Stats: 3,329,637 members, 8,441,613 topics. Date: Wednesday, 08 July 2026 at 07:31 PM

Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN - Career - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralCareerDangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN (33525 Views)

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Reply (Go Down)

Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by engrjosefz(op): 6:53am On Sep 26, 2025
Breaking news:

Reports currently circulating indicate that Dangote Petroleum Refinery and Petrochemicals FZE, Lagos has allegedly sacked all its local staff following a wave of unionization, with over 90% of the workforce said to have joined PENGASSAN (Petroleum and Natural Gas Senior Staff Association of Nigeria).

This development has sparked widespread reactions, as many fear the move could trigger industrial unrest and escalate labor tensions within the company and across the oil and gas sector.

Dangote Sacks ‘All’ Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN

Social Media influencer, Imran U. Wakili (PULLO) shared this:

Dangote Refinery has officially laid off all of its Nigerian workers under the guise of “reorganization”, less than 24 hours after 90% of them joined PENGASSAN.
https://x.com/IU_Wakilii/status/1971327520894292219?t=3A7ameIlOmxuVRkR7qXJNQ&s=08

REORGANISATON

In view of the many recent cases of reported sabotage in different units of the Petroleum Refinery leading to major safety concerns, the Management Is constrained to carry out a total reorganization of the plant.

As a consequence of this development, we wish to inform you that your services are no longer required with effect from the eve of Thursday, the 25th September, 202S.

Please surrender all the companies properties in your possession to your line manager and obtain an exit clearance accordingly but, the date for doing so, will be communicated to you later.

The Finance Department, by a copy of this letter, is advised to compute all your benefits and entitlements in line with your terms of employment and conditions of service and pay the amount due to you (less all indebtedness), subject to the condition that You hove obtained. the exit clearance certificate. as mentioned above.

We seize this opportunity to thank you for your services while you were in our employment.

Yours Faithfully,
Femi ADEKUNLE
Chief General Manager, Human Asset Management

Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by engrjosefz(op): 6:54am On Sep 26, 2025
More details to follow. As everyone is yet to know their fate and the new rules of engagement going forward
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by saintopus(m): 7:27am On Sep 26, 2025
This is very interesting. Unionism either die a natural death or continue to exist as a means to siphon resources from the people.
There are many things that will be tested as Nigeria 🇳🇬 gradually head to a possible better future.
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by LORDKing001: 8:00am On Sep 26, 2025
So what happens to industrial court? Complete with remaining characters
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by ezebunafo(m): 8:01am On Sep 26, 2025
Lol my company sacked everybody that went on strike that was induced by the union body,and told everyone they are free to reapply,but have to write an undertaking that that they will not be joining the union again,that's how the union died a natural death.
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by unite4real: 8:01am On Sep 26, 2025
well, the letter did not mention PENGASSAN.

so why connecting it.

Ok.

Even if that was the case he has the right to engage and disengage.

If i were him sef, the earlier he do away with those guys with the mentality of sabotaging the oil industry the better.

This is for the good of the masses.

NUPENG and PENGASSAN are cult that slow the industry down
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by Iamsane: 8:02am On Sep 26, 2025
saintopus:
This is very interesting. Unionism either die a natural death or continue to exist as a means to siphon resources from the people.
There are many things that will be tested as Nigeria 🇳🇬 gradually head to a possible better future.
You have spoken well. Every institution that has taken it upon itself to be barbaric and wicked will be dealt with by development and progress of this nation.
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by chidiokay: 8:02am On Sep 26, 2025
His company His Rules ... Nupeng and FG should employ them
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by Olaide1295: 8:02am On Sep 26, 2025
Personally, I don't like unions.
They do nothing for the masses but only protect the interests of their few members.
An example is that they are the ones that forced Yar'adua to reverse the sale of the local refineries so that their members continue receiving free salaries without work. If not for them, we'd have working refineries since 2008.

Anyways, they will test this in court. It is good for our legal system. Workers have a right to join unions, but employers also have a right to determine who to hire or not.
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by franugo(m): 8:02am On Sep 26, 2025
Well this is an interesting piece of news. Let's see what happens next
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by donleo92(m): 8:02am On Sep 26, 2025
Dangote is really on a dangerous part.....

This man wants full monopoly on oil and gas in Nigeria. And most people ain't seeing it that way.

See union has to be formed. The government should call Dangote to other
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by Antoeni(m): 8:02am On Sep 26, 2025
What is This Alhaji Aliko Dangote Feeling Like Self ?
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by sorosoke101: 8:03am On Sep 26, 2025
Can you imagine instead of them to hold their job with all their heart, they went ahead to join pegassan and me dey find job for the past 5yrs to no avail.
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by shoodboi2: 8:03am On Sep 26, 2025
Person pack indians full for im company, you think say na play? That Dangote man is very cunning. He knows how to run the perfect monopoly. He only puts indians in top positions so he can easily dismiss them without drama when they fall out of line.

Nigerians are always at lower positions where they are weaker and at his mercy. Meanwhile, the government, regulators, and judges who are supposed to ensure he follows rules and processes look the other way.

Meanwhile, Dangote's Nairaland media crew will soon overtake the thread.
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by Rolings: 8:04am On Sep 26, 2025
This is not good news , the unions will fight back and its the masses that will suffer most
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by Esthered: 8:04am On Sep 26, 2025
Union in a private organization?

I doubt if it works. What does the PIA say about unionism?
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by gare(f): 8:04am On Sep 26, 2025
PENGASSAN should leave Dangote alone. The Dangote Refinery is a private business, not a union-run venture. Instead of targeting him, focus on the government-owned refineries under your members’ management — most of which are non-functional.

