Stats: 3,327,465 members, 8,431,178 topics. Date: Sunday, 21 June 2026 at 09:30 PM

SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsSGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria (634 Views)

1 2 Reply (Go Down)

SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by streetpaddy(op): 6:28am On Oct 04, 2025
The political heat was raised in Abuja on Friday as the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Senator George Akume, launched a stinging attack against the former Labour Party presidential candidate and two-term Governor of Anambra State, Peter Obi. Akume categorically challenged Obi's qualification to seek the highest office, arguing that his governance record in Anambra State did not demonstrate the capacity required to pilot the affairs of the entire nation.

Dependable NG reports that SGF Akume made these pointed remarks while addressing members of the press, focusing his commentary on defending the current administration’s performance and questioning the central theme of "rescuing Nigeria" used by the opposition. The SGF championed President Bola Tinubu's approach to governance, highlighting the unity and non-sectarian nature of the current government. He urged the political class to see their differences not as division, but as a form of healthy rivalry aimed at national development, taking a cue from President Tinubu’s ecumenical disposition.

"We love this country and we have to borrow from the example of President Bola Tinubu," Akume stated. "He’s a Muslim but at peace with all of us: Christians, Muslims and traditionalists. Nigeria is a huge country in the move, and under his direction, we know that we are going to reach the promised land."

The former Benue State Governor acknowledged the tough economic situation inherited by the All Progressives Congress (APC) administration, but quickly shifted to highlight perceived successes. "I know he inherited a very bad economy but we are out of it. Today, our Gross Domestic Product, GDP, has grown by 4.4%," the SGF asserted. This growth figure, often cited by the Presidency, is used to signal a recovery momentum from the economic turbulence that followed the removal of the fuel subsidy and currency floatation. The SGF positioned this performance as undeniable proof that the current administration is on the right track, despite the lingering economic difficulties felt by the populace.

The most direct and widely quoted portion of his address was the blunt assessment of Mr. Obi’s political ambition. The SGF expressed confusion and irritation at the opposition’s continuous promises of salvation. “What are people hanging around talking about? Coming to rescue Nigeria. Which Nigeria?” Akume queried. He then provided his definitive counter-argument aimed squarely at the Labour Party chieftain: “If Peter Obi could not rescue Anambra, he’s talking of rescuing the 36 states and Abuja.”

This statement reignites the contentious debate over Peter Obi's legacy as Governor of Anambra State. While his supporters celebrate his widely reported fiscal prudence and the foreign currency savings he claimed to have left behind, his critics, including the current SGF and other APC figures, often point to a supposed lack of aggressive infrastructural development during his eight-year tenure as a sign of failed leadership capacity. Akume did not stop with Obi, extending his critique to other former governors who sought the presidential seat. He dismissed their attempts, stating, "For other people I don’t want to mention their names. They came, they saw, they didn’t conquer even in their states," a clear adaptation of the famous "Veni, vidi, vici" quote, suggesting that many political aspirants have a track record of regional underperformance that disqualifies them from national leadership. The SGF’s statements reaffirm the APC’s posture that President Tinubu’s reforms, while painful, represent the only viable path to national economic restoration.

https://dependable.ng/obi-failed-anambra-cannot-rescue-nigeria-sgf-akume/

mynd44 seun nlfpmod

Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by streetpaddy(op): 6:30am On Oct 04, 2025
SGF George Akume attacked former Labour Party presidential candidate Peter Obi, asserting that his inability to "rescue Anambra" disqualifies him from leading Nigeria, while defending President Tinubu's administration and its 4.4% GDP growth.

mynd44 seun nlfpmod
Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by Orlandoo(m): 6:37am On Oct 04, 2025
And this man is from Benue state where his people are being killed on a daily basis. Anyway, Obi is the most popular politician in Africa right now so anyone seeking for relevance can attack him and get noticed.
Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by slivertongue: 6:40am On Oct 04, 2025
Anambra is head and shoulders above your state. Moreover your can't compare your failed governance with what obi did for his State
Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by mohims(m): 6:45am On Oct 04, 2025
The sons and daughters of perdition will disagree with this but it's the bitter truth. Obi was nothing but a collosal failure during his 8 years as Governor of Anambra state. If you know that I'm terrible in mathematics and one day, I want to come and teach your child mathematics, would you allow me? No sensible person would allow such. This can be likened to Mr Peter Lienus Obi's case. He will continue to remain a social media President. He will NEVER rule this country called Nigeria. He has absolutely nothing to offer. You must be under delusions of grandeur if you think Peter Lienus Obi will ever rule Nigeria. Quote me anywhere. After the 2027 elections, my words will re+echo in your head and you'd remember what I said.
Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by Ola9ja23: 6:50am On Oct 04, 2025
Truth is bitter 😭

The couldn't rescue their respective state yet they want to rescue Nigeria? No be juju be that?

