Stats: 3,326,131 members, 8,425,110 topics. Date: Friday, 12 June 2026 at 06:52 AM

Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty - Family (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralFamilyMarriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty (13152 Views)

1 2 3 4 5 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by Ashirioluwa: 1:34pm On Sep 23, 2025
Nollywood story
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by Emeskhalifa(m): 1:35pm On Sep 23, 2025
Double0h7:
I didn’t like all the credentials she was dropping! I hate when people make jobs and certifications an extension of themselves. It’s some low self esteem vibes.

I remember meeting a guy and he told me not to call him by his name but to add doctor before his name. I told him you’re not my doctor so I won’t be calling you doctor so and so. He was offended and I just stopped calling him full stop. Some people need to get a personality!
You still didn't address the issue on ground. Does that justify what the mother Inlaw did?
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by deavicky(m): 1:35pm On Sep 23, 2025
jmoore:
https://www.facebook.com/100071450056350/posts/pfbid08MSo7iCYAXR8b6gvpL3iR1UXYkFZBia23sHekfA8SigKnTXYLMZV4PnmAug6QmP4l/?app=fbl
I totally disagree with ur supposed mother-in-law, but the truth is that they have seen some amount of pride in u. And they are looking for way to humble u. I wouldn’t have said this, but having read how u compared urself with the little girl it raised a concern.(master degree and common entrance )very soon you will tell ur husband to go the market because he does not have the amount of qualifications u have.
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by Godfullsam(m): 1:45pm On Sep 23, 2025
Laalasticla:
I am a Yoruba mama and I do not address my nieces and nephews as aunty and brother, I address them bodily by their names, my husband's siblings tried to fight against it but I stood my ground , na them cave in.
They want wives to worship them, who then worships the wive, abi wive no be human being....
I strongly doubt if you are a Yoruba woman. Maybe you married a Yoruba man and became a Yoruba by marriage.

At the bolded, it is a turn by turn thing. Anyone lady who is married into that family will address your children as aunty and brother so so so.

You are not the last woman that will be married into the family. Other women are coming and your kids are growing, the same respect will be accorded to you and your children.

You people have used civilization to finish our culture.
If you marry into my family you will have to bend o.
In fact, you will enjoy doing it because you will see other co-wives who are very rich and educated how they respect their little in-laws.
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by aribisala0(m): 1:53pm On Sep 23, 2025
In China

Chatgpt.com

General Rule: Use Family Titles, Not First Names

In traditional Chinese culture, calling younger siblings by their first names is not typical, especially when there is a clear age hierarchy and respect is expected within the family.

Instead, people use specific kinship terms depending on gender and age relative to the husband.

👇 Common Ways a Wife Might Address Her Husband's Younger Siblings:
1. Younger Brother (of husband)

If he is unmarried or younger than both:

小叔子 (xiǎo shūzi) – literally “younger uncle,” a traditional term for husband’s younger brother

In modern life, just calling him "弟弟" (dìdi) or using his nickname is acceptable, depending on closeness.

2. Younger Sister (of husband)

Traditional term:

小姑子 (xiǎo gūzi) – husband’s younger sister

In everyday use, many people just say 妹妹 (mèimei) or the person’s nickname, especially if the age gap is small or the family is more modern.

🔹 Can a Wife Use First Names?

In modern, urban, or Westernized families, it's becoming more acceptable to use first names or nicknames, especially among peers or younger people.

However, it’s still respectful to start with a title, especially in front of elders.

✅ Best Practice:

Start with the proper title (小叔子, 小姑子, 弟弟, 妹妹).

If the sibling seems relaxed or tells you to call them by name, it's okay to do so in casual settings.

Always show extra formality in front of parents-in-law.
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by Nnekachukwu1936(m): 1:55pm On Sep 23, 2025
jmoore:
https://www.facebook.com/100071450056350/posts/pfbid08MSo7iCYAXR8b6gvpL3iR1UXYkFZBia23sHekfA8SigKnTXYLMZV4PnmAug6QmP4l/?app=fbl
For me, I support your decision. I will NEVER address my junior with those titles. NEVER
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by aribisala0(m): 1:56pm On Sep 23, 2025
India

Chatgpt.com

In General (Across Many Indian Cultures):
🔹 Can a wife call her in-laws or younger siblings-in-law by first name?

Traditionally: No.

Using first names is often seen as disrespectful.

