Stats: 3,330,363 members, 8,445,127 topics. Date: Tuesday, 14 July 2026 at 01:37 PM

Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 - Business (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralBusinessNigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 (35894 Views)

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by dododawa1: 4:54pm On Jul 09
LIFE GOES ON
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by AngelicBeing: 4:54pm On Jul 09
SixSeven:
Exactly what came to my mind. I am just surprised by the OP saying the 1993 person is that old grin

Nigergrob Ceramics Limited was a notable ceramic manufacturing industry located in Abeokuta, Ogun State, Nigeria. Established in the 1980s, the company became the subject of major Nigerian corporate and legal cases, including a landmark receivership case (U.B.A. Trustees Ltd v. Nigergrob Ceramics Ltd) regarding the extent of receiver and director powers. Financial distress and that litigation eventually led to its closure, turning it into a textbook legal authority for Nigerian corporate insolvency frameworks under the Companies and Allied Matters Act (CAMA).

Story of their death:
In the early 1980s, Nigeria was trying hard to build up its local industries. A company called Nigergrob Ceramics built a big factory in Abeokuta, Ogun State. Their plan was to make floor tiles, wall tiles, and bathroom sinks locally because the construction business was booming. To buy all their heavy machinery and set up the factory, they borrowed a huge amount of money from United Bank for Africa. The bank managed this loan through U.B.A. Trustees Limited. As security for the loan, Nigergrob signed a contract that gave the bank the right to seize the factory and all its equipment if they failed to pay the money back.

Everything started well, but the late 1980s and 1990s brought tough economic times. The national power grid became very unreliable. Ceramic factories need their ovens to run constantly, so Nigergrob had to spend a lot of money on diesel generators. At the same time, the cost of raw materials went up, and they could not find local technicians to fix their complex machines. Production stopped, and the company completely ran out of money. Since Nigergrob could not pay back its debt, U.B.A. Trustees stepped in, locked the factory gates, and hired a legal manager called a receiver to take over everything and sell it off to get the bank's money back.

The original owners and directors of Nigergrob refused to leave quietly. They took the bank to court, arguing that the bank had no right to strip them of their authority. This became a famous legal battle called U.B.A. Trustees Ltd v. Nigergrob Ceramics Ltd. The case went all the way to the Court of Appeal. The judges finally ruled that when a bank takes over a broke company, the bank's manager gets full control of the business and the assets, but the original directors still keep a few basic rights, like the power to fight the takeover in court. Sadly, while the lawyers argued for years, the expensive factory equipment just sat there and rusted. Nigergrob never reopened, and the factory in Abeokuta remains abandoned to this day.
Nigergrob Ceramics died because the bank seized their factory over unpaid debts, while severe power outages and a crashing Naira made manufacturing too expensive to survive.
Chai sad
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by jaxxy(m): 4:56pm On Jul 09
Nigeria happened to it.
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by josielewa(m): 4:56pm On Jul 09
YES ITS IN ABK. ITS ILE SE AWO..ITS VERY POPULAR IN ABK
ntyce:
Isn't this Ile ise awo in Abeokuta?
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by QuinQQ: 4:57pm On Jul 09
lordm:
Chai. What happened to Nigeria's industrial era
China! China happened. When you are praising how cheaply China makes stuff and happy consuming their cheap stuff, you don't realize how many factories they've closed in your country!

jaxxy:
Nigeria happened to it.
Nope. China happened to it
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by Lukuluku69(m): 4:57pm On Jul 09
Raydos:
Driven by my usual adventurous streak, I headed out today to explore an old, abandoned ceramic factory near my place. I first learned about it from a local elderly woman, who told me it opened back in 1974 (exactly 52 years ago) and that her husband used to work there in the 80's

She shared a bunch of stories about how lively the place used to be, bustling with all kinds of people earning a living before it finally shut its doors around 2007.

Listening to her gave me this irresistible urge to sneak inside. I just had to explore it and get a firsthand sense of what it felt like when the machines were running, how the employees worked, and what their daily lives were like.
Good one Op 👍.

Please if you have the time, please also sneak into the Nigeria Railway Compound at Ebute/Yaba area of Lagos, specifically their Foundary Department.

You will be amazed about the great things that happened in this country before.

