Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? - Health - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Nairaland General › Health › Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? (5881 Views)
| Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by Mynd44(mod): 8:38am On Feb 03 |
https://www.tiktok.com/video/7602326788701768980?_r=1&_t=ZS-93bhDJCyW9c I was on social media earlier when I saw this above video. It is the question of if as an health worker, you can tell the spouse of an HIV positive person the status of the partner. In the comment section which has an understandably health worker population, they all seemed to want to not tell as they fear it is unethical as the patient might report to the hospital or the medical regulators and you might lose your license. Firstly this should be considered. Section 26. Deliberate transmission of HIV or any other life threatening sexually transmitted diseaseIt is a crime to know that you are living with HIV and do anything that can lead to the infection of someone else including but not limited to sexual intercourse. Seeing as the patient himself is committing a crime, the health worker can tell the spouse. This matter has been death with by the Nigerian government since 2014 under the HIV and AIDS (Anti Discrimination) Act too which says the spouse or sexual partner has a right to know the status of the sexual partner especially if you suspect the patient is not likely to tell the partner In Nigeria, disclosing a patient's HIV status to a spouse without consent is generally a breach of confidentiality, but it may not be a crime if done to protect the partner from infection. The HIV and AIDS (Anti-Discrimination) Act, 2014 permits informing a spouse if they are at risk of infection, while unlawful disclosure by individuals or institutions can result in fines and imprisonment.
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by Authoreety: 8:51am On Feb 03 |
Yes pls.... Personally I think this will help to reduce further damage but looking at it on the other hand ... This could discourage people with spouses from taking the test |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by DoctorAyukebot(m): 8:52am On Feb 03 |
Nope The right to disclosure lies only with the patient .. A health worker can only encourage the patient to disclose their status to their spouse |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by Kobojunkie: 8:53am On Feb 03 |
Mynd44:You has better consult applicable primary laws before you proceed. 🥱🥱🥱 |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by Racoon(m): 8:54am On Feb 03 |
No! For confidential reason. However the healthcare worker should encourage the patient to let his or her spouse know the situation. |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by Mynd44(mod): 8:55am On Feb 03 |
DoctorAyukebot:I hope you realize the law is in such a way that the health worker can report the patient to the police too. The health worker is only preventing a crime from happening. The law is clear |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by Mynd44(mod): 8:57am On Feb 03 |
Racoon:There is no confidentiality reason here. The law is clear on the matter. The status can be disclosed. Confidentiality only applies in matter of non-sexual contact. When the risk of sexual transmission is involved, confidentiality is ou |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by Nobody: 8:58am On Feb 03 |
Morality vs ethics is not a topic for public debate. |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by Chucks13: 8:58am On Feb 03 |
With consent and permission that is how it should be professionally, moreso, in such situation a good hearted spouse should be bold to open up for his or her spouse because hidding it and the spouse later discover it wallahi hell will let loose and much damage must have be done... |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by sinola(m): 8:59am On Feb 03 |
the question is why would a patient hide such health related issue to the partner.....for me, it is deal breaker |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by AustineE1: 9:00am On Feb 03 |
No...totally against the hippocratic oath!the confidentiality of patient's privacy is utmost. |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by Chienex24(m): 9:00am On Feb 03 |
Mvnster:This has always been a bone of contention. Which one prevails please, and can you explain in details? |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by Angel55555(m): 9:01am On Feb 03 |
Nope. Clear breach of Patient/Client confidentiality. |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by njokuuche77(m): 9:01am On Feb 03 |
hmm i am here to learn. any |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by Aether(m): 9:02am On Feb 03 |
Lts's even ignore the ethics of the case sef for now. The wife already knows the name of the meds, can't she utilize her access to the Internet to acquire the information she needs? That's literally the least she can do. |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by Mynd44(mod): 9:04am On Feb 03 |
AustineE1:The hippocratic oath is not superior to the constitution. The law is the law. The health worker can tell the spouse. Confidentiality ends when you are about to commit a crime. Psychologists are mandated to report to the police if they believe their client/patient is abut to go commit a violent crime |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by Mynd44(mod): 9:05am On Feb 03 |
Angel55555:Cases like this are excluded in the patient/doctor confidentiality. It doesn't.apply |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by motymop: 9:08am On Feb 03 |
Professionalism is a big issue in Nigeria. In Nigeria they dump your test results with the secretary, the secretary will read it and tell you your result. As a professional,your job is to only tell the person that took the test and refer them for professional counseling if anything is wrong |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by AustineE1: 9:12am On Feb 03 |
Mynd44:Well you have made a salient point,more like 'your right stops when the right of others begins'. |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by Angel55555(m): 9:21am On Feb 03 |
Mynd44:I believe this should be an exception to the general rule. We learn everyday. Thank you. |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by Yankee101: 9:26am On Feb 03 |
Part of your job as a health worker is containment and preventing spread of diseases If they are a couple it’s important to let the other party know Bery |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by bluestone2015: 9:27am On Feb 03 |
You don't even know the law and you are speaking as if you do. Mynd44: |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by TheStoriesOfMan: 9:31am On Feb 03 |
Keep a patient's medical records confidential, even if their partner may be potentially affected. You know say your partner dey piom piom piom from one place to another, but you choose to marry such persons because they have funds or they have large derriere. Greedy people Every man/woman is the architect of their misfortunes. No go put sand sand for another man garri. |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by cr7lomo: 9:33am On Feb 03 |
Mynd44:Prevent a crime u say...if the health worker dares it...they will loose their licence and will be sued heavily... Do they have prove that a crime will be committed?? Or u think its by hearsay ... u really don't understand law |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by TheStoriesOfMan: 9:37am On Feb 03 |
DoctorAyukebot:Na man you be. God bless you. |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by TheStoriesOfMan: 9:39am On Feb 03 |
Racoon:God bless you. Na man you be. |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by davillian(m): 9:40am On Feb 03 |
by standards NO.. only the patient has the right to disclose her status.. |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by Mynd44(mod): 9:44am On Feb 03 |
cr7lomo:The same law that has been passed since 2014. |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by Kemistri3(m): 9:52am On Feb 03 |
YES. There are three instances where the Code of Confidentiality doesn't apply: 1) When the individual poses a risk to himself/herself 2) When the individual poses a risk to others 3) In cases where the individual health information is legally required, such as during pandemics. The question you pose is a clear example of the 2nd point. The patient should ideally be the one to inform the spouse. Upon refusal or stalling, the health provider have the responsibility to do so. |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by Kemistri3(m): 9:55am On Feb 03 |
DoctorAyukebot:There are limitations to Right to Privacy and Code of Confidentiality. This is a clear limitation. |
| Re: Should A Health Worker Disclose A Patient's HIV Status To The Spouse? by cr7lomo: 9:59am On Feb 03 |
Mynd44:A law that u can't interpret |
My Girlfriend After Checking Her HIV Status Told Me This • U.S Is Not Prepared For Coronavirus - Health Worker, Maureen Dugan • As A Surgeon, What Is The Most Dangerous Thing You Have Found Inside A Patient? • 2 • 3 • 4
Vaginal Yeast Infection. How To Treat And Cure Yeast Infections • Kidney Disease More Prevalent Cause Of Death In Nigeria Than Aids And Malaria • Serious Lower Back Pain And I Can't Walk Straight