Stats: 3,330,152 members, 8,444,085 topics. Date: Monday, 13 July 2026 at 06:02 AM

Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa - Culture (6) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralCultureSolomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa (17677 Views)

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by Irony1: 7:56pm On Mar 20
Teeklef:
Practice what you preach first bro. If you throw me stone,don't expect hug.
No don't tone it down. Please show me where i made an inciteful comment? So you cannot make careless accusations and not expect consequences.
Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by Semaj77(m): 8:13pm On Mar 20
Flangelo12:
Are these people serious at all?
Which people

The Igbos
The South Africans or
Nigerians as a whole

Please let us know who you mean
Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by patchsk(f): 8:14pm On Mar 20
Goosethetruth:
The late Sardauna of Sokoto put it succintly in the 1960s. It still holds true today.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5_odAy4rVz8?si=2ZeXvPHfqPvMEvla
And he died succinctly.
Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by MrGerald(m): 8:32pm On Mar 20
At the end government will still provide security and the ceremony will hold successfully and nothing will happen.
Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by Darekiki: 9:03pm On Mar 20
MEGAWATCH:
If not for envy and foolishness, why should a people's leader in another country be an issue?

Does he have any political power? No!

Africans are simply foolish.

😂😂😂😂😂😂
You are the one quoting a baseless point overthere.
Choosing ordinary a leader is different from choosing a king. A king in every country is always noted. And not anybody's thing. White man doesn't come to Nigeria and make themselves king, because U.K has royal foundation. So also Neither china, so why will nigerians go about in another person's country that you are their as second citizens making yourself kings .
Abi iru fallacy wo leleyi.
Let someone come your papas compound as tenant and make himself as landlord for other tenants. And let see if you papa won't react.
Confused Nigerians everywhere.
Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by IbrahimSola: 9:14pm On Mar 20
Flangelo12:
Are these people serious at all?
And this woman of over 50 years cannot cover her "bress"? Could it be that she's trying to show the world how attractive she is? Will she also like the world to taste whether they're sweet? I'm asking for for the Sarkin of South Africa.
Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by Nexus5011: 9:15pm On Mar 20
Why are Nigerians so arrogant? Do you wonder why SAs hate Nigerians so much, it’s not jealousy. It’s because the ones in South Africa act so entitled, arrogant, and walk around chest puffed out like it’s their country. Plus I have seen so many treating SAs like trash, talking on them to their face, the disrespect of the country host is loud. This is why! It’s not jealousy at all like you guys are so quick to say. Only people who welcome the Nigerians are the women because manifesting men spend heavy heavy on them, I mean first time they meet, these women get the red carpet rolls out, so of course they will hail anyone spending money like that. Nigerian men are the biggest simps spending on hoes like they do just to feel like a big man. I lived in Nigeria and I lived in Cape Town so I have seen all.
Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by Peterobiisathie(f): 9:18pm On Mar 20
patchsk:
And he died succinctly.
thousands of your people followed him immediately
Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by Goonnik: 9:26pm On Mar 20
Justdogood:
Food don land for ofe mmanu people.
Ahhhhhh.
See them dey land like land-rover.
U people never learn.

Stubborn 🐐
Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by Goonnik: 9:28pm On Mar 20
Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by Goonnik: 9:36pm On Mar 20
Irony1:
Do you know you can be arrested for ethnic incitement? What you are doing is ethnic incitement.
Get out 😡😡😡
Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by Christlike01: 9:37pm On Mar 20
Funny— people with no historical kingship traditions proclaiming themselves as Kings wherever they find themselves! Before you know it now,Eastern Cape would become "a no man's land"!
Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by Jd10k(m): 9:44pm On Mar 20
The headline should have been igbo installed their king in south Africa after helping to developed their cities with substance and vices..
Since this people discovered the word king after transitioning from been a warrant officers of the British colonialist they have so bastardised the kingship tradition for those who have ancestral kingship.
Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by Christlike01: 9:48pm On Mar 20
MEGAWATCH:
If not for envy and foolishness, why should a people's leader in another country be an issue?

Does he have any political power? No!

Africans are simply foolish.

😂😂😂😂😂😂
They did not merely call him a leader, but a king—“Igbo King in Eastern Cape, South Africa.” The question is: is the Eastern Cape his ancestral land that he believes he can establish a kingship over it? Africans are not foolish; however, those who go beyond their native lands and crown themselves kings in foreign territories are the foolish ones!
Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by MEGAWATCH: 9:48pm On Mar 20
Darekiki:
You are the one quoting a baseless point overthere.
Choosing ordinary a leader is different from choosing a king. A king in every country is always noted. And not anybody's thing. White man doesn't come to Nigeria and make themselves king, because U.K has royal foundation. So also Neither china, so why will nigerians go about in another person's country that you are their as second citizens making yourself kings .
Abi iru fallacy wo leleyi.
Let someone come your papas compound as tenant and make himself as landlord for other tenants. And let see if you papa won't react.
Confused Nigerians everywhere.
I know your problem, you are still afraid of what the Fulanis did in Kwara some years ago.....

My friend wake up, this is 2026 for goodness sake.

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by MEGAWATCH: 9:51pm On Mar 20
Christlike01:
They did not merely call him a leader, but a king—“Igbo King in Eastern Cape, South Africa.” The question is: is the Eastern Cape his ancestral land that he believes he can establish a kingship over it? Africans are not foolish; however, those who go beyond their native lands and crown themselves kings in foreign territories are the foolish ones!
Anyway , what happened in Kwara some years ago is still affecting most of you from the same place.

I understand your fear though... Pelee.