They think Nigeria is all about container business?

Let them keep deceiving themselves
Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by mohims(m): 6:52am On Oct 04, 2025
slivertongue:
Anambra is head and shoulders above your state. Moreover your can't compare your failed governance with what obi did for his State
What did Obi do for Anambra state asides the brewery he built which he and his family had interest in. Obi is a habitual, pathological and an unrepentant liar. He was a collosal failure as Governor of Anambra state. Fortunately I lived in Onitsha 6 years out of his 8 years as Governor so there's nothing anybody can tell me about Obi. Even on Nairaland here his fellow Igbos from Anambra state called him the worst Governor in the history of Anambra state but today these same people are supporting him because of tribal sentiments. Who is deceiving who? Please take your time and ask Grok questions about your Obi Incase you are too lazy to do a search on Google. Peter Obi is failure personified. There's no way you can repackage a failure. No matter how hard you guys try, you will NEVER succeed. Peter Lienus Obi will NEVER rule Nigeria. Go and mark my words.

Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by LagosOrigin: 6:55am On Oct 04, 2025
Akume that his state, Benue, has suffered the worst form of massacre in the history of the state is talking his usual trash.
Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by Racoon(m):
George Akume was a total failure as Benue state governor back then( imagine a state where wheelbarrows are being given to youth as empowerment) and now in the most spectacular failed government Nigeria has ever seen. Yet he is bragging about Anambra state one of the most industrialized state with countless billionaires during the time of Peter Obi.

Anambra state strived well in education, commerce and health under Peter Obi. Where was Benue state under George Akume then? Everyone one of them is measuring dick with Peter Obi because they are scared.

Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by slivertongue: 7:02am On Oct 04, 2025
mohims:
What did Obi do for Anambra state asides the brewery he built which he and his family had interest in. Obi is a habitual, pathological and an unrepentant liar. He was a collosal failure as Governor of Anambra state. Fortunately I lived in Onitsha 6 years out of his 8 years as Governor so there's nothing anybody can tell me about Obi. Even on Nairaland here his fellow Igbos from Anambra state called him the worst Governor in the history of Anambra state but today these same people are supporting him because of tribal sentiments. Who is deceiving who? Please take your time and ask Grok questions about your Obi Incase you are too lazy to do a search on Google. Peter Obi is failure personified
I guess you are not knowledgeable enough to find out his performance. Akume is a signpost of incompetence.

Obi gave a good account of his stewardship and the state has since moved forward under his successors so try another propaganda
Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by mohims(m): 7:09am On Oct 04, 2025
slivertongue:
I guess you are not knowledgeable enough to find out his performance. Akume is a signpost of incompetence.

Obi gave a good account of his stewardship and the state has since moved forward under his successors so try another propaganda
Did you just say good account? He lied that he never left any debt behind when records showed otherwise that he left a debt of over 175 Billion for his successor. During one of the Gubernatorial debate on National TV, Willie Obiano mentioned it. Peter Lienus Obi is a habitual, a pathological and an unrepentant liar. Kindly do a fact check don't be too lazy to use Google and educate yourself better about the failure you are praising. Obi was a collosal failure as Governor of Anambra state. Poverty even doubled under Obi's time as Governor of Anambra state. Under Peter Obi's time as Governor, doctors went to strike for over 13 months. Obi did not build a single school during his 8 years as Governor. Obi did not conduct local government elections for 7 years plus. Please fact check me.
Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by Racoon(m): 7:14am On Oct 04, 2025
slivertongue:
I guess you are not knowledgeable enough to find out his performance. Akume is a signpost of incompetence. Obi gave a good account of his stewardship and the state has since moved forward under his successors so try another propaganda.
Nigeria became a terrible country under the govt of the APC because of lies and propaganda to justify or hide incompetency, ineptitude and cluelessness. Sadly they think every Nigerian is a gullible.

Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by slivertongue: 7:36am On Oct 04, 2025
mohims:
Did you just say good account? He lied that he never left any debt behind when records showed otherwise that he left a debt of over 175 Billion for his successor. During one of the Gubernatorial debate on National TV, Willie Obiano mentioned it. Peter Lienus Obi is a habitual, a pathological and an unrepentant liar. Kindly do a fact check don't be too lazy to use Google and educate yourself better about the failure you are praising. Obi was a collosal failure as Governor of Anambra state. Poverty even doubled under Obi's time as Governor of Anambra state. Under Peter Obi's time as Governor, doctors went to strike for over 13 months. Obi did not build a single school during his 8 years as Governor. Obi did not conduct local government elections for 7 years plus. Please fact check me.
Take him to Court and stop repeating your normal false tales. From he didn't conduct LGA election to he did it after 7years.

You folks are quoting political actors who behind you are using obi's achievements to climb the ladder of governance.

Obiano wanted a second term and Umeh encouraged him to drag obi with false narratives but Umeh ran back to Obi after his attempt to be relevant failed and today Obiano is being dragged by EFCC.

Soludo is a drama king well known for optics. Anambra got better in terms of wealth and job creations under PO. You folks should get the facts and interrogate them instead of spreading twisted narratives on the social space.
Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by helinues: 7:38am On Oct 04, 2025
Racoon:
George Akume was a total failure as Benue state governor back then( imagine a state youth as being given to youth as empowerment) and now in the most spectacular failed government Nigeria has ever seen. Yet he is bragging about Anambra state one of the most industrialized state state during the time of Peter Obi.

Anambra state strived well in Education, Commerce and Health under Peter Obi. Where was Benue state under George Akume then? Everyone one of them is measuring dick with Peter Obi because they are scared.
You know, Gov Obiano and Soludo erased, destroyed all the legacies of Peter Obi in Anambra state hence they are not standing today.

Peter Obi is a collosal failure and so he will remain
Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by Jamie248: 7:41am On Oct 04, 2025
I use nairaland as a newsfeed these days, and I pray I find and alternative soon

Once that happens I will never open this website again
Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by adetoya234: 8:03am On Oct 04, 2025
Honestly his excellency Peter Obi is more powerful than everyone thinks. Politicians who have been in obscurity uses Obi’s name to gain relevance. At the mention of Peter Obi, a deadweight politician miscrent gains relevance.
Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by Ofunaofu: 8:10am On Oct 04, 2025
Akume’s comment is a classic case of someone whose house is burning down but chooses to chase a rat.

As the Secretary to the Government of the Federation and former governor of Benue State, Akume is willfully blind to the devastation unfolding in his own backyard. Benue state is at war, villages are being razed, communities terrorized by bandits and yet, instead of taking responsibility or holding the disastrous Tinubu administration accountable, of which he is part of, he deflects by attacking Peter Obi’s leadership.

Where is the SGF while insecurity ravages Benue and the entire country? He sits idle, ignoring the crisis in his own state, preferring to score cheap political points instead of addressing the real problems.
Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by Ofemannnu: 8:10am On Oct 04, 2025
Orlandoo:
And this man is from Benue state where his people are being killed on a daily basis. Anyway, Obi is the most popular politician in Africa right now so anyone seeking for relevance can attack him and get noticed.
Face the topic,sir.
Obi was a colossal failure when he was Anambra state governor for 8 years.
Every Anambran stated this then but today you all want to sell to us a rotten market.
Tufiakwa!
Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by Tochi3(m): 8:14am On Oct 04, 2025
grin cheesy

..See dem..i think this man is from the middlebelt region..concentrate on advising your principal on the realities on ground..instead of distracting yourself from real issues affecting tge country..

..this ones has turned the lives of his people on the MD to an issue involving PO..

Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by Streetinvestor2: 8:17am On Oct 04, 2025
And SW president has been able to rescue nigeria since 2023 with the kind level of hunger, poverty, insecurity, looting of funds
Look at man who can not travel to his state many of his people are in IDP
Nigeria has never had it worst like this since independence even abacha was better
Even if God has forgotten nigeria and tuned his back on nigeria. God will never that wicked to allow it happen again in 2027.He can make seyi inec chairman it won't change anything. Nigerians have vowed to defend thr votes in 2027 with all means necessary
Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by mohims(m): 8:59am On Oct 04, 2025
slivertongue:
Take him to Court and stop repeating your normal false tales. From he didn't conduct LGA election to he did it after 7years.

