Stats: 3,157,915 members, 7,835,061 topics. Date: Tuesday, 21 May 2024 at 02:51 AM

FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch (13242 Views)

Usman Yusuf: Bandits Are Tired, They Want Genuine Peace (Ex-NHIS Boss) / Buhari Sacks Usman Yusuf As NHIS Boss, Appoints Sambo Replacement / Usman Yusuf: 'Only Buhari Can Sack Me' - NHIS Boss Resumes Work (2) (3) (4)

FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by fergie001: 6:42am On Apr 28, 2019
The Federal Government has paid the suspended Executive Secretary of the National Health Insurance Scheme, Prof. Usman Yusuf, N13.8m in salary and allowances despite being indicted by a committee set up by the government to probe him, SUNDAY PUNCH has learnt.

The seven-man committee, led by Dr. Hassan Bukar, a retired permanent secretary, set up by the government to probe the NHIS boss, had asked the government to immediately dismiss him.

It was, however, learnt that between December 24, 2018 when the panel submitted its report, and April 25, 2019, the NHIS boss had received nothing less than N13.8m in salary and allowances from the government.

Information obtained from the NHIS showed that the suspended NHIS executive secretary received a lump sum of N9,116,129.00 in January for furniture and wardrobe allowances and rent in his Zenith Bank account with number 1004994179.

Yusuf earns N617, 366.02 as salary and N320, 000 for fuelling his vehicle which is usually obtained through his personal assistant. This brings his monthly earnings to a total of N937, 366.02, which translates to N4, 686, 830.1 in five months.

The total sum brings Yusuf’s earnings to N13.8m from the government between December, when he was recommended for dismissal, and April.

The suspended NHIS boss is also said to have taken seven Sports Utility Vehicles belonging to the NHIS to his home and they have remained with him since his suspension.

One of the drivers of the suspended NHIS boss was said to have visited the agency last week requesting more money to service the vehicles.

Documents obtained from the agency also showed that despite receiving allowances yearly to furnish his house, the suspended NHIS boss received several items that were paid for by the agency.

It was learnt that the document was submitted to the panel and it was part of what informed the committee’s decision to recommend Yusuf for dismissal.

The document titled, ‘Summary of release of office equipment to Prof. Usman Yusuf’s home office’, stated that the NHIS furnished a home office for Yusuf between January 4, 2017 and September 17, 2018.

Over 42 items, comprising several Apple laptops and Iphones, UPS devices, air conditioners, chairs, microwave, fireproof safes, stabilisers, photocopying machines, printers and other office items were bought for him by the NHIS.

The committee had accused Yusuf of abusing procurement processes and contravening the Procurement Act.

“And established cases of infraction of the following provisions of the Public Procurement Act: Sections 16(6) and 32(7); and committed infractions of Rule 3125(i) (a) and (b) of the Financial Regulations.”

However, the committee, in a bid to give him a soft landing, did not recommend him for prosecution.

In a related development, a pro-transparency group, United Youths Alliance Against Corruption, has approached a Federal High Court asking the court to compel the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission and the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission to prosecute Yusuf.

The EFCC, which had investigated Yusuf sometime last year, was said to have returned Yusuf’s passport to him under controversial circumstances.

However, a member of the pro-transparency group, Solomon Agbo, in a motion on notice brought pursuant to Order 34 Rule 1, 2, 3 Federal High Court (civil procedure) Rules 2009, prayed the court to direct the EFCC and the ICPC to “perform their statutory responsibility of investigating serious corruption allegations against the suspended Executive Secretary of the NHIS, Prof. Usman Yusuf, and to prosecute him if investigation warrants prosecution, having been supplied with enough materials and information to ease investigation and possible prosecution.”

https://punchng.com/after-indictment-fg-pays-suspended-nhis-boss-n13-8m/

Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by MaiGemu: 6:43am On Apr 28, 2019
Better
Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by Amuocha: 6:44am On Apr 28, 2019
Great

Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by TooMuchStuff: 6:47am On Apr 28, 2019
Once u are Hausafulani Muslim and a thief in BuhariApC Nigeria, u are never corrupt but a hero.

Onnohgen is very corrupt cos he's a Christian Calabar man even though he never stole a dime.

Yeye

107 Likes 9 Shares

Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by GavelSlam: 6:47am On Apr 28, 2019
Over 42 items, comprising several Apple laptops and Iphones, UPS devices, air conditioners, chairs, microwave, fireproof safes, stabilisers, photocopying machines, printers and other office items were bought for him by the NHIS.

Let's be honest, these are office items.

Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by fergie001: 6:49am On Apr 28, 2019
GavelSlam:

The committee had accused Yusuf of abusing procurement processes and contravening the Procurement Act.

“And established cases of infraction of the following provisions of the Public Procurement Act: Sections 16(6) and 32(7); and committed infractions of Rule 3125(i) (a) and (b) of the Financial Regulations.”

It broke Civil Service rules......

17 Likes

Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by GavelSlam: 6:51am On Apr 28, 2019
fergie001:

It broke Civil Service rules......

Perhaps in other matters. Surely not in the purchase of printers and UPS.

Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by HausaGirl(f): 6:51am On Apr 28, 2019
I'm new here. Anyone to help navigate this place?
Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by Nbote(m): 6:58am On Apr 28, 2019
Dis govt ehn... I guess we've run out of names for their hypocrisy

14 Likes

Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by Nigerianization(m): 7:00am On Apr 28, 2019
HausaGirl:

All you need is to follow threads that interests you and make your comments as you deem fit.

Welcome to nairaland though, prepare to encounter the good, the bad and the ugly here.

Nairaland is a home for the sane people as well as many mentally challenged persons who should have been receiving psychiatric care.

Also, develop thick skin for criticisms and negative comments.
You are welcome once again.

Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by Nbote(m): 7:04am On Apr 28, 2019
GavelSlam:

U shld b ashamed talking about honesty... Seriously d hypocrisy and double standards by ur likes is becoming irritating... U ignored d fact dat d govt set up d committee to probe him and d same committee it set up indicted him and recommended his dismissal. Yet d same govt ignored d report of d committee it set up and paid him over 13million in benefits in 4months!!! I'm sure U also pretended not to see where it was stated he went home with 7 SUVs of NHIS...

38 Likes 1 Share

Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by fergie001: 7:07am On Apr 28, 2019
GavelSlam:

Perhaps in other matters. Surely not in the purchase of printers and UPS.
You can read,bro....

It could even be in the buying of brooms....Procurement is Procurement....

Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by Ventura1: 7:13am On Apr 28, 2019
GavelSlam:

It is pathetic you buharist will always look for excuses to justify the cluelessness and indecision of your Buhari.

15 Likes

Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by greatiyk4u(m): 7:17am On Apr 28, 2019
I think the payment was made while his investigation was ongojng

Was he supposed to be denied his renumeration because of investigation?

Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by okosodo: 7:23am On Apr 28, 2019
That is abookis for you.

Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by fergie001: 7:24am On Apr 28, 2019
greatiyk4u:
I think the payment was made while his investigation was ongojng

Was he supposed to be denied his renumeration because of investigation?
It was, however, learnt that between December 24, 2018 when the panel submitted its report, and April 25, 2019, the NHIS boss had received nothing less than N13.8m in salary and allowances from the government.

Panel submitted its report in Dec....What was he receiving between then and April 25?

Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by greatiyk4u(m): 7:31am On Apr 28, 2019
fergie001:

Panel submitted its report in Dec....What was he receiving between then and April 25?

The report may not have been considered immediately it was submitted for further scrutiny

After dismissal was he paid again

Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by ArewaLady(f): 8:08am On Apr 28, 2019
Nigerianization:

All you need is to follow threads that interests you and make your comments as you deem fit.

Welcome to nairaland though, prepare to encounter the good, the bad and the ugly here.

Nairaland is a home for the sane people as well as many mentally challenged persons who should have been receiving psychiatric care.

Also, develop thick skin for criticisms and negative comments.
You are welcome once again.

Thanks, I've been having issues with the other account.
This is my new account.

Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by Nobody: 8:23am On Apr 28, 2019
HausaGirl:

Yes.

Please explain why you're using black and white in this age of coloured?

Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by TooMuchStuff: 11:12am On Apr 28, 2019
To reach front page na wahala...

If na igbo man wey thief NHIS money like dis fulani thief na......

U sabi de rest....

Buha na Devil

Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by ivandragon: 11:41am On Apr 28, 2019
greatiyk4u:

The report may not have been considered immediately it was submitted for further scrutiny

After dismissal was he paid again

according to the Nigerian Public Service Rules, when a officer is placed on (full) suspension, he/she has salaries for the period of suspension withheld...

the best is that he would have been placed on half salary if the offence does not carry a penalty that includes dismissal from the service...

Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by fergie001: 12:25pm On Apr 28, 2019
TooMuchStuff:
To reach front page na wahala...

If na igbo man wey thief NHIS money like dis fulani thief na......

U sabi de rest....

Buha na Devil
grin grin grin grin ;DD

Baba you dey read Mynd jare.....

Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by godliman: 1:46pm On Apr 28, 2019
MaiGemu:
Source?
is it blindness or what sir

Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by BrainSanitizer: 2:56pm On Apr 28, 2019
I thought I'll have something to say. Maybe the person below me will say what is in my mind.
Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by InaNla(f): 2:57pm On Apr 28, 2019
Useless government

Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by eagleeye2: 2:57pm On Apr 28, 2019
Am not saying FG did the wrong thing, I'm just saying it's not right.

Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by BruncleZuma: 2:58pm On Apr 28, 2019

Re: FG Pays Usman Yusuf, Suspended NHIS Boss N13.8M After Indictment - Punch by MANNABBQGRILLS: 2:59pm On Apr 28, 2019
The suspended NHIS boss is also said to have taken seven Sports Utility Vehicles belonging to the NHIS to his home and they have remained with him since his suspension.
Is he okay?!
Well, we will surely hear another angle to this news soon.
Justice should serve it's full course in this case.

3 Likes 4 Shares

Banks Get Marching Order To Sell-Off Discos’ Shares / CBN To Impose Financial Sanction On Individuals, Entities Linked To Niger Coupis / Pictures Of Damaged Calabar To Obudu Road

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 36