Stats: 3,148,438 members, 7,801,043 topics. Date: Thursday, 18 April 2024 at 10:14 AM

Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant - Travel (394) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant (1975556 Views)

Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 / Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant / Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (391) (392) (393) (394) (395) (396) (397) ... (505) (Go Down)

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Ehiobe: 11:07am On Oct 04, 2018
Any geologist in the house found geology job in canada.. Pls show me way!
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Elle78: 11:10am On Oct 04, 2018
Good day house, please who was able to successfully cargo goods to Ottawa. My sister was informed at mma that they only cargo to Calgary and Toronto. Please would appreciate any link or contact.

Thanks.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Fortissimo502: 2:37pm On Oct 04, 2018
ceemac:

Oga give me control jare make I help flex your general labour money small.. Lol... I dey KWC region make we dey plan your grand entry down

Lol correct.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by damilola1978: 3:13pm On Oct 04, 2018
I NEED HELP, MY PASSPORT PHOTO FOR pr card WAS REJECTED AND I AM BACK TO NIGERIA, PLEASE WHERE CAN I SNAP ACCORDING TO STANDARD IN LAGOS,

P.S: I SNAPPED THE INITIAL ONE IN STUDIO 24 LEKKI
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by abbyode(m): 3:29pm On Oct 04, 2018
IykeD:
Good day house, who has a genuine contact of an FRSC official that can help process the driving records extract. Kindly avail me with the info please.
I need this as well. Someone should p[lease help out. Thanks.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by PefHouse: 4:04pm On Oct 04, 2018
Call Emmanuel 0803 929 4851

He did this for me, send him a mail but you will need to be patient, as he hardly pics calls, send him a mail with your licence and request.

It was totally free.

12 Likes 12 Shares

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Saintp(m): 4:18pm On Oct 04, 2018
damilola1978:
I NEED HELP, MY PASSPORT PHOTO FOR pr card WAS REJECTED AND I AM BACK TO NIGERIA, PLEASE WHERE CAN I SNAP ACCORDING TO STANDARD IN LAGOS,

Please how did you receive the message?Did they send you an email for it and how many days post landing did you get the message?no vex for this my too much questions
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Nozzle(m): 6:31pm On Oct 04, 2018
damilola1978:

Studio 24 Allen avenue (nikon camera building) ikeja,

That's where i snapped with my family.

3 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by amidee(f): 7:06pm On Oct 04, 2018
damilola1978:

it
You can snap it there again. It was probably old, tha was why it was rejected.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by IykeD(m): 9:19pm On Oct 04, 2018
PefHouse:

He did this for me, send him a mail but you will need to be patient, as he hardly pics calls, send him a mail with your licence and request.

It was totally free.

Thanks bruv. Do you have his email address?
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by IykeD(m): 9:21pm On Oct 04, 2018
amidee:
it
You can snap it there again. It was probably old, tha was why it was rejected.

You are right. People, once your passport is 4-5months old before landing (soft or hard), do yourself a favour by snapping another PR passport and go along with it. This is particularly important for soft landers.

5 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by efueh: 9:29pm On Oct 04, 2018
@Newmum, Biko I sent a Pm, kindly oblige me as I need your assistance.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Boss13: 11:31pm On Oct 04, 2018
I was thinking this thread was about life in canada and experiences as a migrant in canada. However, I can see it has been convert to EE and immigrating to canada when a thread already exist for such matters

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by abbyode(m): 1:03am On Oct 05, 2018
PefHouse:

It was totally free.
Thanks, I have contacted him but he wants to know who referred me.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by salford1: 1:26am On Oct 05, 2018
Life in Saskatoon.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Fusion23: 2:22am On Oct 05, 2018
jelmusboy:
Hello people, need your advice.

Is it advisable to go to Driving school when I am planning to land in Canada by end of November by God's grace? Because I don't see the possibility of getting a Driver's license before leaving Nigeria.

Kindly tell me the pros and cons of taking a month driving lesson in Nigeria. Don't want to waste my shikini money that I can invest on winter jackets

Can u drive already? if not please do it in naija its about 40-45$ per hour here if u cant driver at all u might need 10-20 hours so do the maths...if u can drive u just need like 2 hours to training to pass the driving test.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by joo2018: 6:15am On Oct 05, 2018
Funny cheesy grin cheesy
salford1:
Life in Saskatoon.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by ceemac: 6:43am On Oct 05, 2018
tintedniggz:

Hi!
For job opportunities, I will use this analogy, Missi is like "Lagos Island" while Brampton is "Lagos mainland". You can deduce that right smiley
For accommodation, I live in Brampton and I can tell you that it's really peaceful.
For Transit system, Brampton and MIssi kinda run a joint transit which kinda makes it so easy.
Hope that helps!

