What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? - Politics - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Nairaland General › Politics › What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? (1059 Views)
| What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? by debaj10(op): 10:37am On Jun 18, 2018*. Modified: 11:22am On Jun 18, 2018 |
Americans developed america. men built their homes, fought off bandits, grew their crops, raised cattle, had families and prospered. but also died in the thousands each year- from disease, snake bites, Indians, bandits, accidents, weather… because they learnt endurance, they refused to allow politicians have their way ; they had to be part of the process. but to get there, many, many more died needless deaths. then came the modern 'freedom fighters'- Rosa parks. martin Luther, Malcolm x; and hundreds of thousands of members to their cause. in today's world, america has more activism than the entire African continent. who can ask the south Africans what happened to aluta continua? what of the Arab spring in all those north African nations? here, we look for a messiah to win matches and solve problems on our streets. the irony? our ancestors lived in the same way those american pioneers did. so what went wrong? and more importantly- what will you and I do about it? because clearly, everything from the ruling class has failed. is it time for the common man to rise up to the challenge? what will you sacrifice for the next 2/5/9 years, to get a great nation? what will you give up for 24/7 power, running tap water, pipeborne gas, tarred roads, free, quality healthcare, smooth roads and debris-free, covered drains? let me put it another way: what kind of investment are you willing to make to have a truly great nation? international football? dstv? time? money? energy? betting? nairaland? you choose. |
| Re: What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? by xreal: 10:44am On Jun 18, 2018*. Modified: 12:09pm On Jun 18, 2018 |
I didn't read the contents, but can sacrifice my Naija citizenship for a developed nation. Modified debaj10:Oh OK. I just read through and, Yes, this topic fits-in, better than the former. |
| Re: What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? by Nobody: 10:50am On Jun 18, 2018 |
Just one thing you got wrong. Slavery, not Americans, and other similar evils developed America. Besides, America is not our mate. It wouldn't be fair to compare a 242 years old country with one that is still budding. And yes, Nigeria is still budding |
| Re: What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? by debaj10(op): 11:20am On Jun 18, 2018 |
Tadeknkeepcalm:Sorry, you got it wrong. the true development of infrastructure was by immigrants, mainly from China and Ireland. it's why there's a Chinatown in most major cities- they built the transnational railway lines. most Irish immigrants builts the railroads, skyscrapers and bridges of the east, especially new york. black slaves belonged to households. they helped farmers become rich, especially in the south and Midwest. lastly, look at our mates we got independence with and see how hollow that excuse is... |
| Re: What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? by debaj10(op): 11:21am On Jun 18, 2018 |
xreal:thanks for the heads up. I'll modify the topic. ![]() |
| Re: What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? by Nobody: 12:59pm On Jun 18, 2018*. Modified: 10:41pm On Jun 18, 2018 |
debaj10:Lol. All that wealth to fund those were from what? What you're saying is relatively recent. Who worked the cotton plantations? Who built tirelessly? America owes slavery what it is today. Maybe you should read up about slavery. NO LONG EXISTING SOVEREIGN SHOULD BE COMPARED WITH NIGERIA. Not no country should be compared to Nigeria. So you shouldn't be telling me that but yourself. |
| Re: What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? by debaj10(op): 4:59pm On Jun 18, 2018 |
Tadeknkeepcalm:sir, we gained independence with about 5 other nations in 1960. they've all left us behind because they shared a common goal and sacrificed towards that end. that's the purpose of this thread. whether you wish to drag issues about America's history is secondary to the question: what would you willingly sacrifice and invest to be a great nation? |
| Re: What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? by dnawah(m): 5:13pm On Jun 18, 2018 |
nothing o!because anything i give In will be stolen,it won't even be on record that it was give. |
| Re: What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? by NothingDoMe: 5:15pm On Jun 18, 2018 |
Tadeknkeepcalm:The comparison is justified because maturity is not in how old you are. Nigeria does not have the time to be 242 years old before she can be fully matured. By that time her resources would most likely no longer be available. |
