Stats: 3,152,468 members, 7,816,104 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 04:55 AM

Before Your Hire The Next Developer. How To Avoid Getting Scammed - Webmasters - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Webmasters / Before Your Hire The Next Developer. How To Avoid Getting Scammed (367 Views)

As A Developer, How Much Will You Charge For A Website Like Efx2.io ? / What To Learn As An App Developer, How To Learn It Fast And Effectively / 10 Tips To Avoid Getting Your Adsense Account Disabled (2) (3) (4)

Before Your Hire The Next Developer. How To Avoid Getting Scammed by explorer250(m): 4:43am On Nov 11, 2020
A little intro about myself. I am Clinton a freelance full stack developer.

With the increasing number of fake developers and scammers littered all over this section, it is a source of worry to some of us who get the bulk of our clients from this section.

I have come to realize that there are reasons why developer seeking clients get scammed and i am going to list out these reasons.

1. You want a great job for a very cheap price: This is the top reason why most clients get scammed and I believe that over 90% of the scams recorded on Nairaland is because of this. I keep on speaking on this. Programming is not "easy". When you want a developer to integrate top of the earth features into your website and all you can offer is a cheap amount that cant even fuel the generator, my brother, you will definitely get scammed! and you know what? I don't feel pity for this category of victims because they deserve it(hey, that is my personal opinion).

2. The developer cant really do the job: I personally don't believe in "collect the job, learn how to do it later" . So many People are claiming to be developers with incredible programming skills but in reality most of them are just WordPress theme installers. As a client you should know that WordPress cant really do much and hiring these set of developers and putting very high expectations on them will definitely end in disaster

3. The person you are trying to hire is an outright scammer: So many people in this section are actually scammers "looking for their daily bread" . What actually prompted me to create this thread is because I just saw a notorious scammer bidding for a job in this section and i know the client will definitely fall for him because the scammer usually offer incredibly cheap services.

How to avoid getting scammed

I have just one solution to this scam problem and I discovered it reduces the possibility or probability of getting scammed by over 95%(not a statement of fact but it is my opinion).

Subject any developer you are hiring to a test! No scammer will have the time to start solving algorithms and answering questions in Php or JavaScript he doesn't know because he wants to scam you.

I have been doing a job for the past 2 months and before i was hired by my client i was subjected to a test from devskiller. I don't think any scammer or quack will have the patience or skill needed to take any online test. Even if they do, they will definitely fail! You can google about devskiller or any other skill testing platform and i think the tests are free. So as a potential employer make sure to subject your potential employee to a test to ascertain if he actually possesses the skills he claims to have.

In summary. As an employer, pay well for jobs and test the skills and authenticity of your employee!
GETTING RID OF SCAMMERS IN THIS SECTION IN THIS SECTION IS A COLLECTIVE EFFORT. PLEASE SUPPORT IT !
Re: Before Your Hire The Next Developer. How To Avoid Getting Scammed by RealLordZeus(m): 4:59am On Nov 11, 2020
I tote agree with number 1.

You want a world class forum more sophisticated than nairaland but all you can budget for it is 35k, its like they are doing u.

Someone from Nl contacted about an investment portal, after collecting the required info I gave him the price breakdown, suggest a domain for him, he then went mute.
After like two month, he was asking if I can fix some bugs, alas, it was the domain I suggested, I gave him the price again (30k) to fix the issues, he went mute again, after like another two month, he now contacted and started reading from the book of lamentation on how many people have scammed him and how I should help him fix the site and he will pay midway, after some consideration, I agree and request for cPanel logins, that's when he said the previous developer did not and will not release it, and thus asked how much to start all over. I simply comment our first price breakdown and since then he has went mute again
Good riddance to bad rubbish

However, about 70% of my clients are from nairaland which I really appreciate and mostly do not have any cause of regrets , there are still good people out there looking for quality work
Re: Before Your Hire The Next Developer. How To Avoid Getting Scammed by explorer250(m): 5:05am On Nov 11, 2020
RealLordZeus:
I tote agree with number 1.

You want a world class forum more sophisticated than nairaland but all you can budget for it is 35k, its like they are doing u.

Someone from Nl contacted about an investment portal, after collecting the required info I gave him the price breakdown, suggest a domain for him, he then went mute.
After like two month, he was asking if I can fix some bugs, alas, it was the domain I suggested, I gave him the price again (30k) to fix the issues, he went mute again, after like another two month, he now contacted and started reading from the book of lamentation on how many people have scammed him and how I should help him fix the site and he will pay midway, after some consideration, I agree and request for cPanel logins, that's when he said the previous developer did not and will not release it, and thus asked how much to start all over. I simply comment our first price breakdown and since then he has went mute again
Good riddance to bad rubbish

However, about 70% of my clients are from nairaland which I really appreciate and mostly do not have any cause of regrets , there are still good people out there looking for quality work

I have encountered exactly this same problem severally. one wanted me to develop a fully functional vtu website that does not rely on reseller api for 11k. a job that 200k can't cover the expenses
Re: Before Your Hire The Next Developer. How To Avoid Getting Scammed by RealLordZeus(m): 5:10am On Nov 11, 2020
explorer250:

I have encountered exactly this same problem severally. one wanted me to develop a fully functional vtu website that does not rely on reseller api for 11k. a job that 200k can't cover the expenses
11k nitori Olohun..