Emir in Yoruba land .....🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by MEGAWATCH: 9:58pm On Mar 20
MaziObinnaokija:
angry if u wan become KING,do it in Your VILLAGE. STOP constitute NUISANCE everywhere. Indians plenty for palmgrove/OBANIKORO axis,u never hear dem arrange one KING .Chinkos full Ikeja,. When did u hear them with funny Oba title undecided??
It's so foolish of you to think that all these people you mentioned, do not have a king or leader within them.

Anyway, I know that what happened in Kwara state some years ago has always affected the reasoning of many of you from that region.

Emir in Yoruba land.....🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by Christlike01: 10:02pm On Mar 20
MEGAWATCH:
Anyway , what happened in Kwara some years ago is still affecting most of you from the same place.

I understand your fear though... Pelee.

Emir in Yoruba land .....🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Trust me, you owe Seun’s bots a great deal of gratitude—they spared you the embarrassment of having your “history,” or rather your lack of it, laid bare. Like it or not, when serious voices are speaking in Nigeria—and by extension, Africa—you would do well to take a back seat, because you have neither substance to offer nor any meaningful contribution to make. You,of all people— I won't even engage you any further.
Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by seppuku: 10:14pm On Mar 20
Nexus5011:
Why are Nigerians so arrogant? Do you wonder why SAs hate Nigerians so much, it’s not jealousy. It’s because the ones in South Africa act so entitled, arrogant, and walk around chest puffed out like it’s their country. Plus I have seen so many treating SAs like trash, talking on them to their face, the disrespect of the country host is loud. This is why! It’s not jealousy at all like you guys are so quick to say. Only people who welcome the Nigerians are the women because manifesting men spend heavy heavy on them, I mean first time they meet, these women get the red carpet rolls out, so of course they will hail anyone spending money like that. Nigerian men are the biggest simps spending on hoes like they do just to feel like a big man. I lived in Nigeria and I lived in Cape Town so I have seen all.
My friend pipe down. The matter is not as serious as those people are trying to make it. They are always trying to create smoke where there is no fire.

What power does the so-called King have in South Africa is the question you should be asking yourself ?

Foreigner Foreigner are always on the lips of South African.
Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by MEGAWATCH: 10:15pm On Mar 20
Christlike01:
Trust me, you owe Seun’s bots a great deal of gratitude—they spared you the embarrassment of having your “history,” or rather your lack of it, laid bare. Like it or not, when serious voices are speaking in Nigeria—and by extension, Africa—you would do well to take a back seat, because you have neither substance to offer nor any meaningful contribution to make. You,of all people— I won't even engage you any further.
Please please please, don't vent your anger on me because I'm not a Fulani man.

This energy should be directed to them because from all indications they have caused you people more pain than the Igbos.

Learn how to choose your fight by your hurt not by envy please.

😂😂😂😂
Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by thisfemi: 10:16pm On Mar 20
They are always at loggerheads with their hosts wherever they go.
No difference between them and Boko haram terrorists, they will both suffer the same fate eventually.
Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by seppuku: 10:17pm On Mar 20
Christlike01:
King wey no get palace or kingdom. Abeg make una pipe down.
Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by seppuku: 10:18pm On Mar 20
MrGerald:
At the end government will still provide security and the ceremony will hold successfully and nothing will happen.
Yes o.
Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by aswani(m): 10:32pm On Mar 20
chopnaira:
https://saharareporters.com/2026/03/20/tension-south-africa-over-coronation-nigerian-igbo-king-eastern-cape
Why not call yourself a family head instead of King. For example, Olórí ẹbi in Yoruba or Okaẹgbè in Benin.

The one in Accra built a throne, wore a crown, called his son Prince and expected Ghanaians not to be concerned.

We shouldn't make it so easy for South Africans to start their Xenophobia again bikonu.
Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by kiddkash(m): 10:42pm On Mar 20
Goosethetruth:
Nobody said you should not enjoy yourself in another persons land. Do not crown yourself a king in another persons land because kingship is alien to Ibo culture prior to Lord Lugard arriving in Southern Nigeria before the amalgamation of 1914.
You had no system of organised monarchy prior to the arrival of Fredrick Lugard . So it is ironic that a system alien to your land circa 1800s is what you ard trying to export to other peoples territories in order to dominate.
Dominate in what aspect?
Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by CannibalEast: 10:45pm On Mar 20
Cursed tribe,curse follow them anywhere they go.
Re: Solomon Ogbonna Eziko Coronated As Igbo “King" In Eastern Cape, South Africa by Goosethetruth(m): 11:18pm On Mar 20
kiddkash:
Dominate in what aspect?
Consult a dictionary if you don't know the meaning of domination.
You may like to listen to the late Sardauna of Sokoto again. Bare in mind he made this observation in 1960 and it still rinhs true today.
Why do you have so many Eze 1's all over the place? It is because the kingship is not traditional or part of Ibo culture. The Eze/Igwe system in Ibo land was a creation of Lord Lugard colonial government. Don't you see the irony in a people that had no tradition of kingship exporting kings into other peoples territories and communities?
If that is not cultural domination then please explain what it is.
Every Young Ibo man wants to be Eze Ego 1 of other peoples territory. Now you are exporting this domination to Ghana,South Africa and Malaysia and recieving the appropriate repercussions.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5_odAy4rVz8?si=biHUO61hArMD8NsS
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Reply

Video Of Igbo King In Ghana Installing A New Subchief Sparks OutrageThe Ga Traditional Council Denounces The Igbo King In GhanaMisuzulu KaZwelithini, Zulu King In First Reed Dance With Virgin Maidens234

Refuting The Myth:African Americans Vs Africans(Nigerians) In AmericaAdetunji Becomes 41st Olubadan Of Ibadanland-the PunchHistory Of The Internet In Nigeria