Stats: 3,153,701 members, 7,820,448 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 May 2024 at 03:04 PM

If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? - Education - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Education / If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? (42966 Views)

Why Finland’s Education System Is Considered The Best In The World / Our Insistence On Quota System Is Causing Serious Problem On Our Education - Don / The Implications Of The Lowered JAMB Cut Off Marks For Our Education System (2) (3) (4)

If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by Nobody: 5:04pm On Apr 17, 2020
Hello guys,

We have been on lockdown for some weeks now, because of this evil pandemic ravagin' the world not just nigeria only,

My questions are:

1) If this lockdown should continue, how are schools going to open since we don't have an online system?

2) Will this not lead to a massive dropout from schools, due to poverty, insecurity and unseriousness?

3) All the parent in the house, how have you made sure your child is academically active despite not going to school?

4) Do you think this lockdown is the best and only solution?

Nigerians share your view.

45 Likes 8 Shares

Re: If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by minasota(f): 5:06pm On Apr 17, 2020
Nice thread

41 Likes 4 Shares

Re: If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by Maj196(m): 5:28pm On Apr 17, 2020
Interesting topic. Lalasticlala need to see this

10 Likes 3 Shares

Re: If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by alexsoftwork(m): 5:32pm On Apr 17, 2020
minasota:
Nice thread

For this lockdown, if education is the or your problem, then you don't have any problem. HUNGER IS THE BIGGEST PROBLEM WE NEED TO FIGHT. I DEY FEAR MAKE THIS COUNTRY NO GO IMPLODE.
FORGET EDUCATION FOR NOW.
#BELLEFIRST.

485 Likes 24 Shares

Re: If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by alexsoftwork(m): 5:34pm On Apr 17, 2020
Christthesaviour:
Hello guys,
We have been in lockdown
for some weeks now,because of this evil pandemic ravagin' the world not just nigeria only,
My questions are:
1)If this lockdown should continue,how are schools going to open since we don't have an online system.
2)will this not lead to a massive dropout from schools,due to poverty,insecurity and unseriousness?
3)All the parent in the house,how have you made sure your child is academically active despite not going to school?
4)do you think this lockdown is the best and only solution?
nigerians share your view.
ccLalasticlala
ccfynestboi
ccMynd44
ccDominique.

For this lockdown, if education is the or your problem, then you don't have any problem. HUNGER IS THE BIGGEST PROBLEM WE NEED TO FIGHT. I DEY FEAR MAKE THIS COUNTRY NO GO IMPLODE.
#BELLEFIRST.

40 Likes 4 Shares

Re: If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by Nobody: 5:52pm On Apr 17, 2020
alexsoftwork:

#BELLEFIRST.

you are right.
Lalasticlala
Mynd44
I'm counting on you.

Re: If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by Nobody: 6:06pm On Apr 17, 2020
Oga lala is viewing my thread.hurraah!

Re: If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by socialmediaman: 6:10pm On Apr 17, 2020
Nothing will happen now, were you expecting online learning like organized societies are currently doing? lecturers and teachers have been on strike before for over 1 year and nothing happened, so...

Focus on what will happen to poor Nigerians who are about to die of hunger

113 Likes 2 Shares

Re: If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by Amotolongbo(f): 6:10pm On Apr 17, 2020
Christthesaviour:
Hello guys,

We have been on lockdown for some weeks now, because of this evil pandemic ravagin' the world not just nigeria only,

My questions are:

1) If this lockdown should continue, how are schools going to open since we don't have an online system?

2) Will this not lead to a massive dropout from schools, due to poverty, insecurity and unseriousness?

3) All the parent in the house, how have you made sure your child is academically active despite not going to school?

4) Do you think this lockdown is the best and only solution?

Nigerians share your view.

Nothing is going to happen

After all, Nigeria has experienced many ASUU strikes far longer than this and nothing really spoilt.

