Stats: 3,327,015 members, 8,429,035 topics. Date: Thursday, 18 June 2026 at 11:04 AM

Usefulsense's Posts

Nairaland ForumUsefulsense's ProfileUsefulsense's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 (of 9 pages)

TravelRe: Migrated To Australia At 48: And God Came Through For Me. by Usefulsense(op): 7:52pm On Aug 05, 2024
I must also add that apart from being costly, coming as a student from Africa is becoming increasingly difficult.

You may consider New Zealand. The country has much more relaxed immigration policy than Aussie. Both New Zealand and Australia share things in common.
TravelRe: Migrated To Australia At 48: And God Came Through For Me. by Usefulsense(op): 7:44pm On Aug 05, 2024
All those asking me about how to come legally to Australia, the only route I know very well is coming as a student.

There are many ways to come legally but the only one I know is coming as a student. This is because I came as a student.

You can meet a good Migration agent for advice. But, bear it in mind that 95% of all migration agents in Nigeria are criminals and scammers. Don't give them your money.

I will suggest you Google licensed migration agents in Australia. Send them a mail and will give you options available.

Coming as a student now is extremely costly because of exchange rate.

In all you do, NEVER come to Australia as an illegal migrant. If you do, you will regret it.
TravelRe: Migrated To Australia At 48: And God Came Through For Me. by Usefulsense(op): 7:34am On Aug 05, 2024
Gerrard59:
I have nothing to say about the rest of your post, but the bold is a BIG FAT LIE! Very BIG FAT LIE! I am surprised someone who earned 1.1 million naira per month can type such on Obasanjo's Internet. Now, I see why a few people doubted your story ab initio.

There are lies, and there are abominable lies. The bold is one of such abominable lies.
Which of them is lies sir? The land purchased or my net per month in Nigeria or the bank manager story?
TravelRe: Migrated To Australia At 48: And God Came Through For Me. by Usefulsense(op): 10:32pm On Aug 04, 2024
I'm about preparing for work. I will respond to all messages in my inbox when I close from work.
TravelRe: Migrated To Australia At 48: And God Came Through For Me. by Usefulsense(op): 10:31pm On Aug 04, 2024
chybyke2:
Good evening brother. Please, can I pm you?
I have responded.
TravelRe: Migrated To Australia At 48: And God Came Through For Me. by Usefulsense(op): 9:57pm On Aug 04, 2024
OBTOREPA:
Don't mind them abeg.
How do I reach out to you sir
I have responded to your mail.

Please note that because of the huge timing difference between Nigeria and Australia, it will take sometime for me to respond to your questions.

But be rest assured I will make out time to respond.
TravelRe: Migrated To Australia At 48: And God Came Through For Me. by Usefulsense(op): 9:55pm On Aug 04, 2024
Jokerman:
I believe you Sir... I will still move too Sir... I'm working on it with my wife...

I click into your testimony
Just make sure you migrate with your wife.
You will achieve more together than one of you coming alone.

Most importantly, DO NOT COME HERE ILLEGALLY OOOOOO. If you do, you will regret it.

Younger folks are making it big time here because they can work round the clock.

I don't do night shifts. I do morning and afternoons from 6am to 10pm. But not every day oooo. This was when I was in the warehouse. I work 6am to 2pm everyday. For days I am called for shift in disability, I do 3 to 11pm and sometimes close by 10pm.

I just stopped working in the warehouse and will resume in Finance today. My timing has been altered significantly.

My start and close time in finance is 9am to 5pm.
TravelRe: Migrated To Australia At 48: And God Came Through For Me. by Usefulsense(op): 9:46pm On Aug 04, 2024
OBTOREPA:
I'm very happy for you sir.
I connect to your grace.
Congratulations 🎊.
Please I need your email, want Australia migration plug/advise.
How do I reach out to you sir?
Just go to my profile, you will see send mail to usefulsense.

