Stats: 3,325,567 members, 8,422,601 topics. Date: Monday, 08 June 2026 at 02:07 PM

Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsIbrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. (28439 Views)

1 2 3 4 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by Salex007(m): 8:11pm On Nov 09, 2015
g
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by shadelek(m): 8:11pm On Nov 09, 2015
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by gunners160(m): 8:11pm On Nov 09, 2015
onyedikachukwue:
Kk. Not my biz am a biafran.
Click like if you are a biafran
Mumu,who ask you?and what has that have to do with the topic above?
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by evanscheck(m): 8:12pm On Nov 09, 2015
He is a new guy on my list,his name does nt ring a bell, well. Let us see wat he wud do na and how he wud maintain his pure career he has kept..
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by Nobody: 8:13pm On Nov 09, 2015
searching4loove:
SAY NO TO BIAFRA. UNITED WE STAND cool
It's not by force to be a Nigerian
I am a biafran
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by PassingShot(m): 8:13pm On Nov 09, 2015
I hope and pray he peforms to our expectations. The EFCC has to rise up to the ocassion immediately. Era of impunity must be halteed with immediate effect,
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by goludayo: 8:16pm On Nov 09, 2015
The end will justify d means
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by hedonistic: 8:19pm On Nov 09, 2015
And if someone deposits a bullet in his skull or slips something into his drink? The so-called anti-corruption war would die instantly?

You barbarians need to get serious. You don't institutionalise a system by depending on personalities.
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by omogin(f): 8:20pm On Nov 09, 2015
I refuse to be moved by these propaganda stunts from the APC. This guy was with lamorde when he collected monies to free corrupt public officials from their cases. Till I see amaechi behind bars like ibori, story story story
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by fulaniHERDSman(m): 8:20pm On Nov 09, 2015
...Until the president intervened
Does it mean this man Jonathan actually meant well for Nigeria? I hate to believe this. Cause i hate the southies angry
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by Oladimejjy(m): 8:21pm On Nov 09, 2015
Corruption fighter?...

Everybody get his/her price.
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by anytexy: 8:21pm On Nov 09, 2015
Sweetguy25:
The fight has started with Amaechi and Fashola as foot soldiers. No wahala
Who be this? No go there oo. The two are federal govt Saint pipkins. Lol
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by ndcide(m): 8:21pm On Nov 09, 2015
midolian:
Mr. Magu was one of the early recruits into the EFCC by Mr. Ribadu. He is seen by peers as an incorruptible and courageous officer and then made the head of the sensitive EGU, a unit in charge of investigations of senior public officials.

As head of the EGU, some of the investigations Mr. Magu spearheaded include – the role of former Kwara State Governor and serving senator, Bukola Saraki, in the collapse of Societe Generale Bank of Nigeria, and James Ibori, former Governor of Delta State, who was discharged and acquitted by a Federal High Court in Asaba, and later found guilty of similar money laundering charges and jailed in the UK.

Proof that Magu is a Nightmare to the Corrupt

But trouble started for the police officer after the controversial removal of Mr. Ribadu as chairman of the commission in December 2007. The then chairman, Farida Waziri, was uncomfortable with his presence doubting his loyalty to her, sources say

In August 2008, Mr. Magu was accused of illegally keeping case files of top politicians being investigated by the commission. His house in Abuja was searched and his property carted away by operatives of the EFCC acting under the directive of Mrs. Waziri. He was subsequently re-deployed to the police after days of detention with nothing incriminating found against him. He was later suspended from the police, going without salaries for several months.
http://www.premiumtimesng.com/news/5390-corrupt_ex-governors_block_return_of_feared_anti-corruption_oper.html

Following the confirmation of Lamorde as the substantive Chairman of the EFCC, PREMIUM TIMES learnt that he made the return of Mr. Magu to the EFCC a top priority. Both men had worked together at the commission when Mr. Lamorde served as head of operations of the agency.

In a letter written to the Inspector General of Police (IGP) on March 19, 2012, and titled “Re: Postings/Transfer and secondments of police officers to the EFCC,” Mr. Lamorde put Mr. Magu as top on the list of police officers he wanted to be deployed to the EFCC.

But when the police boss was to confirm the deployment of the officers, Mr. Magu’s name was conspicuously absent.

http://www.premiumtimesng.com/news/5390-corrupt_ex-governors_block_return_of_feared_anti-corruption_oper.html

Magu wins, Nigeria Wins grin grin

With the new Sherrif in town, Nigeria will always get it right. Magu's appointment is a clear sign that Baba is really ready to fight corruption, and to the end. If Buhari was a corrupt leader, the corrupt ones would have through 'magu magu', as they have always done, halted the elevation of Magu to the EFCC chairman.