The Factory you visited, I am sure importation of Ceramics and allied Products killed it.
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by Offpoint1: 4:57pm On Jul 09
michlins:
It's quite sad what happened here. Imagine if this factory is still working and expanding. Employment and tax revenue for the government
Nothing last forever, even Coca-Cola will fade away someday, so is Apple, Microsoft and so on.... It's matter of time.
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by anonimi: 5:01pm On Jul 09
lordm:
The industrial era of the past was not sustainable as it was based on a faulty foundation of government ownership and control.

This is why NNPC refineries are moribund soak aways for corruption. Can you imagine how much socioeconomic benefits would have been achieved if Yar’Adua didn’t reverse the refineries’ privatisation after Obasanjo used Iwuruwuru INEC to make him president?

Thankfully he didn’t reverse the petrochemicals division’s privatisation.

Why do you think that we are so opposed to privatisation despite all the glaring benefits huh

anonimi:
How Indorama sustains manufacturers, boosts Nigeria’s FX earnings

Indorama Eleme Petrochemicals Limited (IEPL) has emerged as a major value creator in the Nigerian economy. It is responsible for the survival, growth and sustenance of many manufacturing companies in Nigeria today. A large number of plastic and allied firms depend on the Eleme-based company for petrochemical resins (or polymer resins) which serve as their raw materials.

The petrochemical company is just one of the several subsidiaries of Indorama-Nigeria Group, which also comprises Indorama Eleme Fertilizer & Chemicals Limited (IEFCL), Indorama PET Nigeria Limited, and Indorama Port Operations.

Since Indorama Corporation of Indonesia became core investor in the old Eleme Petrochemicals Company Limited (EPCL) in 2006 through privatisation programme of the Federal Government, the group has become a game changer in the Nigerian economy.

The petrochemical company has solved the major challenge facing a number of manufacturers— poor access to raw materials. Rather than scramble for foreign exchange to import inputs, the company ensures that manufacturers have access to their critical raw materials, enabling them to save costs and improve margins.

The major resins used by plastic and allied companies are polyethylene and polypropylene. Indorama produces about 45 grades of these products for various industries. About 600 of such companies in Nigeria depend on IEPL for their survival. They are estimated to have over 90,000 workers.

https://businessday.ng/real-sector/article/how-indorama-sustains-manufacturers-boosts-nigerias-fx-earnings/
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by anonimi: 5:03pm On Jul 09
Offpoint1:
Nothing last forever, even Coca-Cola will fade away someday, so is Apple, Microsoft and so on.... It's matter of time.
Some things last forever, as long as they reinvent themselves to be in sync with changing dynamics.
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by jaxxy(m): 5:04pm On Jul 09
QuinQQ:
China! China happened. When you are praising how cheaply China makes stuff and happy consuming their cheap stuff, you don't realize how many factories they've closed in your country!

These manufacturing companies stopped production and closes shop way china began to rise in the industrial sector.

Chins only rose industrially and globally in the 2000's. These companies packed up in the 80/90's. Dont blame china for bad leadership. Take accountability.

China only came as a cheaper alternative for imports from europe and US.

But maybe u are genz so u dont know the history.
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by 2mch(m): 5:04pm On Jul 09
The children of this family will be abroad in one office working like a slave or cleaning yansh. Lack of electricity killed a lot of industries in Nigeria. Also, the greed of workers who do not protect their workplace so others can have a stable job. They enter and wreck the place.
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by OlujobaSamuel: 5:05pm On Jul 09
DomPerignon:
Commit trespassing

Post account and evidence of said tresspasing on Social media.

You can't fix stupid.
You can't trespass into an abandoned property na.
I believe the gate or fence (barricade) is secure, therefore, you can't lay claim to access without permission
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by anonimi: 5:05pm On Jul 09
QuinQQ:

If China did there thing, then why can’t we do our own thing too huh
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by OlujobaSamuel: 5:06pm On Jul 09
jaxxy:
These manufacturing companies stopped production and closes shop way china began to rise in the industrial sector.

Chins only rose industrially and globally in the 2000's. These companies packed up in the 80/90's. Dont blame china for bad leadership. Take accountability.

China only came as a cheaper alternative for imports from europe and US.

