Stats: 3,326,948 members, 8,428,783 topics. Date: Wednesday, 17 June 2026 at 11:54 PM

US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency - Foreign Affairs - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsForeign AffairsUS To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency (9785 Views)

1 2 3 4 Reply (Go Down)

US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by seunmsg(op): 5:56pm On Oct 19, 2025
WASHINGTON (AP) — The Trump administration is looking to provide an additional $20 billion in financing for Argentina through a mix of financing from sovereign funds and the private sector.

That would come on top of the $20 billion credit swap line that the U.S. Treasury pledged to Argentine President Javier Milei and his government this month to bolster the South American nation’s collapsing currency.

“We are working on a $20 billion facility that would complement our swap line, with private banks and sovereign funds that, I believe, would be more focused on the debt market,” Treasury Secretary Scott Bessent told reporters Wednesday. He called it “a private-sector solution” and said “many banks are interested in it and many sovereign funds have expressed interest.”

At a White House meeting Tuesday with Milei, Republican President Donald Trump said his administration wanted to help “our neighbors” with the aid package, but he also suggested that the money could be pulled if Milei’s party did not prevail in the Oct. 26 midterm elections.

“If he loses, we are not going to be generous with Argentina,” Trump said.

Related Stories

The Argentine peso weakened slightly Wednesday after Trump’s comments. The peso depreciated about 0.7%, with the dollar — the currency Argentines rely on to save — trading at 1,395 pesos, compared with 1,385 pesos the previous day.

On Wall Street, shares of major Argentine companies rose slightly after dropping as much as 8.1% Tuesday upon Trump’s comments.

In Argentina, the opposition’s criticism was swift.

Former President Cristina Fernández, who is under house arrest after a corruption conviction, wrote on social media: “Trump to Milei in the United States: ‘Our agreements depend on who wins election.’ Argentines … you already know what to do!”

Martín Lousteau, president of the centrist Radical Civic Union, said “Trump doesn’t want to help a country — he only wants to save Milei,” and that “nothing good can come of this.”

Maximiliano Ferraro, head of the opposition Civic Coalition, called Trump’s comments “a blatant act of extortion against the Argentine Nation.”
https://apnews.com/article/trump-argentina-financing-economy-milei-billion-peso-fd38553ae03f4c33ce1288999469f7fb

Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by Namaster: 6:00pm On Oct 19, 2025
"If he loses, we are not going to be generous with Argentina."

The PDFile is attempting to BRIBE an entire country to vote for a GRIFTER like himself.

Aid Package that is only available on the BASIS that his preferred candidate's party wins an election is NOT an aid package.

It's an INDUCEMENT!
A BRIBE!

That's a blatant INTERFERENCE in the democratic processes of an INDEPENDENT nation.

A CRIME!

Meanwhile, the GRIFTER of Argentina has run CRYPTO SCAMS like the one in the White House.

It's left to the people of Argentina to decide whether they like the status quo and want to be BEHOLDEN to a PDFile.

We'll see how it goes.
Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by seunmsg(op): 6:01pm On Oct 19, 2025
Every Nigerian should say a prayer for President Bola Tinubu every night before sleeping. Nigeria’s situation would have been worse than that of Argentina if Tinubu hadn’t initiated the bold reforms.
Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by Kushites: 6:03pm On Oct 19, 2025
Meanwhile, American farmers who voted for Trump are crying and going out of business due to the dumb tariff war the so-called president started.

Banana Republic with money.
Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by seunmsg(op): 6:03pm On Oct 19, 2025
Namaster:
"If he loses, we are not going to be generous with Argentina."

The PDFile is attempting to BRIBE an entire country to vote for a GRIFTER like himself.
Argentina is lucky they have a Donald Trump that is willing to help rescue the country. Who would have rescued Nigeria from the inevitable economic collapse if Tinubu hadn’t intervened?
Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by zero8zero(m): 6:08pm On Oct 19, 2025
This is after getting $20 billion loan from the world bank earlier. The finishing specialists/Bitter Obidients said Nigeria should go to Milei and study Argentina economy 😂
Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by PDPdestroyer(m):
LMAO. Obidense and lies are inseparable. They live in an alternate reality of falsehood and deceit
I remember vividly how they praised the Argentine president to high heavens, now the bubble don burst, eggs on your faces cheesy
Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by chatinent: 6:25pm On Oct 19, 2025
The full story is untold yet.

The US cannot give you anything without leverage.
Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by seunmsg(op): 6:28pm On Oct 19, 2025
zero8zero:
This is after getting $20 billion loan from the world bank earlier. The finishing specialists/Bitter Obidients said Nigeria should go to Milei and study Argentina economy 😂
Argentina’s situation perfectly describes Taiwo Oyedele’s response to the question about whether an average Nigerian is better off today than in 2023 when Tinubu took over. It describes what would have been the situation if those painful reforms were not implemented immediately in 2023.

