Stats: 3,325,279 members, 8,421,147 topics. Date: Friday, 05 June 2026 at 08:47 PM

2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPolitics2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains (22631 Views)

1 2 3 Reply (Go Down)

2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by Bobloco(op): 3:37pm On Apr 19
UK government justifies its officials attending ADC national convention as part of standard diplomatic practice UK supports Nigeria's democratic processes through engagement with political and civic stakeholders British High Commission emphasizes commitment to credible and peaceful elections in Nigeria

The government of the United Kingdom has opened up on the reason some of its officials attended the African Democratic Congress (ADC) national convention in Abuja.

Legit.ng reports that the ADC held its national convention on Tuesday, April 14, 2026, at the Rainbow Event Centre in the Garki area of Abuja.

The UK’s Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) said attending such engagements is part of standard diplomatic practice. From breaking news to viral moments. Follow Legit.ng on Instagram. The FCDO spokesperson said the commission routinely engages political and civic stakeholders in Nigeria.

The official said the commission also supports Nigeria’s democratic institutions and processes “in line with international diplomatic practice”. As reported by Premium Times, the FCDO spokesperson said attendance at some of its official political events is routine. The spokesperson stated this while reacting to the ADC leaders' statement that the UK delegation was led by the British High Commission’s Political Secretary, Thomas Samson, and included a Nigerian staff member from the mission, Damilola Oyedele. “Officials from the British High Commission, like other international missions, are invited to and routinely attend a range of events and meetings, including those hosted by political parties.

“Attendance of these events reflects the UK Government’s commitment to and engagement with the democratic process in Nigeria.” The UK official said the British government supports credible, inclusive, and peaceful elections in Nigeria. The FCDO spokesperson explained that it is done through cooperation focused on democratic governance, institutional strengthening, and electoral integrity.
https://www.legit.ng/politics/1705803-2027-elections-attended-adc-national-convention-uk-govt-explains/

Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by Borrow2222: 3:58pm On Apr 19
I didn't even know that the UK envoy came for that ADC event.

It wasn't mentioned anywhere in the news that day.

ADC needs to do more on publicity because that is good news and a big plus for the party.
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by Ovilikom2: 3:58pm On Apr 19
The UK have never helped in anyway since independence

I see no revelance in the visit, the only good thing done so far is to arrest Ekweremadu.

A bloody jihadi terrorist called Muhammad Buhari lived in London all through his dying days after what he did ..
So what is the use ?

At last you guys just came to find the best animal, and then put a collar on the neck of the best animal for your own interest
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by Sermwell(m): 6:58pm On Apr 19
Yekini wants to rig 2027 election but we are ready for him! No more to drug dealers as our president! cheesy
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by Olukat(m): 7:00pm On Apr 19
So the one room convention without AC was attended by UK envoy? Nigeria can’t be blackmailed by those confused men in ADC!
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by aswani(m): 7:02pm On Apr 19
You people attended the event of a faction of the ADC, not the real ADC.
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by indigenous234(m): 7:02pm On Apr 19
For show…. Trust the UK at your own peril. They will attend the ADC convention only to relay their findings to the APC and the Tulumbu government.

If you have forgotten, check their game during the Nigerian civil war.
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by adaxme(m): 7:02pm On Apr 19
Dey whine, nothing they can do
Tinubu is ahead of everyone
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by Biggeststar01: 7:04pm On Apr 19
What will they do exactly? Only a person like trump fit get time to handle delusional tyrants like T-bobo.
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by MEGAWATCH: 7:04pm On Apr 19
Tinubu and his people will end up Disgracing themselves in the 2027 election.

We are still talking about his pending drug issue in the US, very soon the whole world will reason his matter.

Who can believe that a man who has been disturbing the whole world talking about free fair and credible election is a big HYPOCRITE?

Tufiaa!

🤔🤔🤔🤔
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by zoedew:
Bobloco:
https://www.legit.ng/politics/1705803-2027-elections-attended-adc-national-convention-uk-govt-explains/
Do not bother to explain. We know how the British are. Reaping from where it never sowed and seeking cheap victories everywhere. Very shifting sands culture. You cannot say with confidence that you know where the British stand on any issue. Having a typical Briton for a neighbour puts you at a great disadvantage as they gossip and are not straightforward people and racist to boot! The Americans are better as they shoot straight from the hips and you know where you stand with an American. I prefer that!
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by bionixs: 7:05pm On Apr 19
Olukat:
So the one room convention without AC was attended by UK envoy? Nigeria can’t be blackmailed by those confused men in ADC!
and also more confused and cancerous APC either
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by zoedew: 7:06pm On Apr 19
Borrow2222:
I didn't even know that the UK envoy came for that ADC event.