You folks are quoting political actors who behind you are using obi's achievements to climb the ladder of governance.

Obiano wanted a second term and Umeh encouraged him to drag obi with false narratives but Umeh ran back to Obi after his attempt to be relevant failed and today Obiano is being dragged by EFCC.

Soludo is a drama king well known for optics. Anambra got better in terms of wealth and job creations under PO. You folks should get the facts and interrogate them instead of spreading twisted narratives on the social space.
Stop living in self denial or being delusional. Facts don't lie. Fact check everything I said and tell me where is the lie. You people are trying by all means to repackage a collosal failure. If you think Obi will ever rule Nigeria then I'd advice you to wake up from your dream. Even AI has labelled Peter Lienus Obi a habitual and a pathological liar. Fact check me and stop trying to repackage or push a false narrative about Gbajue
Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by Betanaija42moro: 9:31am On Oct 04, 2025
Look at who is talking, corrupt people. What did he do better in Benue state?
Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by slivertongue: 9:35am On Oct 04, 2025
mohims:
Stop living in self denial or being delusional. Facts don't lie. Fact check everything I said and tell me where is the lie. You people are trying by all means to repackage a collosal failure. If you think Obi will ever rule Nigeria then I'd advice you to wake up from your dream. Even AI has labelled Peter Lienus Obi a habitual and a pathological liar. Fact check me and stop trying to repackage or push a false narrative about Gbajue
I don't fact check lies or irrelevant characters. PO has put out the record of performance do well to interrogate it. Ain't you among the characters who called out his class of degree. Falsehood is like multiplying zero
Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by mrvitalis(m): 9:42am On Oct 04, 2025
streetpaddy:
The political heat was raised in Abuja on Friday as the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Senator George Akume, launched a stinging attack against the former Labour Party presidential candidate and two-term Governor of Anambra State, Peter Obi. Akume categorically challenged Obi's qualification to seek the highest office, arguing that his governance record in Anambra State did not demonstrate the capacity required to pilot the affairs of the entire nation.

Dependable NG reports that SGF Akume made these pointed remarks while addressing members of the press, focusing his commentary on defending the current administration’s performance and questioning the central theme of "rescuing Nigeria" used by the opposition. The SGF championed President Bola Tinubu's approach to governance, highlighting the unity and non-sectarian nature of the current government. He urged the political class to see their differences not as division, but as a form of healthy rivalry aimed at national development, taking a cue from President Tinubu’s ecumenical disposition.

"We love this country and we have to borrow from the example of President Bola Tinubu," Akume stated. "He’s a Muslim but at peace with all of us: Christians, Muslims and traditionalists. Nigeria is a huge country in the move, and under his direction, we know that we are going to reach the promised land."

The former Benue State Governor acknowledged the tough economic situation inherited by the All Progressives Congress (APC) administration, but quickly shifted to highlight perceived successes. "I know he inherited a very bad economy but we are out of it. Today, our Gross Domestic Product, GDP, has grown by 4.4%," the SGF asserted. This growth figure, often cited by the Presidency, is used to signal a recovery momentum from the economic turbulence that followed the removal of the fuel subsidy and currency floatation. The SGF positioned this performance as undeniable proof that the current administration is on the right track, despite the lingering economic difficulties felt by the populace.

The most direct and widely quoted portion of his address was the blunt assessment of Mr. Obi’s political ambition. The SGF expressed confusion and irritation at the opposition’s continuous promises of salvation. “What are people hanging around talking about? Coming to rescue Nigeria. Which Nigeria?” Akume queried. He then provided his definitive counter-argument aimed squarely at the Labour Party chieftain: “If Peter Obi could not rescue Anambra, he’s talking of rescuing the 36 states and Abuja.”

This statement reignites the contentious debate over Peter Obi's legacy as Governor of Anambra State. While his supporters celebrate his widely reported fiscal prudence and the foreign currency savings he claimed to have left behind, his critics, including the current SGF and other APC figures, often point to a supposed lack of aggressive infrastructural development during his eight-year tenure as a sign of failed leadership capacity. Akume did not stop with Obi, extending his critique to other former governors who sought the presidential seat. He dismissed their attempts, stating, "For other people I don’t want to mention their names. They came, they saw, they didn’t conquer even in their states," a clear adaptation of the famous "Veni, vidi, vici" quote, suggesting that many political aspirants have a track record of regional underperformance that disqualifies them from national leadership. The SGF’s statements reaffirm the APC’s posture that President Tinubu’s reforms, while painful, represent the only viable path to national economic restoration.

https://dependable.ng/obi-failed-anambra-cannot-rescue-nigeria-sgf-akume/

mynd44 seun nlfpmod
Let's leave grammar and face facts

Tinubu met our GDP at 375 billion dollars
Now it's at 220 billion dollars... So how can a normal human being say GDP has grown?