Despite the support of Donald Trump, Argentines no longer believe in the local currency again. The Peso is at an all time low and the demand for USD daily is over $300 million. Nigeria without this kind of massive bailout has been able to stop the bleeding and stabilize the currency. We did all this while reducing our national debt and building the foreign reserve to a five year all time high.
Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by chatinent: 6:30pm On Oct 19, 2025
zero8zero:
Have you tried advising Tinubu to stabilise the economy instead of always blaming everyone else complaining of hardship?

I mean, the time you spent blaming those who are unsatisfied with hardship is enough to encourage Tinubu and Co to do better. After all, they took over from another APC's failure.

Don't give excuses; you are becoming notorious for giving excuses for failure.

Have a nice century.

Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by Moroccoguy: 6:31pm On Oct 19, 2025
At this point Thank God for giving us president Tinubu Nigeria case would have been worse than this.
Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by Putindbutt(m): 6:32pm On Oct 19, 2025
Kushites:
Meanwhile, American farmers who voted for Trump are crying and going out of business due to the dumb tariff war the so-called president started.

Banana Republic with money.
You left out the civil servants

Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by Putindbutt(m):
I remember watching Argentina President in one of the videos being stoned while campaigning for his party during the midterm election.
Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by zero8zero(m): 6:44pm On Oct 19, 2025
chatinent:
Have you tried advising Tinubu to stabilise the economy instead of always blaming everyone else complaining of hardship?

I mean, the time you spent blaming those who are unsatisfied with hardship is enough to encourage Tinubu and Co to do better. After all, they took over from another APC's failure.

Don't give excuses; you are becoming notorious for giving excuses for failure.

Have a nice century.
Sit down and learn, emotional bullcrap does not run an economy as complex as Nigeria.

Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by FarahAideed: 6:46pm On Oct 19, 2025
Nigeria needs this kind of deal but Tinubu is out there playing video and seek with Trump instead using that Lebanese man to penetrate Trump ...Trump is actually a soft man if you show him you mean well fir America
Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by FarahAideed: 6:48pm On Oct 19, 2025
zero8zero:
Sit down and learn, emotional bullcrap does not run an economy as complex as Nigeria.
Ask yourself how did fuels subsidy removal save Nigeria from Bankruptcy?

It wiped out over 200 billion dollars from the economy , it's was a costly mistake, the most costly mistake that will take 30 years to recover from
Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by seunmsg(op): 7:01pm On Oct 19, 2025
FarahAideed:
Nigeria needs this kind of deal but Tinubu is out there playing video and seek with Trump instead using that Lebanese man to penetrate Trump ...Trump is actually a soft man if you show him you mean well fir America
I’m

We don’t need $40billion loan to stabilize our currency because our currency is already stable though devalued. Argentina is currently the most indebted country to IMF. They took a $20billion loan just recently and now, the US is about to bail them out again on the condition that they vote Trump’s friend bank into office. No, we won’t mortgage our country’s future to the dictate of foreign power.

Whatever the case is, the USD loan will still go the way of others except Argentina stop defending the Peso and allow it to float without any band and find its level. Floating helped the Naira to stabilize despite the devaluation. That’s why we are no longer borrowing billions of dollars weekly simply to support the naira.
Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by zero8zero(m): 7:03pm On Oct 19, 2025
seunmsg:
Argentina’s situation perfectly describes Taiwo Oyedele’s response to the question about whether an average Nigerian is better off today than in 2023 when Tinubu took over. It describes what would have been the situation if those painful reforms were not implemented immediately in 2023.

Despite the support of Donald Trump, Argentines no longer believe in the local currency again. The Peso is at an all time low and the demand for USD daily is over $300 million. Nigeria without this kind of massive bailout has been able to stop the bleeding and stabilize the currency. We did all this while reducing our national debt and building the foreign reserve to a five year all time high.
You can imagine and Trump is buying Peso and giving them dollar equivalent in the currency swap deal just to help Milei grin. as the local currency is getting weaker and weaker. The question is how will Argentina be able to repay all these loans from IMF to World Bank, even this deal, the US Treasury will collect their dollars back because US doesn't need Pesos.
But Nigerian wailers are disrespectful to the President who has been able to redirect the economy from the negative outlook to positive direction without any behind the scenes help from any world power.
Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by garykoeman: 7:04pm On Oct 19, 2025
Nigerian made the right choice by electing president Tinubu.

Atiku/obi would have plunge the country into one of the worst economic recession ever witness in mankind.

