Stats: 3,326,962 members, 8,428,829 topics. Date: Thursday, 18 June 2026 at 04:21 AM

Banks Shut 229 Branches - Business (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralBusinessBanks Shut 229 Branches (24483 Views)

1 2 3 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by Rejouir: 9:46am On Jan 04
Branches with low turn over.

It's really not easy building a business.
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by nedu666: 9:50am On Jan 04
Ebony state is really going down. 89 branches shut in a year. When we tell umahi the oponu gov to focus on real development he said no na crayons airport, 7 flyover for keke, 2 shopping malls that are dead, icc centre na his definition of development
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by Tohsynetita1(m): 9:51am On Jan 04
PulaPower:
Una too dey lie sha. I wonder wetin be the diff between una and politicians..

Pos started in Nigeria in the year 2000s.

No wonder you dey support Liar-nus Obuko
You are a crazy liar, it was around 2019 to 2020 that pos became popular in Nigeria.
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by Katell: 9:55am On Jan 04
This is a poor data. Name of the banks, number of closed branches and their locations would have make the report valid and verifiable.
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by gentlesmithugo(m): 9:57am On Jan 04
PulaPower:

what a lying fuul,no be only 2000 but na 1996.always lying in everything
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by udemzyudex(m): 9:59am On Jan 04
autoez:
You for carry everyone for your village go build road na
Lol.. Na that small thing wey I talk dey pain you?
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by Ishilove: 10:05am On Jan 04
DomPerignon:
There's absolutely no need for private banks.

The deregulation of the banking sector was one of the biggest mistakes to have ever been conceived and is the number 1 driver of inflation and money laundry.

And to think most if not all these banks are now operated under fractional reserve banking that allows them to draw money from the central bank (our money) far above that in their vaults (still our money) and loan back to both the government and the populace at medieval Shylock loan rates tells you why we have a double digit lending rate hovering at room temperature ranges .

With such a high disparity in lending rates compared to what they pay as interests to depositors, you should not be wondering why we have one of the highest year on year inflation rates.

The Central Bank should rethink theor policy towards merchant banks and limit them strictly to banking transactions .

The CBN already has several subsidiaries like Bank of Agriculture, Bank of Industry and NIRSAL that ought to replace the Shylock banks as lenders.

The digital platforms have shown they can provide effective banking transactions far better than the inept conventional banks and have so far shown they are more transparent and more responsive to their customer base. The CBN should empower these digital banks with same fractional lending tools to serve SMEs lending as well as for soft consumer loans.

A scenario were bank executives are the highest salaried earners and draw huge sums as end of year bonuses while doing next to nothing but exploit the system while serving corrupt politicians to launder money should come to an end.

Bankers, Lawyers, Journalists and Medical Practioneers (in this order) are the bane of any nation and must be stripped of any professional and outstanding role in any nation if that nation must survive.
Your last paragraph is what spoilt your otherwise interesting submission.
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by regenerateman(m): 10:07am On Jan 04
"Across the Six Pillars of customer experience, fintechs continue to outperform traditional banks, particularly on Time & Effort and Expectations. Customers consistently associate fintech platforms with fast transaction processing, reliable uptime and intuitive mobile interfaces.”

The above sentence will make Nigerians have more confidence with fintechs.
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by jeff1993: 10:13am On Jan 04
PulaPower:

...... Why are u like this ?? Agbaforians and Lies are like 5 and 6

Ask yourself when u started using POS Ewu ..... Year 2000 wey phone Neva come out na him u wan use POS for Nigeria?
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by Zocalite: 10:13am On Jan 04
[color=#770077][/color]
NaijaRoyalty:
Can't remember the last year is went to the bank or the ATM .

I use POS or cash transfer ..

Thanks to Goodluck Jonathan government for bringing POS in Nigeria
Is it sycophancy or just ignorance

How can you say gej brought pos to nigeria

Which president brought ATM, which president brought android or iPhone

Pray tribalism doesn't wound you
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by Zocalite: 10:22am On Jan 04
nedu666:
Ebony state is really going down. 89 branches shut in a year. When we tell umahi the oponu gov to focus on real development he said no na crayons airport, 7 flyover for keke, 2 shopping malls that are dead, icc centre na his definition of development
That's the wicked mentality of nigeria politicians and all is just to embezzle money

Also nigeria needs restructuring

Politicians going to Abuja to collect allocation allows them to do rubbish

Many states are less viable, there must be undisputed reason why they should embark on some projects
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by PulaPower: 10:22am On Jan 04
jeff1993:
...... Why are u like this ?? Agbaforians and Lies are like 5 and 6

Ask yourself when u started using POS Ewu ..... Year 2000 wey phone Neva come out na him u wan use POS for Nigeria?
https://www./evolution-pos-business-nigeria-quazim-ogungbayi-mict-pmp-gzzof
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by PulaPower: 10:22am On Jan 04
gentlesmithugo:
what a lying fuul,no be only 2000 but na 1996.always lying in everything
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by PulaPower: 10:23am On Jan 04
Brendaniel:
Which POS where you going to in the 2000s?

The way you people lie...

Lie with so much confidence and arrogance...

POS for cash withdrawal?

What exactly is wrong with you people?

I graduated from university in 2010, there was nothing like POS withdrawal anywhere in Nigeria even at that time, you guys just lie anyhow destroying the country...
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by obonujoker(m): 10:23am On Jan 04
iwaeda:
If 229 branch closed at least, 5 people job loss per branch. grin grin grin grin
Na wa o ... It's not good at all
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by GorillaApp(m): 10:25am On Jan 04
I
femi4:
It is bad, ATMs with zero charges still work abroad

These POS guys have no control with their exorbitant charges.

