Stats: 3,328,979 members, 8,438,238 topics. Date: Friday, 03 July 2026 at 07:42 AM

False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsFalse Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview (4317 Views)

1 2 Reply (Go Down)

False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by Mynd44(mod): 9:34am On Mar 30
Every year, a particular interview done by Guardian Newspaper's Clifford Ndujihe with President Bola Tinubu as Guest always creeps up as people try to falsely associate it with age falsification and what not.

The false information is always said to disprove his age and people who do this try to present the date of the publication as Friday, October 10, 1993 to say Bola Tinubu was 52 in 1993 hence his present age isn't what he calls it. Firstly, October 10 1993 was not a friday.

In the interview, the reporters asks Tinubu how it feels to be back from exile. It should be noted that after the events of the June 12 1992 elections, Bola Tinubu and several democracy activists had to flee Nigeria under the threat of the Military administration then.

Tinubu was asked what led to his going on exile and he reference the assassination of Kudirat Abiola, the late wife of the winner of the June 12 1992 election, MKO Abiola. Note that Kudirat Abiola was killed June 4th, 1996.

He also spoke about how he came back from exile but it is on record that Tinubu returned from exile in 1998

He also spoke about the death of Abiola and how he saw Abiola's grave and he wished he could hug him one more time. But MKO Abiola die July 7, 1998

He then went on to speak about how he was presently in the Alliance for Democracy (AD). AD a political party where Tinubu campaigned to be governor of Lagos on the platform of was formed September 9, 1998.

Now except Tinubu is a time traveller or he was able to see the picture, it is evident that that interview was not published at any time close to 1993.

I dug a bit and found what year Tinubu was 52 and it was 2004.
A close look at the news paper shows that the exact date has to be 15, 16 or 10. Only 15 October correlates with the day of the week.

Clearly by the events, it showed the publication was done after 1998 and no other date correlate except 2004.

Verdict: Using the Guardian to claim the president falsified his age is wrong and simply mischief making

Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by iwaeda:
Check the Chicago document, are they constient? Tinubu has a wife around Surulere, mama Segun, the woman celebrated 70 when Tinubu celebrated 60. Ask anyone around Ekololu or Falolu. Tinubu is not 74, much older than that. Go to Guardianand get real copy. He said he went to St Paul, Aroloya, no st Paul, but St John, he claimed GCI, no one ever known him in Ibadan, a female enter Chicago state University, a man came out. Another fact from the write was that, it was not 2004 and was before 1999, he was a governor then, so he was only referred to as Senator. Truth doesn't need to fight for itself, it only present facts. I didn't want say it, but this has pushed words into my mouth, no mod goes to different markets, but many are defending oppressors by suppressing the truth.
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by rejoice4eva(m): 9:39am On Mar 30
What is his age? Maybe you can as well confirm to the doubting Thomases with a genuine proof of his place of birth, primary school, and his biological father's name .
Just shame these people once
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by Mynd44(mod): 9:41am On Mar 30
rejoice4eva:
What is his age?
A man who was 52 in 2004 will be 74 this year. How is that inconsistent?
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by helinues: 9:55am On Mar 30
The thread is unnecessary. A Tree 🌲 can't comprehend words

The discussion is becoming yearly, those who are making it are not interested in any different
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by Dogalmighty17: 10:00am On Mar 30
When a nairaland moderator takes out time to create a post in defense of the president then you don't need to be told in more explicit terms this platform is in the bag of the ruling party.
Let's pray they will extend this spirit of 'fairness' to other aspirants when the elections heats up.
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by Ofunaofu: 10:01am On Mar 30
Mynd44, I must confess, in trying to disprove what you called misinformation about Tinubu’s age, you ended up creating your own confusion.

You started this thread to correct a supposed false claim about his age, yet you failed to establish what the correct age actually is.

So what exactly was the point?

If determining his age feels like searching for a needle in a haystack, it’s because the uncertainty isn’t new. Questions have long surrounded not just his age, but other aspects of his public record, paternity, narcotics dealings, certificates, employment history, even identity claims etc.