Well I'm not surprised, coz someone from here also want a mobile app for 5k, and told me he has got several offers but looking someone with better rep, the thing left me shocked to the marrow

Re: Before Your Hire The Next Developer. How To Avoid Getting Scammed by explorer250(m): 5:15am On Nov 11, 2020
RealLordZeus:

11k nitori Olohun..

Well I'm not surprised, coz someone from here also want a mobile app for 5k, and told me he has got several offers but looking someone with better rep, the thing left me shocked to the marrow

grin grin lol very funny. They think programming is like typing on ms word. wetin person no go see for nairaland
Re: Before Your Hire The Next Developer. How To Avoid Getting Scammed by etoluw: 2:21pm On Nov 11, 2020
explorer250:
A little intro about myself. I am Clinton a freelance full stack developer.

With the increasing number of fake developers and scammers littered all over this section, it is a source of worry to some of us who get the bulk of our clients from this section.

I have come to realize that there are reasons why developer seeking clients get scammed and i am going to list out these reasons.

1. You want a great job for a very cheap price: This is the top reason why most clients get scammed and I believe that over 90% of the scams recorded on Nairaland is because of this. I keep on speaking on this. Programming is not "easy". When you want a developer to integrate top of the earth features into your website and all you can offer is a cheap amount that cant even fuel the generator, my brother, you will definitely get scammed! and you know what? I don't feel pity for this category of victims because they deserve it(hey, that is my personal opinion).

2. The developer cant really do the job: I personally don't believe in "collect the job, learn how to do it later" . So many People are claiming to be developers with incredible programming skills but in reality most of them are just WordPress theme installers. As a client you should know that WordPress cant really do much and hiring these set of developers and putting very high expectations on them will definitely end in disaster

3. The person you are trying to hire is an outright scammer: So many people in this section are actually scammers "looking for their daily bread" . What actually prompted me to create this thread is because I just saw a notorious scammer bidding for a job in this section and i know the client will definitely fall for him because the scammer usually offer incredibly cheap services.

How to avoid getting scammed

I have just one solution to this scam problem and I discovered it reduces the possibility or probability of getting scammed by over 95%(not a statement of fact but it is my opinion).

Subject any developer you are hiring to a test! No scammer will have the time to start solving algorithms and answering questions in Php or JavaScript he doesn't know because he wants to scam you.

I have been doing a job for the past 2 months and before i was hired by my client i was subjected to a test from devskiller. I don't think any scammer or quack will have the patience or skill needed to take any online test. Even if they do, they will definitely fail! You can google about devskiller or any other skill testing platform and i think the tests are free. So as a potential employer make sure to subject your potential employee to a test to ascertain if he actually possesses the skills he claims to have.

In summary. As an employer, pay well for jobs and test the skills and authenticity of your employee!
GETTING RID OF SCAMMERS IN THIS SECTION IN THIS SECTION IS A COLLECTIVE EFFORT. PLEASE SUPPORT IT !

nice article

but i want to correct your statement that "wordpress can't do much".

when you learn how to build themes/plugins you'll realize that WordPress can do a lot.

Re: Before Your Hire The Next Developer. How To Avoid Getting Scammed by explorer250(m): 2:25pm On Nov 11, 2020
etoluw:

nice article

but i want to correct your statement that "wordpress can't do much".

when you learn how to build themes/plugins you'll realize that WordPress can do a lot.

if you can actually write themes and plugins, then you can actually write code and might not need WordPress to do the job!
Re: Before Your Hire The Next Developer. How To Avoid Getting Scammed by etoluw: 4:21pm On Nov 11, 2020
explorer250:

if you can actually write themes and plugins, then you can actually write code and might not need WordPress to do the job!

You might still need it because it makes the job a lot easier just like all other frameworks.

Building a site from scratch requires a lot of energy, time planning etc and you will definitely encounter bugs (frustration & headache).

and to make matters worse many clients are not willing to pay good money(esp here in ibadan).

So why not save yourself the stress and use wordpress.

Re: Before Your Hire The Next Developer. How To Avoid Getting Scammed by RealLordZeus(m): 6:33am On Nov 12, 2020
etoluw:

You might still need it because it makes the job a lot easier just like all other frameworks.

Building a site from scratch requires a lot of energy, time planning etc and you will definitely encounter bugs (frustration & headache).

and to make matters worse many clients are not willing to pay good money(esp here in ibadan).

So why not save yourself the stress and use wordpress.
Gbam!
Nothing but the truth,
How can you expect me to write 200k line of codes for an E-commerce site when all you are willing to pay is 50k..

WordPress provides a better alternative but not 100% flexible.

But I will let you know what the deal is during negotiations, you pay for custom work, you get it 100% else WordPress or similar framework all the way

Get Custom Websites For As Low As N8000 / 20 High-converting Landing Page Examples / Wordpress Developer Needed

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 47