You all can imagine how 'corruption' will be trembling on hearing Magu is the new EFCC chairman. grin grin

The fight against corruption has just begun. And 'corruption' itself knows this.. You can quote me anywhere grin
Abeg make we hear word....

Who the fvckk is he. The same anti-corruption president who couldn't resist appointing amaechi as minister even when a letter with leads was sent directly to him? He hid under the, "he has not been convicted bullsshit" same with fashola, not forgetting timipre sylva and Audu.

Who are the corrupt people he wants to fight if I may ask.

This bullsshit only resonates with sycophants.
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by bangiskings: 8:22pm On Nov 09, 2015
CR77:
Buhari is not fighting corruption but witch haunting PDP members cool
. is there any better way of fighting corruption than hunting PDP members?
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by neocortex: 8:23pm On Nov 09, 2015
Babe2sure:
History is a strict accountant. His unblemished record has paved way for him. You never can tell who is watching!
That shows PMB's resolution to fight corruption. It must be seriously and honestly tackled.
What does that mean ?
Have you investigated and found him clean ?
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by bigtt76(f): 8:23pm On Nov 09, 2015
We heard same when Lamorde assumed the post after Farida Waziri left undecided
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by obailala(m): 8:24pm On Nov 09, 2015
For all those whose brains can only see the man's tribe/ethnicity in this appointment, to hell with all of you. God proved his love for Nigeria the day he made an old hag called Buhari to win an incumbent president. That election result proves that the nay-sayers and doom prayers are highly outnumbered.

God bless Nigeria!
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by midolian(op): 8:26pm On Nov 09, 2015
chuna1985:
Another northerner.

Meanwhile nigeria is doomed under d great daura dūllàrd
Chuna my man! How u dey? grin grin
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by OYAY(m): 8:27pm On Nov 09, 2015
CR77:
Buhari is not fighting corruption but witch haunting PDP members cool
If PDP members are corrupt,the witchunting is welcome!
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by Firefire(m): 8:28pm On Nov 09, 2015
Interesting...

Presidency intervenes

The EFCC may soon get its dear anti-corruption fighter as sources at the police headquarters informed PREMIUM TIMES that President [size=13pt]Goodluck Jonathan has intervened[/size] in Mr. Magu’s case.

“The President has directed that the police co-operate with the EFCC by releasing any police official the commission needs to strengthen itself,” our source said.

Following the Presidents intervention, it is expected that Mr. Magu would be released to the EFCC, an act which Premium Times learnt is a major source of relief to Mr. Lamorde.

“Chairman (Mr. Lamorde) believes he needs men like Magu to work with him. I’m sure it will make their (EFCCs) work more efficient,” our source said.
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by anonimi: 8:30pm On Nov 09, 2015
midolian:
In a letter written to the Inspector General of Police (IGP) on March 19, 2012, and titled “Re: Postings/Transfer and secondments of police officers to the EFCC,” Mr. Lamorde put Mr. Magu as top on the list of police officers he wanted to be deployed to the EFCC.

But when the police boss was to confirm the deployment of the officers, Mr. Magu’s name was conspicuously absent.

Could the president who intervened to have Magu back at EFCC be Dr. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, the hero of our democracy under whose watch the SYSTEMATIC fight against corruption yielded significant strides recognised by international organisations like Transparency International, TI huh

www.nairaland.com/attachments/2278704_gej_jpeg992928adad11461598fca84307c51f06

www.nairaland.com/attachments/2608719_transparencyintl_corruptionimprove2014_jpegd841e1e015b6b1cdf5ddd85e12d9bfb5

www.nairaland.com/attachments/2278708_gej_jpeg992928adad11461598fca84307c51f06
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by Kennydoc(m): 8:30pm On Nov 09, 2015
midolian:
Mr. Magu was one of the early recruits into the EFCC by Mr. Ribadu. He is seen by peers as an incorruptible and courageous officer and then made the head of the sensitive EGU, a unit in charge of investigations of senior public officials.

As head of the EGU, some of the investigations Mr. Magu spearheaded include – the role of former Kwara State Governor and serving senator, Bukola Saraki, in the collapse of Societe Generale Bank of Nigeria, and James Ibori, former Governor of Delta State, who was discharged and acquitted by a Federal High Court in Asaba, and later found guilty of similar money laundering charges and jailed in the UK.

Proof that Magu is a Nightmare to the Corrupt

But trouble started for the police officer after the controversial removal of Mr. Ribadu as chairman of the commission in December 2007. The then chairman, Farida Waziri, was uncomfortable with his presence doubting his loyalty to her, sources say

In August 2008, Mr. Magu was accused of illegally keeping case files of top politicians being investigated by the commission. His house in Abuja was searched and his property carted away by operatives of the EFCC acting under the directive of Mrs. Waziri. He was subsequently re-deployed to the police after days of detention with nothing incriminating found against him. He was later suspended from the police, going without salaries for several months.

