Stats: 3,150,864 members, 7,810,293 topics. Date: Saturday, 27 April 2024 at 06:02 AM

Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea - Celebrities - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Celebrities / Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea (51349 Views)

Tessy 'Mama T' Plus-Sized Nollywood Actress Now Making Waves / New Photos Of Daniel Shoneye, Nigerian Model Making Waves In London / Nigerian-korean Model, Hyun Min Is South Korea's First Black Model (2) (3) (4)

Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea by Onyejemechimere(m): 10:09am On Jul 12, 2017
It is not every day one gets to hear about Nigerians working in South Korea, not to talk of a male model that is half Nigerian and half Korean. But one model that is half Nigerian and half Korean is indeed making waves. His name is Han Hyun-min and he is the world’s first Nigerian- Korean fashion model.

The 16 year old is now regarded has a rising star on South Korean catwalks. But his rise to fame hasn’t been with free of challenges. Behind the facade of an economic and cultural powerhouse, there is a deeply-rooted racism in South Korea. According to japantimes.co.jp, most foreigners in the country are from China and Southeast Asia, migrant workers or women who marry rural South Korean men unable to find local spouses willing to live in the countryside.

Discrimination against them is widespread. Many are openly mocked at public transport for being dirty or smelly, or refused entry to fancy restaurants or public baths.

Han has also witnessed his fair share of racism.

“When I was playing with other kids at school, some mothers whisked them away from me, saying things like, ‘Don’t play with a kid like that,’ ” he said. An elderly woman once asking him: “What are you doing in someone else’s country?” when that happened, Han said he wanted to disappear.

“I wanted to become invisible, I hated my looks that stand out from everyone else,” he told Japantimes. He found his escape in fashion, taking part in modeling auditions and posting his photos on social media until his agent Youn spotted the images. After seeing the then 14-year-old demonstrate his electrifying stride on a Seoul street for five minutes, Youn signed him up immediately.

“Being a fashion model helped build my confidence tremendously,” said Han. “Now I enjoy being looked at by other people, instead of being ashamed or embarrassed.” He also hopes to become a role model for multiracial children. “I want to be more successful, not just for myself but also for people whom I represent.”

http://www.lailasblog.com/2017/07/meet-16-year-old-nigerian-korean-model-han-hyun-min-making-waves-south-korea-photos.html

18 Likes 1 Share

Re: Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea by Onyejemechimere(m): 10:09am On Jul 12, 2017
More...

Re: Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea by Holarbizzy042(f): 10:15am On Jul 12, 2017
FTC??

Re: Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea by Jostico: 10:26am On Jul 12, 2017
you can achieve all your dreams if you only believe

Re: Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea by StarBukola(f): 10:26am On Jul 12, 2017
He looked so much like them, only that he is black...

117 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea by kiddoiLL(m): 10:36am On Jul 12, 2017
Fine boy...just keeo doing your thing

Re: Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea by Tamarapetty(f): 10:41am On Jul 12, 2017
cutie

Re: Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea by Jalal(m): 11:41am On Jul 12, 2017
Tamarapetty:
cutie
You are the cutie ^^^^^^

5 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea by Mickeydray(m): 12:17pm On Jul 12, 2017

7 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea by NwaAmaikpe: 12:21pm On Jul 12, 2017

Ugly boy.
He looks frustrated and bitter,
How's he even sure he is a Nigerian... He looks like an unfortunate bastard searching for his father

ConcNiggress56:
I am offering my virginity for anyone willing to give my brother a good job in lagos.

I don't want him to commit suicide. he's already contemplating that.

studied metallurgical and materials engineering.
good with Microsoft tools and other computer softwares.

willing to learn new things..
very humble and hardworking.

NNE how much are you selling?
And tell me your last price..

Hope it is firm
And hope it does not sweat too much?

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea by wayray: 12:22pm On Jul 12, 2017
We don see this post before now. its ok for those who have not seen it sha.

Re: Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea by midehi2(f): 12:22pm On Jul 12, 2017
The name sha grin
Re: Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea by Shortyy(f): 12:23pm On Jul 12, 2017
If it ain't Lin Min Ho, I'm not meeting. Team #LMH

Re: Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea by Nobody: 12:23pm On Jul 12, 2017
His gay.
Re: Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea by Nobody: 12:23pm On Jul 12, 2017
Obinna
Re: Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea by rheether(f): 12:24pm On Jul 12, 2017
For two years now this guy is still 16..
Re: Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea by Babtunz: 12:24pm On Jul 12, 2017
Some slay queens will be like...

Abeg Bleep me For a Second ... #Ur_Too_will_Bomb_nii
Re: Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea by biggerboyc(m): 12:24pm On Jul 12, 2017
He didn't even have any Nigerian name to prove his Nationality. Hun hun
Re: Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea by theophorus(m): 12:24pm On Jul 12, 2017
Look so much like them.
Re: Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea by Amirullaha(m): 12:25pm On Jul 12, 2017
He resemble them small...
Re: Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea by spectator2001: 12:25pm On Jul 12, 2017
This is the problem with the black race. You have got to be "something" for you to be seen as human but the typical Jeff or Steve out there is simply not bothered about any life goals beyond what he ordinarily would aspire for YET never disrespected by the society.

It is ok to be black and not aspire for any phenomenal success or outstanding feat, yes but the western world influenced the entire world to spill hatred against the dark skin wherever they are sighted. Such a shame.

We all can't be Rappers, Models, Basketballers, Athletes, Hip Hop Impresarios and all sorts of extraordinary aspirations which we ordinarily wouldn't care for. The white race conquered the psyche of the entire world already and there is little or nothing we can do about it. His story should not and can't be a template to inspire a black child who has opted for the simple life just like any average white child can. I love the simple life irrespective of what some of my folks perceive as achievement on my part... I sometimes ask myself the simple question "Are you really cut out for all these"?

Someday, I'd help the black child realize that it's ok to be human and not wanting much beyond the ordinary. YOU DON'T HAVE TO BE A MODEL TO BE COMFORTABLE IN YOUR OWN SKIN! Peace!

37 Likes 1 Share

Re: Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea by kenesh(f): 12:25pm On Jul 12, 2017
He is actually cute kiss though.

Re: Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea by takenadoh: 12:26pm On Jul 12, 2017
I always said the perfect human combo is black + White Asian

Perfect!
Re: Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea by Amirullaha(m): 12:26pm On Jul 12, 2017
Shortyy:
If it ain't Lin Min Ho, I'm not meeting. Team #LMH

You and Korean movie sha...
Re: Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea by zieassai(m): 12:27pm On Jul 12, 2017
I heard racism in that country is on another level o... how true is it

Re: Han Hyun-min, Nigerian-Korean Model Making Waves In South Korea by daremiarchs(m): 12:28pm On Jul 12, 2017
ConcNiggress56:
I am offering my virginity for anyone willing to give my brother a good job in lagos.
I don't want him to commit suicide. he's already contemplating that.

studied metallurgical and materials engineering.
good with Microsoft tools and other computer softwares.

willing to learn new things..
very humble and hardworking.

Wasilat Marshal, K1 Daughter Dies In Canada / "I Am In Love" Tboss Finally Accept Love, Step Out On A Date / Richard Escape Exposes Celebrity Debtors At Cool FM

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 23