105 Likes 6 Shares

Re: If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by socialmediaman: 6:10pm On Apr 17, 2020
Buhari will give everyone free laptop and internet service then order schools to start online learning. After that he’ll order US to make $1 equal to N1

91 Likes 4 Shares

Re: If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by Higgies(m): 6:10pm On Apr 17, 2020
Heaven will not fall.

But the resultant effects might be devastating though.

Re: If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by PureGoldh(m): 6:10pm On Apr 17, 2020
Na e be say....gbese dey.

Each student's Convocation year will be +1 but we don't pray for such to happen...dx CoronaVirus will soon be a thing of the past

Re: If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by SamOyovwi: 6:10pm On Apr 17, 2020
The age don go far and our schools nor wan adopt internet schooling. Okay o

Re: If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by SSam01: 6:10pm On Apr 17, 2020
The first thing that will open in May 2020 in the US according to President Trump is schools and day care center because parents have admitted all their kids are crackheads and Teachers are superheroes

Watch these videos also. The lockdown is almost over

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u0ExmNl2CQA

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iji_BOorCEE

Re: If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by chinavs9ja(m): 6:11pm On Apr 17, 2020
Do we have a functioning educational system in the first place?

13 Likes 1 Share

Re: If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by Throwback: 6:11pm On Apr 17, 2020
We don't even have the infrastructure to deliver classes online.

How many kids in public schools have access to a computer or high speed internet?

However, public TV broadcast might just be the way to go, but are we ready to have interrupted power supply?

This country has refused to make sense since we got independence.

38 Likes 1 Share

Re: If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by xana101: 6:11pm On Apr 17, 2020
Food first b4 education.

Re: If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by amalab30(m): 6:11pm On Apr 17, 2020
Brilliant Thread OP. I think the world will come to a consensus as to when school resumes. For Nigeria, teaching students via radio or TV is not going to work as Nigeria do not have the facilities to aid these.

However, I feel a sane government and/or Ministry of Education will begin to think tirelessly on the next possible thing,

Re: If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by nkwuocha1: 6:11pm On Apr 17, 2020

Education system that is already in shatters? grin

12 Likes 1 Share

Re: If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by meum: 6:11pm On Apr 17, 2020
Home school tings.

I doubt d lock down will continue indefinitely. It will be over soon.

Re: If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by WalkerMichael(m): 6:11pm On Apr 17, 2020
Lol some state Universities are trying to start online classes but I'm near sure it won't be 100% as much as they would like. Who provides the data for students. Some students don't even own a browsing phone..

Like someone mentioned "Food first b4 education."

Do people even realize ASUU went on strike before the lockdown?

22 Likes 2 Shares

Re: If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by enemyofprogress: 6:11pm On Apr 17, 2020
Who education app? Abeg forget it. Kidnapping, Yahoo Yahoo, oloshoism, armed robbery and others have tooked over jo

Re: If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by TheSociopath(m): 6:11pm On Apr 17, 2020
Students should be advised to stay at home and read well. Tertiary institutions should email the prospectus and course materials to their students for home study. Exam straight when things get back to normal.

Re: If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by Decibel: 6:11pm On Apr 17, 2020
The herdsmen in Aso Rock are not perturbedcheesy

6 Likes 2 Shares

Re: If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by handie(m): 6:11pm On Apr 17, 2020
Even if the lock down is relaxed, it'll take awhile for education for our educational institutions to resume. Not with all the crowds in our classrooms and lecture theatres. It's just unsafe for now. Let's hope schools can resume by July

Re: If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by Nobody: 6:11pm On Apr 17, 2020
Schools may have to reopen eventually.

It's harsh, but our country cannot take US level of corona viruses spread..

Re: If Lockdown Persists, What Will Happen To Our Education System? by Deltoid(m): 6:11pm On Apr 17, 2020
BELLE FIRST!

Mudiame University, Irrua, Edo In Pictures / See The Book Recommended By My Neighbours School For Her 7yr Son / Reno Omokri: Avoid Your School Alumni Whatsapp Forum If You Are Wealthy

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 24