Stats: 3,325,887 members, 8,424,074 topics. Date: Wednesday, 10 June 2026 at 04:33 PM

Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsNigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane (10349 Views)

1 2 3 Reply (Go Down)

Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by ThroneNGamez(op): 8:43pm On Oct 03, 2025
Nigeria cannot afford 36 states – Bismarck Rewane

An economist and Managing Director of Financial Derivatives Company Limited, Bismarck Rewane, has said that Nigeria cannot sustain 36 states at present.

Rewane made this statement on Wednesday while responding to questions in an interview on Politics Today, a programme on Channels Television.

He argued that Nigeria spends excessively on administration.

“Nigeria cannot afford to have 36 states. It’s unviable. We spend too much money administering.

“This country is twice the size of California in terms of geographical space, and the number of people administering this country in terms of 774 local governments, 36 states, the Federal Capital Territory, FCT. Managing what?” he stated.

Speaking further, Rewane said: “Take for instance, the old Western region is now split into several states being managed by governors, commissioners, special assistants and the likes. I think you have to rethink to restructure, whether you will go back to regionalism or not.”
Source:
https://dailypost.ng/2025/10/01/nigeria-cannot-afford-36-states-bismarck-rewane/

Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by Commentor: 8:47pm On Oct 03, 2025
Totally agree.

But the myopia and selfishness of many Nigerians wouldn't let them agree.
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by slivertongue: 8:54pm On Oct 03, 2025
Nigeria can't afford more than 20 States and 450 local government
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by SmartPolician:
You can never know whether Nigeria can afford it or not until you implement true federalism! Tinubu should implement true federalism; he has been calling for it for decades now.
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by favor914: 9:06pm On Oct 03, 2025
SmartPolician:
You can never know whether Nigeria can afford it or not until you implement true federalism! Tinubu should implement true federalism; he has calling for it for decades now.
What kind of thinking is this, are u a child, how can Tinubu implement true federalism, do u even understand what federalism is?
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by Ttalk: 9:10pm On Oct 03, 2025
ThroneNGamez:
Source:
https://dailypost.ng/2025/10/01/nigeria-cannot-afford-36-states-bismarck-rewane/
Thank you Mr Rewane. States is old fashion, the only way to go now is baby mama, sorry regionalism
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by Ttalk: 9:12pm On Oct 03, 2025
favor914:
What kind of thinking is this, are u a child, how can Tinubu implement true federalism, do u even understand what federalism is?
Responding to some comments is not necessary once you see the depth of ignorance mixed with illiteracy
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by SmartPolician: 10:24pm On Oct 03, 2025
favor914:
If you want to learn, you have to pay for that masterclass. Some knowledge shouldn't be given for free, especially not to laptop guys. If Tinubu wants to implement it, he knows what to do; he lacks the political will.
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by givedemwotowoto: 10:27pm On Oct 03, 2025
So many explanations to take the focus away from fighting corruption. Like a man who is well paid but wastes his money on gambling, alcohol and women, explaining to his wife why he can’t feed his family
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by favor914: 10:55pm On Oct 03, 2025
SmartPolician:
If you want to learn, you have to pay for that masterclass. Some knowledge shouldn't be given for free, especially not to laptop guys. If Tinubu wants to implement it, he knows what to do; he lacks the political will.
Hypocrisy @ work, make Tinubu suggest am, na una go first start to dey wail as usual, he wants to reduce the states in the east back to two o, back to old Anambra & Imo state, we no gree.

Go the National Assembly & make your appeal if u are serious, na them get the power.

Quite obvious u are not serious, u just want to talk thrash, to find another reason to blame Tinubu for your own failures.
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by DeepSight(m): 11:21pm On Oct 03, 2025
slivertongue:
Nigeria can't afford more than 20 States and 450 local government
6 - 10 would be just fine.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by DeepSight(m): 11:22pm On Oct 03, 2025
favor914:
Hypocrisy @ work, make Tinubu suggest am, na una go first start to dey wail as usual, he wants to reduce the states in the east back to two o, back to old Anambra & Imo state, we no gree.