Even younger siblings-in-law are usually addressed with a relationship-specific title.

Modern/urban families might be more relaxed, but many still follow customary terms out of respect.

👇 Common Terms a Wife Might Use in India:
🧓 Parents-in-law:
Relation Hindi (Example) Notes
Father-in-law Sasur ji "Ji" adds respect
Mother-in-law Saas ji Sometimes "Mummy ji" or regional variants

Other languages (Tamil, Bengali, etc.) have their own equivalents (e.g., Appa, Amma, Ma-in-law, Baba, etc.)

👦👧 Husband’s Siblings:
Relation Hindi English Equivalent Notes
Younger brother-in-law Devar Husband's younger brother Wife usually doesn't say first name
Elder brother-in-law Jeth Husband's elder brother High respect
Younger sister-in-law Nanad Husband's sister Often called by relation, not name
Elder sister-in-law (husband’s brother’s wife) Jethani Brother-in-law’s wife Sometimes “Bhabhi” too

In South Indian or Bengali households, these terms differ, e.g.:

Tamil: Thambi (younger bro-in-law), Annan (elder bro-in-law)

Bengali: Nandai, Debor, etc.

✅ What’s Common Practice?

Use relational titles, especially in front of elders.

In casual private conversations, younger siblings-in-law might encourage the wife to call them by nickname or shortened name, but that’s case-by-case.

Adding “ji” or “anna/didi” is a way to show respect and affection.

🌆 In Modern or Urban Families:

First names might be allowed among younger siblings-in-law, especially if they are much younger or close.

Still, most wives avoid using just the first name for in-laws, especially early in the marriage.
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by Fiscus105(m): 1:59pm On Sep 23, 2025
Laalasticla:
I am a Yoruba mama and I do not address my nieces and nephews as aunty and brother, I address them bodily by their names, my husband's siblings tried to fight against it but I stood my ground , na them cave in.
They want wives to worship them, who then worships the wive, abi wive no be human being....
In other words, you are validating it for us that , you are the man in the house, while husband is yes ma

People should be cognisant of the statement of indictment
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by zedman1(m): 2:05pm On Sep 23, 2025
LordIsaac:
I think it was just a test in submission. If you really love the guy, nothing on earth can take him away from you.
What kind of stupid test is that bro?
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by Laalasticla: 2:06pm On Sep 23, 2025
Fiscus105:
In other words, you are validating it for us that , you are the man in the house, while husband is yes ma

People should be cognisant of the statement of indictment
If you identify as a woman whilst you're a man biological, bro that's your own cup of bitter leaf juice, go and drink it ,it's medicinal for u.

As for me I'm a woman, and he's the man simple....
Boundaries are boundaries, respect mine, I respect yours....ashaaaa
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by femoree2(m): 2:06pm On Sep 23, 2025
Kimo21:
That is an absurd test see the age gap for god sake…I should call an eleven year old aunty? For what? Is she her mate? I wouldn’t do that even as a joke and the supposed mother in law is even serious about that? It shows the man was even a mummy’s boy…..to me it’s a valid reason….youre supposed to teach the eleven year old daughter to be calling the lady aunty instead.

It's a yoruba tradition.... You can nickname the person instead. The tradition is as a wife you are not allowed to address or call any of your husband's siblings or family members you met in the family by name even if they are younger than you are or older. In this same tradition you are not even meant to call your husband by name once you get married, that's the reason wives give their husband pet names

That is if this story is real…but o won’t be surprised if it is because abnormal people say this life wey Dey increase every day
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by femoree2(m): 2:11pm On Sep 23, 2025
Karlifate:
This kind of mother in-law don't respect their husbands.

All these do as I say crew are not hard to spot. cheesy
It's a yoruba tradition.... You can nickname the person instead. The tradition is as a wife you are not allowed to address or call any of your husband's siblings or family members you met in the family by name even if they are younger than you are or older. In this same tradition you are not even meant to call your husband by name once you get married, that's the reason wives give their husband pet names
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by Laalasticla: 2:18pm On Sep 23, 2025
Godfullsam:
I strongly doubt if you are a Yoruba woman. Maybe you married a Yoruba man and became a Yoruba by marriage.

At the bolded, it is a turn by turn thing. Anyone lady who is married into that family will address your children as aunty and brother so so so.

You are not the last woman that will be married into the family. Other women are coming and your kids are growing, the same respect will be accorded to you and your children.

