Stats: 3,153,732 members, 7,820,539 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 May 2024 at 04:41 PM

NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! - Health (836) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Health / NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! (4409410 Views)

In Benue, Woman Delivers 6 Still-Born Babies (Graphic Pic) / SHOCKING PHOTOS: See Chinese People Kill And Eat New Born Babies / Are There Doctors For Newly Born Babies Here? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (833) (834) (835) (836) (837) (838) (839) ... (2515) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by opejulie10: 6:50pm On Mar 21, 2017
crystalzoe:

God bless Ur kind heart mama. I appreciate.

I contacted her and she asked me to pay before delivery, is that how she does her stuff? I don't want to fall Maga o

Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by ajuwarhodes(f): 7:04pm On Mar 21, 2017
iomoge2:

For food
I stumbled on an instagram handle n i just love wat she does.
She also shares ideas.

augustsecrets_toyin

Yes,and she sells powdered maize,fruitysoya,etc...
I bought her paps,and they good

Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by pintoxx(m): 8:10pm On Mar 21, 2017
iomoge2:

For food
I stumbled on an instagram handle n i just love wat she does.
She also shares ideas.

augustsecrets_toyin
T
U r on point dear,her products looks gud n her food ideas 4 babies n toddlers r gr8,was even thinking of being a distributor of her product in my area.Thanx 4 sharing.

Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by ahnie: 9:08pm On Mar 21, 2017
pintoxx:

T
U r on point dear,her products looks gud n her food ideas 4 babies n toddlers r gr8,was even thinking of being a distributor of her product in my area.Thanx 4 sharing.

Pintoxx baby...how z baby zara grin
Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by iomoge2(f): 9:23pm On Mar 21, 2017
ajuwarhodes:

Yes,and she sells powdered maize,fruitysoya,etc...
I bought her paps,and they good

Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by ajuwarhodes(f): 9:28pm On Mar 21, 2017
iomoge2:

U are on point,exactly same types of paps we have too,and the crayfish n fish grin grin...and I try her recepies too.so far so good.

Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by kidco: 9:42pm On Mar 21, 2017
Any mama in Markurdi interested is merging to get kids books to please contact me 09032730510

Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by Gr8fulHeart(f): 4:41am On Mar 22, 2017
@iomoge2. pls sorry to take u back cn u plss post a pic of cantu u use for ur dd. im seeing difff product hence d confusn.thnk
Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by Yesitsme(f): 8:00am On Mar 22, 2017
pls ooo what does your mum do when she comes for omugwo?
Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by hotmomma(f): 8:35am On Mar 22, 2017
Yesitsme, I am so excited to write what my mum does now that she is still on omugwo. My baby is her top priority. She bathes, carries, feeds and plays with him all day and night, yes night cos she takes him to bed and flashes me when he wanna feed kiss she is such a darl but she would soon end the omugwo cry on demand she cooks fingerlicking dishes.

Nb: really depends on relationship oh, my mom has always been my first val kiss kiss kiss

Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by hotmomma(f): 8:40am On Mar 22, 2017
Iomoge2, see food for baby shocked abeg give reviews on those foods abeg.
Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by realdentist(f): 9:42am On Mar 22, 2017
jazzyjazz:

Yes o. I Don learn my lesson na.
How baby?
he's fine o. Presently attacking my brea.st too. E no de take im food play at aaaal
Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by wholesomegrace: 10:06am On Mar 22, 2017
iomoge2:

@ imoge2..... does ur lo eat all these foods? grin grin grin
Does she sell pap that water has been added?
Please forward her number?
Which cereal is better to start with, Gerber Rice or Oat?
Thanks sis, sorry for the plenty questions

Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by AdaBiafra(f): 10:22am On Mar 22, 2017
AdaBiafra:

You are right. I don't know how to assess my PM, but all the same! Dis my email address: nmaudlinennebuihe@yahoo.com.Thank you so much.