As soon as you do that, I will respond.
TravelRe: Migrated To Australia At 48: And God Came Through For Me. by Usefulsense(op):
Treadway:
Gerrard leave usefulsense abeg. Someone with cognitive dissonance can't be reasoned with. As always, na that conversion to naira be the main thrill.....and yet on the earlier thread he said life is not about the money, but na the money he dey use as justification now onto say he buy land of 11m, like say all the small small island boys with good jobs wey dey buy the 20-30million cars on Nairaland auto section are from outer space. 11m that won't even buy Lexus RX350 2006 Toks in Nigeria today, but surprisingly some people still dey buy, e dey shock even me sef... na im bros say top manager in Tier one bank no fit spend 11m from one year savings.

Usefulsense do visit Nairaland auto section and see the prices of cars there (due to the same worthless naira that now make you feel like homelessness for Aussie sef better, and horrendously high custom duties on top), and yet there are those that are still doing well despite the Cray Cray in Nigeria and buying those cars. Look up 'Madison spices' and 'Aristo bar and bistro' in Akure. Both are owned by a friend that we did our MBA together. Dude is just 40. He is doing way better than even me. Achieving things like that are what I find inspiring...not some dude who is screaming at the top of his lungs every 3 market days about running to another country being his sole life achievement. I can only imagine how good my said friend feels when he wakes up every morning. He won't leave what he has built to go and pack shit.

We are talking of the stuff you are made of, not your environment. You have described what you are made of, not everyone is like that fortunately/unfortunately. You can't take credit for the environment, you didn't create it.

No matter how hard the wind blows, a mountain will not bow to it. Lions know their place, a gazelle knows it's place. Environment or not, a gazelle cannot live like a lion, and vice versa.

Adiós!

PS: Isn't it interesting that even he and the Aussie crew found it odd that a Financial controller was packing boxes..I wonder why that was concerning...they for just leave you to dey pack the boxes na afterall that should be enough na....that and of course clear skies, picturesque landscapes and access to education and healthcare.💯
The summary is I am much better where I am now than when I was in Nigeria.

You couldn't even say congratulation to someone who worked only for 4 months and was able to save about 10,000AUD which he converted to Naira and got about 11million and invested it in empty plot.

To tell you the truth, with my 1.057m monthly net in Nigeria, I cannot afford this even in 2 and half years.
TravelRe: Migrated To Australia At 48: And God Came Through For Me. by Usefulsense(op):
Gerrard59:
Why should he save 50 million when inflation and devaluation eat up the money? Why do you think it is not possible to save that amount as a bank manager? I think most of you people under-rate certain professions and the earnings they make. Yes, there is corruption, but people do earn quite a lot in certain industries in Nigeria and legitimately as well. I believe the major problem is the dearth of accurate information regarding salaries in corporate Nigeria. Most importantly, the mama-put woman is an entrepreneur, not an employee. Apples to oranges, not apples to apples.

That said, the mama-put woman has done well for herself. But if she migrates to Australia to pack sheet, she can never live a decent life compared to while in Nigeria. Again, no sheet packer in Australia lives a decent above a bank manager in Nigeria. If you disagree, maybe you should define what the phrase "decent life" means as a sheet packer.

If anyone wants to pack sheet, that is okay. But correlating that to living a decent life in Australia above a bank manager in Nigeria is abominable.
Sir, I still maintain that a shit packer in Australia lives better than a bank manager in Nigeria.

a shit packer is even paid higher than those of us that worked in the warehouse.
a shit packer has electricity 24/7
a shit packer has 1000% better access to good medical care that a bank manager in Nigeria.
a shit packer has no need to fear kidnappers, armed robber etc here.
a shit packer has no need to queue for fuel
Your new monthly minimum wage is a shit packers 2 hours wage,
a shit packer most likely has another job such that your bank manager will only dream of his monthly savings when converted to Naira.
a shit packer eats better food with fruits and beverages than your bank manager.

if you see the kind of cars warehouse workers drive to work, you will marvel. It is in Nigeria that your bank manager driving tokumbo Toyota rav 4 2015 model will think he has arrived. Come over here and see guys driving tear rubber suvs of brands you have never heard of.
Though, you may say those machines are on mortgage.

