Stats: 3,328,195 members, 8,434,568 topics. Date: Friday, 26 June 2026 at 09:22 PM

Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) - Crime - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralCrimeSowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) (37098 Views)

1 2 3 4 5 6 Reply (Go Down)

Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by Glimpsetv(op): 11:47am On Oct 20, 2025

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y79fQxRtI4E?si=jzyVwSZ1XZfiO1Al

A peaceful demonstration calling for the release of Nnamdi Kanu in Abuja reportedly turned chaotic when security agents used tear gas and fired shots into the air to disperse protesters. Although live rounds were discharged, there is no confirmation that the bullets were directed at protesters, and no casualties have been recorded.

The protest, led by activist Omoyele Sowore and members of the #RevolutionNow movement, took place in Abuja. The demonstrators were demanding the freedom of Nnamdi Kanu, the detained leader of the Indigenous People of Biafra (IPOB). Their plan was to march toward Aso Rock Villa, Nigeria’s presidential seat of power.

However, protesters defied police restrictions and continued their march, insisting on proceeding with their peaceful protest despite heavy security presence.

The protest was later interrupted when combined security teams — including the Police, Army, and Department of State Services (DSS) — intervened. They released tear gas and fired live ammunition into the air to scatter the crowd.

While the use of force created panic, there are no verified reports that any protester was shot or killed during the incident.

Videos circulating online capture the tense moments when Sowore and several protesters ran for safety as gunshots rang out. Some protesters could be heard shouting defiantly, saying, “Tear gas cannot stop us!” even as they fled the scene.

As of October 20, 2025, updates confirm that the Abuja protest was forcefully dispersed by security operatives. No injuries or deaths have been officially confirmed.

Details of the Protest and Dispersal

Protest in Abuja: Activist Omoyele Sowore and the #RevolutionNow movement organized the rally to demand the immediate release of Nnamdi Kanu.

Destination: The group had planned to march to Aso Rock Villa, the country’s seat of power.

Defiance: Despite warnings and security blockades, protesters defied police restrictions and went ahead with their march, maintaining that their action was peaceful and within their rights.

Dispersal: Security forces made up of the Police, Army, and DSS used tear gas and fired shots into the air to break up the crowd.

Casualties: No confirmed reports of deaths or injuries have been released, though witnesses described the use of potentially lethal force.

Protesters’ Reaction: Videos show demonstrators running for safety while chanting slogans of resistance despite the chaos.

Tensions and Warnings Before the Protest

In the days leading up to the protest, the Nigerian government issued several warnings.
Dada Olusegun, a media aide to the government, cautioned that authorities would strongly resist any attempt to cause unrest in the country. The Nigerian Correctional Service also declared all correctional centers as “red zones,” warning protesters to stay away.

The Presidency described the protest as an effort to create instability, accusing Sowore of using activism as a cover to incite chaos.

On the other hand, Amnesty International condemned the government’s threats, calling them an unlawful restriction on the right to peaceful assembly. The National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) also appealed to security agencies to show restraint and engage in peaceful dialogue instead of violence.

Current Situation in Abuja

More videos emerging from the capital show that parts of Abuja remain locked down, with heavy traffic and restricted movement caused by the protest and security response.

Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by Glimpsetv(op): 11:48am On Oct 20, 2025
Summary:

A peaceful protest in Abuja demanding the release of IPOB leader Nnamdi Kanu turned chaotic as security forces allegedly fired tear gas and shots into the air to disperse demonstrators. However, protesters defied police restrictions and marched on with the protest, led by activist Omoyele Sowore and the #RevolutionNow movement, as they headed toward Aso Rock Villa. Videos show Sowore and others fleeing as gunfire erupted, though no casualties have been confirmed. The government had earlier warned against the protest, while Amnesty International and the NHRC condemned the use of force and called for restraint.
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by madridguy(m): 12:01pm On Oct 20, 2025
cheesy cheesy Let him them go and release Kanu inside DSS custody.
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by Tohsynetita1(m): 12:53pm On Oct 20, 2025
This sowore no get liver joor, you want to protest, you don’t plan for these ahead?
You just Dey Nigeria?
If you want to have meaningful protest, you should not be afraid,
And that’s why you have to have a good plans to neutralize their attacks by all means
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by 123readygo:
This is all wrong. You don’t open fire on peaceful protesters.
Just a simple dialogue with them would have calmed the protesters
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by Goo0dHardDick: 1:18pm On Oct 20, 2025
He who runs away today, lives to do another protest tomorrow. Sowore is wise
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by kgr8mike(m): 1:18pm On Oct 20, 2025
He needs to be alive to continue the quest. That's what he needs to do
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by SyrusdeHansome(m): 1:19pm On Oct 20, 2025
Tohsynetita1:
This sowore no get liver joor, you want to protest, you don’t plan for these ahead?
You just Dey Nigeria?
If you want to have meaningful protest, you should not be afraid,
And that’s why you have to have a good plans to neutralize their attacks by all means
Talk is cheap. It's very easy to say nonsense with the phone
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by HeadNigga: 1:19pm On Oct 20, 2025
Nawa o. Awaiting trial for years...
i am on the side of justice...try the man...let the trial be concluded...if you discharge and acquit him after keeping him behind bars for years you can't give him back the years wasted.
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by Kingpele(m): 1:20pm On Oct 20, 2025
The guy ran so fast at a point I mistook him to be Usain bolt....but won't blame him na the guy shouting don't run but later japa I go blame..they even carry their own Bishop join body
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by Nwaikpe: 1:20pm On Oct 20, 2025
Watch as the very same people who are against Israel defending itself come and support Nigerian police firing live rounds on innocent protesters.

