Stats: 3,325,251 members, 8,420,975 topics. Date: Friday, 05 June 2026 at 03:43 PM

Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsMascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) (17887 Views)

1 2 Reply (Go Down)

Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by Metrix147(op): 8:57pm On Oct 25, 2025
Former Chief of Staff to the Abia State Governor, Sir Mascot Uzor Kalu, has formally declared his intention to contest the 2027 governorship election under the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC), pledging to build a government that works for all Abians especially the underserved at the grassroots level.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_4F7p8fpUtg

In a declaration speech delivered with passion and conviction in Umuahia, Abia State, on Saturday, 25th October 2025, Kalu emphasized the need for a new era of governance anchored on unity, transparency, and grassroots empowerment.

Reflecting on his decision not to contest the outcome of the 2023 gubernatorial election, Kalu said: “Though there were irregularities, I congratulated the winner because the people demanded change. I chose not to go to court, allowing the administration space to govern. But today, Abia deserves more—more progress, more inclusivity, and more truth in governance.”

Kalu, who described himself as a frontline candidate in 2023, noted that while some progress has been made under the current administration, the delivery has not matched the campaign promises made to the people.

Outlining his agenda, the APC chieftain promised to lead a people-focused government rooted in equity, transparency, and economic development. His core pledges include:

Full implementation of President Bola Tinubu’s Renewed Hope agenda at the grassroots

Opening state government financial systems to public scrutiny

Ensuring civil servants and pensioners are treated with dignity and paid promptly

Creating job-driven economic programs, especially targeting Abia’s youth

Strengthening local government autonomy by publishing and releasing LG allocations in full

Sustaining and improving existing capital projects while launching human capacity development initiatives

Citing Abia’s staggering unemployment rate of over 62%—nearly double the national average—Kalu declared it was unacceptable for the state to ignore the urgency of economic revitalization.

“Our journey is not politics as usual. It is a call to restore empathy to leadership and give every Abian a reason to believe again,” he said.

Kalu invited party loyalists, progressives across political divides, and non-indigenes alike to join his campaign to reposition Abia under the APC. He stressed that his movement transcends politics and is anchored on faith and resilience, quoting Saint Teresa of Avila: “Let nothing disturb you, let nothing frighten you. God never changes. Whoever has God lacks nothing.”

He ended his declaration with a bold rallying cry for action: “Let us build an Abia that works for all of us, not just some of us.”

The campaign slogan unveiled at the end of his address was: “Onye rụọ, orie! Arutu uzu, arutu afọ!!” (Translation: He who works, eats! When the barn is full, so is the stomach!)

With prayers for the success of APC, Abia State, and Nigeria, Kalu’s speech officially signaled the beginning of what political observers say could be a defining contest in the road to Abia 2027.
Source: https://abntv.com.ng/news/mascot-uzor-kalu-declares-for-abia-2027-governorship-promises-inclusive-transparent-leadership/

Re: Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by yarimo(m): 9:35pm On Oct 25, 2025
Any candidate will defeat Alex otti in 2027 governorship election, abians are not happy with his leadership.
Re: Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by MaziObinnaokija: 10:48pm On Oct 25, 2025
cool grin cheesy grin cool congratulations MASCOT UZOR KALU
Re: Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by IbnB: 2:35am On Oct 26, 2025
No be only mascot, na marionette, abi puppet
Re: Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by princepee: 5:41am On Oct 26, 2025
God forbid that abia should go back to Egypt..
God forbid uzo kalu as abia governor after the disaster of the past.

Somebody say Amen.
Re: Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by vivalavida(m): 5:43am On Oct 26, 2025
You just want to waste your money.

Anyone who wants to run for governor against Otti and Mbah now is wasting both money and time right now. They have their state on lock down.
Re: Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by tiswell(m): 5:44am On Oct 26, 2025
Failed already before the eye declaration

Otti is literally unopposed
Re: Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by Ceejay8: 5:46am On Oct 26, 2025
yarimo:
Any candidate will defeat Alex otti in 2027 governorship election, abians are not happy with his leadership.
were you paid to do this ??

