Stats: 3,150,010 members, 7,806,939 topics. Date: Wednesday, 24 April 2024 at 07:22 AM

Solomon Was Not Wise. - Religion - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / Solomon Was Not Wise. (2128 Views)

Those That Compare Themselves With Themselves Are Not Wise. 2ndcorinthians10vs12 / What People Don't Know About The Secret And Wisdom Of King Solomon / Why Did Wise King Solomon Marry 700 Wives?(photo) (2) (3) (4)

Solomon Was Not Wise. by alfaman3: 1:01pm On Dec 22, 2018
Religion really is bad.
I grew up believeing that this foolish monarch was the epitome of wisdom because of what my parents and priests told me.

I have now studied the life of Solomon and realised that he was actually very foolish. And he knew it.

A wise man does not ask for wisdom. Someone who can see does not ask for sight.

If Solomon was wise, there are lots of other things he could have asked of someone who claimed to be omnipotent. Instead he asked for the thing he lacked most: wisdom.

Even god took pity on him and his foolishness and decided to give him other things he should have asked for.

But the olodo wasted everything his father built. He was chasing skirts up and down, wasting money building useless castles, writing nonsense.

The most significant thing he did was to order a living baby to be cut in half! Alive!

To believe that this olodo king was presented as a role model to me and people are still using him as epitome of wisdom is very sad for humanity.
Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by Slynation(m): 1:06pm On Dec 22, 2018
Now judge urself.... Do u have sense??

Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by Nobody: 1:09pm On Dec 22, 2018
alfaman3:
Religion really is bad.
I grew up believeing that this foolish monarch was the epitome of wisdom because of what my parents and priests told me.

I have now studied the life of Solomon and realised that he was actually very foolish. And he knew it.

If Solomon was wise, there are lots of other things he could have asked of someone who claimed to be omnipotent. Instead he asked for the thing he lacked most: wisdom.

Even god took pity on him and his foolishness and decided to give him other things he should have asked for.

But the olodo wasted everything his father built. He was chasing skirts up and down, wasting money building useless castles, writing nonsense.

The most significant thing he did was to order a living baby to be cut in half! Alive!

To believe that this olodo king was presented as a role model to me and people are still using him as epitome of wisdom is very sad for humanity.
if you are a Christian your role model should be Jesus and other faithful Apostles

Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by luvmijeje(f): 1:16pm On Dec 22, 2018
In all honesty, the wisest man in the Bible is Joseph. I'm not impress by others. He was the only one that I felt never abuses the name of God. He never use God's name to force people to do his will.

Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by profstar(m): 1:22pm On Dec 22, 2018
alfaman3:

If Solomon was wise, there are lots of other things he could have asked of someone who claimed to be omnipotent. Instead he asked for the thing he lacked most: wisdom...

This part tells of your own intellectual status too man:

1. He wasn't "wise" before asking for wisdom, he became "wise" after the request

Judging or rating his "wisdom" should be only his post-request action, Mr Judge

2. Not knowing your problem, is worst than having the problem
Solomon at pre-request is obviously not even living in self-pretence

3. Wisdom is one of the greatest things a man can have, and you can't have it in sufficient, except you live in self-denial
So it is the greatest thing a man can request for (after good health)

I'm not a fan of how Solomon lived his life but that doesn't mean that he made the wrong "request", but how he choose to " use" it, you can crucify him for that.

Do you even know what is achievable with wisdom? Forget how Solomon channelled his own,

He could have conquered the world,
Develop science to modern day level during that time
Probably even have been the first man to step on moon, for real!

Creativity, intelligence, understanding, etc all are housed in "ultimate wisdom" like the one Solomon is said to have gotten.

Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by Blakjewelry(m): 1:25pm On Dec 22, 2018
haba I thought you want to talk about how the guy live, nawao
Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by MrPresident1: 2:00pm On Dec 22, 2018
alfaman3:
Religion really is bad.