Go the National Assembly & make your appeal if u are serious, na them get the power.

Quite obvious u are not serious, u just want to talk thrash, to find another reason to blame Tinubu for your own failures.
As if this is not something Tinubu not only campaigned with but has been shouting about for the last 20 years.
You guys are just unbelievable with your hypocrisy.
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by PulaPower:
Speaking further, Rewane said: “Take for instance, the old Western region is now split into several states being managed by governors, commissioners, special assistants and the likes. I think you have to rethink to restructure, whether you will go back to regionalism or not.”

Regionalism is the way forward. Any other thing is nonsense..

The problem of Nigeria is not really about joining South / North, it is about destroying the system that works for the South / North which is regionalism..
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by xxxx999jon: 11:23pm On Oct 03, 2025
Absolutely agree..but Nigeria population is ten times more than California..plus most of the state of California is actually a desert..it's comparing apples to oranges...I agree that administrative staffs are too much tho but we need more law enforcement that will really enforce the law..it will curb so many things if they are professional.
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by autoez: 11:24pm On Oct 03, 2025
Way forward not way backward. Una no like to dey use brain think again. Na to dey reason backward.
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by ednut1(m): 11:26pm On Oct 03, 2025
Yet some clowns are asking for more states. Rubbish
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by Nobody: 11:26pm On Oct 03, 2025
Real fact.

His Excellency, President Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu (GCFR) privately discussed it talking about how ethno-religious sentiments would be introduced if he flagged it.

No way states like Ebonyi, Abia, Anambra, Osun, Taraba, Kogi, Kwara, Ekiti, Niger, Bayelsa, Zamfara should be states. Those places are modernized villages. They all should be merged into one state.

So many wasted states I can’t even remember their names. Just imagine Jigawa state? What happens there!
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by thisisit: 11:27pm On Oct 03, 2025
REWANE IS ON POINT ...... LETS RESTRUCTURE URGENTLY BEFORE NEPAL OR MADAGASTAR HAPPENS TO NIGERIA
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by LoneSoldier: 11:31pm On Oct 03, 2025
favor914:
He is obviously a kid, such mentality doesn't exist in mature minds.
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by aariwa(m): 11:32pm On Oct 03, 2025
A competent president like Peter Obi will convert those things they complain about into a greater gdp for a bigger economy
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by Proudlyngwa(m): 11:33pm On Oct 03, 2025
36 states might be too much, i cant really say.

But you see that administration
Leave an Nigeria is poorly staffed and spends almost nothing on administration,
The only thing is the limited money is in the hands of very very few individuals
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by ryloy: 11:37pm On Oct 03, 2025
The same guy that said no single capital project since 1999

Overrated talkative

Reno reply:

I had to watch this video to make sure that Mr. Bismarck Rewane was not misquoted. Alas, he wasn't. I had imagined that Mr. Rewane was an intellectual powerhouse, but this interview makes me question my previously held assertion.

It is certainly not true that "Between 1999 and today, no new capital project, no new highways or bridges have been constructed."

In fact, I am being kind. It is inaccurate. Since 1999, the Federal Government and the Lagos State government have built many such projects, and I will mention some of them.

The Superfast 187-kilometre Abuja-Kaduna Railway was one of the most expensive capital projects ever built in Nigeria at the time, at approximately $1.2 billion. Construction began in February 2011 and was completed and commissioned on July 26, 2016.

Work on the Loko-Oweto Bridge began in November 2011 and was completed in April 2023. It cost approximately $257 million, or about ₦51 billion at the time.

The Olorunsogo Power Plant was conceived in 2002. Construction began in 2005 and was finished in 2007 at a cost of $650 million.

The Ten Lane Abuja Airport Road, now known as the Umaru Musa Yar'Adua Expressway, was kicked off in 2009 and completed in 2014. It cost $1.7 billion.

The Moshood Abiola National Stadium was a project that the Federal Government started in September 2000 and was finished by April 2003 for $360 million.

