Sharing An Experience With A Land Agent - Properties (2) - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Nairaland General › Properties › Sharing An Experience With A Land Agent (5127 Views)
| Re: Sharing An Experience With A Land Agent by mufutau55(m): 4:44pm On Apr 07, 2015 |
CityNG:I dey with you jare... if I own gun for Naija, many people for don RIP. This one not be Biggie and Tupac business oh! I don't believe in violence but sometimes you have to stand your ground. Hajji M. |
| Re: Sharing An Experience With A Land Agent by Nobody: 5:38pm On Apr 07, 2015 |
FastShipping:I lived north of Dallas (last count before you hit OK) for a few years. "The guvmint don took ma land, ma moonshine, all I got left is ma guns and bible" ![]()
| Re: Sharing An Experience With A Land Agent by FastShipping: 5:49pm On Apr 07, 2015 |
CityNG:Have you joined the tea party? I hope you are not in the crowd of that dimwit called Rafael Cruz. Bunch of his supporters are clinging to guns and bible. ![]() |
| Re: Sharing An Experience With A Land Agent by Nobody: 6:33pm On Apr 07, 2015 |
FastShipping:I belong to another fringe group ![]() |
| Re: Sharing An Experience With A Land Agent by FastShipping: 6:44pm On Apr 07, 2015 |
| Re: Sharing An Experience With A Land Agent by Nobody: 6:20am On Apr 08, 2015 |
CityNG: ![]() |
| Re: Sharing An Experience With A Land Agent by Nobody: 6:23am On Apr 08, 2015 |
CityNG:Bro, which one you dey? You have tesbee hanging in your car, a bible and a gun. Muslim, Christian, Atheist or all of the above? |
| Re: Sharing An Experience With A Land Agent by Nobody: 6:26am On Apr 08, 2015 |
lomomike:By any means necessary, my Bruva, any means necessary. For Yoruba we dey talk say, "no be one road enter market" ![]() |
| Re: Sharing An Experience With A Land Agent by brabus(m): 3:57am On Apr 11, 2015 |
Marpol: @the biggest padlock. As painful as it I s, it's the fun part of building in Nigeria. Agents, land urchins, and dubious contractors are all products of a failed system and its a big menace that needs urgent attention. There's no way you won't run into one. Even Jesus pick one Judas out of 12 disciples. Let alone real estate biz in Nigeria where everyone is a Judas. |
| Re: Sharing An Experience With A Land Agent by Nobody: 7:44am On Apr 11, 2015 |
brabus:Dude unjust conclusion, like seriously? ![]() Speak for yourself and the lots you've met. I have opportunity to work with honest stakeholders and I can boldly say I am honest also, there are lots of Nairaland property stakeholders and professionals who have high degree of integrity so stop throwing away the baby with the bath water. If you've been dealing with dishonest men only, check yourself. |
| Re: Sharing An Experience With A Land Agent by brabus(m): 8:57am On Apr 11, 2015*. Modified: 9:16am On Apr 11, 2015 |
smh! Going by this thread alone, it seems everyone here had a fair share of the problem we are discussing except you because you're holier-than-thou. And unfortunately, not all of them can contact you because of individual need and geographical location. Also, I believe most people here aren't first time homeowner and as such aren't novice in the game. If I don't know all, at least I know my neighbour (Sir Marpol), I know Hajji Mufutau55, FastShipping, CityNG and many others who have contributed one thing or the other to this thread. They aren't lying and they are speaking from the angle of how it should be and not how it has been. The only thing I don't know how to do is to pretend all is well when we knew different. What we ought to do on this thread is to discuss way forward and not throw tantrums like children "I know myself" Even those in government acknowledge the fact that the system is faulty and needs urgent reform. We need to deal with Red-tapism, Education, Dearth of Skilled Professionals, Automate the Process so that there's lesser interference. If you really want to know what works, I'll auggest you study the success of Fashola's Lagos HOMS. That's how real estate should be. Transparent, less bureaucratic and automated. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Yj1Ba6YgD0 This and many more issues were discussed at our just concluded Property Buyers Forum where real estate/construction Giants and developers like Briscoe Properties, Haven Homes, Gran Imperio, Centerbase, UPDC share their experiences. And for the records, even though they may be silent and not outspoken, there are no bigger stakeholders than the few generals who have complained on this thread. Correct me if I'm wrong like my Oga segcymoor always say. |
| Re: Sharing An Experience With A Land Agent by Nobody: 9:18am On Apr 11, 2015 |
I would have to say that based on my personal experiences and also on what I've read that the landscape is indeed fraught with more negative than positive stories. Even our almighty Spyder had to refund money to his clients through no fault of his other that the sellers didn't tell him the land he was planning to build an estate on was in dispute. I think a Nairalander clued him to that fact. Another land that I was going to buy originally went from N400k to N850k once the sellers saw me and realized I was a "Londoner" instead of my Lawyer who had been dealing with them. How about the one where the seller pulled the sale at the last minute because allegedly his wife did not approve of him selling. Who puts up three lots for sale without the wife's permission? I did not meet a single person in Ibadan who upon learning that I was buying land that didn't have an advice to have the utmost caution because land was a cunning affair. My seller, a top government official who heads a land integral department stated that he had to buy his own land thrice. So yes we have an issue with real estate in Nigeria. PS: there's even a thread on people buying in estates in Lekki who are having issues. Omo oniles and area boys are another issue that buyers complain about almost on every purchase thread. |
| Re: Sharing An Experience With A Land Agent by FastShipping: 2:44pm On Apr 11, 2015 |
CityNG:Land buying is a very delicate issue in Nigeria. My earlier advice about not doing any construction on the site for at least six to nine months borne out of risk of losing your hard earned money. A situation whereby someone pays 1 Million Naira for a plot of land and spends another 2 Million Naira on the development of the land, then some people show up two weeks later to claim the land as theirs is a recipe disaster. What is someone going to do in that situation? The land you are paying for might have been sold to others before the land is shown to you. This thing happens everyday in Nigeria; especially in Southwest. My advice is to buy land and erect concrete blocks at the four corners of the land. Wait for few months to see if anyone shows up to claim ownership of the land you paid for. There is always someone in the area to pay to help you monitor the land. That person monitoring the land for you can give you a call if there is any intrusion. |
| Re: Sharing An Experience With A Land Agent by Nobody: 4:37pm On Apr 11, 2015 |
FastShipping:It's good advice but it won't work in all cases and especially mine. Starting at least a dwarf defense is the minimum that was reccomended by 100% of the folks I talked to and who had no financial interest in it. My plots started at 60x120 each and in fact the receipts states as such but by the time I started doing the fence the fence it mysteriously became 50x120. In any case I think we agree that all these need to either build right away or built corners is unacceptable. One should be able to buy land with confidence and that simply doesn't exist in the Nigeria of today. These are some of the reasons that I support military leadership, capital punishment and other heavy handedness in Nigeria. |
Land Agent In Idiroko Boarder Ipokia Local Government Of Ogun State • Land Agent Wanted • Land Agent • 2 • 3 • 4
Which Is Better? To Live In A Highrise Apartment Or In A Bungalow ? • Granite, Sand, Cement, Blocks And Iron Bar Sales • What's The Best Cement In The Market