You people have used civilization to finish our culture.
If you marry into my family you will have to bend o.
In fact, you will enjoy doing it because you will see other co-wives who are very rich and educated how they respect their little in-laws.
Chief Sir, 🙌🙌.
I am a Yoruba woman, and a daughter of the soil.
I hate to address myself as omo Oduduwa gangan..
I'm someone who has always criticised that culture from cradle, I do not like it.
My husband's younger brother (who I'm even older than) married after us , I respect both his brother and the wife calling them brother and aunty, and the wife calls my children by their names...
Which I love, it's not out of place if she calls my children by their name...but his older brother who has older children in their twenties, from top to bottom I address them by their names and send them on errands sef, I mean I'm d enough to be th it mother and what if I'm their teacher in school, I go dey say aunty aunty abi.
Btw , one of his nieces stay with us, u still expect me to call that one aunty abi, person wey no sabi how to read, wey be say na me just dey teach her how to sound words, I'll be respecting that one unto say wetin happen.
I teach you how to read, I use u as house help, na so equation take balance.
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by GenFunction: 2:26pm On Sep 23, 2025
Them jus dey find way to pursue u
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by GenFunction: 2:31pm On Sep 23, 2025
[quote author=LordIsaac post=136893302]I think it was just a test in submission. If you really love the guy, nothing on earth can take him away from you.[/quote
Love na Love
Disrespect na Disrespect
Know the difference
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by Misterone: 2:32pm On Sep 23, 2025
jmoore:
Thank God for you. You saw the red flag on time. A man that can't defend you for something as wrong as this would've sold you for a plate of porridge to his mum.
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by gudugudumeje: 2:41pm On Sep 23, 2025
Ds more of an imaginative, literary writing than a real life thing particularly in a Yoruba mother-in-law home setting. How educated the mother-in-law is another matter. What human feelings the man's family and the mother-in-law have is another. What families both are, and how interactive in cultural matters lk this strictly material to the extent of disrupting lives and life of tomorrow hasteningly and summarily like that.

Yoruba people don't do it that way. Rarely do Yoruba people so do. I doubt if the the two families have been in good contact since the marriage was arranged to be held. I doubt very much.....
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by gudugudumeje: 2:44pm On Sep 23, 2025
Ds more of an imaginative, literary writing than a real life thing particularly in a Yoruba mother-in-law home setting. How educated the mother-in-law is another matter. What human feelings the man's family and the mother-in-law have is another. What families both are, and how interactive in cultural matters lk this is strictly material I.e. to the extent of disrupting lives and life of tomorrow hasteningly and summarily like that.

Yoruba people don't do it that way. Rarely do Yoruba people so do lk react lk that..... I doubt if the the two families have been in good contact since the marriage was arranged to be held. I doubt very much.....
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by Kwinesther: 3:02pm On Sep 23, 2025
LordIsaac:
I think it was just a test in submission. If you really love the guy, nothing on earth can take him away from you.
Lol...
So it should be the lady loving the guy? When it is obvious the guy doesn't have a bit of love and respect for the lady, neither is he matured. Didn't you read the part where she said the guy first called off the wedding?
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by Dfather1(m): 3:08pm On Sep 23, 2025
In this century, it's very unfortunate that some people are still making such ridiculous demand. I am also a yoruba, although we are known for respect but there are some things that can no longer be tagged "being respectful" but "being foolish"

You have done the right thing by calling off the wedding, a broken relationship is better than a broken marriage.

Having said that, I also want to point to something in your write-up, your qualification (MSC) should not be the basis of your refusal for not adding "aunty" to whosoever they asked you to address. If you are SSCE holder, who that make it right?

I just want you to know that what's wrong is wrong irrespective of any qualification. May God be with you in your future endeavors.
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by SuperOnyi: 3:12pm On Sep 23, 2025
Double0h7:
I didn’t like all the credentials she was dropping! I hate when people make jobs and certifications an extension of themselves. It’s some low self esteem vibes.

I remember meeting a guy and he told me not to call him by his name but to add doctor before his name. I told him you’re not my doctor so I won’t be calling you doctor so and so. He was offended and I just stopped calling him full stop. Some people need to get a personality!

