Stats: 3,325,952 members, 8,424,303 topics. Date: Thursday, 11 June 2026 at 12:17 AM

This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsThis Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi (8331 Views)

1 2 3 4 Reply (Go Down)

This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by givedemwotowoto(op): 5:16pm On Dec 02, 2025
Peter Obi reflects on Nigeria’s current leadership

A Pain One Carries Silently

This afternoon, as I travelled from Abuja to Lagos, a group of young Nigerians approached me at the airport and said: “We have not heard or read anything from you today or yesterday, despite all the heartbreaking news dominating our front pages—from the appointment of some of the least qualified individuals as ambassadors, to our institutions being ridiculed, the First Lady hosting extravagant dinners for Senators while children are being abducted, and the countless killings across the country.”

I looked at them and understood their frustration. My response came from the depth of my heart:

My dear younger brothers and sisters, there is a pain one carries silently when watching a nation you love bleed daily. There is a pain that words cannot fully describe—when you see the suffering of ordinary Nigerians and compare it to the reckless insensitivity displayed by those entrusted with leadership. It is the kind of pain that makes you remember the humiliating remark from the American president who referred to Nigeria as a “now disgraced country.”

Today, when you look around, you begin to understand why the world speaks of us that way. Yes, some of the names being paraded to represent us as ambassadors globally are shocking. But with a leadership that has allowed mediocrity, corruption, and impunity to rise to the top, who else did you expect them to choose?

When our people are being killed, our leaders are busy hosting dinners.
When children are being snatched from their schools, the political class is celebrating and dancing.
When families cannot afford their next meal, those in power are welcoming defectors and exchanging gifts as though Nigeria is not burning.

This is not governance.
This is not leadership.
And this is certainly not the Nigeria we deserve.

We cannot continue normalising this level of moral decay and national indifference. A nation rises when its leaders feel the pain of its citizens—not when they insulate themselves from it. A nation progresses when compassion, competence, and accountability guide public office, not when frivolity becomes the order of the day.

But I want you, the young people, to know this: do not lose hope. Do not become numb. Do not let this darkness demoralise your hearts. The New Nigeria we dream of—a just, secure, productive, and respected nation—is still possible. But it will not happen by accident. It will happen because people like you refuse to accept failure as our destiny.

We will continue to speak and insist that Nigeria can and must be better.

A New Nigeria is POssible. -PO
Source

Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by givedemwotowoto(op):
Failure does not even correctly describe the level of leadership Nigeria has currently. Catastrophe is close.
Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by ebukal67x: 5:21pm On Dec 02, 2025
Peter Obi, you are the cause of the pain you are now trying to shed crocodile tears over.
Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by Greenback: 5:22pm On Dec 02, 2025
ebukal67x:
Peter Obi, you are the cause of the pain you are now trying to shed crocodile tears over.
One is here already,let's wait for the others grin

Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by Borrow2222: 5:28pm On Dec 02, 2025
givedemwotowoto:
Peter Obi reflects on Nigeria’s current leadership
PO is 💯 correct.

The country is long gone.

APC has set governance to an all-time low. Most times I wonder if Nigeria will ever recover from this.

The pathway and direction the country is going is scary.
Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by gidgiddy: 5:30pm On Dec 02, 2025
Someday, Peter Obi will come to the realisation that Nigeria has failed to the point of not being able to be saved

Thats when he join those of us who have seen it, and rest, take a back seat and watch everything implode
Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by HgAkpobomeEr: 5:31pm On Dec 02, 2025
PO, the pain is mutual.
Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by PlasmaTV: 5:50pm On Dec 02, 2025
His Excellency hath spoken.

APC under the auspice of Buhari and Tinubu drew back Nigeria 100 years. They undid all the work that OBJ and Jonathan did.

Unfortunately, Tinubu has undertaken a personal project to run Nigeria into the abyss before he is booted out in 2027.

Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by PlasmaTV: 5:50pm On Dec 02, 2025
ebukal67x:
How please?
Didn't Tinubu force his way into power by shouting EMILOKAN?
Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by iamrealdeji(m): 5:51pm On Dec 02, 2025
If Peter Obi gets elected as President,he would surely split Nigeria. Though,he wouldn't act it now. That agenda is not what Igbos take lightly,even the rich ones among them,it's what they support with their whole lives,an agenda that got over 30000 people killed according to Orji Uzor Kalu.
What they don't know is that the same Nigerians that are ruling us badly now are the same Nigerians that would rule them badly. Water would only find it's level,nothing is going to change than the fact that their politicians would have enough to steal than they're able to steal now.
Nnamdi Kanu would be like Dino Melaye,live like Sultan of Brunei. Dino also protested because of Nigeria,Tinubu was on the run and suffered because of Nigeria and does the mean they're not corrupt? Many corrupt politicians today suffered for Nigeria,IBB took a bullet for Nigeria and his self compensation is corruption
Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by Pootle: 5:52pm On Dec 02, 2025
agulu prom queen voice i know it all
Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by dahnimoh(m): 5:52pm On Dec 02, 2025
We hear you sir but will the people in authority hear
Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by PlasmaTV: 5:52pm On Dec 02, 2025
Pootle:
Ask yourself if what you just uttered is sensible.
Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by Switruth: 5:53pm On Dec 02, 2025
ebukal67x:
Zombists will arrive soonest...oya give them green flag to come in... Una go tire....oya call other zombies.. activate them. Mad ppl everywhere
Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by Obapluto: 5:53pm On Dec 02, 2025
I don't like politicians
Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by Ikaeniyan0: 5:53pm On Dec 02, 2025
Peter Obi who failed as a governor shouldn't be making this kind of comment. He needs to always hide his face in shame for failing to turn around small Anambra state
Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by israelmao(m):
Emilokan is now in the driver's seat and taking all the heat.Good governance is never bread and butter experience. Emilokan is now clueless.more than the person he referred to as being clueless.
Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by Elvis2kay: 5:54pm On Dec 02, 2025
What can a weak Gay like peter Obi do if he is the Nigeria president ??
Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by jchioma: 5:55pm On Dec 02, 2025
A fantastically corrupt country called “now disgraced country” is in need of solutions that only justice, fairness and accountability can restore. The citizens are just tired, from one frying pan to another fire. We hope the people in 2027 will decide the direction this country wants to go.
Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by NewHe: 5:56pm On Dec 02, 2025
They told you, all that? Dearis godu o!
Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by Pootle: 5:56pm On Dec 02, 2025
PlasmaTV:
Ask yourself if what you just uttered is sensible.
elupee is pained, i hurt your feelings. ladies voice. he got that advise from a mad man grin
Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by Image123(m): 5:57pm On Dec 02, 2025
Does this one know what he is saying? A man that cannot control his own house, his own followers or party. Is your family a family or party situation anyone prays for or deserves.
Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by Flangelo12:
How many times would you post this to front page?
Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by Tochi360: 5:58pm On Dec 02, 2025
Ikaeniyan0:
Peter Obi who failed as a governor shouldn't be making this kind of comment. He needs to always hide his face in shame for failing to turn around small Anambra state
Loll zombie you are still using this lies that massively increased the number of the Obidient movement grin.

Obi performed outstandingly well in Anambra, hence happiness just full everywhere for the State, back to back Anambra was rated safest place to be under Obi back to back.

Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by Peterobiisathie(f): 5:58pm On Dec 02, 2025
Peter Agbotikuyo Obi can never become president of my beloved country
Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by Riskymarvelous(m): 6:00pm On Dec 02, 2025
Elvis2kay:
Peter Obi if you're a Nigeria president what can you do??
so no any of your family members can contest for presidency righthuh You be Muntulala
Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by omooba969(m): 6:00pm On Dec 02, 2025
Mr Peter Obi, can we talk about the Akwuzu killings by the police under ya watch as governor? undecided
Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by christejames(m): 6:01pm On Dec 02, 2025
The People's President for a reason
Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by Riskymarvelous(m): 6:02pm On Dec 02, 2025
Pootle:
lack of integrity and common sense speaking
Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by frog12: 6:03pm On Dec 02, 2025
na sharia be the problem. those northern governors do am to frustrate OBJ.
and now e dey frustrate tinubu.

na game to them

Re: This Is Not Governance Or Leadership, And Not The Nigeria We Deserve - Peter Obi by WYZAD(m): 6:03pm On Dec 02, 2025
In all that u said u never at any point said what u will do differently.

That's all we want to hear....what u would have done that this present or past govt have not done
1 2 3 4 Reply

₦931 Billion Scandal: This Is Not Governance, This Is BetrayalAngry Northerners Tell Tinubu Cut The Cost Of Governance Or Resign We Are SuffeNigeria Do Not Deserve Peter Obi, See Why234

The Illegality In Ekiti Impeachment SagaA Genuine Call For A One Week Ceasefire Between Yorubas And Igbos On NairalandThe Truth About The Billionaire Adeleke Family From Osun State