The two of them are opportunistic individual, only interested in bearing the Title fmr president. grin
Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by zero8zero(m):
FarahAideed:
Ask yourself how did fuels subsidy removal save Nigeria from Bankruptcy?

It wiped out over 200 billion dollars from the economy , it's was a costly mistake, the most costly mistake that will take 30 years to recover from
Keyboard economist, sit down and be humble. You know nothing.
Which 200billion? grin. Your padded GDP that was import - dependent where Nigeria became a dumping ground for toothpick, human hair and boiled eggs, etc. Abeg get small shame. You get $200billion and your PDP was borrowing to pay salaries of civil servants. Abeg shift.
FarahAideed:
Nigeria was never import dependent , you people just make up lies , how can economy be padded yet it was name top Fastest growing economy ...well me I work with only data ..

I have attached our Balance of Trade surplus from 2010 to 2024 to bust your lies that Jonathan govt was import dependent, we exported more under Jonathan ... What factories has your Tinubu opened that has slowed down imports ?
You have come with your fake data screenshot. You see why I called you keyboard economist, what was the component of the trade surplus during PDP era?, It was Oil and Gas, 90% of our revenue was from oil. Other than oil, Nigeria was exporting nothing. We became a dumping ground for cheap goods from China.

Right now Nigeria has made a U turn generating more from non oil exports. And less dependent on oil.

Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by mrvitalis(m): 7:10pm On Oct 19, 2025
seunmsg:
WASHINGTON (AP) — The Trump administration is looking to provide an additional $20 billion in financing for Argentina through a mix of financing from sovereign funds and the private sector.

That would come on top of the $20 billion credit swap line that the U.S. Treasury pledged to Argentine President Javier Milei and his government this month to bolster the South American nation’s collapsing currency.

“We are working on a $20 billion facility that would complement our swap line, with private banks and sovereign funds that, I believe, would be more focused on the debt market,” Treasury Secretary Scott Bessent told reporters Wednesday. He called it “a private-sector solution” and said “many banks are interested in it and many sovereign funds have expressed interest.”

At a White House meeting Tuesday with Milei, Republican President Donald Trump said his administration wanted to help “our neighbors” with the aid package, but he also suggested that the money could be pulled if Milei’s party did not prevail in the Oct. 26 midterm elections.

“If he loses, we are not going to be generous with Argentina,” Trump said.

Related Stories

The Argentine peso weakened slightly Wednesday after Trump’s comments. The peso depreciated about 0.7%, with the dollar — the currency Argentines rely on to save — trading at 1,395 pesos, compared with 1,385 pesos the previous day.

On Wall Street, shares of major Argentine companies rose slightly after dropping as much as 8.1% Tuesday upon Trump’s comments.

In Argentina, the opposition’s criticism was swift.

Former President Cristina Fernández, who is under house arrest after a corruption conviction, wrote on social media: “Trump to Milei in the United States: ‘Our agreements depend on who wins election.’ Argentines … you already know what to do!”

Martín Lousteau, president of the centrist Radical Civic Union, said “Trump doesn’t want to help a country — he only wants to save Milei,” and that “nothing good can come of this.”

Maximiliano Ferraro, head of the opposition Civic Coalition, called Trump’s comments “a blatant act of extortion against the Argentine Nation.”

https://apnews.com/article/trump-argentina-financing-economy-milei-billion-peso-fd38553ae03f4c33ce1288999469f7fb

Cc: Mynd44 nlfpmod fergie001
Remind me again what was Argentina's GDP growth when their president too over

And what's their GDP today?

If you say Argentina GDP that has grown is collapsing what would you say of Nigeria GDP that have lost over 50% under tinubu?

Abi is there another measure to measure economy than GDP?
Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by Ola9ja23: 7:15pm On Oct 19, 2025
This is a typical example of how Tinubu economy policy is significantly stabilizing Nigeria economy

Yes economy is hard but it's necessary evil to curtail disaster otherwise we would be in big mess by now if not for his reforms
Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by zero8zero(m): 7:16pm On Oct 19, 2025
mrvitalis:

If you say Argentina GDP that has grown is collapsing what would you say of Nigeria GDP that have lost over 50% under tinubu?

US is bailing out a dying economy with $40billion and this one is here trying to compare Argentina GDP to Nigeria?. Who do una this thing ffs!.. ipob sef 🤣
Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by FarahAideed: 7:18pm On Oct 19, 2025
zero8zero:
Keyboard economist, sit down and be humble. You know nothing.
Which 200billion? grin. Your padded GDP that was import - dependent where Nigeria became a dump ground for toothpick, human hair and boiled eggs, etc. Abeg get small shame. You get $200billion and your PDP was borrowing to pay salaries of civil servants. Abeg shift.
Nigeria was never import dependent , you people just make up lies , how can economy be padded yet it was name top Fastest growing economy ...well me I work with only data ..