Seltzer!!! cheesy
Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by alfaman3: 2:26pm On Dec 22, 2018
profstar:

This part tells of your own intellectual status too man:

1. He wasn't "wise" before asking for wisdom, he became "wise" after the request

Judging or rating his "wisdom" should be only his post-request action, Mr Judge

2. Not knowing your problem, is worst than having the problem
Solomon at pre-request is obviously not even living in self-pretence

3. Wisdom is one of the greatest things a man can have, and you can't have it in sufficient, except you live in self-denial
So it is the greatest thing a man can request for (after good health)

I'm not a fan of how Solomon lived his life but that doesn't mean that he made the wrong "request", but how he choose to " use" it, you can crucify him for that.

Do you even know what is achievable with wisdom? Forget how Solomon channelled his own,

He could have conquered the world,
Develop science to modern day level during that time
Probably even have been the first man to step on moon, for real!

Creativity, intelligence, understanding, etc all are housed in "ultimate wisdom" like the one Solomon is said to have gotten.

Nonsense.

You don't even know what wisdom is.

Take the example of sight that I gave. If a blind man asks for sight, you give him sight and he still can't see, where is the error?! You can't blame him for not using his "sight" well. He is still blind.

Solomon was an olodo before asking for wisdom. Solomon was an olodo after asking for wisdom.
Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by alfaman3: 2:28pm On Dec 22, 2018
MrPresident1:

Seltzer!!! cheesy

That's me. No mod can ban alfa forever. They have tried. I just resurrected this moniker that I created and abandoned in 2013. I have loads of monikers in waiting.

God is in trouble.
Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by alfaman3: 2:29pm On Dec 22, 2018
Blakjewelry:
haba I thought you want to talk about how the guy live, nawao

sometimes it is better not to speak than type nonsense.
Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by alfaman3: 2:30pm On Dec 22, 2018
Tosinex:
if you are a Christian your role model should be Jesus and other faithful Apostles

Satan is my role model.
Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by enilove(m): 2:34pm On Dec 22, 2018
alfaman3:
Religion really is bad.

You are the real Olodo , because you don't know the power of wisdom .

Solomon , via wisdom , was able to rule Israel without fighting a single war.
Solomon , via wisdom ,was the richest man that ever lived.

The only two things you need to rule a nation successfully , are God's guidance and wisdom.

He ruled Israel successfully , which showed he was wise.

1 Kings 4:24-25,34 KJV
For he had dominion over all the region on this side the river, from Tiphsah even to Azzah, over all the kings on this side the river: and he had peace on all sides round about him.
[25] And Judah and Israel dwelt safely, every man under his vine and under his fig tree, from Dan even to Beer-sheba, all the days of Solomon.
[34] And there came of all people to hear the wisdom of Solomon, from all kings of the earth, which had heard of his wisdom.

Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by Blakjewelry(m): 3:33pm On Dec 22, 2018
alfaman3:

sometimes it is better not to speak than type nonsense.
so say the guy that is typing a question and answer that is not suppose to come out a toddler
Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by alfaman3: 3:35pm On Dec 22, 2018
enilove:

The only two things you need to rule a nation successfully , are God's guidance and wisdom.

For he had dominion over all the region on this side the river, from Tiphsah even to Azzah, over all the kings on this side the river: and he had peace on all sides round about him.
[25] And Judah and Israel dwelt safely, every man under his vine and under his fig tree, from Dan even to Beer-sheba, all the days of Solomon.
[34] And there came of all people to hear the wisdom of Solomon, from all kings of the earth, which had heard of his wisdom.

Hahaha! They keep repeating the same thing to sheeple.
Let me school you a bit.

When Solomon became king, there was already peace between Isreal and its neighbours. Peace negociated by his father David. The era of war was during Saul's reign and parts of David's reign.

Solomon was a pampered ursurper who became King instead of Adonijah, the first son of David.

He had nothing. He used the wealth acquired by his father to expand his army. Army that had nobody to fight as his dad already conquered all their neighbours. He expelled all former generals and appointed his friends into power. He married women up and down.

