Stats: 3,325,402 members, 8,421,746 topics. Date: Saturday, 06 June 2026 at 11:12 PM

Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry - Celebrities - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumEntertainmentCelebritiesOmah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry (12828 Views)

1 2 3 4 5 6 Reply (Go Down)

Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by cityboylagos(op): 3:01pm On Mar 12
Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated by Yorubas and Lagos Music Industry

Nigerian singer Omah Lay has opened up about the challenges he faced while trying to break into the Lagos-based music industry, stating that the Afrobeats scene is largely centred in Lagos and dominated by Yoruba artists. Eyes Of Lagos reports,

The singer made the revelation during the listening party for his forthcoming album titled “Clarity Of Mind.”

During the event, the Port Harcourt-born artist explained that establishing himself in the Nigerian music industry was not easy because the centre of the Afrobeats movement is in Lagos.

According to him, the genre traces its roots to legendary musician Fela Kuti, who played a major role in shaping the sound that later evolved into modern Afrobeats.

Speaking about the structure of the industry, Omah Lay said:

Afrobeats is mainly Lagos. It is mainly Yorubas. Fela Kuti is the pioneer, we all know that and he is Yoruba.”

He added that artists coming from outside Lagos often have to work much harder to gain recognition.

The singer, who hails from Port Harcourt, noted that only a few artists from the city have managed to achieve global recognition in the Afrobeats industry.

He mentioned Burna Boy as one of the few successful artists from the region.

According to him:

“I am from Port Harcourt and you have to break into Lagos. There are only two people from PH that you know; Burna Boy and me.”

Omah Lay further revealed that the pressure to gain acceptance in the Lagos-centric music scene became overwhelming at a point in his career.

The singer said he eventually decided to shift his focus away from seeking validation from the wider industry and instead concentrate on the support he receives from his close circle.

He explained that the love from his family and loyal fans has become his main source of motivation.

“It got to a point I said I’m going to take my time and focus on my family and fans — the people who truly love me.”

Following his comments, fans on social media have shared mixed reactions.

While some agreed with his observation about Lagos being the centre of the Afrobeats industry, others argued that the genre has grown into a global movement with artists emerging from different parts of Nigeria and Africa.

The conversation continues online as many fans discuss the evolving structure of the Nigerian music industry.
https://eyesoflagos.com/2026/03/12/omah-lay-afrobeats-lagos-yoruba-music-industry/

Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by FreeStuffsNG: 3:13pm On Mar 12
He is right.

Not only music, it is actually the whole entertainment industry in Nigeria nay Africa that is Lagos-centric and Yoruba-dominated.

Owambe is a Yoruba thing and engrained in the Yoruba culture.

Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by Sibrah: 4:19pm On Mar 12
FreeStuffsNG:
He is right.

Not only music, it is actually the whole entertainment industry in Nigeria nay Africa that is Lagos-centric and Yoruba-dominated.

Owambe driven by fraudsters lifestyle and yahooPlus.
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by BeginsAtHome(f): 8:31pm On Mar 12
Say no more.

Yoruba is Afrobeat.

Fela created it, Wizkid modernized it.
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by prinsam30: 8:31pm On Mar 12
B4 nko, na the truth na, everything starts from Lagos and ends for lagos
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by sirblend: 8:31pm On Mar 12
True......
Very true

So true

Always true
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by Openyamind111(m): 8:33pm On Mar 12
Why this boy go talk wetin some people no like to hear.. grin grin . The chest beaters no dey wan hear say na Yoruba dey ahead..
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by westside365: 8:33pm On Mar 12
We are talking about war, this one is talking about yoruba dominating music. E be like say dem dey ground pepper for him head. Mtcheww
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by Vinnie2000(m): 8:33pm On Mar 12
See this Gen z Artiste. sad

How about Duncan Mighty?

Is he not from Port Harcourt? huh
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by Emeskhalifa(m): 8:34pm On Mar 12
Una must hate everything.

Anything entertainment for Nigeria na Yorubas come fes. No be everything una go dey draw una tribal swords abeg
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by Lyricalz01: 8:34pm On Mar 12
Timaya had a break through too, he is from bayeksa,
For me i think this music thing has evolve, there was a time when the music industry in nigeria was dominated by artist from the south south, especialy from delta, people like, daddy showkey, baba frayo, blacky, oriz wiliki, mike okri, just to mention a few, even during the time of konto, and galala, south south dominated.
But now the yorubas dominate afrobeat while the igbos domiinate nollywood,
Things change, the only thing thats constant is change.
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by callmetade: 8:35pm On Mar 12
No be lie No be lie,.. because if person talk now, them go ban person till tomorrow morning again,.. I must confess it's shxt, low level nairaland dey ban imagine and check am na for things wey no reach to ban person for actually I no blame. Na so we dey do sha. Small money and fame we feel say we don arrive sha. That been said the bot will delete this post and ban me as usual. Oloshi bot
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by PulaPower: 8:37pm On Mar 12
Sibrah:
That Owambe lifestyle dey everly pain you guys ehh but we no send you..
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by shadrach77: 8:38pm On Mar 12
Where is the lie? It's very obvious
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by ProudlyLagos: 8:38pm On Mar 12
cityboylagos:
https://eyesoflagos.com/2026/03/12/omah-lay-afrobeats-lagos-yoruba-music-industry/
grin before nko? What was he expecting? Lagos is Yoruba and Yoruba is Lagos and we control the entertainment industry and Afro beat is the creation of a Yoruba man……so this is no news undecided
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by PulaPower: 8:39pm On Mar 12
westside365:
We are talking about war, this one is talking about yoruba dominating music. E be like say dem dey ground pepper for him head. Mtcheww
So as war dey happen now, he should stop living his life?