I worked in the warehouse and disability organisation for four months and acquired a parcel of land in the East measuring 90feet by 93feet. The total cost plus fencing is about 11 million naira. Your bank manager cannot afford it legally even in 2 years.
sonofanarchy:
Can you tell us how you did the application
My family never stopped praying to God for a job in accounting.

When I got home from one of my shifts on a particular day, a thought flashed my mind.

I reasoned in my mind to meet the head of accounts of the organization where I worked (as a pick packer) and tell him my story.
I discussed with one of my colleagues (the man is elderly, he told me he is 70 but you won't believe it) in the warehouse and asked for his advise.

He directed me to have a chat with the warehouse manager.

The following day, before I could go to the manager, that my colleague had already discussed with him.

So when I finally met the manager, he promised to send a mail to HR.

I must say this, while I worked in the warehouse, I put in my all into my assignment. In fact, I became a household name in the entire warehouse. I made friends so easily. On two different occasions, I was called to train new intakes and induct them on what we do. I trained a lady from Iraq and a man from Fiji island.
Even though I didn't see what the manager wrote about me, I believe he wrote good recommendation for me.

One major concern the organization had is how someone who had worked as a financial controller of a company overseas would accept an officer role. My answer to them was that the same financial controller is a pick packer in a warehouse.

To cut the long story short, I was interviewed and employed in the finance department of the organization where I worked as a warehouse pick packer.

I met a friend from Edo state in one of the houses where I went to work as a disability support worker. His story is exactly like mine. He was an IT guru and worked with the federal government before he came to Australia.

According to him, he started work in the warehouse, met his shift supervisor and told him his situation. He was invited for interview in the same company for an IT role and he was offered the job. He became a permanent staff.

My focus now is praying to God for my PR. As soon as that drops between now and the next three months, I will update you guys. That will be my final update on my migration story.

You can read my story on this platform.
TravelRe: Migrated To Australia At 48: And God Came Through For Me. by Usefulsense(op): 5:12am On Aug 04, 2024
haybhi1:
Congrats.
Thank you sir.
TravelRe: Migrated To Australia At 48: And God Came Through For Me. by Usefulsense(op): 1:31am On Aug 04, 2024
timwudz:
Congratulations sir. Happy you made it there!
The good Lord that did it for you will do it for others aspiring to make a move also, including me.

Congrats once more!
Amen
TravelRe: Migrated To Australia At 48: And God Came Through For Me. by Usefulsense(op): 1:30am On Aug 04, 2024
RealityKings:
God came through for you. Hopefully, you'll get better jobs as time goes on.
Amen
TravelRe: Migrated To Australia At 48: And God Came Through For Me. by Usefulsense(op): 1:30am On Aug 04, 2024
baba4thegehs:
Congratulations. I pray it keeps getting better for you.
I like that you come back to share the small wins in your journey and also give gratitude God.

You see that's easily the seed for more victorious experiences.

Cheers mate.
Amen
TravelMigrated To Australia At 48: And God Came Through For Me. by Usefulsense(op):
After the post I made in March concerning my experience after 3 months in Australia, I received a lot of responses on the said thread with many insulting me for migrating at age 48.

While a lot of people congratulated me for making the bold decision and taking steps to relocate my family to a better clime, others wondered why a financial controller, earning more than a million naira net per month, will leave Nigeria to become a warehouse worker in far away Australia.

I did my best to explain that even as a warehouse worker, my savings in a month after all expenses is almost twice my monthly net in Nigeria.

I mentioned that, apart from the few who had jobs before coming to Australia, you would most likely start life in the warehouse or as a disability support worker when you get here.

A particular guy told me in the said thread that I will never get accounting role in Australia because of the competition.

Glory to Almighty God who answered my prayers. I have my appointment letter as an accounts staff in one of the companies Australia.

Though, my position is lower than what it was while in Nigeria, it is a good starting point.

The journey wasn't easy but it's worth it.

To be continued...........
PoliticsRe: Fuel Rises To ₦‎1,300/Litre As Depots Run Dry by Usefulsense: 8:35am On Jul 29, 2024
nairalanda1:
A cleaner overseas pays for fuel at market price, and pays for power at market price, that;s why they get it well well

They also pay property tax and council tax to get a good rail and public transport service.