But maybe u are genz so u dont know the history.
This company just closed shop around 2005 to 2008.
There are different items shown that could help to determine the period
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by Sapaz02: 5:08pm On Jul 09
lordm:
politifcians
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by anonimi: 5:09pm On Jul 09
SixSeven:
Maybe we should use this as a classroom case study at Lagos Business School or our higher education schools. Professors, lecturers and researchers, take note. Most of what Nigerians study are UK, Indonesia, US and foreign places not what does not work in their own country. Manufacturing is a problem in the country based on THREE issues:

1. NO CONSISTENT POWER SUPPLY
2. UNFAVOURABLE GOVERNMENT POLICIES or LACK OF STRATEGIC SUPPORT
3. BAD MANAGEMENT (INTERNAL)

Nigeria's ceramic market is currently driven by a projected $2.1 billion USD import demand, with China supplying over 82% of the country's needs. Again, production over consumption or import.
How can you fix this problem of production over consumption by a hypocrite who says what he doesn’t do huh

bennybuhari:
“’I cannot take anything back about Obi. I said Obi said he wants to move Nigeria back from consumption to production and I said that is not true. He cannot do it because his own business survives on consumption. Is that a lie? He has been an importer and I said he deals with cash and carry economics; container economics, imports”.

“All the goods that can be produced in Nigeria, Obi imports them in his supermarkets. That is consumption economics. That kind of person cannot tell you that he is moving you from consumption to production. He will then be committing self-economic suicide and Obi will not do that to himself”.

“So, Obi is deceiving everybody and I can’t take that back because that is true.

https://independent.ng/peter-obi-deceiving-everybody-i-wont-retract-my-statement-about-him-dele-alake/

Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by unitysheart(m): 5:10pm On Jul 09
Raydos:
Found some old ass calendar
I reckon with the Nucampe calendar.

My dad produced and supplied them bags until sometime in the 2000s.
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by VeeVeeMyLuv(f): 5:11pm On Jul 09
QuinQQ:

Noooo
It is not China

It is your corrupt clueless Governments

Let me also add, they are very irresponsible.
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by Galapagous(m): 5:14pm On Jul 09
This ur camera na 100
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by callthefred: 5:16pm On Jul 09
Raydos:
The main factory
Before crazy importer used fake substandard Chinese imports destroyed local manufacturing, ironically today they are shouting consumption to production to deceive the gullibles when will know they will only used cbn dollars to keep their import businesses going
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by Pacesetter123(m): 5:20pm On Jul 09
See production factory allow to waste by the so called democratic era people.
Military built all this industries but democracy destroys them.
Look at how we were producing tiles and toilet seats for water system toilet in those days,but today we are importing them from China.
Shame on our leaders!
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by CaptainFM1: 5:26pm On Jul 09
lordm:
Our indolent nature contributed to the collapse.
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by BlackViper: 5:33pm On Jul 09
Tell the truth. The place was haunted😱

Raydos:
It felt like stepping into a forgotten world. The factory was so hauntingly silent that my own heartbeat felt loud, punctuated only by the distant, eerie chirping of birds nesting in the rafters.
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by Neddyogu(m): 5:34pm On Jul 09
Raydos:
Out of everything, the biggest surprise was finding a sticker celebrating a baby born in 1993 (33 years ago) It was a bit of a shock realizing she’s significantly older than I am!

Looking at it made me wonder where she is today. It really puts life into perspective—nothing is permanent, and the kids of yesterday are the adults of today. It's a powerful reminder to make every moment count. Nobody lives forever
she was born in September of 1992.
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by clockwisereport: 5:34pm On Jul 09
SixSeven:
Maybe we should use this as a classroom case study at Lagos Business School or our higher education schools. Professors, lecturers and researchers, take note. Most of what Nigerians study are UK, Indonesia, US and foreign places not what does not work in their own country. Manufacturing is a problem in the country based on THREE issues:

1. NO CONSISTENT POWER SUPPLY
2. UNFAVOURABLE GOVERNMENT POLICIES or LACK OF STRATEGIC SUPPORT
3. BAD MANAGEMENT (INTERNAL)

Nigeria's ceramic market is currently driven by a projected $2.1 billion USD import demand, with China supplying over 82% of the country's needs. Again, production over consumption or import.
You made mention of lack of technicians to maintain the complex machines in your opening remarks. Don't you think lacktechnical know how is still a problem of industrialization is Nigeria till this day?
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by Kingluqman(m): 5:36pm On Jul 09
Raydos:
Random photos that i took
I was 3 days old on this date in the picture grin grin

Life ehn
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by shegra58: 5:36pm On Jul 09
Raydos:
Driven by my usual adventurous streak, I headed out today to explore an old, abandoned ceramic factory near my place. I first learned about it from a local elderly woman, who told me it opened back in 1974 (exactly 52 years ago) and that her husband used to work there in the 80's

She shared a bunch of stories about how lively the place used to be, bustling with all kinds of people earning a living before it finally shut its doors around 2007.