Cc Helovesme
Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by realdentist(f): 12:03pm On Mar 22, 2017
Yesitsme:
my mum pampers me like an only child. She bathes baby, feeds him sometimes, occasionally goes to market, cooks almost all my meals for me, even washes baby's clothes. She's such a Darling. Dh's younger sister doesn't even do much
Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by Yesitsme(f): 12:36pm On Mar 22, 2017
Realdentist and hotmamma una own better. I just wish alot of things right now.
Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by pintoxx(m): 1:08pm On Mar 22, 2017
ahnie:

ahnie:

Ahnie,thanx,it's been a while,baby Zharra is gr8,baby Zino should b a big girl by now,send our kisses 2 her.
Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by AlphaHandMaiden(f): 1:47pm On Mar 22, 2017
Yesitsme:
Realdentist and hotmamma una own better. I just wish alot of things right now.

The trick i find is not to expect too much. Just try and pick one thing and let them help you with that. Dont under-estimate any help, even if it seems little compared to what other mums/ mils may be doing.

My MIL for instance, baths and dresses baby and helps with the cooking. The woman is an absolute gem.

It may not sound like much but i did not see the inside of my fridge or even what my cooker looked like for about 6 weeks. That in itself takes alot of stress off a new mum.

Anything she cooks i will eat, even if na garri and groundnut. I kent shout.

For the bathing i just get everything ready and she will bath, massage and dress dd. Then i tidy up afterwards.

She also helped with the carrying during the day and when i started expressing she would help with the feeding as well.

Bear in mind that grandma is like 60 yrs oh. So i considered that as well. Body no be firewood.

I did all the night wahala feeding, nappy changes etc, while she "rested". Although she will say she doesnt sleep so she can help with night duties as well.

and during the day if i needed to rest, i could leave the baby with her and go zone out for a bit or just have a bath or hideaway claiming to do sitz baths.

We each gave each our spaces... and respected boundries. like allowed her massage baby with hot water( baby wasnt distressed by it) and use like a gallon of oil on baby's head.

And for things like gripe water or paracetamol or other meds, she will give me to measure out myself and then she will give baby.

For other of her ideas i dont agree with she wont do it if i have commented against it. So everyone happy.

Also do not underestimate the value of having another adult company. It csn be very depressing being at home alone with a week old baby and hubby has had to go back to the daily hustle.

Just my own take sha.

Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by Yesitsme(f): 2:06pm On Mar 22, 2017
maybe am expecting so much...it hasn't been easy since I had my daughter from one body pain to another. I still do my cooking, wash baby clothes even though I have my mum around. Even if she sees soaked cloth in bathroom I left due to tiredness she won't touch...it can be there for days. If not for my lil sis wth m I don't know how I would have coped. Although I still wakeup to monitor what she, my niece and hubby ( doesn't eat out and hardly eats other people's meals) will take to work and school. The kitchen can be as dirty as anything she won't touch anything. Na to sit down for parlour dey watch film. She is in her late 40s ABI she done old? She can stay a whole day without entering the kitchen except to take food when my lil sis is away ( school) Evening time she is served. I can't tell her do this do that, I feel she should know these things. Hubby came back one day in anger asking when she will leave( was as bad as that) cos my sis had exam the NXT day and it was getting late she needed to read but kitchen work won't let her. Hubby had to take over from her while my mum stayed in the parlour. If she feeds the baby expressed milk she won't wash the cup and spoon. Pls how do I deal with this. I wish my MIL was the one here, last yr she came I had no worries. Have been having body pain for days now.
Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by jesufifunmi: 2:19pm On Mar 22, 2017
Yesitsme:
maybe am expecting so much...it hasn't been easy since I had my daughter from one body pain to another. I still do my cooking, wash baby clothes even though I have my mum around. Even if she sees soaked cloth in bathroom I left due to tiredness she won't touch...it can be there for days. If not for my lil sis wth m I don't know how I would have coped. Although I still wakeup to monitor what she, my niece and hubby ( doesn't eat out and hardly eats other people's meals) will take to work and school. The kitchen can be as dirty as anything she won't touch anything. Na to sit down for parlour dey watch film. She is in her late 40s ABI she done old? She can stay a whole day without entering the kitchen except to take food when my lil sis is away ( school) Evening time she is served. I can't tell her do this do that, I feel she should know these things. Hubby came back one day in anger asking when she will leave( was as bad as that) cos my sis had exam the NXT day and it was getting late she needed to read but kitchen work won't let her. Hubby had to take over from her while my mum stayed in the parlour. If she feeds the baby expressed milk she won't wash the cup and spoon. Pls how do I deal with this. I wish my MIL was the one here, last yr she came I had no worries. Have been having body pain for days now.
Hi, I am sorry you have to go through this. However, i don't think it puts you in a good light if you are writing all these about your MOTHER on the internet. She birthed you and you guys have known each other since forever. The best you can do is talk it out with her. She's your mom for crying out loud. I believe there are other areas where she may or might have been a good mum to you in the past. We are not all the same.