This is exactly what I observed but I decided to just close my eyes. In 2025, people still believe formal education makes them better than others. I understand her but what exactly was that for?
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by 2mch(m): 3:17pm On Sep 23, 2025
The mother in law does not like her. Uncle and Aunty is for immediate siblings of husband. Not niece or nephew.
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by Leonardo4(m): 3:18pm On Sep 23, 2025
correctyourself:
I don't understand why the mother-in-law would chose to follow this part, it means she has really been following up with both the lady and the guy. (Watchdog). grin

This kind of mother wouldn't allow both of them to live without her coming in-between.

It's well! By the time the mother do the same on his second marriage plan, the man would learn lesson.
You are talking about the mother inlaw while ignoring the shamless fiance agreeing with the mum
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by correctyourself(m): 3:21pm On Sep 23, 2025
Leonardo4:
You are talking about the mother inlaw while ignoring the shamless fiance agreeing with the mum
My last paragraph already dealt with it.
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by IDERAWOLE(m): 3:27pm On Sep 23, 2025
jmoore:
Next time, watch out the family you're getting married into instead of wasting years dating and calling it off at the eleventh hour.

Culture is powerful, you can't beat it even in corporate settings. It's peculiar from places to place from tribe to tribe, from generation to generation. Respect it or you end up wasting your time.

Since that's what you want, look for a family where such culture doesn't matter. There are many.

However, for your information; you don't just marry a spouse, you marry the family particularly. Don't be decieved into thinking otherwise.
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by SammySammy1011: 3:35pm On Sep 23, 2025
God just delivered you from a "would have been turbulent marriage"
Enjoy ur freedom and wait for the right person to come.
Congratulations in advance. Because am sure , God will surely make it happen for you very soon.
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by sammiewrite(m):
Godfullsam:
On the contrary, it was the man that dodged a missile.

See the way the lady was claiming to be sweet and respectful yet she was not humble enough to address her husband's family the way the culture demand.
She sees her degree to be more superior than the cultures that have been existing before she was born.

This is the kind of ladies that won't respect their husband families. Once you don't have a master degree, she will see you as a piece of shit.
Prideful, arrogant, disrespectful and unruly. Only that Masters degree statement is enough to call off whatever nonsense they were planning. That statement although veiled, runs deep and is very loaded. She 'carpeted' the guy's family in one fell swoop. The people speaking to her defense are speaking from a place of ignorance or sentiment. I would say her husband-to-be is the luckiest dude on earth.

I once lived with a couple during my undergrad days. This woman, anytime she has disagreement with her husband will be quick to remind him how he is just a school cert holder while she on the other hand is a second class upper degree holder. Not only that, the woman doesn't listen to not just the man but even her own parents and the elderly couple who tried to mediate. There is another story of a former church member. The man was a charted accountant who married a school cert. He tormented his wife with this reality at every opportunity he got. He is late now but that woman remain broken.

With people who are unruly, prideful, and disrespectful and can even own it, don't even try.
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by Bashirkareem31: 3:54pm On Sep 23, 2025
Namaster:
Some people dodge a BULLET.
This lady is out there dodging a NUCLEAR WEAPON.

Ending a wedding because the Mother of the groom is making a fuss about a 29-year old calling an 11-year old girl by her name.

For someone so FIXATED on respect, the Mother-in-law of DOOM showed a marked LACK of respect for the bride to be.

What a MESS!
grin grin grin walahi she really dodged a bullet.I won't wish my enemies to marry into such family
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by callthefred: 3:54pm On Sep 23, 2025
jmoore:
This looks like a joke or some scripts. The husband to be is clearly not a man here. I can tolerate many excesses from my mum and no problem but when it's time to stand ground as a man, even my mama go fear. WTF!
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by Bashirkareem31: 3:58pm On Sep 23, 2025
Kobojunkie:
The lady ought to throw herself an I-dodged-a-missile-directed-against-m--peace-of-mind party to celebrate this freedom, abeg! That man was definitely more than a red flag. 😳😳😳
Re: Marriage Cancelled Because She Doesn't Want To Call Her Fiance's Niece Aunty by nathaniel27(m): 4:05pm On Sep 23, 2025
1 2 3 4 5 Reply

Moment Lady Calls Her Dad Before Accepting Her Fiance’s Marriage Proposal (vid)Video: Marriage Cancelled As Both Mother Inlaws Are Blood SistersHelp! My Wife Says She Doesn't Love Me Again & No More Sex From Her....234

Which Of These Did You Do As A Child?I Have So Much Resentment Towards My ParentsThere's This Room In My House That Makes My Skin Crawl, What Could Be The Cause?