Have you stopped sleeping /eating/nacking since war started?
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by obawinner(m): 8:39pm On Mar 12
Sibrah:
but you all said we sold our lands to do owambe?
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by Sccarrr: 8:40pm On Mar 12
Where is the lie....na dem get afrobeat Industry
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by Sccarrr: 8:41pm On Mar 12
Sibrah:
this one won't sleep well tonight... severe pains😹😹😂
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by azpekuliar: 8:41pm On Mar 12
Same way Nollywood at its height was dominated by the Igbos. It’s not a bad thing. Its just one of those things.
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by richiemcgold: 8:43pm On Mar 12
Every good thing that comes out of Nigeria is actually dominated by the Yorubas.

Nigeria without Yoruba is just another Niger republic
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by Basic123: 8:45pm On Mar 12
FreeStuffsNG:
He is right.

Not only that financial hub,Education hub(southwest has some of the country best universities,Ibadan has the highest number of esearch institute in the country) and Tech hub
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by Basic123: 8:46pm On Mar 12
Lyricalz01:
For me i think this music thing has evolve, there was a time when the music industry in nigeria was dominated by artist from the south south, especialy from delta, people like, daddy showkey, baba frayo, blacky, oriz wiliki, mike okri, just to mention a few, even during the time of konto, and galala, south south dominated.
Igbo doesn't dominate nollywood!
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by ProudlyLagos: 8:46pm On Mar 12
Openyamind111:
Why this boy go talk wetin some people no like to hear.. grin grin . The chest beaters no dey wan hear say na Yoruba dey ahead..
grin they will soon be here to tell us how they developed the music industry and they are the best in this and that……everything must always revolve around them, just wait, they will soon be here to shalaye grin
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by franchasofficia: 8:47pm On Mar 12
He is definitely right.

Lagos is the center of Afrobeat in Nigeria, it is never a secret
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by esere826: 8:48pm On Mar 12
cityboylagos:
Afrobeat is Fela.

What we have now is afrobeats. It is different.
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by LZAA:
Ice prince cleared this exact argument LAST YEAR
The term AFROBEATS originated from a Ghanaian DJ who thought it up in London to tag the music coming from West Africa
It's on YouTube up till now
Also the said Afrobeats artists who built that platform are Dbanj,P square, 2face,Timaya,Flavour
The only yoruba artist who came close is 9ice
Now AFROBEAT on the other hand is strictly Fela's handwork and has his sons and Dede Mabiaku as his followers
Joey Akan was right sha
They really need to document music here
Smh
🚶‍♂️🚶‍♂️🚶‍♂️
Again for those people arguing o grin
https://youtube.com/shorts/GsDeDq2E228?si=rYmNmOSj9G_CwxCe
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by LZAA: 8:49pm On Mar 12
esere826:
Afrobeat is Fela.

What we have now is afrobeats. It is different.
I just tire seriously
Smh grin
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by Bendeco02: 8:49pm On Mar 12
Openyamind111:
You are ahead in music?

That tribe you want to troll are in all fields.

Outside Nigeria they are known by all race. Once oyibo sees you and you say you're Nigerian, he/she will ask; are you Ibo?

Forget bragging, Igbos are dominant naturally

Latest Grammy award, Igbo musicians dominated and most don't even base in Nigeria. Real Igbos don't brag with petty things, forget those children online.
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by LZAA: 8:52pm On Mar 12
Basic123:
Igbo doesn't dominate nollywood!
Go to any country in the world
Call Aki and PawPaw and everyone will know who you are talking about
Now call any yoruba actor and see people ask you who you are referring to
Fact is not debatable
The modern Nollywood is Igbo made and Igbo dominated
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by LZAA: 8:53pm On Mar 12
PulaPower:
That Owambe lifestyle dey everly pain you guys ehh but we no send you..
Lifestyle that is defined by wastage of funds on frivolities and being broke after?
🤣🤣🤣
Enjoy it
Nobody dey drag am with una
Re: Omah Lay Says Afrobeats Is Dominated By Yorubas And Lagos Music Industry by ProudlyLagos: 8:55pm On Mar 12
Lyricalz01:
grin which ibo dominate nolly wood? Who is still watching those asaba low budget movies in 2026……you must be living under the cave, check out most high budget Nigeria movies showing In cinemas and on Netflix with generating the highest revenues and awards are all Yoruba……btw we have always controlled the entertainment industry right from time because we start the movie industry so don’t come here to tell us barefaced lies undecided
1 2 3 4 5 6 Reply

Ghanaian Stars Who Once Dominated Nollywood Screens In The 2000s(pictures)Check Out How Wizkid Walked Up To Gov. Sanwoolu To Greet Him At Lagos Music FestOmah Lay Says Uganda Is Not Allowing The Nigerian Government Intervene234

Obi Cubana’s Biography And Net-worthTboss: 'I Never Said I Will Make N25 Million In 2 Weeks'Hot And Bold Hollywood Actress Malin Akerman Wallpapers