Stats: 3,148,436 members, 7,801,013 topics. Date: Thursday, 18 April 2024 at 09:58 AM

How Can I Be Very Good As A Computer Science Student? - Programming - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Programming / How Can I Be Very Good As A Computer Science Student? (1590 Views)

Diary Of A Computer Science Student. / An Aspiring Computer Science Student Needs Help / Advice For A Computer Science Student (2) (3) (4)

How Can I Be Very Good As A Computer Science Student? by Doerstech(m): 9:23am On Mar 26, 2018
A lady just asked me this question earlier today and I'm bringing it here.

Please "How Can One Be A Good Computer Science Student in this part of the world?"

Re: How Can I Be Very Good As A Computer Science Student? by greatnaija01: 9:24am On Mar 26, 2018
read your books and visit lecturers often and give them whatever they ask for and you will graduate well with FLYING COLORS.....

But to be a good ICT professional is an entirely different thing.

Doerstech:

Please "How Can One Be A Good Computer Science Student in this part of the world?"

Re: How Can I Be Very Good As A Computer Science Student? by Doerstech(m): 9:29am On Mar 26, 2018
greatnaija01:
read your books and visit lecturers often and give them whatever they ask for and you will graduate well with FLYING COLORS.....

But then Computer science as it is in most Nigerian Public Universities do they really fulfill purpose?
Re: How Can I Be Very Good As A Computer Science Student? by Nobody: 9:55am On Mar 26, 2018
Computer Science is all about personal development- you pick a Programming language of your choice and study it in-depth. If you know a language very well you would be able to understand every other course offering in the department.

My advise is, pick a programming language e.g. c/c++, java or any other OOP language because most of these languages touch other courses in the department of C S.
Re: How Can I Be Very Good As A Computer Science Student? by Doerstech(m): 10:30am On Mar 26, 2018
dayo2me:
Computer Science is all about personal development- you pick a Programming language of your choice and study it in-depth. If you know a language very well you would be able to understand every other course offering in the department.

My advise is, pick a programming language e.g. c/c++, java or any other OOP language because most of these languages touch other courses in the department of C S.

Thanks bro for your detailed response
Re: How Can I Be Very Good As A Computer Science Student? by iamgenius(m): 10:38am On Mar 26, 2018
greatnaija01:

Correct
Re: How Can I Be Very Good As A Computer Science Student? by greatnaija01: 11:38am On Mar 26, 2018
what kind of question are u asking?

IS THERE ANY SYSTEM IN THIS ZOOO OF A COUNTRY that is fulfilling PURPOSE?

IS THERE ANY GOVERNMENT THAT EVER MADE NIGERIAN CITIZENS DISCOVER THEIR PURPOSE?

Bros PURPOSE is not in NIGERIA.... it is in the INDIVIDUAL who has a vision.... so if there is no vision, then no need going to university to study anything... cos its all a failed system.

Doerstech:

But then Computer science as it is in most Nigerian Public Universities do they really fulfill purpose?
Re: How Can I Be Very Good As A Computer Science Student? by Doerstech(m): 11:55am On Mar 26, 2018
greatnaija01:
what kind of question are u asking?

IS THERE ANY SYSTEM IN THIS ZOOO OF A COUNTRY that is fulfilling PURPOSE?

IS THERE ANY GOVERNMENT THAT EVER MADE NIGERIAN CITIZENS DISCOVER THEIR PURPOSE?

Bros PURPOSE is not in NIGERIA.... it is in the INDIVIDUAL who has a vision.... so if there is no vision, then no need going to university to study anything... cos its all a failed system.

I get your point bro.....But regardless someone is responsible is setting and approving the Computer course for Nigeria higher institutions....in doing so, i expected at least things that are relevant to the needs of the nation/the students and in tune with modern reality/practices to be part of benchmarks for these ICT driven courses
Re: How Can I Be Very Good As A Computer Science Student? by greatnaija01: 8:09pm On Mar 26, 2018
the persons RESPONSIBLE do not CARE about the youths and the future of ICT in Nigeria....

WAKE UP AND KNOW THE COUNTRY YOU ARE IN. Its kill or be killed. The moment u assume that someone out there is as responsible or kind-hearted like you... then you set yourself up for heart break and hurts.... ICT is NOT Computer Science. and you may never see a LAPTOP or PC till your 300 level.

Am shocked at your question tho... cause if the system of education was in order then NOLLYWOOD stars would be graduates from Art Faculties and Owners of Bank would have been graduates of BANKING and FINANCE...