| Re: What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? by Nobody: 10:40pm On Jun 18, 2018 |
debaj10:America is the keyword |
| Re: What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? by Nobody: 10:40pm On Jun 18, 2018 |
NothingDoMe:America is the keyword |
| Re: What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? by MIKOLOWISKA: 7:03am On Jun 19, 2018 |
Tadeknkeepcalm:Korea Singapore Malaysia nko |
| Re: What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? by AM488: 8:21am On Jun 19, 2018 |
Tadeknkeepcalm:Actually, only 8% of Americans owned slaves in America before the Civil War, based on the 1860 US Census: http://www.civil-war.net/census.asp?census=Total |
| Re: What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? by mpianya39(m): 9:23am On Jun 19, 2018 |
Zoogerian citizens will always beg biafrans not to leave them behind ![]() The Zoo must fall so that biafra will come ![]()
| Re: What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? by Nobody: 9:57am On Jun 19, 2018 |
MIKOLOWISKA:America is the keyword |
| Re: What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? by Nobody: 10:10am On Jun 19, 2018 |
AM488:Nope, you're getting it wrong. At that period, slavery was already ending, and some black people were getting freedom already. What you should actually look at is the 17th to 18th century. 1619 to 1863. Close to a quarter of a millineum years. The 6-7 million slaves, that worked mainly on the tobacco, rice and indigo plantations of the southern coast that helped build the new nation into an economic powerhouse, is no digit to sneeze at. |
| Re: What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? by debaj10(op): 11:03am On Jun 19, 2018 |
Tadeknkeepcalm:yes. and the way their democracy evolved had little to do with time, much more to do with the players. |
| Re: What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? by Nobody: 11:24am On Jun 19, 2018 |
debaj10:The age is a secondary point. |
| Re: What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? by lastempero: 12:37pm On Jun 19, 2018 |
I will sacrifice our politicians. |
| Re: What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? by meccuno: 12:48pm On Jun 19, 2018 |
if you have a deep understanding of Nigeria you would definitely know that it was designed to fail from the beginning. i think we should all know that no one is patriotic to this country unless there is an avenue were he or she benefits from. you cannot be a patriot when all the people do is to grab power and sideline the others like as if they are a conquered territory. we are just wasting our time. Nigeria is just on a time that is running out. Nations are created by the people not by outsiders......if you still believe in this Nigeria then i will only be sorry for you. |
| Re: What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? by theDEVILisHERE: 3:38pm On Jun 19, 2018 |
debaj10:How can anyone in his or her right senses sacrifice anything to remain a British slave in the Nigga area colony?.... .......too many stupid black people |
| Re: What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? by Reelectbuhari: 3:56pm On Jun 19, 2018 |
I won't give up anything
the country is gone already. |
| Re: What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? by JONNYSPUTE(m): 3:58pm On Jun 19, 2018*. Modified: 4:18pm On Jun 19, 2018 |
I will sacrifice my time and energy watching this corrupt thief's languishing in jail. Op,what is there for us to sacrifice again when they have looted and relooted everything sacrificial? For one to make a sacrifice, there must be zeal,hope and prospect. But lol,Nija issa joke. |
| Re: What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? by dasparrow: 4:04pm On Jun 19, 2018 |
debaj10:Enslaved black folks built the underground railroad and much more. You don't know much about black American history so stick to what you know. |
| Re: What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? by dasparrow: 4:08pm On Jun 19, 2018 |
And I am not sacrificing anything for Nigeria. A country whose leaders use money meant for our overall development to buy citizenship by investment for other countries because they don't believe in Nigeria anyway. |
| Re: What Will You Sacrifice/Give Up To Have A Developed Nigeria? by Donald95(m): 5:44pm On Jun 27, 2018 |
I will sacrifice Buhari |
Would You Sacrifice Economy Because Of Mass Migration? • How Religion Has Under Developed Nigeria • The Top 10 Most Developed Countries In Africa 2018 • 2 • 3 • 4
My Defection Not Because Of 2019 Election Bukola Saraki Brag • Ex-Nigerian Commissioner Visits Pope Francis In Rome, Kisses His Hand. Photos • IPOB Women: Lawyer To Slam 10 Billion Naira Suit Against Police