If we did the above in Nigeria, you guys would cry and cry, so we pay cheap, and get cheap....

We under pay for power, and we get bad power, and we underpay for fuel, and get scarcity, and a host of other things and issues.

And we don't earn enough money, and the corruption worsens things, which is why a cleaner cannot make a decent wage.

We live on money meant for a country of less than 10 million...all 260 million of us, and then we wonder why we cannot have good electricity, refineries, and decent wages.

And you still vote for the same APC and PDP, and co.
PoliticsRe: Fuel Rises To ₦‎1,300/Litre As Depots Run Dry by Usefulsense: 6:31am On Jul 29, 2024
When we say a cleaner abroad lives a better life than the regional manager of zenith bank, this is part of what we mean.
PoliticsRe: I See Revolution In Nigeria. by Usefulsense(op): 7:31pm On Jul 28, 2024
drlateef:
You get fever. Better go and take chloroquin😂
August is coming
PoliticsMake the world a better place. by Usefulsense(op): 7:28pm On Jul 28, 2024
To live
PoliticsRe: I See Revolution In Nigeria. by Usefulsense(op): 5:43am On Jul 28, 2024
Malroux:
Get something doing man.
PoliticsRe: I See Revolution In Nigeria. by Usefulsense(op): 5:43am On Jul 28, 2024
helinues:
Shame of using the initial moniker?
TravelRe: Japa: What Are You Still Waiting For? by Usefulsense: 10:00pm On Jul 23, 2024
Teamfrosh1201:
I will sure do that.
Thereafter, ask me any question. I will answer.
TravelRe: Japa: What Are You Still Waiting For? by Usefulsense: 3:55pm On Jul 23, 2024
Teamfrosh1201:
@48 😳😳😳. Wow.
Go and read my story. It is here in nairaland.
TravelRe: Japa: What Are You Still Waiting For? by Usefulsense: 6:25am On Jul 23, 2024
Validated:
If you have a good certification, still in your thirties or below 40, or even early forties, you are able to save up to N10m and have a child or two children and not a political actor or a clergy of a big church, may I ask, "What are you still waiting for"?

You see, 7 months ago, your N10m was about $22K. Now, it is only about $8590. However bad, it could still take you to UK, atleast. Then you can begin sorting your life. Even if you have a business, it will be eroded soon.
What the likes of GSK, P&G, Unilever, Suntory, etc are saw or are seeing and moving should give you signal that this train is headed to a total anarchy.

Even if you do not love yourself, for the sake of your family, move. There is no hope in the foreseeable horizon. I am not a doomsday prophet, but if you understand the times, you know that things are going to get worse.

10 years ago, I called a friend and advised him to come over to Canada. He said he is not going to another man's country to "slave". He would rather come and visit and enjoy holidays. Funny enough his subordinate took the initiative. His (surbordinate) wife got a scholarship and in two years he relocated and he and his family now lives big in Ontario.

Fastforward to 2023, my friend is now in his early-50s, he has lost his job, his tottering business is now almost moribund. No thanks to Tinubu's economic janglova. Now, he is asking me to help him and his family relocate. 4 adults (Him, his wife and 2 children). How?

My reply may be brutal abd unfair, "Bro, you are 10 years late". He is now franticky looking towards the UK, looking for buyers of his inheritance, but the Tories are locking the gate on Dec 31, 2023. Not sure if he can still make it across.

My advice, if you can leave this sinking ship, please do ASAP. Today, it is armed robbery and kidnapping. In few years, a reminisce of the 1000000 boys will resurface.

Someone is going to come here to preach that it is not rosy out there. Yes, at first it will be rough. With time you will get along, learn the system, culture, then boom, you will just know you made a bold move. Nigeria is not getting better soon. Atleast, not with the huge debts and dwindling revenues that is over 50% channelled to debt servicing. Not with over 45% budget deficits to be financed on loans. Not with low purchasing power of the populace. Not with this "owambe" government. Not when our oil production is already swapped for loans for next 5 years and steeply declining productivity.