You dropped GDP by 40% then grew it by 4% and you said you grew it?

As for obi here is the fact

Obi grew HDI, education and health more than any governor in Nigeria since 1999 challenge me on a debate if you dare

Anambra has the best public/mission educational and health sector in Nigeria no body comes close.... This are facts
Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by slivertongue: 9:50am On Oct 04, 2025
Racoon:
Nigeria became a terrible country under the govt of the APC because of lies and propaganda to justify or hide incompetency, ineptitude and cluelessness. Sadly they think every Nigerian is a gullible.
Akume should please bring his competence to the North Central and Benue state to be specific. Using PO to hide ain't gonna help Nigeria
Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by Ballmer: 10:35am On Oct 04, 2025
But Obi is also from Anambra where MpuriMri as ruined n continue to ruin lives.

Do not let us talk about how manybof your parents get kidnapped n killed daily. Do you remember Dora Akuyilu's husband with the smashed skull all over the net so what exactly is you senseless comment about ?! How do such failure become most popular in Africa ?

Is your ipob enclave Africa ?!

Orlandoo:
Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by Ballmer: 10:44am On Oct 04, 2025
Is wheelbarrownot beta than Anambra where your fathers n monther are bribed with N500 n bottles of coke yet we see endless kidnapping everywherein the state. Make we no talk about murders like Dora husband.

d
Racoon:
George Akume was a total failure as Benue state governor back then( imagine a state where wheelbarrows are being given to youth as empowerment) and now in the most spectacular failed government Nigeria has ever seen. Yet he is bragging about Anambra state one of the most industrialized state with countless billionaires during the time of Peter Obi.

Anambra state strived well in education, commerce and health under Peter Obi. Where was Benue state under George Akume then? Everyone one of them is measuring dick with Peter Obi because they are scared.
Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by Burob: 12:06pm On Oct 04, 2025
slivertongue:
Is that why Gringory Obi ran away from The Apga?
Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by Burob: 12:09pm On Oct 04, 2025
mrvitalis:
Let's leave grammar and face facts

Tinubu met our GDP at 375 billion dollars
Now it's at 220 billion dollars... So how can a normal human being say GDP has grown?

You dropped GDP by 40% then grew it by 4% and you said you grew it?

As for obi here is the fact

Obi grew HDI, education and health more than any governor in Nigeria since 1999 challenge me on a debate if you dare

Anambra has the best public/mission educational and health sector in Nigeria no body comes close.... This are facts
After everything u claimed he did, why did runaway from the party Apga that gave him the platform?

Even till date, not one single commissioner that served under him in his 8 years, can claim to be anything politically, why is that so?

Even his successors Willie Obiano, & Professor Charles Soludo, have nothing good to say about the Apga Judas.
Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by mrvitalis(m): 12:45pm On Oct 04, 2025
Burob:
After everything u claimed he did, why did runaway from the party Apga that gave him the platform?

Even till date, not one single commissioner that served under him in his 8 years, can claim to be anything politically, why is that so?

Even his successors Willie Obiano, & Professor Charles Soludo, have nothing good to say about the Apga Judas.
Apga is a state party have no structure at the federal level
Re: SGF Akume: Obi Failed Anambra, Cannot Rescue Nigeria by Burob: 1:00pm On Oct 04, 2025
mrvitalis:
Apga is a state party have no structure at the federal level
What an excuse, The LP had structure @ the federal level abi?

Name just one house of rep, LP senator or governor in 2022 when the Apga Judas Gringory Obi joined them?
1 2 Reply

Caption This Picture Of SGF Akume's Benue Hospital VisitOnochie To Peter Obi: You Failed Anambra; Go Home, You Can't Be PresidentObi Failed To Specify How He Scored Majority Of Votes – Tribunal234

Fulani Man Warns Of Impending Fulani Terrorist Attack On Obajana, Kogi2027, Tinubu Must Drop Shetimma And Pick A Nothern ChrtistianVideo: Donald Trump Announce Successful Bombing Of Islamic Terrorists In Nigeria