for 1.6m only that his has no communication ports and DC breaker, which are not necessary features and cheaper at 1.6m over that of Valto that is 600k costlier with breaker and communication ports. 😭😭. I'm sure you are asking same questions with me about why he can't reduce price too. Only that Mrreed often runs out of cells cuz of people rushing him.

Total cost = 3.1m to 3.8m.

Make your choice
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by brightk(m): 8:28am On Sep 23, 2025
ask4bk:
8 x ZN 605W Bifacial N-Type Solar Panel (fouani or any other 555-590w) - 8 x 110,000 = 880,000
Growatt 6kW inverter - 600k
10kwh from brands that have confirm 10kwh is around 2.1m like Firman. But you add 200k you'll get 16kwh of confirm quality batteries from Valto 2.3m. Or you get 15kwh same quality from Mrreed for 1.6m only that his has no communication ports and DC breaker, which are not necessary features and cheaper at 1.6m over that of Valto that is 600k costlier with breaker and communication ports. 😭😭. I'm sure you are asking same questions with me about why he can't reduce price too. Only that Mrreed often runs out of cells cuz of people rushing him.

Total cost = 3.1m to 3.8m.

Make your choice
this zn bifacial is it really dat good wen compared to jinko (non-bifacial) of near same capacity (590) esp on a roof top
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Tdoctor(m): 8:36am On Sep 23, 2025
Personally,
I think it is good to add a fan to a charge controller that only has passive cooling. Ever since I added a fan to my charge controller with passive cooling, I have been seeing outputs greater than I used to see. Many of these devices are made without any field testing in our climate (how many video game characters are Africans? They don't care about us like that). So, we have to make adjustments based on how we see these devices behave in our climate.
For instance, I had a wifi device I had to add a small fan to because it continuously overheated.
Just dropping my two cents on this.
Meanwhile, it is very possible to use a lithium battery and a lead acid battery together, with some important considerations and relays to cut off the lithium and/or lead acid battery (esp. lithium). Many people have done it outside the country with zero issues.
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by bassdow: 9:19am On Sep 23, 2025
Tdoctor:
Personally,
I think it is good to add a fan to a charge controller that only has passive cooling. Ever since I added a fan to my charge controller with passive cooling, I have been seeing outputs greater than I used to see. Many of these devices are made without any field testing in our climate (how many video game characters are Africans? They don't care about us like that). So, we have to make adjustments based on how we see these devices behave in our climate.
For instance, I had a wifi device I had to add a small fan to because it continuously overheated.
Just dropping my two cents on this.
Meanwhile, it is very possible to use a lithium battery and a lead acid battery together, with some important considerations and relays to cut off the lithium and/or lead acid battery (esp. lithium). Many people have done it outside the country with zero issues.
except those doing it knows what they doing, they shouldn't bother. it's one thing to be able to do it probably with external help BUT what about observations that requires dynamic thinking and actions.

As per those who might want to know the kind of fan to use, the fans inside small DVD players and laptops and similar are the sort to use. They're mostly just 5v.
Of course there are chargeControllers that comes with FAN but I tend to dislike those types as they most times lack passive cooling (using those large heatSinks) hence should the FAN fail, your device is at risk.
Also if your chargeController is within an airy place, and you not constantly nearing it's max specification, you really don't need FAN inside it.

Don't forget, for those who values Warrantee + Guarantee, the moment you open up that device for the first time, you loose them
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Valto(m): 9:37am On Sep 23, 2025
high quality DIY lifepo4 lithium batteries available

Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by ValtechEnergy(m): 9:46am On Sep 23, 2025
high quality DIY lifepo4 lithium battery available . professionally assembled in Nigeria with the best bms and accessories.

Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Tdoctor(m): 11:15am On Sep 23, 2025
bassdow:
except those doing it knows what they doing, they shouldn't bother. it's one thing to be able to do it probably with external help BUT what about observations that requires dynamic thinking and actions.
I agree that combining the lithium and lead requires expertise. If you are not an expert and do not want to bother your head, don't do it.
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Tdoctor(m): 11:18am On Sep 23, 2025
bassdow:
As per those who might want to know the kind of fan to use, the fans inside small DVD players and laptops and similar are the sort to use. They're mostly just 5v.
Of course there are chargeControllers that comes with FAN but I tend to dislike those types as they most times lack passive cooling (using those large heatSinks) hence should the FAN fail, your device is at risk.
Also if your chargeController is within an airy place, and you not constantly nearing it's max specification, you really don't need FAN inside it.

Don't forget, for those who values Warrantee + Guarantee, the moment you open up that device for the first time, you loose them
The fans can be put above the controller. For mine, I did not open anything. I just put it above the heat sink. I agree with you that controllers with heat sinks are usually recommended. Adding a fan, improves the overall life span of the device as it is suggested that the life of electrical components reduces by half with every 10 degree Celsius increase in temperature.
1 2 3 ... 2160 2161 2162 2163 2164 2165 2166 ... 2401 Reply

UPS Back-up, Also A Complement To FTAFTA FrequencyCctv Installation A Complement To Fta And Solar Energy234

Free To Air Satellite Tv General Thread

Viewing this topic: jp130(m)