No body can defeat Alex Otti , I mean NOBODY , even Alex Otti will win it before 12pm that day
Re: Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by IamAtAnger: 5:52am On Oct 26, 2025
Have u ever been happy with any of your governors in history?... which of ur previous governors don do wetin Otti don do rather than to dey loot una
yarimo:
Re: Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by Kaybaba5(m): 5:54am On Oct 26, 2025
yarimo:
You have not told us if you are part of abians that are not happy.
Re: Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by Kobolander: 5:57am On Oct 26, 2025
Alex Otti is a great obstacle to overcome in 2027 governorship election of Abia State for the Ozor families in my little understanding of the politics in the state from the feelers
Re: Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by ChizzyBuna(m):
First Candidate in History to Lose an Election before Campaign..

Re: Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by AntiChristian: 6:29am On Oct 26, 2025
Mascot na name?

I trust Obi people they won't want to lose the only LP governor in Nigeria!

But we'll see as it goes!
Re: Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by shaboti: 6:47am On Oct 26, 2025
yarimo:
Why are you people this wicked ?!?
Re: Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by UzorIyke(m): 6:52am On Oct 26, 2025
yarimo:
Oga I'm an indigene of Abia, and I'm telling you we're happy of his leadership/government maybe adamawa people like you don't like him, lol but you can't decide for us grin grin grin
Re: Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by SonOfWords(m): 7:16am On Oct 26, 2025
No be only mascot, na cheerleader grin. No go find place sidon!
Re: Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by Buffalo2(m): 7:17am On Oct 26, 2025
Ewo tun ni MASCOT bayi ntori Olohun. E je ka maa ni suuru fah.
Re: Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by Princeton92(m): 7:25am On Oct 26, 2025
yarimo:
How so and why so I thought they actually love him there?
Re: Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by Prettychild(f): 7:34am On Oct 26, 2025
Re: Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by adamkkk: 7:43am On Oct 26, 2025
yarimo:
hmmm

there was one lady that worked tirelessly for Buhari tenure... mana something... at d end, where e dey now ?
Re: Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by Cmanforall: 7:55am On Oct 26, 2025
AntiChristian:
Mascot na name?

I trust Obi people they won't want to lose the only LP governor in Nigeria!

But we'll see as it goes!
He might lose if he remains in LP, considering the confusions in the party. Otti may decamp to ADV of Obi gets the ticket
Re: Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by galantjoe(m): 8:00am On Oct 26, 2025
Arụtụ ụzọ; arụtụ afọ is an Igbo saying which means while doing road work also do make mouth eat.

T'hia campaign is all about stomach infrastructure
Re: Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by bong4(m): 8:02am On Oct 26, 2025
Metrix147:
Source: https://abntv.com.ng/news/mascot-uzor-kalu-declares-for-abia-2027-governorship-promises-inclusive-transparent-leadership/
How can African parents sit and conclude that the best they can name their son is "Mascot"? Yet we will be crying over dearth in cultural beliefs and practices.
Re: Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by KonTagiousBull: 8:09am On Oct 26, 2025
Re: Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by spencekat(m): 8:15am On Oct 26, 2025
bong4:
How can African parents sit and conclude that the best they can name their son is "Mascot"? Yet we will be crying over dearth in cultural beliefs and practices.
Some children also name themselves.
Re: Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by Badexx: 8:26am On Oct 26, 2025
yarimo:
Have you ever been happy with way your life is going?
Re: Mascot Uzor Kalu Declares Governorship Ambition For Abia 2027 Under APC (Video) by lightwind(m): 8:35am On Oct 26, 2025
Badexx:
Have you ever been happy with way your life is going?
$
You guys should please stop quoting that thing, he enjoys your quoting him and making him look relevant here.
$
1 2 Reply

Edo 2024: Philip Shaibu Declares Governorship Bid Under PDPIt’s My Turn To Be Senate President - Orji Uzor Kalu DeclaresAnambraDecides: INEC Declares Governorship Election Inconclusive234

Do you know anything about "Greater Port Harcourt City?"Nigeria Airbrushed Out Of Mandela’s Life StoryGovernor Shettima Buys House For An Internally Displaced Lactating Mother(photos