Following the confirmation of Lamorde as the substantive Chairman of the EFCC, PREMIUM TIMES learnt that he made the return of Mr. Magu to the EFCC a top priority. Both men had worked together at the commission when Mr. Lamorde served as head of operations of the agency.

Magu wins, Nigeria Wins grin grin

With the new Sherrif in town, Nigeria will always get it right. Magu's appointment is a clear sign that Baba is really ready to fight corruption, and to the end. If Buhari was a corrupt leader, the corrupt ones would have through 'magu magu', as they have always done, halted the elevation of Magu to the EFCC chairman.

You all can imagine how 'corruption' will be trembling on hearing Magu is the new EFCC chairman. grin grin

The fight against corruption has just begun. And 'corruption' itself knows this.. You can quote me anywhere grin
I guess you should pause and give some credit to GEJ. He pulled that through. He was equally concerned about fighting corruption.
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by midolian(op): 8:31pm On Nov 09, 2015
anonimi:
Could the president who intervened to have Magu back
one president like that grin grin
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by docadams: 8:32pm On Nov 09, 2015
jmoore:
Name one governor serving a jail term in Nigeria, just one.
Take heart, man. Mankind cannot completely eliminate vices from the society nor can he apprehend and convict all criminals. Be rest assured that any escapee of mankind justice cannot escape God's.
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by midolian(op): 8:32pm On Nov 09, 2015
Kennydoc:
I guess you should pause and give some credit to GEJ. He pulled that through. He was equally concerned about fighting corruption.
Yes, in the beginning..but corruption won him in the end.
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by speedyGonzales: 8:34pm On Nov 09, 2015
real fight against corruption will be appreciated not the bullsh*t that we have now, which is witch-hunting!
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by AdeniyiA(m): 8:35pm On Nov 09, 2015
kokoA:
What life has taught me.. Always give thanks to God in whatever condition you find yourself, especially in bad situations.. Here is a man who was humiliated, treated like a common criminal, detained for no reason, salary stopped and almost dismissed.. Today look at where God has placed him. In deed their is God.
I have learnt that everybody needs honest people around them, the corrupt who hates you today would be the first to stand and vouch for your honesty when the chips are down... It's a divine way - using ones enemies to uplift you
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by Forwetinnah: 8:36pm On Nov 09, 2015
How does removing one Ibrahim only to replace him with another Ibrahim fight corruption? Saturating sensitive positions with 2% cut off mark Morons
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by retsonbiz(m): 8:37pm On Nov 09, 2015
That He is Still The Chairman of the CCT after the supposed allegations in May of 2014 shows Nigeria actually dodged a Bullet with GEJ.

You should hide and not post this....It is Shameful to say the least.

Mogidi:
Ibrahim replacing another Ibrahim in a govt of Ibrahims yet someone expects corruption to be fought with vigour.

Meanwhile at the CCT, the corrupt CCT chairman Danladi Umar is being used to fight the equally corrupt Saraki, how did we get here as a nation?

www.nairaland.com/attachments/3056105_accusedofcorruptioncodeofconducttribunalchairmanshunsefccpremiumtimesnigeria20151109174649_jpegf50526f0941036b529b14d47023e8e0f
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by Nobody: 8:37pm On Nov 09, 2015
We dey watch and wait na,let the royal rumble begin.
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by shakaZuIlu: 8:40pm On Nov 09, 2015
Dannyset:
When this man finally start his job, nobody should shout witch hunting!
He should start with Lamorde, establish himself with Deziani( I don't care what Dele Momodu have to say about her), then give PDP big thieves uppercut for their 16 years looting of our treasury.

Magu the Slayer of Corruption is back!
he should also remember Amaechi, Fashola, Tinubu, Audu, Rochas, Aregbesola, etc at least if he touch one of these corrupt bastards i swear i will shout sai baba morning afternoon night.
Re: Ibrahim Magu: Fight Against Corruption Has Just Started And Corruption Knows It. by Nobody: 8:40pm On Nov 09, 2015
The looters would be shaking right now.
1 2 3 4 Reply

Senate Rejects Ibrahim Magu's Confirmation As EFCC Chairman AgainIbrahim Magu In London Over Diezani's Investigation (Photos)War Against Corruption Has Not Started Yet - Buhari234

Showdown Looms In Senate Over Appointment Of Buratai, Others As EnvoysAdeyemi Dipeolu - Economic Adviser To BuhariBoko Haram Kills A Soldier Aliyu Muhd In Borno State (Photo)