He was indeed very foolish.

Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by alfaman3: 3:39pm On Dec 22, 2018
1 Kings 4:33

33 Also he spoke of trees, from the cedar tree of Lebanon even to the hyssop that springs out of the wall; he spoke also of animals, of birds, of creeping things, and of fish.

Does this sound like a normal human or a mad man?

Is this wisdom bikonu? ranting about cockroaches and fishes! I give up on xtians.
Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by enilove(m): 4:13pm On Dec 22, 2018
alfaman3:

Hahaha! They keep repeating the same thing to sheeple.
Let me school you a bit.

When Solomon became king, there was already peace between Isreal and its neighbours. Peace negociated by his father David. The era of war was during Saul's reign and parts of David's reign.

Solomon was a pampered ursurper who became King instead of Adonijah, the first son of David.

He had nothing. He used the wealth acquired by his father to expand his army. Army that had nobody to fight as his dad already conquered all their neighbours. He expelled all former generals and appointed his friends into power. He married women up and down.

He was indeed very foolish.

Your problems are so many , may God deliver you.

Even centuries after Solomon , no wise and knowledgeable person would say " era of war was over " , talkless of the time of Solomon. Muhammad that came about 1400 years after Solomon fought wars .

David fought wars till his death , his soldiers had to ban him from going to war with them. He did not have rest . But Solomon did not fight any war and had peace and rest.
Kings after him had to fight wars and were eventually conquered and taken into captivity.

For example :

2 Kings 8:26-29 KJV
Two and twenty years old was Ahaziah when he began to reign; and he reigned one year in Jerusalem. And his mother's name was Athaliah, the daughter of Omri king of Israel.
[27] And he walked in the way of the house of Ahab, and did evil in the sight of the Lord , as did the house of Ahab: for he was the son in law of the house of Ahab.
[28] And he went with Joram the son of Ahab to the war against Hazael king of Syria in Ramoth-gilead; and the Syrians wounded Joram.
[29] And king Joram went back to be healed in Jezreel of the wounds which the Syrians had given him at Ramah, when he fought against Hazael king of Syria. And Ahaziah the son of Jehoram king of Judah went down to see Joram the son of Ahab in Jezreel, because he was sick.

By merely saying the era of war was during Saul , is a pointer to the fact that you lack wisdom. Since you lack wisdom , how can you identify a wise man ?

JUST LIKE SOLOMON SAID :
Proverbs 29:9 KJV
If a wise man contendeth with a foolish man, whether he rage or laugh, there is no rest.

This means , it is of no use to reply you again , because you lack wisdom.

Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by Martinez19(m): 4:16pm On Dec 22, 2018
luvmijeje:
In all honesty, the wisest man in the Bible is Joseph. I'm not impress by others. He was the only one that I felt never abuses the name of God. He never use God's name to force people to do his will.
Joseph and Daniel happened to be the wisest men in the bible.

Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by Originakalokalo(m): 4:58pm On Dec 22, 2018
alfaman3:

That's me. No mod can ban alfa forever. They have tried. I just resurrected this moniker that I created and abandoned in 2013. I have loads of monikers in waiting.

God is in trouble.

Solomon was wise...He simply disobeyed God's instructions on who to marry.

He married strange women who turned his heart away to their idols....

.and that was his greatest undoing.

Let me show you that Solomon was the first person to use population sampling in gathering data...

I thought in my heart, "Come now, I will test you with pleasure to find out what is good." But that also proved to be meaningless....

He decided to undergo a research...how?

He tested fun, comedy and laughing...

Laughter," I said, "is foolish. And what does pleasure accomplish?"

He tested fun with wine..

I tried cheering myself with wine, and embracing folly--my mind still guiding me with wisdom.

He tested having properties...

I undertook great projects: I built houses for myself and planted vineyards.

I bought male and female slaves and had other slaves who were born in my house. I also owned more herds and flocks than anyone in Jerusalem before me.