At this point, the more you dig, the more questions you uncover, it’s a loop, not a solution.

Mynd44, you might want to rest. Some puzzles don’t get clearer with more effort.

And honestly, I didn’t expect this from a mod
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by Sheuns(m): 10:01am On Mar 30
The newspaper didn’t show the year nor mention the year. But Tinubu came back from exile in 1998 after the demise of Abacha. Thus the newspaper must have been printed in 1998 or later.

Also see what a moderator that’s supposed to be neutral on a public forum is defending. It’s either you work for Tinubu or the APC.
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by Mynd44(mod): 10:23am On Mar 30
Sheuns:
The newspaper didn’t show the year nor mention the year. But Tinubu came back from exile in 1998 after the demise of Abacha. Thus the newspaper must have been printed in 1998 or later.

Also see what a moderator that’s supposed to be neutral on a public forum is defending. It’s either you work for Tinubu or the APC.
Except that his recorded aged the age in the newspaper correlates with the the Day of the week of October in 2004.
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by Mynd44(mod): 10:24am On Mar 30
Sheuns:

If people continue to post false information about a topic, the sensible thing is to put it to rest to avoid lies from spreading
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by Sangoamadioha1:
AI Overview

+1
[/b]This image is a newspaper article from The Guardian featuring a 1998 interview with Bola Ahmed Tinubu shortly after his return from self-exile.[b]
Interview Focus: Senator Tinubu discusses his reasons for going into exile, threats to his life, and his political affiliation with the Alliance for Democracy (AD).
Historical Context: The article highlights the political climate in Nigeria during the late 1990s, specifically mentioning the transition program and the June 12 political crisis.
Disputed Age:[/b] The text explicitly states Tinubu was 52 years old at the time of this interview in 1998,[b] which has caused significant public debate regarding his actual date of birth.

From Google search ☝️
This interview was even before he became Lagos state governor. That means it was before 1999.
The beginning of the interview it was stated that he recently came back from exile and he came back in 1998.

According to this article, Tinubu is 80 years old this year.

CC: mynd44
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by Dannieln1: 10:32am On Mar 30
There’s hand of APC in this write up
Tinubu is not 74 his older than that
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by CodeTemplar: 10:41am On Mar 30
Sheuns:

Mods are free to support parties they like. It is when partiality creeps in that it becomes a problem.
A mod is a lot like a policeman but instead of rifle, they have privileges to moderate.
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by DatNiggaDaz: 10:41am On Mar 30

The Mods of APC Nairaland branch
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by Validated: 10:48am On Mar 30
@Myndd please visit the Guardian Newspapers, which I believe your friends in APC have done, especially Onanuga. Get a copy of the same newspaper or better still petition the Guardian to scan another copy for you.
With all these, " Una go expand tire, no evidence "
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by lionshare:
Dogalmighty17:
When a nairaland moderator takes out time to create a post in defense of the president then you don't need to be told in more explicit terms this platform is in the bag of the ruling party.
Let's pray they will extend this spirit of 'fairness' to other aspirants when the elections heats up.
I don’t understand! Are you insinuating that mods ain’t human with interests and preferences—or you think seun can’t make posts about his interests?
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by wonlasewonimi: 11:42am On Mar 30
When trump contested the birthplace of Obama, he provided his birth cert. to shut it down. Let Tinubu shut this down once and for all if dem born am well.
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by donmixc: 11:43am On Mar 30
Now I understand why I get banned anytime I blast Apc

This is just like Inec chairman writing jargons in support of apc

Seun do something 😒
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by Pallazzo: 12:00pm On Mar 30
Mynd44:
Every year, a particular interview done by Guardian Newspaper's Clifford Ndujihe with President Bola Tinubu as Guest always creeps up as people try to falsely associate it with age falsification and what not.

The false information is always said to disprove his age and people who do this try to present the date of the publication as Friday, October 10, 1993 to say Bola Tinubu was 52 in 1993 hence his present age isn't what he calls it. Firstly, October 10 1993 was not a friday.