I just feel you should have a talk with her and express your dissatisfactions about how she's tending for you during this crucial time rather than coming here to paint her bad. We can't replace our mums; they're our mums forever. Honestly, i don't appreciate the fact that you even went to the lenght of comparing your mum to you mil. You think if God forbid, something happens and they ask your mil to choose between you and her son's life, she'd choose yours?

The bottomline of my story is that, your mom is your mom and there are better ways you could have handled this than this approach you are using. Except of course, you guys never had a bond from the start as mother-daughter.

Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by wholesomegrace: 2:20pm On Mar 22, 2017
Yesitsme:

Still very young, but since shes your mum, you could speak to her abt helping out more. Living with my mum is also difficult, you need to see the way we fight but she is very helpful and when i think she isnt doing enough, i ask. She will be 70 this year by way. She feeds, baths baby, sometimes helps me get my cooking ingredients ready, washes baby clothes and even sweeps plus all those jare work that you don't send her, she will do. The difference between mum and mil is that i tell mum my mind straightaway and fight begins, but at least, i make my stand known
Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by Yesitsme(f): 2:28pm On Mar 22, 2017
[quote author=jesufifunmi post=54836935] Hi, I am sorry you have to go through this. However, i don't think it puts you in a good light if you are writing all these about your MOTHER on the internet. She birthed you and you guys have known each other since forever. The best you can do is talk it out with her. She's your mom for crying out loud. I believe there are other areas where she may or might have been a good mum to you in the past. We are not all the same.

I just feel you should have a talk with her and express your dissatisfactions about how she's tending for you during this crucial time rather than coming here to paint her bad. We can't replace our mums; they're our mums forever. Honestly, i don't appreciate the fact that you even went to the lenght of comparing your mum to you mil. You think if God forbid, something happens and they ask your mil to choose between you and her son's life, she'd choose yours?

The bottomline of my story is that, your mom is your mom and there are better ways you could have handled this than this approach you are using. Except of course, I you guys never had a bond from the start as mother-daughter. [/quote she isn't bad and am not trying to make her look as such. I came here to rant cos I was just feeling sad and angry. I didn't grow up with her. U won't understand what am going through here. Yes she is my mum and I love her for that. She isn't someone u talk to and she listens. I only came here cos I see everyone here as a family in case someone has gone through same issue and can profer solution. U won't understand

Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by enque(f): 2:31pm On Mar 22, 2017
Yesitsme:

I had a CS, so my mum stayed for 7weeks from day of delivery...

she cooked, took care of baby (washed her clothes, bathing her etc), did market runs and took care of me while i recovered smiley

After 6weeks, the 7th week was for rehearsals on how to take care of baby....so that she was sure she was leaving her grand-daughter in capable hands, and we are doing great! smiley
Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by Yesitsme(f): 2:37pm On Mar 22, 2017
frm all the comments,I guess she is wired differently and everyone isn't the same. I have to flow with the way things are, hubby has to endure while doing some stuffs. Thanks everyone.
Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by hunniesuzie: 3:01pm On Mar 22, 2017
Talk to her. She's your mother. She should be more approachable than your MIL.

