Stats: 3,167,251 members, 7,867,658 topics. Date: Friday, 21 June 2024 at 08:52 PM

Update on developments in Anambra state-photos - Politics (509) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Update on developments in Anambra state-photos (2123732 Views)

Update On Developments in Ebonyi state (photos) / ABIA STATE: Updates On Developments- Pictures / Update on developments in Anambra state-photos (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (506) (507) (508) (509) (510) (511) (512) ... (1329) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by Rocksvibes234: 11:25pm On Sep 28, 2020
I see u re not happy with the new terminal.
We all knows that the terminal and apron beautifies an airport. But no worries.
Let's wait for completion.

2ndly, one of the the airport roads lies on Onitsha -Awka, Enugu road. So they will consider it, even Umueri is developing now, alot of housing and industrial estates will soon set up there. Thousands are buy lands there now bcoz of the airport. Go and see your self . It's a welcome development

hammer3:
[s][/s]

ARE U THE PERSON ADVICING OBIANO?

Y AM ASKING IS BECOS ALL THIS ONE U ARE SAYING HERE, IS VERY MISLEADING.

THE FACTS ON GROUND IS THAT WE HAVE AN INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT IN ASABA.

WE HAVE ANOTHER INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT IN ENUGU.

FOR ANYBODY TO EVEN CONSIDER UMUERI AIRPORT, MEANS IT HAS TO BE STATE OF THE ART.

OTHERWISE, IT WILL BE UNDER UTILISED.

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by Rocksvibes234: 11:28pm On Sep 28, 2020
Also The Tower building is cool.
So we move

There are lots of land in the airport complex so they can build giant terminal in future years.

I believe the airport will make sense and be one of the best in the country.

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by Ahamefuna0001(m): 11:41pm On Sep 28, 2020
@, any update on the dry port commissioning?
Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by Cjrane2: 11:42pm On Sep 28, 2020
Using Lagos as a reference point for development is why everything in Nigeria looks like sh*t.

Thank God for Abuja that revolutionized house roofs designe to look European or American and wide roads in Nigeria.

Nigerians are blind copiers that hate to research best practices. I know a certain village where everyone aspires to build a bungalow because the man they considered as their wealthiest man lives in a bungalow.

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by Ahamefuna0001(m): 11:43pm On Sep 28, 2020
Rocksvibes234:

2ndly, one of the the airport roads lies on Onitsha -Awka, Enugu road. So they will consider it, even Umueri is developing now, alot of housing and industrial estates will soon set up there. Thousands are buy lands there now bcoz of the airport. Go and see your self . It's a welcome development

Hammer3 is not far from the truth. The Airport need to have an outstanding edge over the others.

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by ChimaAdeoye: 1:54am On Sep 29, 2020
hammer3:
[s][/s]

THE FACTS ON GROUND IS THAT WE HAVE AN INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT IN ASABA.

WE HAVE ANOTHER INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT IN ENUGU.

This is Apapa wharft mentality. I want only one infrastructure in Nigeria because its in my state. Even if it's incapable of serving the needs of the country or other ports in other regions will help Nigeria's economy grow, i don't want them because they may rival my home state's port. If you oppose this simply because you are from Enugu or so, then i have wasted my time trying to educate someone with an ulterior motive.

The same arguement was made against Asaba airport that it would take away passengers from Enugu and Owerri and kill Igbo airports. Now let me ask you, has Asaba cause Enugu and Owerri airports to close down?

Look, Anambra airport WILL NOT affect Enugu or Asaba airports. If Asaba airport finally becomes international and perhaps get routes as Rome, Turkey, London, Cairo. While Enugu gets Addis Ababa, Frankfurt, Houston,Nairobi and Umueri gets Shaghai, Mumbai, Taipei, Jakarta, Johannesburg,. These airports can co-exist and in fact complement each other the way JFK and LaGuardia and Newark airports complement each other by their close proximity. By diverting flights to nearby places in emergencies in one airport. If Port Harcourt Intl was not near Enugu, there would be no place other than Lagos to divert Enugu flight when the airport was closed.

Again, Obiano does not need to build anything spectacular that we all know even the federal government cannot afford. Thus we know Obiano cannot afford them. Obiano only needs to build smartly: a solid 3.5KM runway with proper airfield lighting for night operations and Instrument Landing System (Category 2) to enable airplane land even in zero visibility & the airport attain a Cat 2 airport rating. If the Anambra international airport can take these jumbo passenger / Cargo (Airbus 380 & Boeing 747 ) jets in the picture below, then it is worthwhile and justified its existence by having that length of runway.

Right now, i think only Lagos, Abuja and Kano Intl. airports runways are long enough for this category of airplanes. Once we get a runway that can take any type of plane, then even if it takes 50 years to build the shiny terminal building in the render & a taxiway of about 20 meters wide), then Obiano did a very good job by adding Anambra in the league of only 4 states with runway lenght that can safely land this huge passenger & cargo jet!

