Stats: 3,152,879 members, 7,817,590 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 03:06 PM

Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters (26768 Views)

Revolution Now Protesters Face Armed Military Personnel (VIDEO) / 40 Revolution Now Protesters Arrested In Abuja By Military Personnel / Revolution Now Protesters Confront Police (Photos) (2) (3) (4)

Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by Doyou2019: 8:11am On Aug 06, 2020
freshkpomo:

Verdict: Nigeria currently lacks US, everyone seems to be enjoying the suffering and are comfortable with their N5 daily income, fueling their gen and others.... They all want to remain In their comfort zone doing nothing... If this protest had more support, cell for son full by now.

A united youth is an unstoppable force

#NYM

God bless Nigeria

Only severe austerity can make Nigerian youth sit up. Real hunger! When there's nothing else for him to get by - no more crumbs to survive on - he will come out and fight for his life.

Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by backbone503(m): 8:11am On Aug 06, 2020
We conducted Presidential election last year, he contested and lost woefully (didn't win a single Unit in the Federation), then suddenly he called for a Revolution (political upheaval; forceful removal and replacement of a democratically elected government) and some gullible people are buying into his selfish ambition. Is Egypt, Libya and other northern African countries better of now?

No government, anywhere in the world, will fold its arms and allow anti-democratic elements destabilize the system. A call for Revolution is same as planning Coup to topple a government. The only acceptable means if changing a government is by Election.

Sowore, his gang and financiers should note that any attempt, or attempted attempt by any person or group of persons to destabilize the nation will be decisively death with.

Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by SweetCunt97(f): 8:12am On Aug 06, 2020
Oxb90:
Is this true! I wish it is. If you are tired of the rubbish going on in this country, speak out, carry your placard, write your message on it lets hit the streets.
France did not carry Placard, Ghana did not too.
Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by landforeast(m): 8:12am On Aug 06, 2020
J
Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by sheriffman(m): 8:13am On Aug 06, 2020
E no go better for the Irish Lawmaker and im contri
Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by RPG2020(m): 8:14am On Aug 06, 2020
Make them come carry buhari go Ireland we nor need am again

Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by omoadeleye(m): 8:16am On Aug 06, 2020
Tranquillity360:
Am not understanding!

Did police arrest yoruba revolutionaries.

I thought yoruba revolution will chase out buhari from Aso Rock.

This type of reason you guys have are the main reason you people can never be trusted with a delicate public office.

Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by Jeromejnr(m): 8:16am On Aug 06, 2020
Doyou2019:

Only severe austerity can make Nigerian youth sit up. Real hunger! When there's nothing else for him to get by - no more crumbs to survive on - he will come out and fight for his life.

Wise words.
Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by Nobody: 8:17am On Aug 06, 2020
When citizens can't be free to protest peacefully. Nigerianl has beeb taken over by jackals
Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by mhiztalee(m): 8:18am On Aug 06, 2020
No outsider should interfere abeg....
Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by Lastmankc(m): 8:18am On Aug 06, 2020
Tranquillity360:
Am not understanding!

Tribalism we kill you guys here.
Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by kindim(m): 8:19am On Aug 06, 2020
Rossikki:

Why not announce a socialist ''REVOLUTION'' in your country, Ireland, and see how long before they arrest your stupid poke nosing face there?

Idiot oyinbos only good at supporting trouble for other countries.
What part of your body do you think with...
People that reason the way you do deserve death...
Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by adenigga(m): 8:19am On Aug 06, 2020
Tranquillity360:
Am not understanding!

Use your brain!

Stop being tribal bigot!!!

Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by Tonygeesm(m): 8:22am On Aug 06, 2020
greatdreamer:
If Buhari does not kill us before 2023, let's team up and kill APC.

Peaceful protest under any Democratic setting in my undisputable right
oga this is not about political party

Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by Ournolly: 8:23am On Aug 06, 2020
I don't understand the concept of arresting those young men and women who were only expressing their displeasure on the state of the country.
Africans shaa.

Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by abu12: 8:24am On Aug 06, 2020
all this CIA are sponsoring sowore and tinubu to Disterbilize Nigeria.
Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by Salvofthesouth(m): 8:24am On Aug 06, 2020
greatdreamer:
If Buhari does not kill us before 2023, let's team up and kill APC.

Peaceful protest under any Democratic setting in my undisputable right

Some Yoruba's (Muslim) will think otherwise because their "SON" is there... forget it, it's either APC or PDP until Nigerians get sense

Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by Tflex01: 8:25am On Aug 06, 2020
Tranquillity360:
Am not understanding!

Lol... So it is all about the Yorubas

Why are you guys so petty

Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by Farki: 8:25am On Aug 06, 2020
anonymuz:
yoruba are cowards.

And your heroes who ran away?