With closure of many branches, that's loss of jobs acrosss the Country
Who is to blame! The banks of course! At the beginning, I had my doubts about pos terminals and will not want to use them but when you go to banks and ATM terminals, they always claim not to have money but just opposite the bank, Bilikisu with her pos is waiting, ready to pay you.
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by Brendaniel: 10:26am On Jan 04
PulaPower:
The way you people lie, there is a difference between POS and POS cash withdrawal, the problem with you people, you people hate being detailed because you want to manipulate information and lie.....

Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by bobogogo: 10:30am On Jan 04
iwaeda:
If 229 branch closed at least, 5 people job loss per branch. grin grin grin grin
Hahaha...
You are wicked!

Na that side you no say u go torchlight.
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by PulaPower: 10:31am On Jan 04
Brendaniel:
The way you people lie, there is a difference between POS and POS cash withdrawal, the problem with you people, you people hate being detailed because you want to manipulate information and lie.....
Mtchew..

The guy I responded to said that Jonathan brought in Pos into Nigeria which is not true..

Pos has been in the Nigeria system before Jona even become Bayelsa governor..
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by autoez: 10:32am On Jan 04
udemzyudex:
Lol.. Na that small thing wey I talk dey pain you?
No naa. I dey whyne u na
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by Nobody: 10:37am On Jan 04
iwaeda:
Didn't know people losing their jobs is now something to be laughed at.
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by allen113: 10:38am On Jan 04
A lot illiterate full nairaland sha, someone brought proof to show that pos has been in Nigeria since the early 2000s but nobody wants to read it, you all just want to argue blindly.
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by LegacyB: 10:57am On Jan 04
nedu666:
What a liar, Nigeria return to democracy in 1999 and a year after pos started. Where did you get this lie from. GSM license was in 2022. Bank consolidation 2023. So which pos started in 2000. And 16 efulefu liked your lie.
Bros pls help me beg the guy to stop embarrassing himself. When I was in Nigeria I worked in a major Bank for 20plus years. POS did not start in Year 2000. These guys don’t even do any research before yapping online……
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by Brendaniel: 11:01am On Jan 04
PulaPower:
Mtchew..

The guy I responded to said that Jonathan brought in Pos into Nigeria which is not true..

Pos has been in the Nigeria system before Jona even become Bayelsa governor..
But it was during his time POS withdrawal started, it was actually the CBN under his government that implemented it, it is written there in the article I sent to you...
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by inoki247: 11:03am On Jan 04
Zocalite:
[color=#770077][/color]

Is it sycophancy or just ignorance

How can you say gej brought pos to nigeria

Which president brought ATM, which president brought android or iPhone

Pray tribalism doesn't wound you
Just leave them let them enjoy there delusion...

Machine wey Dem don use Program all those Baba Ijebu game, Golden chance lotto from wayback....
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by Adewale1603(m): 11:07am On Jan 04
Make all of them shutdown, I don't care nor give a f*ck. Why won't people desert and abandon them, they think people are f**ls, with the way they treat them. you will go to the bank to make just a simple withdrawal, bank will firstly waste your time, and when it eventually gets to your turn to get attented to, they will start stressing your life on top of your own money o, your finger print no match, signature not regular, bla....bla.... I can't remember the last time I entered any bank nor used any ATM stand, same with lots of people out there. Them think people get time for stress, Nigeria stress and pressure is enough on its own
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by Oyin2212(m): 11:17am On Jan 04
lavylilly:
The job lost was massive and the ones working in the bank their workload has tripled.
U no lie. It has quadrupled
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by GboyegaD(m): 11:25am On Jan 04
Why are we having analysis of 2023 vs 2024 in 2026?
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by udemzyudex(m): 11:28am On Jan 04
autoez:
No naa. I dey whyne u na
No wam.
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by Ifyok50(m): 11:38am On Jan 04
giacomogiovanni:
That person is an APC supporter. Tinubu has collected their brains and used it to collect loan.
Na true you dey talk, bro. No mind their papa. I wonder which pos don come out that time. That dude almost got me with that stupid deceit. APC, hmmm.
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by manuelkel(m): 11:50am On Jan 04
Brendaniel:
Which POS where you going to in the 2000s?

The way you people lie...

Lie with so much confidence and arrogance...

POS for cash withdrawal?

What exactly is wrong with you people?

I graduated from university in 2010, there was nothing like POS withdrawal anywhere in Nigeria even at that time, you guys just lie anyhow destroying the country...
POS like the Point of sales or POS like the POS authorized machineshuh?
I'm sure he or she meant POS of the point of sales... because if em really mean POS like the authorized machines then he or she is the greatest lier of 2026. grin
Re: Banks Shut 229 Branches by Bizmind95: 11:54am On Jan 04
Lol. Who physical bank epp againhuh Me wey dey use Opay buy 500naira Okpa these day grin
1 2 3 Reply

Banks Shut 229 BranchesAccess Bank Denies Sacking 75% Of Workforce, Closing BranchesDiamond Bank To Sell Off All Its International Branches, Now A National Bank234

Nigerian Foods You Can Export To The US, UK & CanadaTraders Reject New Naira Notes In NigerSimple Steps To Becoming MTN, GLO, Airtel Sim Registration Agent