He tested building recreational centres..

I made gardens and parks and planted all kinds of fruit trees in them.
I made reservoirs to water groves of flourishing trees.

He tested riches....

I amassed silver and gold for myself, and the treasure of kings and provinces.

He tested having fun with live bands...

I acquired men and women singers, and a harem as well--the delights of the heart of man...

During this experiment, he kept something constant so as to be sure of the outcome of the research...

In all this my wisdom stayed with me....

And finally he came to a conclusion having sampled these with people...

Yet when I surveyed all that my hands had done and what I had toiled to achieve, everything was

meaningless, a chasing after the wind; nothing was gained under the sun.

Meaningless.

All these are found in Ecclesiastic chapter 2.

Everything under the heaven is represented in his population sample...

He then drew a conclusion.

When alfaman is long gone out of this world,

God will say..

."Now, Alfaman is in trouble "

Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by CAPSLOCKED: 6:19pm On Dec 22, 2018
alfaman3:

YOU HAVE SAID IT ALL.

SO CALLED WISEST MAN, ALL HE EVER DID WAS GATHER GOLD, DRINK WINE AND LAY WOMEN. NOT ONE SIGNIFICANT DISCOVERY OR INVENTION WHICH WOULD BE BENEFICIAL TO THE WHOLE HUMANITY DID HE MAKE. YET, HE'S AN ICON "JUST" BECAUSE THE BIBLE CALLS HIM WHAT IT DOES.

Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by enilove(m): 6:28pm On Dec 22, 2018
Originakalokalo:

Solomon was wise...He simply disobeyed God's instructions on who to marry.

He married strange women who turned his heart away to their idols....

.and that was his greatest undoing.

Let me show you that Solomon was the first person to use population sampling in gathering data...

I thought in my heart, "Come now, I will test you with pleasure to find out what is good." But that also proved to be meaningless....

He decided to undergo a research...how?

He tested fun, comedy and laughing...

Laughter," I said, "is foolish. And what does pleasure accomplish?"

He tested fun with wine..

I tried cheering myself with wine, and embracing folly--my mind still guiding me with wisdom.

He tested having properties...

I undertook great projects: I built houses for myself and planted vineyards.

I bought male and female slaves and had other slaves who were born in my house. I also owned more herds and flocks than anyone in Jerusalem before me.

He tested building recreational centres..

I made gardens and parks and planted all kinds of fruit trees in them.
I made reservoirs to water groves of flourishing trees.

He tested riches....

I amassed silver and gold for myself, and the treasure of kings and provinces.

He tested having fun with live bands...

I acquired men and women singers, and a harem as well--the delights of the heart of man...

During this experiment, he kept something constant so as to be sure of the outcome of the research...

In all this my wisdom stayed with me....

And finally he came to a conclusion having sampled these with people...

Yet when I surveyed all that my hands had done and what I had toiled to achieve, everything was

meaningless, a chasing after the wind; nothing was gained under the sun.

Meaningless.

All these are found in Ecclesiastic chapter 2.

Everything under the heaven is represented in his population sample...

He then drew a conclusion.

When alfaman is long gone out of this world,

God will say..

."Now, Alfaman is in trouble "

Yes .

Solomon was the first biology lecturer :

1 Kings 4:33 KJV
And he spake of trees, from the cedar tree that is in Lebanon even unto the hyssop that springeth out of the wall: he spake also of beasts, and of fowl, and of creeping things, and of fishes.
Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by enilove(m): 6:34pm On Dec 22, 2018
Martinez19:
Joseph and Daniel happened to be the wisest men in the bible.

JOSEPH AND DANIEL DID NOT HAVE 2% OF THE WISDOM OF SOLOMON.