I have attached our Balance of Trade surplus from 2010 to 2024 to bust your lies that Jonathan govt was import dependent, we exported more under Jonathan ... What factories has your Tinubu opened that has slowed down imports ?

Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by Elzazzi: 7:18pm On Oct 19, 2025
seunmsg:
Every Nigerian should say a prayer for President Bola Tinubu every night before sleeping. Nigeria’s situation would have been worse than that of Argentina if Tinubu hadn’t initiated the bold reforms.
You are right. Like Yahaya Bello said.. Tinubu is an angel sent from God to rescue Nigeria. Infact Nigerians should go down on their knees thanking Angel Tinubu for his wonderful works. grin grin grin
Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by ogmask: 7:19pm On Oct 19, 2025
mrvitalis:

You dey follow data boys argue?
They throw punches without data to back it up.imagine comparing the Argentina President to tinubu... nawa.
Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by seunmsg(op): 7:21pm On Oct 19, 2025
mrvitalis:

Oops, is that why Argentines are dumping the Peso and the country needs to pump about $300million weekly into the market to defend the local currency? Is that why they are now the most indebted country to IMF in the world? Is that why they need another disastrous $40billion loan from the US to support the local currency from collapse? Is that why Argentines are stoning Milei? Is this what you obidients want for Nigeria?

And talking about GDP, our GDP in Naira terms has almost doubled since Tinubu took over and that is what really matters. The reduction in GDP in dollar value is simply because of the devaluation of the Naira and nothing else. In real terms, our economy had strongly improved.

In Argentina, Milei is simply wasting borrowed money to keep the Peso within a fixed band so that the GDP in dollar terms will continue to look good. In reality, the Argentina economy is collapsing and that’s why they need another $40billion from the US. Now, they are so unfortunate because the bailout is tied to voting as directed by Donald Trump. If they refuse to vote according to Trump’s directive, they won’t be getting the bailout. That’s how bad things have gone in Argentina.

Nigeria on the other hand gave Trump a middle finger when he imposed tariff on our exports. We banned a lot of American items from coming to our country and Trump can’t do shit. In addition, our economy is now growing. The currency is not only stable, it is now gaining strength. Foreign investment is at an all time high and all international agencies are projecting high GDP growth.
Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by FarahAideed: 7:31pm On Oct 19, 2025
For those that want to know the truth

ARGENTINA GDP : 633 billion dollars

Nigeria GDP : 187 billion dollars

Argentina GDP/K : 13,000 dollars

Nigeria GDP/k : 806 dollars

All the data suggest Argentinas economy is light years better off

Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by EKONGKING: 7:32pm On Oct 19, 2025
seunmsg:
This one ,you should book mark prominently as this is true .
Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by EKONGKING: 7:34pm On Oct 19, 2025
zero8zero:
Ha ha , the obedients are so stupid , unfortunately nairaland does not have the save the post feature .
Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by FarahAideed: 7:37pm On Oct 19, 2025
EKONGKING:
Ha ha , the obedients are so stupid , unfortunately nairaland does not have the save the post feature .
Go and compare economic data between both countries and see who needs to learn from who
Re: US To Provide $40billion To Support Argentina’s Collapsing Currency by EKONGKING: 7:42pm On Oct 19, 2025
seunmsg:
I’m

We don’t need $40billion loan to stabilize our currency because our currency is already stable though devalued. Argentina is currently the most indebted country to IMF. They took a $20billion loan just recently and now, the US is about to bail them out again on the condition that they vote Trump’s friend bank into office. No, we won’t mortgage our country’s future to the dictate of foreign power.

Whatever the case is, the USD loan will still go the way of others except Argentina stop defending the Peso and allow it to float without any band and find its level. Floating helped the Naira to stabilize despite the devaluation. That’s why we are no longer borrowing billions of dollars weekly simply to support the naira.
India let its currency fall from 80 to 90 in 2 years , heavens did not fall down .This is still a economy that is growing at 7.5 percent and has 700 billion dollars worth of reserves .

As u said, Tinubu is once in a generation leader , the pain is short term , but long term there will be gain .
1 2 3 4 Reply

'Our Frontlines Are Collapsing' - Ukrainain Soldier Writes Zelensky (Photos)Joe Biden Signs Order To Provide $600m Military Assistance To UkraineUN Says Basic Services In Afghanistan Are Collapsing234

Estonian Authorities Detain Russian 'shadow Fleet'-linked Oil Tanker Near TallinU.S. Democracy At Risk Under Trump – New York Times Warns, Lists 12 ReasonsAl-Qaeda's Tips On How To Avoid Drones