In the interview, the reporters asks Tinubu how it feels to be back from exile. It should be noted that after the events of the June 12 1992 elections, Bola Tinubu and several democracy activists had to flee Nigeria under the threat of the Military administration then.

Tinubu was asked what led to his going on exile and he reference the assassination of Kudirat Abiola, the late wife of the winner of the June 12 1992 election, MKO Abiola. Note that Kudirat Abiola was killed June 4th, 1996.

He also spoke about how he came back from exile but it is on record that Tinubu returned from exile in 1998

He also spoke about the death of Abiola and how he saw Abiola's grave and he wished he could hug him one more time. But MKO Abiola die July 7, 1998

He then went on to speak about how he was presently in the Alliance for Democracy (AD). AD a political party where Tinubu campaigned to be governor of Lagos on the platform of was formed September 9, 1998.

Now except Tinubu is a time traveller or he was able to see the picture, it is evident that that interview was not published at any time close to 1993.

A close look at the news paper shows that the exact date has to be 15, 16 or 10. Only 15 October correlates with the day of the week.

Clearly by the events, it showed the publication was done after 1998 and no other date correlate except 2004.

Verdict: Using the Guardian to claim the president falsified his age is wrong and simply mischief making
Can't read... So much effort to defend what you're 100% sure is not the truth. I can't tell his age but you and I know he's not 74! Lie lie. Besides, what does it change? It's not stopping him from running for 2nd term and we all know a lot of people calling him out are themselves not using their real age either. I once applied for a school for someone, her DoB on NYSC, WAEC, CV, Birth Cert are all different years with the same day and month. For myself, I've and will always use my real age on all docs.
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by Racoon(m): 12:06pm On Mar 30
What about Tinubu forgery and perjury of graduating from Govt College Ibadan and Lagos before those schools were even formed? Who do you want to deceive?

My friend let the fraudulent fella explain the inconsistency in his birthday himself. So much criminal baggage for a man
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by obi4eze(m):
Mynd44:

Even you, a moderator is peddling this rubbish lie. So, you, a moderator did research and concluded that it was 2004? Did Tinubu come back from exile just before 2004 or in the 1990s? I am ashamed of you and your lie. Sometimes you people just lie when there is no need to.
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by obi4eze(m): 12:21pm On Mar 30
Mynd44:
If people continue to post false information about a topic, the sensible thing is to put it to rest to avoid lies from spreading
Mr Man keep quiet there. You are the one spreading lies and deceptive falsehood. Did you even read the interview before coming up with the conclusion that it was done in 2004?
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by Tochitee(m): 12:23pm On Mar 30
All these propangandas is just like dogs barking at a moving caravan! Whom God has blessed?? Last time me and chidioke bet with 100k that Apc will win the last election , I used 50k to celebrate to every members of our staffs ! This time around I have bet with two people that if the difference between Apc and the second party is not up to 2million votes. The second position party has won. I’m yet to see anybody coming forward with the bet.
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by obi4eze(m): 12:25pm On Mar 30
Mynd44:

This is nothing but Confused Confusion. Please dig more and tell us not only his age but his education, parents, private business etc. We are waiting.
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by Sheuns(m): 1:11pm On Mar 30
Mynd44:
You didn’t prove that the information posted is false neither did you prove that the information you posted is true.
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by Artiiclebeast: 2:07pm On Mar 30
What election was held on June 12, 1992?

The annulled election purportedly won by MKO Abiola was held on June 12, 1993.

Even people who weren't born then are coming here to post falsehood in a bid to change the narratives.
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by SixSeven:
Mynd44, a few questions to ask

1. Does that paper exist in the archives? Yes or No.

2. Has The Guardian denied the publication of that newspaper for that day? Yes or No.

3. Has The Guardian issued a corrigendum for the article? Yes or No.

As a mod, I want to assume that you have the privilege of knowing editorial process just as The Guardian has one. Are you concluding it's fake or The Guardian was not professional? Your comment is saying that Guardian whose motto is conscience, nurtured by truth is lying. Seun, has NL taken its own editorial decision?
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by SixSeven: 2:27pm On Mar 30
Artiiclebeast:
What election was held on June 12, 1992?