It wasn't mentioned anywhere in the news that day.

ADC needs to do more on publicity because that is good news and a big plus for the party.
What plus? If you have Britain for a friend it just appears that you are good!
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by Gotocourt: 7:06pm On Apr 19
E b searchlight don dey ontop Aso Villa Bandit cheesy grin
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by Greatzeus(m): 7:06pm On Apr 19
Attendance of these events reflects the UK Government’s commitment to and engagement with the democratic process in Nigeria.”
BS, commitment to democratic process in deed. Will their commitment also make them to attend that of the remaining 20 parties we have in Nigeria? If not, this is being partisan,and obviously for UK selfish reason
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by Omalicious1: 7:07pm On Apr 19
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by tuoyoojo(m): 7:07pm On Apr 19
The body language of the west is already showing that them and tulumbu are not on the same page
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by Passionate888: 7:07pm On Apr 19
Na so una attend APC own, invite buhari to London then we enter one chance
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by Bendeco02: 7:08pm On Apr 19
UK don't even owe FG/APC any explanation.

They should have just ignored them. undecided
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by Godmind2022(m): 7:08pm On Apr 19
Anybody who is supporting Tinubu government must be benefiting either directly or indirectly from the government. Otherwise, I don't see any right thinking person supporting this government. Am I correct? Prove me wrong if you can and sincere!
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by soil4soil(m): 7:09pm On Apr 19
Uk government can't vote or bring their citizens to vote.
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by fredoooooo: 7:09pm On Apr 19
What are you doing there..leave us alone
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by Melagros(m): 7:10pm On Apr 19
COMRADES, not long ago, I read where Stamer was saying that they are going to monitor the 2027 closely and in real time
I don't think there will be chance for Tinubu and apc to rig the election anymore
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by jaxxy(m): 7:10pm On Apr 19
aswani:
You people attended the event of a faction of the ADC, not the real ADC.
yes because the real adc is apc grin undecided
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by kole22k(m): 7:11pm On Apr 19
Were they also present during the APC convention? Of what significant is their presence? Witnessing the electoral process can it change anything? All this are questions seeking for answers.
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by WorldRichest: 7:11pm On Apr 19
If they like, they should attend that of Accord Party, KOWA Party and even NDC, Tinubu is not Jonathan that any kindergarten or colonial master can scare away. If UK oversteps its boundaries, e go collect from JAGABAN
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by destinychildolu(m): 7:11pm On Apr 19
Olukat:
An APC don go off AC, Omo APC don enter gbege. I think what matters most is ADC to just meet with NATO and USA. I see Venezuela happening in Nigeria
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by Obapluto: 7:11pm On Apr 19
Useless UK abi which one. JAGABAN EVERYDAY!!! BABA WON!
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by WorldRichest: 7:13pm On Apr 19
destinychildolu:
An APC don go off AC, Omo APC don enter gbege. I think what matters most is ADC to just meet with NATO and USA. I see Venezuela happening in Nigeria
You will see that Tinubu is not Jonathan or the Venezuelan sisie, it will rather be like Iran
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by NaijaSumi: 7:14pm On Apr 19
Tinubu must go... Tinubu must go...
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by gudugudumeje: 7:15pm On Apr 19
Airikan-sekan.
Frivolous mission....
Re: 2027 Elections: Why We Attended ADC National Convention, UK Govt Explains by Stricker321: 7:15pm On Apr 19
Not only UK was preset, some other European countries were also present.

Sends a strong message to the criminals in power.
1 2 3 Reply

In July 2025, Nafiu Bala Attended ADC Unveiling Of David Mark-led LeadershipSowore: Hostage Takers! Tinubu Slept Throughout A Meeting We Attended2023: Why We Attended Shettima's Unveiling - Pastor Igbokwe Prince234

Destruction Of Hausa Properties In Onitsha: Can Anyone Confirm?Speech Governor Ortom Delivered To President Buhari At His Visit To BenueBakare: Religious Leaders Visit Buhari Just To Take Photographs