Yesitsme:
frm all the comments,I guess she is wired differently and everyone isn't the same. I have to flow with the way things are, hubby has to endure while doing some stuffs. Thanks everyone.
Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by hotmomma(f): 3:21pm On Mar 22, 2017
Yesitsme, don't be too upset about how your mom is acting, why not talk to her or humbly assign duties to her like, mum pls help me hold baby while I do something inside, express or package food in bottle for your baby and catch some sleep or stretch your body. Don't expect too much for her but appreciate the little she does. You can say, mummy that your delicious egusi soup dey hungry us oh, pls help us make it. Massage her ego and watch her do things for you. Appreciate her by praising the little things she does. About washing clothes or bottles, abeg do dem at you pace or better still throw them dirty cloths in a washing machine. God bless washing machine inventor grin
You mustn't sweep every morning, ensure everyone throws dirt inside the dustbin, manage cook in bulk and store so that you won't cook everyday.
Kpele my dear.

Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by AlphaHandMaiden(f): 3:36pm On Mar 22, 2017
jesufifunmi:
Hi, I am sorry you have to go through this. However, i don't think it puts you in a good light if you are writing all these about your MOTHER on the internet. She birthed you and you guys have known each other since forever. The best you can do is talk it out with her. She's your mom for crying out loud. I believe there are other areas where she may or might have been a good mum to you in the past. We are not all the same.

The bottomline of my story is that, your mom is your mom and there are better ways you could have handled this than this approach you are using. Except of course, you guys never had a bond from the start as mother-daughter.

I totally disagree with you.

She is not here slagging off her mum, but she has an expectation which her mum is not meeting. Its only fair to ask others to see if she is being unrealistic with her expectations.

Yes we cant replace our family members because we frankly are stuck to them no matter how annoying they may be. But as adults in yoir own home, you have a choice not to keep accepting crap from someone all because we are related by blood.

Just because as a woman one has a child, does not make one maternal. Once you can accept that you wont get offended by their actions and will be able to make logical decisions.

It is not about comparing mums and mils and it is not about one person choosing their son over you. If you have that mindset, it means your heart is still biased and closed to your in laws because they are not your blood. That is the wrongest approach to have in my opinion.

Both my mum or MIL will take a bullet for either my hubby or myself. And i dont treat MIL any different than i would treat my mum. And i am trated as a daughter to MIL and hubby as a son to my mum, not as an outsider.

Infact there are some things my MIL did to assist me that were my mum alive, i honestly dont think my mum would go that far.
If i believe my mil will do something better than my mum, i will go to her first and not have any sentiments that my mum should do it better purely because she is my blood and it doesnt mean i love my mum any less for saying my MIL is better at xyz task. And its the same vice versa. There are things my mum was better at and my hubby admits it no issues. It doesnt make his mum a bad person or him a bad son for admitting to a clear fact.

For instance, my mum traveled ALOT! Both for conferences and holidays.
If my baby were to have arrived suddenly , i cannot count on my mom to drop everything and come in a heartbeat because she has other commitments that she may not be able to leave except its a life and death situation. My MIL in the other hand is more flexible and has no such commitments and will drop everything she is doing and trek sef to meet you if she feels its faster. Does it mean that one person loves me better... no!

Everyone has their talents and defects... no person is perfect. If yestisme mum is not making her life easy, there is nothing wrong in her complaining about it and even considerig asking her to leave if it helps the general family wellbeing.

If it was her MIL she came here to complain about, from your comments you are likely the type of person to charge and say she should find away to send her away. That one's own mum is always better etc etc.
So why the double standards now because its is her mum, suddenly she is an ungrateful daughter who perhaps did not form a mother-daughter bond when growing up.

