Stats: 3,152,775 members, 7,817,188 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 08:00 AM

Awo The Best President Nigeria Never Had– Ojukwu - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Awo The Best President Nigeria Never Had– Ojukwu (1460 Views)

Why Has Nigeria Never Had An Inspirational President? / With Abiola As President, Nigeria Could Have Been Spared Ethno-religious Tension / Nigeria’s Problems Started With Awo’s Introduction Of Tribal Politics — Unongo (2) (3) (4)

Awo The Best President Nigeria Never Had– Ojukwu by Basic123: 7:58am On Oct 21, 2017
Awo The Best President Nigeria Never
Had– Ojukwu

“In political terms, he would be considered an
adversary of the Igbo given the intense rivalry between
him and Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe. As a leader of the modern
cast, he has left Nigeria standards which are indelible,
standards beside which future aspirations to public
leadership can be eternally measured. He was, for a
long time, the only Nigerian leader that enunciated
principles and played down personalities. He was a
brilliant political administrator and a most erudite
teacher. He not only identified himself wholly with the
aspirations of the Yoruba people of Nigeria but also he
was able to convince the Yoruba people of Nigeria that
he, only he epitomised the highest point of their
political aspirations and consciousness. He was loved,
he was feared but above all he belonged to the people
he professed to lead. At his death I had the singular
honour of proposing for him this epitaph that has
endured — ‘he was the best President that Nigeria
never had.’

Many have wondered what I meant by this, but I believe
the statement was clear. Nigeria would have benefited
from his presidency because of his innate presidential
qualities. Nigeria must continually regret that he never,
for many reasons, had the opportunity to serve at the
presidential level. Awo was a leader of great stature. He
was a leader who was eminently successful. That he
did not fulfill a presidential ambition cannot detract
from his leadership, and us, poor us, who were not his
people, must continue to regret that our own leaders
had not led us as he did his people or achieved for us
as he did for his people.

He perceived his job as leading his people and God
bless his soul. He did a lot for them. Whenever he saw
an opportunity for his people, he went for it. He had a
dream for the Yorubas and was steadfast in the pursuit
of that dream. He knew where he was going and he
took his people with him without deceit. That is why he
will remain immortal in the area of his influence.

https://www.pmnewsnigeria.com/2012/10/15/awo-the-best-president-nigeria-never-had-ojukwu/
Re: Awo The Best President Nigeria Never Had– Ojukwu by victorDanladi: 8:00am On Oct 21, 2017
igbo youth will surely disagree with their cowardly run away war general ojukwu and hate on their fellow yoruba Christian grin

Re: Awo The Best President Nigeria Never Had– Ojukwu by shukuokukobambi: 8:29am On Oct 21, 2017
Really??

This is the first time I'm seeing this ojukwu speech in full. I'd been treated to snippets all this time but I'm glad that at long last, I have the full picture.

It takes moral strength for ojukwu, given what transpired, to make these admissions about Awo. I particularly like this part

and us, poor us, who were not his

Re: Awo The Best President Nigeria Never Had– Ojukwu by Kyase(m): 8:33am On Oct 21, 2017
victorDanladi:
igbo youth will surely disagree with their cowardly run away war general ojukwu and hate on their fellow yoruba Christian grin
their own go be weeping will last for a day and maybe joy will come in the night

Re: Awo The Best President Nigeria Never Had– Ojukwu by desmond2pk: 8:54am On Oct 21, 2017
Awon, the man that brought tribalism into Nigeria politics after he Lost in his own back yard to zik an ibo man

Re: Awo The Best President Nigeria Never Had– Ojukwu by Basic123: 9:03am On Oct 21, 2017
desmond2pk:
Awon, the man that brought tribalism into Nigeria politics after he Lost in his own back yard to zik an ibo man
We've forseen the coming of people like you on the thread.As you can see,ikemba ojukwu had different opinion.

stop crying more than the bereaved cool

Re: Awo The Best President Nigeria Never Had– Ojukwu by unohbethel(m): 9:41am On Oct 21, 2017
Basic123:

We've forseen the coming of people like you on the thread.As you can see,ikemba ojukwu had different opinion.

stop crying more than the bereaved cool
guy but i wanna ask u: how was both of them buried..also u guys always deride ojukwu but because he has now said something good to una ears, its now ojukwu or nothing..pls is it not hypocrisy?? do u also want to tell me u dont know the many reasons why awolowo was neva a president??