I know you know IT IS NOT SO! So explain to me how someone who GOT the job through a twisted "CONNECTION" and without proper papers or degrees would CARE about the curriculum in the PROSPECTUS for Computer Science. biko

Doerstech:

I get your point bro.....But regardless someone is responsible is setting and approving the Computer course for Nigeria higher institutions....in doing so, i expected at least things that are relevant to the needs of the nation/the students and in tune with modern reality/practices to be part of benchmarks for these ICT driven courses
Re: How Can I Be Very Good As A Computer Science Student? by Nobody: 11:17pm On Mar 26, 2018
Doerstech:

you fulfil your purpose yourself for now.. By being a self taught programmer

i doubt Nigerian university will be able to bring up fulfilment of purpose in the next 10 years...
Re: How Can I Be Very Good As A Computer Science Student? by raymod170(m): 2:54am On Mar 27, 2018
To be a computer science student you should do lots of practice of programming language, Boolean Algebra, Data Representation, and other topics of your computer science syllabus.

Go and study the syllabus of other good schools and work with that cos I doubt if public universities uses latest syllabus esp when it comes to latest trends in ICT world
Re: How Can I Be Very Good As A Computer Science Student? by Doerstech(m): 6:19am On Mar 27, 2018
chinedubrazil:

you fulfil your purpose yourself for now.. By being a self taught programmer

i doubt Nigerian university will be able to bring up fulfilment of purpose in the next 10 years...

Bro's i understand but let not be so pessimist about these things.....so much innovations around and so many opportunities abound now for tech guys especially the female gender to learn and be in tune with their counterparts abroad. One day hopefully these innovations will catch up with our public Universities.....I don't know much about the private ones, but hopefully the public ones will lead the way on this.
Re: How Can I Be Very Good As A Computer Science Student? by Doerstech(m): 6:24am On Mar 27, 2018
raymod170:
To be a computer science student you should do lots of practice of programming language, Boolean Algebra, Data Representation, and other topics of your computer science syllabus.

Go and study the syllabus of other good schools and work with that cos I doubt if public universities uses latest syllabus esp when it comes to latest trends in ICT world

This is good bro......good one bro
Re: How Can I Be Very Good As A Computer Science Student? by Nobody: 9:07am On Mar 27, 2018
Doerstech:

Bro's i understand but let not be so pessimist about these things.....so much innovations around and so many opportunities abound now for tech guys especially the female gender to learn and be in tune with their counterparts abroad. One day hopefully these innovations will catch up with our public Universities.....I don't know much about the private ones, but hopefully the public ones will lead the way on this.

yea, untill the management of the public universities is inorder..

That is all...
Re: How Can I Be Very Good As A Computer Science Student? by soleexx(m): 9:12am On Mar 27, 2018
Its simple....forget abt wot they taught u in skol...
just get a perfect laptop and learn one useful programming course like java or ruby... take ur time to learn ...nd u will be resourceful for your life...
Re: How Can I Be Very Good As A Computer Science Student? by Doerstech(m): 9:57am On Mar 27, 2018
chinedubrazil:

yea, untill the management of the public universities is inorder..

That is all...

Thanks Bro
Re: How Can I Be Very Good As A Computer Science Student? by kingvicky(m): 10:55am On Mar 27, 2018
Doerstech:

The first step to mastering and perfection is of course realizing that there is practically a whole lot to learn. Scour the web for useful materials and devote time to areas intrinsic to computer science as divergence might not yield entirely positive results but take to mind that a modicum of knowledge is reasonable as regards other aspects. If you want to develop business applications, then get a bit of knowledge on business intrinsic aspects. Then logic is a key thing you will need, spend more time solving mathematics as it sharpens your reasoning abilities. then PDFs and video tutorials would be useful and of course intense devotion is needed.
Make sure you know what aspect you wanna major on; be it artificial intelligence, software engineering and development e.t.c.
Re: How Can I Be Very Good As A Computer Science Student? by Doerstech(m): 11:11am On Mar 27, 2018
kingvicky:

The first step to mastering and perfection is of course realizing that there is practically a whole lot to learn. Scour the web for useful materials and devote time to areas intrinsic to computer science as divergence might not yield entirely positive results but take to mind that a modicum of knowledge is reasonable as regards other aspects. If you want to develop business applications, then get a bit of knowledge on business intrinsic aspects. Then logic is a key thing you will need, spend more time solving mathematics as it sharpens your reasoning abilities. then PDFs and video tutorials would be useful and of course intense devotion is needed.
Make sure you know what aspect you wanna major on; be it artificial intelligence, software engineering and development e.t.c.

Solid points thanks
Re: How Can I Be Very Good As A Computer Science Student? by raymod170(m): 11:31am On Mar 27, 2018
take your time it's a gradual process which you should also note your progress going forward

Remember find a niche am work on been a professional in that area

Best regards
Re: How Can I Be Very Good As A Computer Science Student? by kingvicky(m): 9:18am On Mar 28, 2018
Doerstech:

Solid points thanks
You're welcome mate!

Top Dev's Share Your Programming Journey / Free Python Programming Language Video Tutorial. For Beginer To Pro / Benefits Of Php Programming And Development

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 85