Her only benefit is that it is her own mum so she can raise the issue with and complain very well to her mum without the risk that it raises an in-law issue.

29 Likes

Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by ajuwarhodes(f): 3:41pm On Mar 22, 2017
AlphaHandMaiden,I cldnt have said it better,u took all the words from my mouth

Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by jesufifunmi: 4:05pm On Mar 22, 2017
H
Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by Yesitsme(f): 4:22pm On Mar 22, 2017
AlphaHandMaiden:

I totally disagree with you.

She is not here slagging off her mum, but she has an expectation which her mum is not meeting. Its only fair to ask others to see if she is being unrealistic with her expectations.

Yes we cant replace our family members because we frankly are stuck to them no matter how annoying they may be. But as adults in yoir own home, you have a choice not to keep accepting crap from someone all because we are related by blood.

Just because as a woman one has a child, does not make one maternal. Once you can accept that you wont get offended by their actions and will be able to make logical decisions.

It is not about comparing mums and mils and it is not about one person choosing their son over you. If you have that mindset, it means your heart is still biased and closed to your in laws because they are not your blood. That is the wrongest approach to have in my opinion.

Both my mum or MIL will take a bullet for either my hubby or myself. And i dont treat MIL any different than i would treat my mum. And i am trated as a daughter to MIL and hubby as a son to my mum, not as an outsider.

Infact there are some things my MIL did to assist me that were my mum alive, i honestly dont think my mum would go that far.
If i believe my mil will do something better than my mum, i will go to her first and not have any sentiments that my mum should do it better purely because she is my blood and it doesnt mean i love my mum any less for saying my MIL is better at xyz task. And its the same vice versa. There are things my mum was better at and my hubby admits it no issues. It doesnt make his mum a bad person or him a bad son for admitting to a clear fact.

For instance, my mum traveled ALOT! Both for conferences and holidays.
If my baby were to have arrived suddenly , i cannot count on my mom to drop everything and come in a heartbeat because she has other commitments that she may not be able to leave except its a life and death situation. My MIL in the other hand is more flexible and has no such commitments and will drop everything she is doing and trek sef to meet you if she feels its faster. Does it mean that one person loves me better... no!

Everyone has their talents and defects... no person is perfect. If yestisme mum is not making her life easy, there is nothing wrong in her complaining about it and even considerig asking her to leave if it helps the general family wellbeing.

If it was her MIL she came here to complain about, from your comments you are likely the type of person to charge and say she should find away to send her away. That one's own mum is always better etc etc.
So why the double standards now because its is her mum, suddenly she is an ungrateful daughter who perhaps did not form a mother-daughter bond when growing up.

Her only benefit is that it is her own mum so she can raise the issue with and complain very well to her mum without the risk that it raises an in-law issue.

Thanks for this u spoke exactly what I wanted to communicate. the part u talked abt ur MIL leaving all she is doing to come take care of your baby was same with me. I lost my first baby during delivery last yr, my mum said she was sick and my MIL came the NXT day to take care of me. This baby came as a preemie and it took my mum a week bf she came infact my hubby had began making plans to have his mum around,he felt my mum didn't take the situation serious as I had to bath baby sometimes except for church member who came around sometimes. It was later I got to find out she delayed her coming cos my younger sister having her husband people come around for marriage list of which I knew nothing about (am the firstborn) So u c, my MIL is one in a million, she can take a bullet for me. It's well

Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by dtush(f): 4:45pm On Mar 22, 2017
I envy you guys. At least you have a mother and MIL to compare. Missing my mum like Kilode as i never got to know MIL.

Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by BellaElla(f): 7:12pm On Mar 22, 2017

(1) (2) (3) ... (833) (834) (835) (836) (837) (838) (839) ... (2515) (Reply)

Trying To Conceive A Child? TTC / Pregnancy Are You Pregnant Or Going Through A High Risk Pregnancy,,lets Talk

Viewing this topic: 2 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 90