Stats: 3,326,420 members, 8,426,442 topics. Date: Sunday, 14 June 2026 at 09:42 AM

Honest Igbo Woman Confesses: ''The Economy Is Improving Under Tinubu!" - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsHonest Igbo Woman Confesses: ''The Economy Is Improving Under Tinubu!" (348 Views)

1 Reply (Go Down)

Honest Igbo Woman Confesses: ''The Economy Is Improving Under Tinubu!" by Kemetian(op): 1:33am On Jan 23
Honest Igbo Woman CEO Confesses: ''The Economy Is Improving Under the Tinubu Administration!"

Chief Executive Officer of EnterpriseNGR, Ms. Oby Ibekwe, says the Nigerian economy is beginning to stabilise after years of adjustments, with recent reforms restoring confidence, unlocking investment and supporting sustainable growth.

Ms Ibekwe stated this while delivering the keynote address at the presentation of the EnterpriseNGR 2026 Macroeconomic Outlook, developed in partnership with EY on Thursday in Lagos.

She noted that while reforms had tested households, businesses and policymakers, they were currently yielding measurable improvements.

She said the outlook theme, “Reforms-Led Stability: Boosting Confidence, Unlocking Sustainable Growth”, was designed to move the conversation beyond hardship to perspective, progress and the next phase of economic recovery.

According to her, recent policy actions, which include foreign exchange unification and fiscal recalibration, had pushed Nigeria to a “critical inflection point”, with key macroeconomic indicators beginning to improve.

“For the first time in a while, inflation, external reserves and real GDP growth are moving in the right direction.

“The economy is stabilising, and this report documents tangible evidence of that stabilisation,” Ms Ibekwe said.

She said inflation had moderated to 15.15 per cent, the lowest level in five years, while foreign exchange market reforms had narrowed distortions, improved price discovery and increased FX tenders by more than 56 per cent year-on-year.

Ms Ibekwe added that external reserves had risen to about $45.5 billion, providing a stronger buffer against external shocks.

She maintained that the nation’s growth drivers were also undergoing a structural shift, with non-oil sectors now accounting for over 96 per cent of GDP.

This, she added, reflected the expanding role of services, financial intermediation, telecommunications, trade and the creative economy.

“This diversification strengthens resilience and reduces vulnerability to commodity cycles,” she said.

The EnterpriseNGR CEO said the financial and professional services sector was central to sustaining the recovery.

Ms Ibekwe described it as “plumbing” that makes the economy work by mobilising capital, managing risk and supporting real sector activity.

She said ongoing bank and insurance recapitalisation, the Nigeria Tax Act 2025, insurance industry reforms and stronger governance standards were rebuilding balance sheets, credibility and capacity within the sector.

However, Ms Ibekwe warned that stabilisation alone was insufficient, stressing that sustained progress would depend on policy consistency, institutional credibility and effective implementation.

“Reform reversals will erode the hard-won confidence we are beginning to build.

“Reform continuity, on the other hand, can unlock patient capital and long-term investment,” she said.

Ms Ibekwe described the outlook as both an assessment and a call to action for policymakers to maintain discipline, for investors to engage constructively and for the private sector to channel capital into productive, job-creating activities......
(NAN)

https://gazettengr.com/nigerian-economy-stabilising-after-reforms-expert/

Re: Honest Igbo Woman Confesses: ''The Economy Is Improving Under Tinubu!" by helinues:
Hahahah, the source na gazette oo. Abi my eyes dey deceived me.

Lol, make we see how the opposition go cover smoke
Re: Honest Igbo Woman Confesses: ''The Economy Is Improving Under Tinubu!" by mascot87(m): 2:22am On Jan 23
The sensible ones amongst them are coming out to say the truth. No matter how long you cover the poo with the closet cover without flushing it, it will definitely smell.
Re: Honest Igbo Woman Confesses: ''The Economy Is Improving Under Tinubu!" by 1Alex:
mascot87:
The sensible ones amongst them are coming out to say the truth. No matter how long you cover the poo with the closet cover without flushing it, it will definitely smell.
under who did the economy spoil like this? 1
Re: Honest Igbo Woman Confesses: ''The Economy Is Improving Under Tinubu!" by Kemetian(op): 10:20pm On Jan 27
mascot87:
WELL NOTED.
Re: Honest Igbo Woman Confesses: ''The Economy Is Improving Under Tinubu!" by chiagozien(m): 10:30pm On Jan 27
helinues:
Hahahah, the source na gazette oo. Abi my eyes dey deceived me.

Lol, make we see how the opposition go cover smoke
lolz the same you on the other thread was telling moderators to treat news from gazette as fake news.

That they showed never make frontpage.😂😂🤣

Re: Honest Igbo Woman Confesses: ''The Economy Is Improving Under Tinubu!" by Kemetian(op): 8:46pm On Feb 12
I noticed a lot more south-eastern folks now feeling Tinubu’s performance nowadays.

I'd be scared if I were Obi.
1 Reply

Mid-Term: Security, Economy Improving Under My Watch — TinubuNigeria Is IMPROVING Under The Tinubu AdministrationINEC Got Their Act Right In Osun, Electoral System Is Improving234

Laugh With Me And Lie To Me: The Way Of The Low Iq In SocietyOdinkalu’s Odious DiatribeADC Diaspora Network Rubbishes Tinubu, INEC, Urges ADC To Zone Presidency South