At least a 3.5 KM by 60 M Runway, Airfield lighting and ILS cat 2 is everything!

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by OruExpress: 2:27am On Sep 29, 2020
ChimaAdeoye:

Countries put in their best in their international airports. It is different from their public mass transportation facilities. Although the standard is still waaay above what we build in Nigeria, these countries don't particularly pay too much attention to them as they aren't really image makers like say Atlanta, Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, Dallas,Fort Lauderdale, New York , Denver, Newark, Philadelphia, Orlando, Tampa,Detroit, Boston etc airports. I expect Nigeria's 5 international airports to at the minimum resemble south African airports.

My point is that in Nigeria, we have so downgraded the basic standard thinking Lagos is a standard for anything. The way someone mentioned here once that Nnewi should "develop" to become Onitsha. Because we think the closest best thing we have is actually what it should be.

We should outgrow the mindset that anything in Lagos meets global standard. In truth, Lagos is a horrid slum and Nigeria is notorious in building substandard things. That is why i grieve when our highest aspiration is always "Lagos" as if it meets even the basic standard globally.
Exactly the reason why our people are so wowed when they visit even Iran or Egypt.

I agree that we should have high standards. I put function above asethetics. Nigerians hold image above eating food and drinking water, and we can work on checking that.

If the SA airport is landing planes and the Nigeria airport is landing planes they are the same. If someone wants to beautify the Nigerian airport that is great but it is a philsophical decision, not a fundamental or functional on.

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by Anambra1stS0n: 5:37am On Sep 29, 2020
Ahamefuna0001:
@, any update on the dry port commissioning?
River port not dry port

Sorry guys I didn't get any update from the guy that sent the message to my box, I checked Moghalu's time line nothing yet, although there was meeting of stakeholders concerning movement of cargoes to Onitsha port Thursday last week, I believe they are working something out

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by Nobody: 6:32am On Sep 29, 2020
America is 50 years ahead of Nigeria. Let's compare Nigeria to other African countries if you want to compare development.

The Cairo airport which was the second busiest airport in Africa for a very long time was worse than MMIA for many years. Horrible terminal. But the runway was good. Same goes for Oliver Tambo in joburg which was ancient and primitive until it was upgraded for the world cup.

But the difference between Nigeria and other African countries is that when they spend money you see the difference. Nigeria government takes too many shortcuts. They focus on style over substance otherwise what sense is there in building airport terminals with a glass facade that will require obscene amount of electricity to run air conditioning? In a country with poor electricity?

We should demand excellence in the use of public funds. Not shortcuts like Nigerian government likes to take.

ChimaAdeoye:

Countries put in their best in their international airports. It is different from their public mass transportation facilities. Although the standard is still waaay above what we build in Nigeria, these countries don't particularly pay too much attention to them as they aren't really image makers like say Atlanta, Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, Dallas,Fort Lauderdale, New York , Denver, Newark, Philadelphia, Orlando, Tampa,Detroit, Boston etc airports. I expect Nigeria's 5 international airports to at the minimum resemble south African airports.

My point is that in Nigeria, we have so downgraded the basic standard thinking Lagos is a standard for anything. The way someone mentioned here once that Nnewi should "develop" to become Onitsha. Because we think the closest best thing we have is actually what it should be.

We should outgrow the mindset that anything in Lagos meets global standard. In truth, Lagos is a horrid slum and Nigeria is notorious in building substandard things. That is why i grieve when our highest aspiration is always "Lagos" as if it meets even the basic standard globally.
Exactly the reason why our people are so wowed when they visit even Iran or Egypt.

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by hammer3: 6:51am On Sep 29, 2020
Rocksvibes234:

I HOPE, AM UNDERSTOOD HERE BECAUSE I BELIEVE I HAD BEEN VERY CLEAR.

I MORE THAN ANYBODY HERE WANT TO SEE ANAMBRA DOING WELL AND LEADING OTHER STATES IN THE SE.

I JUST EXPECT THAT WHEN THINGS ARE DONE, TO BE DONE VERY WELL.

WHY DRAW UP TWO PLAN FOR AN AIRPORT AND WASTE MONEY, WEN U CAN CUT DOWN WAT YOU BUILD INITIALLY TO THE BARE ESSENTIALS AND THEN GRADUALLY EXECUTE THE REST OF THE PROJECT PAINSTAKINGLY OVER THE COMING YEARS.

NOTHING GOOD COMES EASY, AND IF WE ARE TO CLOSE THE GAP WITH LAGOS AND ABUJA THEN WE HAVE TO BE FULLY COMMITTED.

THIS IS WAT I AM SAYING, NOT THAT UMUERI IS NOT GOOD ENOUGH OR THE AIRPORT SHOULD NOT BE NAMED AFTER OBIANO.

MY POSITION IS NOT PERSONAL BUT RATHER OBJECTIVE.