I beg to differ Sir/Ma on the "kinda joint Transit", Mississauga uses the Mi way and Brampton uses ZUM, If only you are talking about the provincial Go Transit ( to include bus and train) that navigates some cities in the province...

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Expectantbee: 7:58am On Oct 05, 2018
ceemac:

I beg to differ Sir/Ma on the "kinda joint Transit", Mississauga uses the Mi way and Brampton uses ZUM, If only you are talking about the provincial Go Transit ( to include bus and train) that navigates some cities in the province...

Hello sir/ma,
Please from your own POV, Which of the two cities has a better transit system? Mississauga or Brampton? And any other useful pointers you can give me will be much appreciated. Thanks
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Felicia001: 8:14am On Oct 05, 2018
This thread will be for professional and experience advice and also for those in my place. Please matured advice only no kid-ins.

Myself and my fiance graduated 5yrs ago, I have a B.Eng Petroleum and Gas while she has a BSc. Accounting. I have about 2yrs experience working with Huawei Telecommunications as a site maintenance engr- Airtel Tel while my fiance has about 1yr work exp with a micro finance bank. Both of us not working currently but into farming full time. To God be the glory we are expecting a baby, We hope to take our 7yrs relationship into a bigger home as soon as our baby arrives and most importantly availability of finance.

Being a man of many ambition @36 with limited opportunities in Nigeria my hope is gradually dwindling so I came up with the decision to relocate with my fiance.

So this is where I need advice, assist and help on best,cheapest and the fastest means we can immigrate out of Nigeria to have a better life.

What kind/class of visa app will suit our profile?
Can I carry out the visa processing myself because I rlly don't have much money these processing guys are charging?
How much budget will be needed from start to finish for a family of 3?(2adults+1infant)
My intention immigrating is mainly to go into faming abroad but I will have to work first after arriving to save up before that, so, which country among Canada, USA or Australia and best state/province will fit into this plan in mind?

Please kind advice is needed. Thanks and God bless us all.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by anaxagoras: 9:55am On Oct 05, 2018
Good morning peeps,

My FRSC letter has been issued with driving history of 8 months.
What are the implications of this? What level of driver's license can I get in Ontario with 8 months driving history.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by vascey(m): 11:14am On Oct 05, 2018
anaxagoras:
Good morning peeps,

What are the implications of this? What level of driver's license can I get in Ontario with 8 months driving history.

Can you share your contact?
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by IykeD(m): 12:26pm On Oct 05, 2018
anaxagoras:
Good morning peeps,

Kindly share your contact pls.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Boss13: 1:17pm On Oct 05, 2018
anaxagoras:
Good morning peeps,

You do not have up to a year driving experience and will need to enter the Graduated Driving Licence system - that’s - starting from G1. However, you have three choices

- Go for G1 immediately and then G2 after 8 months
- Go for G1 immediately and then reapply for G2 after your letter clocks 12 months (in 4 months time)
- Wait till after 4 months before entering the driving licence system

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Boss13: 1:19pm On Oct 05, 2018
Expectantbee:

Hello sir/ma,
Please from your own POV, Which of the two cities has a better transit system? Mississauga or Brampton? And any other useful pointers you can give me will be much appreciated. Thanks

Both bus transits are okay. However, it appears that the GO train (a regional transport system) have more travel time for Mississauga than Brampton.

Please note - Brampton and Mississauga are under Peel Region.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Newmum0615: 2:56pm On Oct 05, 2018
My wallet containing my driver's license was stolen last week. See me see trouble, when I was happy that I would get my FRSC letter before I leave with a license having at least 2 years driving history. date of 1st issue was in 2011 though. I am applying for another one next week, I hope the new one will still be accepted with the new issue date of 2018? cry
Boss13:

You do not have up to a year driving experience and will need to enter the Graduated Driving Licence system - that’s - starting from G1. However, you have three choices

- Go for G1 immediately and then reapply for G2 after your letter clocks 12 months (in 4 months time)
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by anaxagoras: 3:15pm On Oct 05, 2018
+2348033795031 sule

3 Likes 7 Shares

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by anaxagoras: 3:17pm On Oct 05, 2018
[quote author=IykeD post=71804443]

Sule +2348033795031

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by anaxagoras: 3:21pm On Oct 05, 2018
Boss13:

Thank you very much.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Boss13: 3:59pm On Oct 05, 2018
Felicia001:
This thread will be for professional and experience advice and also for those in my place. Please matured advice only no kid-ins.

Myself and my fiance graduated 5yrs ago, I have a B.Eng Petroleum and Gas while she has a BSc. Accounting. I have about 2yrs experience working with Huawei Telecommunications as a site maintenance engr- Airtel Tel while my fiance has about 1yr work exp with a micro finance bank. Both of us not working currently but into farming full time. To God be the glory we are expecting a baby, We hope to take our 7yrs relationship into a bigger home as soon as our baby arrives and most importantly availability of finance.