Re: Awo The Best President Nigeria Never Had– Ojukwu by Isokowadoo: 9:46am On Oct 21, 2017
victorDanladi:

Little br.at go play wit yr mates

Re: Awo The Best President Nigeria Never Had– Ojukwu by Nobody: 9:53am On Oct 21, 2017
victorDanladi:

Na wa to you, this guy.

Re: Awo The Best President Nigeria Never Had– Ojukwu by Basic123: 9:59am On Oct 21, 2017
unohbethel:
guy but i wanna ask u: how was both of them buried..also u guys always deride ojukwu but because he has now said something good to una ears, its now ojukwu or nothing..pls is it not hypocrisy?? do u also want to tell me u dont know the many reasons why awolowo was neva a president??
Ojukwu still remain a runnaway cowardly general who wasted 3000 000 of his people and protected his own children.nothing like hypocrisy here.
They were both buried like human being.

Re: Awo The Best President Nigeria Never Had– Ojukwu by BudeYahooCom: 10:07am On Oct 21, 2017
Awo made himself the 'best president nigeria never had' by thinking he could cajole Igbos to vote him after helping to kill millions of their kind. What was he really smoking?

Ojukwu was actually mocking the doubly-faced ratak-drinking nincompoop. grin

May I never be the best husband my wife never had.

Re: Awo The Best President Nigeria Never Had– Ojukwu by aurenflani: 11:10am On Oct 21, 2017
shukuokukobambi:
Really??

This is the first time I'm seeing this ojukwu speech in full. I'd been treated to snippets all this time but I'm glad that at long last, I have the full picture.

It takes moral strength for ojukwu, given what transpired, to make these admissions about Awo. I particularly like this part

and us, poor us, who were not his

It's a quote from Ojukwu's book'Because I am involved ".
Re: Awo The Best President Nigeria Never Had– Ojukwu by shukuokukobambi: 12:30pm On Oct 21, 2017
aurenflani:

It's a quote from Ojukwu's book'Because I am involved ".

Its very interesting

Re: Awo The Best President Nigeria Never Had– Ojukwu by Basic123: 1:00pm On Oct 21, 2017
BudeYahooCom:
Awo made himself the 'best president nigeria never had' by thinking he could cajole Igbos to vote him after helping to kill millions of their kind. What was he really smoking?

Ojukwu was actually mocking the doubly-faced ratak-drinking nincompoop. grin

May I never be the best husband my wife never had.
Consolatory belief grin

NA SO yIGBO DECIDED TO KISS SHAGARI HAUSA FULANI ASS in 1979 and 1983grin

well,its not a new thing,Nigeria was born with nnamdi asikwe kissing hausa fulani ass just to become ordnary ceremonial presidentgrin

AND GENERAL COWARD OJUKWU DECIDED TO CONTEST AS ORDINARY SENATOR UNDER HAUSA FULANI PARTY OF NPN grin

A formal president of igbo best country that never survive and rising sun that get stucked in the hand of hausa fulani party.What a shame! grin

Ojukwu,your children have carried on your good work,na atiku abubakre ass them dey kiss now while fayose and FFK are cheering them up grin

R.I.P. My Good Friend. Capt.ernest Chidozie Nelson. / Photo: Every Single 2019 Northern Presidential Aspirants Is An Igbo Wannabe / Dino Melaye Kneels Down To Greet Pastor Oyedepo And His Wife (Photos)