Stats: 3,325,117 members, 8,420,447 topics. Date: Thursday, 04 June 2026 at 07:57 PM

Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsProve ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri (12150 Views)

1 2 3 Reply (Go Down)

Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by Newsgeek24(op): 1:59am On Mar 22
The Minister of Works, David Umahi, has directed his legal team to commence court action against businesswoman Tracy Ohiri over renewed allegations that he owes her N280 million for campaign materials.

Ohiri had earlier taken to social media alleging that Umahi was indebted to her for materials supplied during his time as a party chairman.

Her claims, which went viral, also included accusations of sexual harassment against the minister.

Following her arrest and prosecution, her lawyer, Marshall Abubakar, intervened in the matter, leading to the deletion of the posts and a public apology in which she withdrew the allegations.

However, the controversy resurfaced days later after Ohiri released a new video, claiming she was coerced into retracting her statements and was promised payment that never materialised.

She further alleged that her lawyer pressured her into issuing the retraction.

Responding through his Senior Special Assistant on Media, Francis Nwaz, the minister dismissed the claims and maintained that due process must be followed.

According to the statement, Umahi had earlier outlined two conditions for resolving the dispute, either the matter should be settled in court or Ohiri should provide verifiable evidence, including all relevant communications, to substantiate her allegations.

The minister also stated that while he never negotiated any payment, some associates had indicated willingness to raise up to N1 billion if credible evidence was presented, a condition he said remains unmet.

“Following the failure to meet the stated conditions, particularly the inability to provide credible and verifiable evidence, the Minister has directed his legal team to proceed with all court processes to ensure that the truth is fully established,” the statement read.

Umahi defended the role of Abubakar, describing his intervention as being in good faith and driven by a desire to resolve the matter amicably, while insisting that no financial agreement was reached during the process.

The minister further noted that he had exercised restraint in the face of earlier allegations but was now compelled to seek legal redress to protect his reputation and establish the facts.

He reaffirmed his commitment to his duties, stating that he would not be distracted by the controversy and would remain focused on delivering infrastructure projects and advancing national development.
https://verynigerian.com/umahi-to-ohiri-prove-n280m-debt-get-n1bn-reward/

Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by clark0: 4:29am On Mar 22
E dor set be this o.. make she just go ready
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by 4right: 4:30am On Mar 22
Court should actually be the best place for this.
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by hope4nigeria(m): 4:33am On Mar 22
That woman will go to jail, she's a criminal, she initially claimed her money was #25m, trying to settle the matter out of court, they gave her $70,000. Which is over #100m, this woman is still bent on destroying umahi reputation without a prove, she even joined blackmailing the Lawyer that helped her. She's a very greedy woman
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by EmperorIsaac(m): 4:33am On Mar 22
Good...her nairaland in-laws may help her in gathering evidence.
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by TheFarmer1: 4:34am On Mar 22
Wahala. In whatever you do, the moment you begin to lay accusations, make sure you have concrete proof. Now this lady will have to present verifiable evidence that Umahi engaged her services to start with. She is in for a long ride if she can't do any of these.
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by ebuk4real(m): 4:34am On Mar 22
These APC people are just like cult criminals. After making the lady recant her resolve to follow through her claims with a promise of paying her her due money and she deleted everything in good faith, you're now claiming another thing.

Well, Goodluck to you both. I hope she has a back up if not, hmmmm
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by Validated: 4:40am On Mar 22
What happened to the NELAN engineers?
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by bolaayenimo: 4:42am On Mar 22
That woman should go to jail. Never seen a more greedier person. Imagine giving Flagboy who assisted in bringing $70k to him mere $200. Only God knows how she will be treating her domestic workers
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by BarrElChapo(m): 4:43am On Mar 22
When will our leaders start being held accountable ?
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by hope4nigeria(m): 4:46am On Mar 22
ebuk4real:
These APC people are just like cult criminals. After making the lady recant her resolve to follow through her claims with a promise of paying her her due money and she deleted everything in good faith, you're now claiming another thing.

get your fact right, the woman was given over #100m thats $70k, and her initial claim was #25m, because she feels her public outcry was working blackmailing the minister, she's now making More demanding and she ño even get concrete proof that umahi engaged her with contract or any payment agreement
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by JayGraphics(m): 4:49am On Mar 22
ebuk4real:

Do you even read the news at all. Some claim 25m previously without evidence, they settled out of court gave her $70k and she didn’t even pay her lawyer the statutory 10% now she is shouting 280m
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by MaziObinnaokija: 4:49am On Mar 22
sad NO EVIDENCE
angry NO EVIDENCE
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by hotseat: 4:49am On Mar 22
If Umahi were to be a member of the opposition, the woman (Tracy Ohiri) would have been accused of doing the bidding of Tinubu in order to weaken the opposition but, since Umahi is a member of the APC, she's free to accuse him of anything whether she can substantiate her allegations or not.