WE CAN BUILD THE CONTROL TOWER AND START WORK ON THE FIRST TERMINAL NEXT TO IT, LEAVING THE REST FOR 50 YEARS COMPLETION.

AIRPORTS ARE NOT BUILT IN 1 YEAR, OVER NIGHT, NOBODY EXPECT THAT.

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by hammer3: 7:12am On Sep 29, 2020
WE MUST CHANGE THE WAY WE THINK, TO CHANGE THE WAY WE DO THINGS, TO CHANGE THE QUALITY OF THE THINGS WE DO, IT'S OUTCOME AND OUR MAINTENANCE CULTURE.

IN OTHER, FOR US TO MOVE FORWARD SUCCESSFULLY.

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by Rocksvibes234: 8:11am On Sep 29, 2020
Yes bro, if it's too much, they can build one of the terminal, and one small stylish one for domestic flight.

hammer3:

I MORE THAN ANYBODY HERE WANT TO SEE ANAMBRA DOING WELL AND LEADING OTHER STATES IN THE SE.

WHY DRAW UP TWO PLAN FOR AN AIRPORT AND WASTE MONEY, WEN U CAN CUT DOWN WAT YOU BUILD INITIALLY TO THE BARE ESSENTIALS AND THEN GRADUALLY EXECUTE THE REST OF THE PROJECT PAINSTAKINGLY OVER THE COMING YEARS.

NOTHING GOOD COMES EASY, AND IF WE ARE TO CLOSE THE GAP WITH LAGOS AND ABUJA THEN WE HAVE TO BE FULLY COMMITTED.

THIS IS WAT I AM SAYING, NOT THAT UMUERI IS NOT GOOD ENOUGH OR THE AIRPORT SHOULD NOT BE NAMED AFTER OBIANO.

WE CAN BUILD THE CONTROL TOWER AND START WORK ON THE FIRST TERMINAL NEXT TO IT, LEAVING THE REST FOR 50 YEARS COMPLETION.

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by Nobody: 8:15am On Sep 29, 2020
That is the thing. If you want to build a world class airport with Anambra budget it will take 10 years. Obiano should have started in 2015 not 2020. Look at Second Niger Bridge. 4 years to build a proper bridge. Why take shortcuts or promise what you can't deliver?

Obiano should stop playing politics and tell the truth. If you are building proper airport give a proper time line. No way a proper airport even one local like Asaba can be done in one year. Just resurfacing Enugu airport took almost 1 year talk less building a new runway in a country where you can only construct for 8 months in a year.

hammer3:

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by FOXDOSSIER: 8:21am On Sep 29, 2020
Your posts are usually full of bitterness and frustration, no one wants your negative energy that's why you are being avoided like plague. Mktinsight go and do something else with your miserable life, you have been rejected here. Wasting of time by FG over Niger bridge is your basis of doing the right thing. That they wasted all the time in Enugu airport and brought out rubbish, to you wasting of time means quality. You are cursed but you don't know it yet. Obiano is younger than your father, why not bring your father to come and contest, so that you will be by the corner dishing out all those useless and nonsensical advices that leads to hell.

mktinsight:
That is the thing. If you want to build a world class airport with Anambra budget it will take 10 years. Obiano should have started in 2015 not 2020. Look at Second Niger Bridge. 4 years to build a proper bridge. Why take shortcuts or promise what you can't deliver? Obiano should stop playing politics and tell the truth. If you are building proper airport give a proper time line. No way a proper airport even one local like Asaba can be done in one year. Just resurfacing Enugu airport took almost 1 year talk less building a new runway in a country where you can only construct for 8 months in a year.

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by okitipupaGEE: 8:33am On Sep 29, 2020
I am from okitipupua but Enugu is a cursed useless backward worthless hopeless shithole state ravaged with poverty, erosion, illiteracy, bastards inferior igbos from Nsukka. Anambra is the leader of igbo land cheesy

ABIAman4Chino:

The useless and worthless illiterate miscreant from erosion ravaged shithole village of Anambra State... Well you're kogi Anambra.. You will cry blood today yet again

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by okitipupaGEE: 8:34am On Sep 29, 2020
https://www.nairaland.com/6149217/new-thread-hahahaha

Abiaman4chino lets roll here with pictures cheesy

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by okitipupaGEE: 8:45am On Sep 29, 2020
Where's cursed useless frustrated worthless Nsukka bastard called Kasy Ogenyi aka Abiaman4chino. Our new thread is ready. Where is your? cheesy

Re: Update on developments in Anambra state-photos by FOXDOSSIER: 8:50am On Sep 29, 2020
mbaiseboi:

See the apology letter the bastard wrote to us begging cheesy

Make I save this apology letter cheesy cheesy

(1) (2) (3) ... (506) (507) (508) (509) (510) (511) (512) ... (1329) (Reply)

Few Pics From Imo State / Abubakar Shekau, Boko Haram Leader Speaks To BBC Hausa, Enjoys Killing People.

Viewing this topic: madubaymi, KbEzinneKx and 1 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 58