1 Kings 4:29-31 KJV
And God gave Solomon wisdom and understanding exceeding much, and largeness of heart, even as the sand that is on the sea shore.
[30] And Solomon's wisdom excelled the wisdom of all the children of the east country, and all the wisdom of Egypt.
[31] For he was wiser than all men; than Ethan the Ezrahite, and Heman, and Chalcol, and Darda, the sons of Mahol: and his fame was in all nations round about.
Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by bodee(m): 6:46pm On Dec 22, 2018
luvmijeje:
Joseph is quite a cool guy but he's loquacious and subservient behavior made him to marry Pharaoh's daughter, he accepted all the gifts & biddings of the King... To me, the wisest guy is Daniel, there is no flaw recorded in his name. He behaved himself wisely in a strange land.
Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by bodee(m): 6:52pm On Dec 22, 2018
enilove:

And God gave Solomon wisdom and understanding exceeding much, and largeness of heart, even as the sand that is on the sea shore.
[30] And Solomon's wisdom excelled the wisdom of all the children of the east country, and all the wisdom of Egypt.
[31] For he was wiser than all men; than Ethan the Ezrahite, and Heman, and Chalcol, and Darda, the sons of Mahol: and his fame was in all nations round about some verses. Judge by facts and logic!
Daniel, Joseph and David and many more are better and wiser than Solomon.

To quote bible to explain bible, we call it circular reasoning. Don't be warped minded! Those that wrote the bible are humans just like you. Use your reasoning faculty to adjudge things.
The poster gave reasons and deductions on why Solomon shouldn't be tagged as the wisest man; and all what you could come up with

Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by Originakalokalo(m): 7:07pm On Dec 22, 2018
What these guys are doing is to discredit the bible..

They have enough converts already on nairaland with many Christians going out of Christ...

When they argue with you, they tell you to leave the bible out of it and discuss with them using logic...

They are instruments of the devil...

All these posts and thread are attempts to make you loose faith in the scriptures...

They are full of immoralities and all evil imaginable.

Child of God,

Take heed....Don't listen to the doctrines of the devil through this hypocrites whose lives are full of sin..

Teach them....Don't let them teach you.

God bless you.

Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by Originakalokalo(m): 7:50pm On Dec 22, 2018
If you engage them in discussion, use the scriptures.

If they tell you to leave the bible out of it, don't listen to them.

Draw your conclusions from the scriptures and the holy spirit as he guides you.
Very soon, something incredible is going to happen here.

Stick to the word of God and study it more...

It is better than arguing on things that do not profit..

Avoid unnecessary debates that do not profit...

Watch and Pray.

Our God is mighty, great and plenty in mercy.

Full of righteousness and Power..

Warning you to be careful is not borne out of the fact that Jesus is not true, or that God is not real ....

It is for you to know who your unseen enemy is....

THE DEVIL.
Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by Martinez19(m): 7:54pm On Dec 22, 2018
enilove:

[31] For he was wiser than all men; than Ethan the Ezrahite, and Heman, and Chalcol, and Darda, the sons of Mahol: and his fame was in all nations round about.

Being knowledgeable is not the same as being wise. A wise man wouldn't have disobeyed God and married plenty wives.

Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by enilove(m): 9:43pm On Dec 22, 2018
bodee:
To quote bible to explain bible, we call it circular reasoning. Don't be warped minded! Those that wrote the bible are humans just like you. Use your reasoning faculty to adjudge things.
The poster gave reasons and deductions on why Solomon shouldn't be tagged as the wisest man; and all what you could come up with

How did you come about the assertion that Joseph and Daniel were the wisest men in the Bible ? Was your reasoning not from what you read from the Bible ?
Since you have a reasoning faculty , why couldn't you quote something outside the Bible to explain why Solomon was not wise ?

Whether it is a Circular reasoning or rectangular reasoning , the truth is you don't answer a chemistry question with a biological answer. You use the chemistry texbooks or materials to answer chemistry questions .

The op , gave reasons why Solomon was not the wisest man based on his shallow knowledge of the Bible , and I gave him why he was the wisest , based on what is written in the Bible , period.

Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by enilove(m): 10:03pm On Dec 22, 2018
Martinez19:
Being knowledgeable is not the same as being wise. A wise man wouldn't have disobeyed God and married plenty wives.

I did not mention knowledge , neither did the Bible.

God gave Solomon wisdom to rule Israel and he did it perfectly.

The fall or mistake of Solomon was a spiritual one . The least spiritual knowledge is far greater than the greatest wisdom of this world.
Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by alfaman3: 10:38pm On Dec 22, 2018
enilove:

Your problems are so many , may God deliver you.

Even centuries after Solomon , no wise and knowledgeable person would say " era of war was over " , talkless of the time of Solomon. Muhammad that came about 1400 years after Solomon fought wars .

David fought wars till his death , his soldiers had to ban him from going to war with them. He did not have rest . But Solomon did not fight any war and had peace and rest.
Kings after him had to fight wars and were eventually conquered and taken into captivity.

For example :

2 Kings 8:26-29 KJV
Two and twenty years old was Ahaziah when he began to reign; and he reigned one year in Jerusalem. And his mother's name was Athaliah, the daughter of Omri king of Israel.
[27] And he walked in the way of the house of Ahab, and did evil in the sight of the Lord , as did the house of Ahab: for he was the son in law of the house of Ahab.
[28] And he went with Joram the son of Ahab to the war against Hazael king of Syria in Ramoth-gilead; and the Syrians wounded Joram.
[29] And king Joram went back to be healed in Jezreel of the wounds which the Syrians had given him at Ramah, when he fought against Hazael king of Syria. And Ahaziah the son of Jehoram king of Judah went down to see Joram the son of Ahab in Jezreel, because he was sick.

By merely saying the era of war was during Saul , is a pointer to the fact that you lack wisdom. Since you lack wisdom , how can you identify a wise man ?

JUST LIKE SOLOMON SAID :
Proverbs 29:9 KJV
If a wise man contendeth with a foolish man, whether he rage or laugh, there is no rest.

This means , it is of no use to reply you again , because you lack wisdom.

Solomon didn't fight wars because he married the daughters of his enemies and made them queens. You do not fight your queen.

This same act of marrying foreign women is what originakolokolo condemns as foolishness.

You call it wisdom, your fellow xtian calls it foolishness. Maybe you should argue with each other.

Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by alfaman3: 10:40pm On Dec 22, 2018
Originakalokalo:

What these guys are doing is to discredit the bible..

They have enough converts already on nairaland with many Christians going out of Christ...

When they argue with you, they tell you to leave the bible out of it and discuss with them using logic...

They are instruments of the devil...

All these posts and thread are attempts to make you loose faith in the scriptures...

They are full of immoralities and all evil imaginable.

Child of God,

Take heed....Don't listen to the doctrines of the devil through this hypocrites whose lives are full of sin..

Teach them....Don't let them teach you.

God bless you.

I don't discredit the bible. I use the bible in my ministry for Satan, the Truest Wisest.

I urge all believers to read the bible.
Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by Originakalokalo(m): 11:24pm On Dec 22, 2018
alfaman3:

I don't discredit the bible. I use the bible in my ministry for Satan, the Truest Wisest.

I urge all believers to read the bible.

OK.

You have a ministry with the devil....

....and you urge the believers to read what you indirectly discredit..... to cause doubts....

....You are antiGod.

.......Urging the believer to read will not change my perception about you or your posts...

....Nothing good comes out of the devil...

The Bible calls him a liar, a their, a murderer and a destroyer.

He is also the accuser of the brethren.

This is who he is and anyone who serves his purpose has all these tendencies.

Re: Solomon Was Not Wise. by LordReed(m): 12:02am On Dec 23, 2018
enilove:

Solomon's "wisdom" was marrying into royal families to cement his diplomatic ties.

Does God Really Genuinely Exist? / Moment A Pastor And Her Choir Leader Clashed During Worship Session (video) / How Many Of You Are Really Praying About The Forthcoming Elections?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 108