Stats: 3,331,341 members, 8,449,840 topics. Date: Wednesday, 22 July 2026 at 11:56 AM

Where Did Nigeria Gets It Wrong? A Big Question For All - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsWhere Did Nigeria Gets It Wrong? A Big Question For All (637 Views)

1 Reply (Go Down)

Where Did Nigeria Gets It Wrong? A Big Question For All by kingsmonology(op):
Where Nigeria did gets it wrong? How do we got to where we are now? The current recession is heart breaking to Nigeria’s citizens especially home based citizens. Some socio analysts have it; that it can be trace back to pre-independence inaction and reaction that gave borne corrupted leaders, while other say is due to embracement of western culture and values that relegated our core value as a nation.

Others say, it because we are consuming nation instead of producing nation, that we valued imported things to our home made. This could have in return borne jobs opportunities for the citizens.

A foreign friend of mine asked me last week, why will a nation like Nigeria that her population is estimated over 180 million citizens solely depends on Crude Oil, why do the government uses taxes to limit the capability of SME in the country?

These and many other questions we need to ask ourselves, and our so-called representatives in government. Well! All hope is not lost, as it may be; this recession may lead us to our promise land. The big question here now is; what are the ways forward, to pull out of this recession?

Your contributions may go long way in helping the nation to survive.

… Matter Arising By: Kingsmond Ehimare

For more triggering issues; visit naijaoption.com
Re: Where Did Nigeria Gets It Wrong? A Big Question For All by gidgiddy: 5:26pm On Nov 07, 2016
kingsmonology:
Where Nigeria did got it wrong? How do we got to where we are now? The current recession is heart breaking to Nigeria’s citizens especially home based citizens. Some socio analysts have it; that it can be trace back to pre-independence inaction and reaction that gave borne corrupted leaders, while other say is due to embracement of western culture and values that relegated our core value as a nation.

Others say, it because we are consuming nation instead of producing nation, that we valued imported things to our home made. This could have in return borne jobs opportunities for the citizens.

A foreign friend of mine asked me last week, why will a nation like Nigeria that her population is estimated over 180 million citizens solely depends on Crude Oil, why do the government uses taxes to limit the capability of SME in the country?

These and many other questions we need to ask ourselves, and our so-called representatives in government. Well! All hope is not lost, as it may be; this recession may lead us to our promise land. The big question here now is; what are the ways forward, to pull out of this recession?

Your contributions may go long way in helping the nation to survive.

… Matter Arising By: Kingsmond Ehimare

For more triggering issues; visit naijaoption.com
Where did we get wrong? Nigeria might be a Country (on paper at least) but it is certainly not a nation. Igbo/Yoruba/Hausa-Fulani are all as different as day and night. So who is the Nigerian we are talking about? Nigeria might have worked if it had been run as a confederation as Ojukwu had suggested at Aburi, and was agreed on. However, the 'empire building nature' of Yorubas and Hausas meant that this could not be. Today, we have a strong centre that is trying to control people who resent being controlled. How can anyone expect progress from a house of chaos? If Nigeria cannot be run as confedration, with the ethnic nationalities as the confederating units, with a very weak centre and in full control of their political and economic resources, then we should all admit that Lord Lugard who brought us together made a big mistake. We should all then return as we were before Lugard came, and manage our selves independently.
Re: Where Did Nigeria Gets It Wrong? A Big Question For All by IamEntropy(m): 5:38pm On Nov 07, 2016
There are plenty of country in disunity but have a very strong economy because they put aside their grudges and work together
States like california which is looking to secede from the US because it is has the 5th largest Economy in the world also Texas.
Now, if you ask where Nigeria got it wrong, i'd say it all started from 1960.

The thing about independence is that we don't know it's true value which is why corruption started as early as 1960 in Nigeria
By an igbo woman (i forgot her name).

If we had Shed blood and sweat to win our independence, we will know the true value and protect it like our children's life depended on it.
We were given this gift called independence at a platter of gold, (like a spoilt child)which is why we misuse it till date.

Consider this illustration:

A young lad is given $1billion dollar and left on his own to do whatever he likes (Freedom). He never suffered for that money, neither did he struggle for it or shed blood for it or watch people die for it. So why should he care? Why should he invest the money? It's normal for him to misuse this gift.

The young lad in this story is "Nigeria"
The $1bill is our economics worth
And the freedom is our independence.

Look at the corrolation between countries that actually fought to get their independence and how their well to do their economy is.
Re: Where Did Nigeria Gets It Wrong? A Big Question For All by Dereformer(m): 5:48pm On Nov 07, 2016
IamEntropy:
There are plenty of country in disunity but have a very strong economy because they put aside their grudges and work together
States like california which is looking to secede from the US because it is has the 5th largest Economy in the world also Texas.
Now, if you ask where Nigeria got it wrong, i'd say it all started from 1960.

The thing about independence is that we don't know it's true value which is why corruption started as early as 1960 in Nigeria
By an igbo woman (i forgot her name).

If we had Shed blood and sweat to win our independence, we will know the true value and protect it like our children's life depended on it.
We were given this gift called independence at a platter of gold, (like a spoilt child)which is why we misuse it till date.

Consider this illustration:

A young lad is given $1billion dollar and left on his own to do whatever he likes (Freedom). He never suffered for that money, neither did he struggle for it or shed blood for it or watch people die for it. So why should he care? Why should he invest the money? It's normal for him to misuse this gift.

The young lad in this story is "Nigeria"
The $1bill is our economics worth
And the freedom is our independence.

Look at the corrolation between countries that actually fought to get their independence and how their well to do their economy is.
If I am to score you based on the point you raised, I will give you 12%. The guy above you made more sense.

The unitary system of government Nigeria is running is killing it. There is no reason why states must assemble in abuja every month for a paltry sum of money.

Every region in Nigeria should be given opportunity to control their resouces. Untill thios happens, Nigeria will be way behind other countries.
Re: Where Did Nigeria Gets It Wrong? A Big Question For All by BigIyanga: 6:03pm On Nov 07, 2016
Naija got it wrong with you- Bad grammar. How did Naija GET it wrong not how did Naija got it wrong?
1 Reply

Video: Why Did Nigeria Erase Bightof Biafra From The Map? – Ben BruceNigeria Suffering As Ghana Gets It RightIt's Wrong For Mikel, Siasia To Accept $390,000 Gift - Senator Ogba234

Wole Soyinka Should Transfer His Green Card To MeHouse Of Rep Orders EFCC To Aresst Operators Of MMM Activities In NigeriaOver 240 Insurgents Reportedly Surrender To Army