Nobody would blame the opposition for this since the opposition parties are without blemish.

That's how we roll!

@hotseat
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by ebuk4real(m): 4:49am On Mar 22
hope4nigeria:
get your fact right, the woman was given over #100m thats $70k, and her initial claim was #25m, because she feels her public outcry was working blackmailing the minister, she's now making More demanding and she ño even get concrete proof that umahi engaged her with contract or any payment agreement
Now where's your proof she was given the $70k? That's the promise she was decieved with without she getting it.
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by Macphenson: 4:50am On Mar 22
That woman is just being stupid and she may end up in jail. If she got $70k which is over #100m, she should have quietly led this slide. Now she is completely on her own as nobody will pity her again as she seems to have exhausted the sympathy and good will given to her by Nigerians.
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by free2ryhme: 4:50am On Mar 22
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by Rossychy(f): 4:52am On Mar 22
This matter don tie serious wrapper. That very heavy Rivers gorge.
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by hope4nigeria(m): 5:03am On Mar 22
ebuk4real:
Now where's your proof she was given the $70k? That's the promise she was decieved with without she getting it.
don't worry, with time, you will get the real informations, the woman will throw you under bus supporting her and you will be shock, just keep this post so you will remember I told you
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by hope4nigeria(m): 5:04am On Mar 22
ebuk4real:
don't worry, with time, you will get the real informations, the woman will throw you under bus supporting her and you will be shock, just keep this post so you will remember I told you.
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by Reference(m): 5:20am On Mar 22
Which associates are ready to raise one billion.
These people....
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by YoungBlackRico(m): 5:26am On Mar 22
ebuk4real:
Na the people wey dey reply you I blame. Your type full nairaland wella.
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by Authoreety: 5:27am On Mar 22
I thought these guys have settled themselves
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by Dokitto001: 5:32am On Mar 22
Where do you get 1 billion from?
How much is your salary Mr Minister?
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by DeltaBachelor(m): 5:36am On Mar 22
Hmmm. I thought they have settled already. Na wa o
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by Nwaokunkpara: 5:38am On Mar 22
Greedy woman

Jail awaits you
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by AbdulAkpan: 5:39am On Mar 22
The truth is, most women are liars. The only way they get attention is to lie, cry, throw up emotions and weaponize their gender.

A woman can lie using any means or tools. Guys, ignore these gender by any means possible.

Also, don't support any woman sheepishly just because she's shedding tears. Carryout your independent investigation before you insult your fellow man, just because a woman has accused her of rape, indebtedness, sexual advances, etc.

I sincerely pray for men who are going through series of injustice from allegations by women. God will see you through. Amen
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by Flamengo1: 5:43am On Mar 22
Umahi is one politician in recent time that would actually need to be watching his back..

He would be lucky if is able to escape all the fireworks and innuendos.
Re: Prove ₦280 Million Debt, Get ₦1 Billion Reward - Umahi To Ohiri by Ofunaofu:
Tracy Ohiri has messed up the case.

You didn’t receive any money, yet you retracted and apologized.
Now you’re turning around to claim that what you were promised, the $70k, the reason you retracted and apologized was never given to you and that you were deceive.

How do you expect people to believe you now?

You’re strictly on your own
1 2 3 Reply

Court Seizes Andy Uba’s Vehicles Over N50 Million Debt Owed Oranto Petroleum2023: Northern Youths Beg Umahi To Contest For Presidency (Photos)Umahi To IGP: Remove Us From Anambra. I Don’t Know Who Smuggled Us To Awka234

Nigerian Army Seal Off Michika In Hunt For Boko Haram Remnants"Remove Boroh As Presidential Amnesty Adviser" Protest On East-West Road (Pics)Buhari Celebrates 50 Years Of Nigeria-China Diplomatic Relations