Please shift.
Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by Jaqenhghar: 8:25am On Aug 06, 2020
Sunofgod:
Ireland should send some troops.
Because they don't know what to do with their troops abi. It's our war. Get up and let's do the needful

Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by Equitty15(m): 8:26am On Aug 06, 2020
who is he to demand or tell a sovereignty nation what to do? and ordinary politician?
Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by Tflex01: 8:27am On Aug 06, 2020
The Igbos like to blame other tribes in this South (especially Yorubas) for the country woes except themselves. But history shows that they have caused more damage.

Nigeria and Southern Nigeria did not start in 2015 so it's only small children with no knowledge of history that sw are the problems of southern Nigeria.

The only difference is that Yorubas will never complain, bitter or call others betrayer because they understand politics.

btw, there is nothing is opposing Gej because as a result of his incompetence expecting Buhari to better. And fighting Buhari again if he seems to be worse.

Sowore fought Abacha, Obasanjo, Gej and now he's fighting Buhari. We should be less emotional about the whole thing.

Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by Iamsane: 8:27am On Aug 06, 2020
Oxb90:
Is this true! I wish it is. If you are tired of the rubbish going on in this country, speak out, carry your placard, write your message on it lets hit the streets.

Show us pictures of when you hit the street last.
Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by nogragra: 8:27am On Aug 06, 2020
depezee:
Enjoy your ewedu revolution.

You are on your own.

South South and South East will never be part of it.
How foolish people will want to be part of progress. Thats how una no be part of protest during Badluck Jonamumu era but people who work then are now demanding 2023 that's when you parasitic igbos remember its your turn to rule. Plant it in your flat parasitic brain ibo will never ever rule Nigeria again. If you like go and jump into the lagoon na una wahala be that.
Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by TheGoodJoe(m): 8:27am On Aug 06, 2020
post=92508333:

A nonviolent revolution is a revolution using mostly campaigns with civil resistance,

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nonviolent_revolution
Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by Jaqenhghar: 8:28am On Aug 06, 2020
abu12:
all this CIA are sponsoring sowore and tinubu to Disterbilize Nigeria.
It was CIA that diverted money meant for buying weapons and improving security abi
It was CIA that diverted over 100billion meant to develop Niger delta region shey.
It's CIA that is kidnapping people on the highway
I'm sure it's CIA that arrests Nigerians for having dreadlocks and tattoos

Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by Oluwafhemmi10: 8:28am On Aug 06, 2020
Rossikki:

Why not announce a socialist ''REVOLUTION'' in your country, Ireland, and see how long before they arrest your stupid poke nosing face there?

Idiot oyinbos only good at supporting trouble for other countries.

People like u are d reason why we were where we were today 'in Osinbajo's voice', set awon suffering and smiling. Na why 100 years from now we will neva get it right as a country until the people get sense and are ready to put an end to this rubbish.
Wots d population of d policemen they are using to disrupt a protest compared to d struggling to survive youths in the country, dat we can come out enmass as one and stop this insensitivity and cluelessness from these politrikcians...imagine #5 million for hate speech whereas those politicians are hating on each other during their campaigns and none has been arrested but a common man will dragged by DSS for speaking his or her mind.

Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by Adayi1(m): 8:30am On Aug 06, 2020
nairaman66:
Some of your comments above is so childish and full of arrogance! Someone cannot protest in this country again? The hard/harsh dire economic conditions of this current administration is enough reason for any people to protest!

It is an irony to watch things play out these times considering the APC stages many protests in different forms during the PDP rule and nobody was hurt nor arrested. At some point, the PDP gave police escorts to align with protesters and their grievances! Even Mr Buhari protested on several occasions and nobody questioned him!

The precedence of this administration will bring anarchy and upheaval of care if not taken. We are not in a military rule, the people have the right to protest and protest they will!!
Look at dat name 'revolution now' is a crime. if they re really serious, dat name shud be changed and watch many ppl join d train
Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by Tflex01: 8:30am On Aug 06, 2020
Igbos always blame others except themselves.

Let's see them in history. This write up is a good read. Enjoy!

Do you know that when Azikiwe formed government with Tafawa Balewa in the early 60s (Tafawa Balewa was Prime Minister of Nigeria and Azikiwe was the ceremonial president) this was what we had:

Chief of Army Staff was from SE
Chief of Naval Staff was from SE
IG of Police was from SE
Chief of Defence staff was fron SE
Internal Affairs Minister SE
External Affairs Minister SE
Education Minister South SE
Many other key ministries to SE
Parliament President SE
Unilag VC from SE
University of Ibadan VC from SE
North resisted same at ABU!
Still there was dissatisfaction by SE, the officers from the region killed this same Balewa!!!!
Out of all the most senior officers in Nigeria, SE has 37, none was killed. 8 from the north, all of them were killed. 10 from the west, 2 were killed.
Then Ironsi imposed a unitary system of government on the country so that everything can belong to a region who snatched it!
We must know our history so that when we want to make corrections, we will not end up concealing the truth. This has nothing to do with tribalism but everything to do with the truth.....at times when lies litter the streets. There is the tendency to think those are truths and facts.
"What follows are documented facts that can be cross checked for authenticity!"
Thou shall know the truth and the truth shall set you free.
“Prof. Ben Nwabueze was the man who drafted the constitution that took away powers from regions and handed it to the central govt because his brother Aguiyi Ironsi was the head of state then. Today, he is shouting restructuring that he helped to destroy. We won’t forget.”. Let those who have ears
WHAT BIAFRANS WILL NEVER TELL YOU ABOUT THE REAL CAUSE OF THEIR WOES IN NIGERIA TODAY:
The Igbo man is known to enjoy blaming the Hausafulanis, Yorubas and indeed every other Nigerian tribe and Lord Luggard/Britain for their seeming claim of being in third class citizen status in Nigeria. In their perpetual attempts to play the victim card, they recount the political events of Nigeria from 1914 to the present in a half-baked and highly selective manner which cleverly avoids the mention of the roles played by their elite who by all natural laws of judgement were actually responsible for the woes that befell not only the Igbo race but the entire Nigeria nation.
The story told in the post above is one of such selective and distorted accounts of history which the average Igbo man is fond of narrating.
However, the national archives have the complete and unedited history of Nigeria regarding the political events beginning way back from even before 1914. I will therefore proceed to furnish my readers with the complete story for all to read and be endowed with enough facts so as to judge and act from an informed position.
Shortly after the 1914 Amalgamation of the Northern and Southern Protectorates, it started getting clear that the country was bound to fail as the amalgamation in question was done with colonial fiat without the consent and consensus of the different tribes which were over 300. This prompted the political leaders to start asking for de-amalgamation so as to forestall the future danger which the forced amalgamation portended.
To that end, Ahmadu Bello, speaking on behalf of the Northern protectorate in 1944 described the amalgamation as "The mistake of 1914 which if allowed to remain will ultimately lead to unstoppable bloodshed and a failed country".
Awolowo, speaking on behalf of the Yorubas and Western minorities, described Nigeria as a mere geographical expression not qualified to be called a country let alone a nation. Awolowo added that if the amalgamation could not be reversed, then Nigeria should be structured as a strictly federal state so as to enable each tribe enjoy autonomy this freedom from being dominated by any one single tribe.
But Nnamdi Azikiwe, speaking for the Igbos, denounced Awolowo and Ahmadu Bello, terming them ethnic champions. He accused them of nursing a sectional agenda against the unity of Nigeria, and he declared further that the Unity of Nigeria was non-negotiable.
After moving the motion for independece in 1953, Anthony Enahoro proposed that a secession clause should be incorporated into the future constitution of Nigeria so as to give legal backing for any tribe to peacefully exit the forced union if it feels marginalized in future. According to Enahoro, such provision in our constitution would instill in all Nigeria's future leaders the fear of the consequences of misgovernance. But Azikiwe, speaking on behalf of Igbos, rose against him in the parliament and labelled him an agent of disunity, and enemy of Nigeria. At a later date, Awolowo too made a case for secession clause, but Azikiwe again resisted him and instigated the colonial authorities to threaten him and Enahoro with charges of treasonable felony if they didn't stop proposing secession clause for the future constitution. While Azikiwe did all these, Igbos cheered and urged him on because they felt the future Nigeria was theirs to dominate and lord it over every other tribe
Before independece, Tafawa Balewa too had in a public speech described Nigeria as a British experiment and Nigeria's unity as a British intention which Nigerians themselves don't believe in. But Azikiwe kicked and demonized him too. Had Azikiwe co-operated with Enahoro, Awolowo, Ahmadu Bello and Tafawa Balewa about the secession clause, Nigeria perhaps would not have been this misgoverned.
For those in doubt, here is a link of one of the numerous instances in which Nnamdi Azikiwe fought against the secession clause proposal for the future Nigeria constitution.

Re: Mick Barry TD Demands Release Of 'Revolution Now' Protesters by TheGoodJoe(m): 8:31am On Aug 06, 2020
depezee:
Enjoy your ewedu revolution.

You are on your own.

South South and South East will never be part of it.

Speak for yourself because there are many of us in the Niger Delta that ars sick and tired of the mismanagement of the resources of the Niger Delta region by so called Niger Delta people.

ICPC Orders For 5000 Made In Aba Bags (Photos) / Photos Of Akeredolu In His First Day In Office As Ondo State Governor / 2023: Tinubu Appoints Muhammad Mahmud As National Media Coordinator

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 50