If PENGASSAN truly wants to make an impact, push the government to revive Nigeria’s refineries. Ordinary citizens gain nothing from endless strikes; they only enrich union leaders while making life harder for the people. Nigerians need solutions, not distractions.
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by ironheart(m): 8:04am On Sep 26, 2025
Of what use is a union that its only there to enrich a few. Its nice to see dangote is doing the needful. Nigerian labour congress has made a few people multi billionaires. As a worker in Nigeria, you are only used to protest when their pocket is empty.
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by ppogba: 8:05am On Sep 26, 2025
Was joining a union on your mind when you signed " original copy received by me" after several years of joblessness?

He who pays the piper dictates the tune
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by chidiokay: 8:05am On Sep 26, 2025
Olaide1295:
They will test this in court.
This is good for our legal system.
Test what in court " sack" .... you flaunt organisation terms and condition then run to court to do what

Every company have internal Rules, if its not favorable for you as an employee .. leave the place

weytin concern court
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by Hhh4444: 8:06am On Sep 26, 2025
😂😂😂😂😂 wahala. This is hard to believe. So they sacked all Nigerian employees?How many if I may ask?
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by gbegemaster(m): 8:06am On Sep 26, 2025
chidiokay:
His company His Rules ... Nupeng and FG should employ them
His company does not exists in space. He has no right to stop workers from joining the Union according to the Law.

That is why he has accused them of sabotage which in itself is a mistake and can be challenged in the industrial court.
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by ppogba: 8:07am On Sep 26, 2025
Antoeni:
What is This Alhaji Aliko Dangote Feeling Like Self ?
Go build a refinery and you will feel the way he feels.

Very simple
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by MEGA4BILLION(m): 8:07am On Sep 26, 2025
PENGASSAN will employ them.
Banks in Nigeria is running smoothly because their employees are controlled solely by the banks.
They want to bring confusion to someone multi billion dollar investment. Nigeria owns refineries they can work there.
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by ElevationD: 8:07am On Sep 26, 2025
But they are supposed to belong to a labour union, by labour laws. PENGASSAN is seeming to stress out Dangote refinery with their endless greed. If the company say NO to the members belonging to the union, the staff must follow the company.
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by adamkkk: 8:09am On Sep 26, 2025
they will call dem back. abi na who go operate d equipment
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by Ngasky(m): 8:09am On Sep 26, 2025
What is the solution to this?
Can we discard the sabotage accusations by the company?
We all know what happens to all our government owned refineries in the last 4 decades. Should any investor allow this on his investment?
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by Greenback: 8:10am On Sep 26, 2025
Don't know why the govt refused to put this guy in check
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by Satazaa: 8:11am On Sep 26, 2025
I have always maintained that Dangote is not a monopoly, he is a typical business person that exploit opportunities to make money, he has invested and borrowed humongous amount of money to put up this laudable refinery that's a pride to us nigerians and boom the saboteurs are ganging up to ruin his investment, they even try setting fire on the refinery few months back, why are we so anti progress, Nupeng should pull resources together build thier refinery and unionize them, trying to unionism on his staff is trying to control and sabotage his business through the backdoor,
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by owagbeba:
Country wey work no dey
You manage get work for refinery
You leave your priority, go join union.
Who Union help?

Millions dey wey dey do fasting and prayer for this job..

No go dey form ALUTA for common interest.
There is no common interest in this country.
At least Una OGas at the top have shown you.
YOU ARE ON YOU OWN

You are your NEPA
You are your water company
You are your own Emergency services

Those union leaders need you slaves to dey put their pressure to dey collect for their pocket.

For them you are just a means to an end.
They threaten, they get paid . Same union wey go negotiate 70k salary with government- money wey no fit buy bag of rice. On top a, some states me gree pay… some sack workers. Wey the union to help?

YOU ARE ON YOUR OWN

How far with Osho baba! Him don collect him own marry Ethiopian OBO. Enjoyment for heaven. Him don forget aluta…

YOU ARE ON YOU OWN IN THIS BONGO!

Up here, They are blaming Dangote; very typical of Nigerians.. misplaced priority. Have these unions ever helped you slaves? You propped up NURTW, the leaders got rich and turned around to be an instrument of the state. Now you bear the brunt just carrying a load in your own private car. RTEAN / NNAMORAL have never protested or demanded good roads from the state. They don’t care… all they care is collect from you slaves at every bus stop.

Lecturers, teachers are left unpaid for years… wey the union? Medicals Nko? Abia or imo did not pay medical workers for years… wey the union?
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by Lexusgs430: 8:12am On Sep 26, 2025
Serves them right....... Dangote oil business, is a privately owned entity......
Re: Dangote Refinery Sacks Nigerian Employees For Joining PENGASSAN by nwakibie3(m): 8:15am On Sep 26, 2025
donleo92:
Dangote is really on a dangerous part.....

This man wants full monopoly on oil and gas in Nigeria. And most people ain't seeing it that way.

See union has to be formed. The government should call Dangote to other
Monopoly... monopoly

Did dangote stop you from building your own refinery?
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Reply

Indians Taking Over Jobs In Oil And Gas’, PENGASSAN Raises AlarmGoogle Fires 28 Employees For Protesting Israel-cloud Deal (pictures)Chinese Employers Sack Nigerian Employees Over Refusal To Practice Buddhism234

Bilkis Rafiu, Female Vulcanizer In Kwara State With Swag (Photo)Is It Wrong To Study Human Physiology?How To Start A Career In Information Technology As A Novice In Nigeria