Listening to her gave me this irresistible urge to sneak inside. I just had to explore it and get a firsthand sense of what it felt like when the machines were running, how the employees worked, and what their daily lives were like.
Many factories and company closed down during Obasanjo and Atiku time in office as president and vice president.
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by AMI3(m): 5:36pm On Jul 09
If Obi become the president now and start revamping all these forgotten factories at the end of his tenure some low life people will say what did he do when he was the president.
Look a wasted land and this factory can employ more than 1000 workers.
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by elevated2: 5:38pm On Jul 09
Raydos:

Interesting! Back then,Nigeria had industries. I never knew there was a western state of Nigeria. Which state is this place?
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by jaxxy(m): 5:39pm On Jul 09
OlujobaSamuel:
This company just closed shop around 2005 to 2008.
There are different items shown that could help to determine the period
Still about the time our power issue when worse and companies became 80% reliant on generators. Atiku had established mikano as the alternative power supply for bussinesses but coincidendataly it was same time period china industrial rise and globalisation.
Re: Nigergrob Ceramics Ogun:What I Found In An Abandoned Factory Established In 1974 by breathless(m): 5:39pm On Jul 09
Very unfortunate. Imagine if this factory was still in existence, I'm sure it would have expanded due to the "explosion" in the property development especially in Lagos and the southwest.
It seems the same fate with Oluwa Glass Company in Igbokoda in Ondo State.

SixSeven:
Exactly what came to my mind. I am just surprised by the OP saying the 1993 person is that old grin

Nigergrob Ceramics Limited was a notable ceramic manufacturing industry located in Abeokuta, Ogun State, Nigeria. Established in the 1980s, the company became the subject of major Nigerian corporate and legal cases, including a landmark receivership case (U.B.A. Trustees Ltd v. Nigergrob Ceramics Ltd) regarding the extent of receiver and director powers. Financial distress and that litigation eventually led to its closure, turning it into a textbook legal authority for Nigerian corporate insolvency frameworks under the Companies and Allied Matters Act (CAMA).

Story of their death:
In the early 1980s, Nigeria was trying hard to build up its local industries. A company called Nigergrob Ceramics built a big factory in Abeokuta, Ogun State. Their plan was to make floor tiles, wall tiles, and bathroom sinks locally because the construction business was booming. To buy all their heavy machinery and set up the factory, they borrowed a huge amount of money from United Bank for Africa. The bank managed this loan through U.B.A. Trustees Limited. As security for the loan, Nigergrob signed a contract that gave the bank the right to seize the factory and all its equipment if they failed to pay the money back.

Everything started well, but the late 1980s and 1990s brought tough economic times. The national power grid became very unreliable. Ceramic factories need their ovens to run constantly, so Nigergrob had to spend a lot of money on diesel generators. At the same time, the cost of raw materials went up, and they could not find local technicians to fix their complex machines. Production stopped, and the company completely ran out of money. Since Nigergrob could not pay back its debt, U.B.A. Trustees stepped in, locked the factory gates, and hired a legal manager called a receiver to take over everything and sell it off to get the bank's money back.

The original owners and directors of Nigergrob refused to leave quietly. They took the bank to court, arguing that the bank had no right to strip them of their authority. This became a famous legal battle called U.B.A. Trustees Ltd v. Nigergrob Ceramics Ltd. The case went all the way to the Court of Appeal. The judges finally ruled that when a bank takes over a broke company, the bank's manager gets full control of the business and the assets, but the original directors still keep a few basic rights, like the power to fight the takeover in court. Sadly, while the lawyers argued for years, the expensive factory equipment just sat there and rusted. Nigergrob never reopened, and the factory in Abeokuta remains abandoned to this day.
Nigergrob Ceramics died because the bank seized their factory over unpaid debts, while severe power outages and a crashing Naira made manufacturing too expensive to survive.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Reply

See What I Found In My Kolo In Just A Month (pictures )Checkout What I Saved From My Piggy Bank After 5 Months$50m Textile Coy To Be Established In Kano234

See What Huffington Post Says About Gtbank And Some Other BanksCountries Where Binance Is Banned, Restricted (Full List)How Real Is Telpecon & Golden Bridge Fund Grant To Beneficiaries?