No, not with a Tinubu that does not understand productivity.
I left Nigeria last year at 48. It was the best decision ever.
PoliticsRe: Tinubu Is An OTP & This Is How It Will Go Down by Usefulsense: 3:21am On Jul 11, 2024
TravelRe: Finally Migrated To Australia At Age 48. This Is My Story So Far by Usefulsense(op): 12:30am On Jul 07, 2024
Gerrard59:
The more children a man has, then I can support the decision to relocate at that age since their futures have to have secured. Looking at the Nigerian economy and state of things, it seems you made the right decision.
With more children, it becomes difficult to survive abroad especially when you're on student visa.
TravelRe: Japa: People Now Liquidate Investments, Savings To Leave Nigeria — Ali Baba by Usefulsense:
onadana:
Like my son,I know he won't return back to Nigeria because he has no stake there.He never speaks about Nigeria and is not interested about anything Nigeria. He did Nursery Primary and secondary school in Nigeria but never had Nigeria at heart.He is gone for good.
You should be happy your son is in a place that guarantees him some level of security of life. Would you rather he stays in Nigeria where there are chances of his being kidnapped or shot by the police or robbed at gun point?

The best legacy you can give to your children is take them out of Nigeria. They will forever remain grateful.
TravelRe: Japa: People Now Liquidate Investments, Savings To Leave Nigeria — Ali Baba by Usefulsense:
SoNature:
My biggest concern about leaving this country is starting a generation that will never return to their country ever again.
What have you put in place to ensure that your great grand children remains in Nigeria after you're gone?

Let me paraphrase the question. What have you put in place to ensure your children have the same philosophy as you and they will not send their own children to live permanently abroad?

My great grand parents may have refused to move abroad because they do not want to start a generation that will never return. But, here I am now changing all of that and they are no where to stop me or give me reasons why I shouldn't.

Do everything to give your children a better life. Where they choose to live when you join your ancestors should be the least of your concerns.
TravelRe: DIY Guide To Australian Permanent Resident Visa - Part 2 by Usefulsense: 10:09am On Jun 27, 2024
siina:
hello house, please which one is the suitable path way for me to get into Australian with over 12years experience as an Accountant in Education sector, HND(Ado), B.sc(OAU) ACA(Nigeria), CGMA(UK), CPA(Australia) and over 42 years old? and also married with 3 kids
Did you do your CPA(Australia) from Nigeria?
FamilyRe: Japa Inside Japa,very Confuse… by Usefulsense: 10:55pm On Jun 22, 2024
exnovio:
Dear beloved Nlander I need your candid advise because am in between two choices that might make or break me.
Iam in my very late 40s living in Spain for 19yrs am married with two toddlers 8 and 4,my wife and I have stable jobs I work during the week she works weekends with this time table we can take care of the kids.
Now for the sake of my kids I decided to relocate from Spain, because I want my kids to be English orientated because here in Spain the chances for them to succeed is slim ,first choice was Scotland but I ruled it out because of this brexit thing,so settled for Ireland because its the only English speaking country in the EU where I can easily settle and start work as European passport holder.
So early this year I spoke with my manager at work he is a very good friend he helped me to secure this job ,I told him am leaving in April this year,he told me to think about it very well because leaving where you are doing good for the unknown is scary,I told him Iknow ,he was right ,after some weeks again i told him I still want to leave I told him he should negotiate with the the bigger boss so I can get my payoff he flared and vowed I will never get nothing from the Company,my plan was that before I lay my hands on something in Ireland with my payoff at least I can sustain myself and my family.he told me I must not go.
So I paused the plan am thinking could God be using this guy to save me from a wrong move or the Devil using him to stop me from achieving God’s plan for me.
Please stay. You and your wife are already doing well in a well developed country like Spain.

Like people said up there, you can engage a private tutor to teach them English language.

Remember, most of us ran away from Nigeria because of the hopeless situation of the country. That cannot be said about Spain.

So, I advice you stay.
TravelRe: Finally Migrated To Australia At Age 48. This Is My Story So Far by Usefulsense(op): 8:23pm On Jun 17, 2024
oyetunjibaba:
I use God take beg u sir
No reply that man again
I will not reply him again.

Thanks for the advice.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 (of 9 pages)