The Lagos State Government and its private sector began building the Lekki Deep Sea Port in June 2020, and it was completed by April 2023.

Work on the New Terminal of the Nnamdi Azikiwe Airport began in 2014 and was finished in December 2018, costing $500 million.

Construction on the Greater Abuja Water Supply Project began in 2017 and was completed in 2025 for $470 million.

Nigeria began constructing the Omotosho Power Plant in March 2005. It was completed in 2007, although a subsequent phase 2 was completed in 2012. It cost $114.89 million.

The Lagos State Government and its partners, the Lekki Concession Company, commenced constructing the Lekki-Ikoyi Link Bridge in May 2009 and finished by May 29, 2013.

I have listed ten random major infrastructural projects built between 1999 and today. There are literally hundreds more.

I know we still have a long way to go and have not fulfilled our potential. However, as we mark our 65th Independence anniversary, it is sad that an economist of note, such as Mr. Rewane, would say something like this, which is not only inaccurate but has the potential to dampen Nigerians' patriotism and undermine democracy in Nigeria.

Reno Omokri

Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by Hellisreal70: 11:37pm On Oct 03, 2025
You forget to mention the national assembly comprising the Senate and the house of assembly, their admin, advisers, assistants, special assistants, special advisers, drivers, attendants, secretaries, etc.

Also Ministers of states apart from the ministers, their entourage, advisers, assistants, attendants, special advisers, special assistants, drivers, security details, etc
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by Userr: 11:37pm On Oct 03, 2025
I totally agree new states will just create more expenditures on building of irrelevant structures like new secretariats, offices, and more avenue for corruption imagine paying of allowances for new governors while owing teachers even this local government autonomy of a thing may end up creating more corruption. with the current Nigerian mindset we should even reduce the number of states
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by Wispower: 11:44pm On Oct 03, 2025
ThroneNGamez:
Source:
Nothing but the truth, they're there calling for the creation of more states, so many idle politicians in an unproductive positions in the name of democracy. Military regimes had fewer people in the government and worked far better than the so called democratic government,
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by marlow1962(m): 11:48pm On Oct 03, 2025
You mean hungry dilapidated 36 states with hungry begging citizens? Oh cool.
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by grandstar(m): 11:48pm On Oct 03, 2025
This man is speaking Spanish today.

Ethnicism is what determines whether states are created in Nigeria and not economics.

I forgot to add politics. It seems Tinubu may be open to the idea of new states. Anything to win elections. He knows it unviable but what can poor Tinubu do?
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by Fovickers(m): 11:56pm On Oct 03, 2025
The word iileteracy doesn't exist anymore Instead use neo iileterate or early school leaver, and please allow him to express himself or herself with out intimidating him...
Ttalk:
Responding to some comments is not necessary once you see the depth of ignorance mixed with illiteracy
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by gabbasin(m): 11:59pm On Oct 03, 2025
Cost of governance is a financial burden to the country, the elite won't like to concede to this as they are benefiting from it to the detriment of the masses
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by Krankhead: 11:59pm On Oct 03, 2025
Let's divide the country once and for all . Let yoruba has her own country
Re: Nigeria Cannot Afford 36 States – Bismarck Rewane by Krismas(m): 12:05am On Oct 04, 2025
ThroneNGamez:
Source:
grin France is almost half the size of Nigeria, yet they have close to 35k local governments. This man does not know what hes talking
1 2 3 Reply

Bismarck Rewane Worried Over Tomato Price Hike From ₦40,000 To ₦150,000Naira In Transition, Not Jinxed – Bismarck Rewane9 Prosperous States In Nigeria Vs 12 Highly Miserable States - Bismarck Rewane234

Boko Haram Ambush Kills A Policeman, Injures Another In BornoSupreme Court Strikes Out Suit Challenging Gov Wike's EligibilityThe Body Buried Today Is Not Abba Kyari, He Was Cremated In Ikoyi -kemi Olunloyo