Being a man of many ambition @36 with limited opportunities in Nigeria my hope is gradually dwindling so I came up with the decision to relocate with my fiance.

So this is where I need advice, assist and help on best,cheapest and the fastest means we can immigrate out of Nigeria to have a better life.

What kind/class of visa app will suit our profile?
Can I carry out the visa processing myself because I rlly don't have much money these processing guys are charging?
How much budget will be needed from start to finish for a family of 3?(2adults+1infant)
My intention immigrating is mainly to go into faming abroad but I will have to work first after arriving to save up before that, so, which country among Canada, USA or Australia and best state/province will fit into this plan in mind?

Please kind advice is needed. Thanks and God bless us all.

You are into farming - that’s a lot opportunities. Are you aware that there was food scarcity in Nigeria at one point. Maybe you are not offering the right food products, which you need to consider. When there are financial difficulties, the easiest to blame is the country. However, if you look deep, Nigeria has a lot of business and economic opportunities especially in the Agricultural sector.

Relocating is not an easy way out. Both you and your combined have limited job experience and have left the Corporate world for a while. Even if you migrate, you need some updating to do and that’s money.

Look - I’m not trying to discourage you. Just want you to have a rethink before you enter into an ocean of uncertainty and fear.

Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Expectantbee: 4:07pm On Oct 05, 2018
Boss13:

Both bus transits are okay. However, it appears that the GO train (a regional transport system) have more travel time for Mississauga than Brampton.

Please note - Brampton and Mississauga are under Peel Region.

Noted! Thanks a lot...decisions!decisions!. I’ll sha settle somewhere last last.
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by coolhayor: 6:07pm On Oct 05, 2018
@tojued @drcynthia

I posted majority of this about 2 months ago, I am just adding a little more;

I live in Winnipeg and it is a decent city. I have been here for a few months so my info may not be absolute.

There are jobs everywhere in Canada and including Manitoba. A search on indeed, workopolis or LinkedIn will give u a good view once u input d city and career area of choice. Although I will say for every 1 job in Manitoba and all the other provinces u have 9-10 in Ontario, 5-6 in Alberta & Quebec, 4-5 in BC. I am saying this from my job search experience but I stand to b corrected. Manitoba and Nova Scotia have more jobs than New Brunswick and slightly more than Saskatchewan.

Life is relatively cheap in Winnipeg compared to most Canadian cities especially housing except for Montreal and Halifax. Government also gives a bit of support to families and if u want u also have food banks and other free stuffs in some places across the city.

There a lot of Nigerians in Manitoba. In my opinion 70-80% of them are into healthcare support jobs, abt 7-10% of them are into customer service jobs, security or other survival jobs, the remaining percentage u find in white collar I believe. Based on this most Nigerians u meet immediately preach the majority jobs to u. I do not blame any1, to each his/her own. To get the healthcare jobs u only need some basic certificates u can get upon payment, no exams.

For the white collar jobs, all u need is do ur search well, highlight ur soft skills and experience, be ready to weather d storms if necessary, finally let God have His way.

1 reason why a lot of people also take some of this survival jobs here in my opinion is discrimination. I may be wrong but when u work in the survival jobs the culture is more immigrant friendly as u have lots of immigrants working with u and it is easier to blend in compared to a much more Canadian environment which is more common in white collars where u have to prove urself over & over ,u are also more careful & uptight (U can imagine this by thinking of working with only white people for 100days without seeing more than 2-3 blacks come your way during work & hearing no other language than English).

With determination, focus and sharpening ur skills u will get white collar and in no time get used to the Canadian culture if u so desire and willing to pay the price.

Winnipeg is quite hot in the summer and extremely cold in Winter, the farther north u go the more extreme the temperature especially the cold.

Housing range is $850-1300 for 1-2 bedroom apt.
Monthly Bus pass is $100 for unlimited bus ride across Winnipeg.
Cost of grocery for a family of 4 is between $250 -400.
Car insurance $105- 180 depending on the car
Gas for car $50-100 depending on ur commute
Parking-$50
Phone -$50
Internet- $60
Daycare- $400- 500/ month

My family doctor is a nice Nigerian who has been here for a while.

As @headstone mentioned a lot of Naijas live around Pembina/ University of Manitoba so also around St Mary/St Vital/ Waverly/Downtown. U have rarely hear of crime in all these areas I mentioned except for downtown.

Churches are a way of connecting back to your Nigerian roots in Winnipeg if u so wish, also notes that it comes with the Nigerian way of doing things.

Winnipeg is also gradually waking up to its city status in my opinion as well

24 Likes 12 Shares

(1) (2) (3) ... (391) (392) (393) (394) (395) (396) (397) ... (505)

Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 / Canada Visit/tourist Visa Discussion. / Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program Connect Here

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 58