The annulled election purportedly won by MKO Abiola was held on June 12, 1993.

Even people who weren't born then are coming here to post falsehood in a bid to change the narratives.
Are you sure you were born then or know what happened then?

The 1992 Nigerian Senate election in Lagos State was held on July 4, 1992, to elect members of the Nigerian Senate to represent Lagos State.
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by gidgiddy: 3:08pm On Mar 30
There are pointers to the fact that Tinubu cant be 74 years old. He has to be older than that

1) When Tinubu's first son, Jide, died in 2017, his age was completely hidden from the press. Even his burial was low key. But when you look at pictures of Jide before his death, you can tell he is a man either in his late 40's or early 50's. That would have meant that Tinubu had him at the age of 15 years, which makes no sense as Tinubu was married to the mother, and could not have been married at 15.

2) Also, late Afenifere spokesman, Odumakin, wrote Tinubu an open letter in which he said that when Tinubu's first wife died in 2018, she was 9 years older than Tinubu who was then 66 years old. Her burial was also low key

3) Former Governor Oyetola of Osun is Tinubu's nephew. Yet Tinubu is only three years older than his own nephew.

How can someone be 9 years younger than his wife, had his son at 15 and has a Nephew who is just three years younger than him?

The math is not mathing. The obvious truth is that Tinubu reduced his age by a minimum of at least 15 years
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by GeneralOuki: 3:28pm On Mar 30
gidgiddy:
There are pointers to the fact that Tinubu cant be 74 years old. He has to be older than that

1) When Tinubu's first son, Jide, died in 2017, his age was completely hidden from the press. Even his burial was low key. But when you look at pictures of Jide before his death, you can tell he is a man either in his late 40's or early 50's. That would have meant that Tinubu had him at the age of 15 years, which makes no sense as Tinubu was married to the mother, and could not have been married at 15.

2) Also, late Afenifere spokesman, Odumakin, wrote Tinubu an open letter in which he said that when Tinubu's first wife died in 2018, she was 9 years older than Tinubu who was then 66 years old. Her burial was also low key

3) Former Governor Oyetola of Osun is Tinubu's nephew. Yet Tinubu is only three years older than his own nephew.

How can someone be 9 years younger than his wife, had his son at 15 and has a Nephew who is just three years younger than him?

The math is not mathing. The obvious truth is that Tinubu reduced his age by a minimum of at least 15 years
"Nephew who is just three years younger than him?"

This one is actually possible. I have anaunt whose nephew is the same age as her. In fact, my late aunt who gave birth to the child breastfeed her own baby and her little sister. The mother, my grandmother gave birth to her late and the daughter married very early and gave birth the same time that her mother, my grandmother, birthed her last child.
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by ottersberger(m): 3:39pm On Mar 30
Mr/Ms Mynd44, when you take off your APC/Agbado hat, do you honestly believe that Ahmed Tinubu is 74 years old?. Seriously?.

Ahmed Tinubu's real age is estimated to be between 85 and 87. Having closed a thread suggesting and supporting this narrative, this Nairaland politics section moderator hurriedly opened a rebuttal thread here to continue the gaslighting with which Nigerians are all too familiar.

If I had any doubts about this website's pro-Tinubu bias, particularly with regard to its moderation, they have finally been dispelled today.

You may ban me as usual o. I am also comfortable just reading along.
Re: False Information About Tinubu's Age Using Guardian's Interview by givedemwotowoto:
Mynd thank you for your paid work for the people that pay you

We go defend and debunk tire

1 2 Reply

Farooq Kperogi: Clarity On Tinubu’s Age And Postsecondary EducationWikipedia Puts Tinubu’s Age At 79 On Daughter’s Page After Multiple Edits - FIJFolashade Tinubu’s Age.234

Easiest Way To Understand Local Government Area (LGA) Autonomy - Rep, BensonFashola Hands Over Fifth Maternal And Child Care Hosp In Gbaja, Surulere. PicsRiver State Govenor Wike Looses Appeal