cheesy cheesy cheesy
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by Cruzmaster: 1:21pm On Oct 20, 2025
madridguy:
This may lead to military take over if care is not taken. The military knows that civilians are not standing with Tinubu. They may use this chance to take over. Mark my word!
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by richiemcgold:
No be say sowore run dem street as others are saying.
Let's say sowore get better street OT pass dem.

.. abi you no see the way Mr man took to his heels right away? 🤥 No be today na; e don tey.
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by TOPCRUISE(m): 1:21pm On Oct 20, 2025
He who runs today lives to fight another day.
When they get home their children will say they see them on tv running
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by PDPdestroyer(m): 1:21pm On Oct 20, 2025
The protest was a big flop. My Obidient neighbour who took excuse from work today to partake in the protest, hoping it would lead to an uprising that would topple the government of Tinubu, returned home disappointed after police tear gas nearly made him blind
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by datola: 1:21pm On Oct 20, 2025
That's wisdom. He can come back to fight next time.
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by MemphitzDgreat1(m):
madridguy:
One iota of shame you nor get.
Speak up against insurgency and Banditry. Na only Nnamdi Kanu matter your flaccid preek go dey stand up for!
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by backbone503(m): 1:23pm On Oct 20, 2025
Lol. Why him take off? Shey him dey thing se na only him get craze.
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by faceland: 1:23pm On Oct 20, 2025
That is what he wants.

One of the most wicked politician masquerading as an activist.
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by Petyprince: 1:23pm On Oct 20, 2025
Good, no room for terrorism in Nigeria.
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by Arda1000(m): 1:23pm On Oct 20, 2025
Kingpele:
The guy ran so fast at a point I mistook him to be Usain bolt
at least he had the courage to try.
I know you are very brave behind your phone
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by Chucks13: 1:23pm On Oct 20, 2025
Hahahahaha I nor tell una say Sowore is a clout chaser? Why did he ran, is he no longer Mandela wannabe?

You are daring Nigeria police wey dey kill pesin cus of N50 ba?

Dem no dey telli pesin in Timaya voice.
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by Image123(m): 1:24pm On Oct 20, 2025
Resist Sowore and he will flee from you? No be this man talk say no retreat or surrender or something like that? Mr days of rage just love sightseeing Abuja with drama. Now, dem go start to accuse am from within.

Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by DaddyJapan(m): 1:24pm On Oct 20, 2025
Nah tactical retreat nah.
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by VenExchangee: 1:24pm On Oct 20, 2025
You should also post that the protest have still continued
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by orikoku: 1:24pm On Oct 20, 2025
Sowore my nigga, this drama sweet abeg, been laughing since morning.
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by faceland: 1:24pm On Oct 20, 2025
richiemcgold:
No be say soworo run dem street as others are saying
They paid him to start trouble in 2015... since then he can't find a new business that pays more than this gig.
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by Cj4charles(m): 1:25pm On Oct 20, 2025
Thank God it was peaceful protest, and the government already going violent on them
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by DimIsaac10(m): 1:25pm On Oct 20, 2025
Some persons say he shouldn't flee...

Smh
So they can kill him abi and call it accidental discharge.
The Igbos are not ready to let Kanu go yet.
Re: Sowore Flees As Police Open Fire On 'Free Nnamdi Kanu' Protesters (Video) by Petyprince: 1:25pm On Oct 20, 2025
Cruzmaster:
This may lead to military take over if care is not taken. The military knows that civilians are not standing with Tinubu. They may use this chance to take over. Mark my word!
Dey play, no be only military takeover na Red Army takeover.
1 2 3 4 5 6 Reply

Driver Flees As Sanwo-Olu’s Convoy Stops Him For Driving Against TrafficCanadian Police Protecting #EndSARS Protesters (Video)The Pro-SARS Thugs Were Holding Cutlasses & Daggers -#EndSARS Protesters (Video)234

Man Arrested For Carrying 4 Phones In Lagos (Photos)Gunmen Kidnap Chioma Nwosu Iheme, Court Appeal JusticeFemale Bishop Arrested In Lagos For Fraud (Photo)