Stats: 3,331,109 members, 8,448,720 topics. Date: Monday, 20 July 2026 at 05:55 PM

Response To Muric On The Ban Of Big Brother Naija - TV/Movies - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumEntertainmentTV/MoviesResponse To Muric On The Ban Of Big Brother Naija (498 Views)

1 Reply (Go Down)

Response To Muric On The Ban Of Big Brother Naija by bulletproofmonk(op): 11:35am On Jul 12, 2019
Why do we have too many jokers in the land? In this country, there are too many talking heads, even when they do not understand what they are talking about.

For a start, what are our national values? If they actually exist, how do all the funny creatures we have in leadership positions support or promote those national values with their conduct and mindless stealing?

So we really believe that the Big Brother show in one way or the other alters people's values, to the point of moral decadence, if there were actually good values in the first place? Any data to support such assertion?

Again, it's a very weak argument to place entertainment and education on the same level, both mean different things to people. Governments don't sponsor big brother show, so how does that stop them from funding education and research?

Is it really possible to legislate on morality? And how realistic is it to force everyone to watch only educational and religious programmes; what happened to individual's ability to pursue happiness or make choices?

This thing called democracy is really too sophisticated for our people to practise. And the more people want to spend energy, lecturing others on morality, the more you see how shallow they are.

Re: Response To Muric On The Ban Of Big Brother Naija by yanabasee(m): 11:40am On Jul 12, 2019
MURIC will not caution their pedophilic worshipers from raping underage girls but will be quick to condemn a reality show.... Very backward thinking folks...
Re: Response To Muric On The Ban Of Big Brother Naija by Olufela30: 11:49am On Jul 12, 2019
Muric should relocate to Uranus ,....... If the can't stand what happens on earth.... Muslims can't coordinate their ogas on top abi ..... Can't they see as Christians are teaching themselves the word .... Na who we LOVE we dae correct... How can there be PEACE when you don't love yourselves enough to correct yourself..... So, where's the LOVE
Re: Response To Muric On The Ban Of Big Brother Naija by SEGLIZ: 12:22pm On Jul 12, 2019
muric might always be on the other side of the divide but on this I'm with them all the way.
concerning our criminal leaders that degraded our national values beyond reasonable, (like mentioned in the post,) I'm also of the believe that muric likewise go after them.
for if the leadership is of value and moral standard bb won't come to bare. so muric help us work on our leaders than threaten fellow citizens.
Re: Response To Muric On The Ban Of Big Brother Naija by bulletproofmonk(op): 12:50pm On Jul 12, 2019
SEGLIZ:
muric might always be on the other side of the divide but on this I'm with them all the way.
concerning our criminal leaders that degraded our national values beyond reasonable, (like mentioned in the post,) I'm also of the believe that muric likewise go after them.
for if the leadership is of value and moral standard bb won't come to bare. so muric help us work on our leaders than threaten fellow citizens.
We need to decide on what laws we want to be governed by - religious or secular.

We can't in one breathe claim we practice democracy, and the next, want to dictate what people watch.

If I choose to watch X-rated content, why should anyone want to deprive me? In a secular country??
Re: Response To Muric On The Ban Of Big Brother Naija by gatecrash123: 1:35pm On Jul 12, 2019
Before I used to support those chanting for BBN to be stop but since it started I have never switch my TV to the channel and now I realize and ask myself why do I get angry over what give another person joy. So as I love football there are other who doesn't love it but they have not called for it to be stopped. So live and let others live, there are many channels to be watched and also parental guidance is their for you to lock some stations you do not want your children to watch. *copied*

if u are calling for the cancellation for BBN, then u are an enemy of progress and hypocrites. did u know how much multichoice generates from the show alone? if u want dem to cancel it, give them the money they are going to receive in each and every season that is going to be aired. eyin werey dont go and find something great to do, be busy hating on the company and show that have made it. my broda, my sista HUSTLE OOO.
Re: Response To Muric On The Ban Of Big Brother Naija by SEGLIZ: 7:27pm On Jul 12, 2019
bulletproofmonk:
We need to decide on what laws we want to be governed by - religious or secular.

We can't in one breathe claim we practice democracy, and the next, want to dictate what people watch.

If I choose to watch X-rated content, why should anyone want to deprive me? In a secular country??
I'm with you on this but still you would agree with me the society is become porous with immoralty.
let me say I don't believe any society is being governed theologically. even the theocratic society is not real to me, those claiming theocracy are only enforcing it on their citizens.
around the time God Himself was governing the earth there was still immorality as a result of He (God) been libra.
this take to the point of man being a free born. if going by religion it is glaring man had liberty of will to decide on choice. the only thing man is busy hoodwinking itself with religion ...... so so sadden.
our choices shouldn't impede on that of others. choice of viewing x-rated is alright by all standard for every individual. I only believe it shouldn't be general, subscription be of choice not for all.
1 Reply

GOTV Forcing Christianity On Nigerian Muslims - MURICBBNaija: Meet Mercy Eke, The Last Female Standing Of Big Brother Naija 2019BBNaija: Reactions As MURIC Calls For Ban Of TV Show Over Sex, Kissing, Romance234

BREAKING NEWS: WINTER IS COMING AGAIN, GAME OF THRONES PREQUELTrailer Review On Maleficent 2: Mistress Of EvilAcademy Disqualifies Nigeria's Oscar Entry 'lionheart'